Norton Anthology of English Literature (Romantic Period)
Bartleby.com (Great Books online)
British Library: Timelines, Sources from History, British Library, London
Cambridge History of English and American Literature, Volume XIII, online and searchable
Cambridge History of English and American Literature, Volume IV, online and searchable
Internet Modern History Sourcebook, (Fordham University) -- note, see 19C Britain
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals), free, full text, quality controlled and scholarly journals
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts, Eric Lease Morgan, University of Notre Dame
Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net (RaVoN): International E-Journal Devoted to British Nineteenth-Century Literature, erudit.
JURN, (free, full-text, and curated, academic search engine)
A Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture, Herbert F. Tucker (editor)
Cambridge Companion to English Literature, Joanne Shattock (editor)
OED, Oxford English Dictionary (electronic)
The Concise Oxford dictionary of Literary Terms, (Chris Baldick), E. Campus Reference, PN41.C67 2004 (hardcopy)
Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia, Sally Mitchell (editor)
The Romantic and Victorian Periods: Excluding the Novel, Introductions, Kenneth Muir and Arthur Pollard, E. Campus Reference, PR106 .S7 1985, v. 3
MLA International Bibliography, core literature database
Credo Reference, Collection of more than 600 dictionaries and encyclopedias
Project Muse, complete, full-text collection of scholarly journals in a variety of fields
Literature Online, a searchable database of key criticism and reference resources
Proquest Databases, multiple databases in the arts and the humanities
Oxford Reference Online, an online reference library including dictionaries and encyclopedias
JSTOR, over six hundred core, scholarly journals
BBC History, George Eliot
The Victorian Web, George Eliot
The George Eliot Fellowship, Coventry, England
1819 - George Eliot born (birth name Mary Anne Evans)
1846 - Eliot's translation of, "The Life of Jesus," published and does not bear her name
1857 - Blackwood's Magazine publishes the story "Amos Barton," under her pen name, George Eliot
1857 - "Scenes of Clerical Life"
1860 - "The Mill on the Floss" and "Silas Marner"
1863 - "Romola"
1871 - "Middlemarch"
1876 - "Daniel Deronda"
1880 - George Eliot dies
Project Gutenberg, First producer of free ebooks
Internet Archive, Digital Free Library
Open Library, A project of the Internet Archive