Old Testament Introductions
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
An Introduction to the Old Testament by
Enter the classroom of one of today's premier biblical interpreters as he shares his infectious love for the Old Testament. This is where you begin the adventure of exploring the Bible's First Testament. Some Old Testament introductions tell you what you could have seen for yourself. They might recount in detail what other scholars have said, and then tell you what you should think about it. But with refreshing directness, John Goldingay outfits you with basic knowledge, points out the main approaches, outlines the primary issues and then sets you loose to explore the terrain for yourself. Traverse the grand tapestry of the Torah. Discern the art and grain of biblical narrative. Listen to the cries, confessions and cadences of the Psalms. Probe the varied textures of wisdom literature. And ponder the prophets in the darkening nightmare of exile and the distant light of hope. More workbook than handbook, this introduction to the Old Testament is rooted in decades of tried and proven teaching. Goldingay displays a robust confidence in the truthfulness of Scripture combined with a refreshing trust in the reader's ability to grapple responsibly with the Old Testament. Even when the text hits you sideways, Goldingay encourages you not to squirm or run, but to grab hold and go deeper. Under his expert guidance the cordon between faith and criticism swings open into theological and spiritual insight.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1194 .G635 2015ISBN: 0830899081Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Reading the Old Testament by
Reading the Old Testament was recognized as a classic almost from its date of publication in 1984. Without in any way diminishing its famed clarity, judiciousness, and theological depth, two prominent scholars, Richard Clifford and Daniel Harrington, have brought the book into the twenty-first century.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1140.3 .B63 2012 (2nd ed.)ISBN: 9780809147809Publication Date: 2012-09-04
PRINT COPY ONLY
The Old Testament by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1140.3 C662 2018ISBN: 9780190608651Publication Date: 2017-07-03
An Introduction to the Old Testament, Second Edition by Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1140.3 .B78 2012ISBN: 9780664234584Publication Date: 2012-07-12
An Introduction to the Old Testament by Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1140.3 .L66 2007ISBN: 9780310263418Publication Date: 2006-12-03
The Pentateuch by Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1225.2 .B544 2000ISBN: 0385497881Publication Date: 2000-03-01
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
A Theological Introduction to the Old Testament by
This book has become a standard text in seminary and university classrooms. The purpose of this second edition is to help readers come to a critically informed understanding of the Old Testament as the church's scripture. This book introduces the Old Testament both as a witness of ancient Israel and as a witness to the church and synagogue through the generations of those who have passed these texts on as scripture. The authors of this volume share a commitment to the interpretation of the Old Testament as a central resource for the life of the church today. At the same time, they introduce the Old Testament witness in a manner that honors the importance of biblical scholarship in helping students engage the variety of theological voices within the Old Testament. This second edition gives special attention to deepening and broadening theological interpretations by including, for example, issues related to gender, race, and class. It also includes more detailed maps and charts for student use.
ISBN: 9781426721977Publication Date: 2005 (2nd. ed.)
The Hebrew Bible for Beginners: A Jewish and Christian Introduction by
Jews call the Hebrew Scriptures the "Tanakh" and Christians call them the "Old Testament." It doesn't take long to see that Jews and Christians view the same set of books differently and interpret these scriptures in unique and at times conflicting ways. The Hebrew Bible for Beginners introduces students to the tremendous influence the Hebrew Bible has had on western society for over two millennia and explores the complexities of reading ancient religious literature today. The book also addresses how certain modern critical approaches may initially be alarming, indeed even shocking, to those who have not been exposed to them, but it tackles the conversation in a respectful fashion. Avoiding jargon and convoluted prose, this highly accessible volume provides textboxes, charts, a timeline, a glossary, and regularly includes artistic renderings of biblical scenes to keep lay and beginning readers engaged.
ISBN: 9781426775635Publication Date: 2015-09-15
The IVP Introduction to the Bible by
A concise summary of evangelical thinking on the introductory issues related to Bible study. A basic but rigorous resource to assist readers in their Bible reading. Market/Audience General readers New Christians People engaged in personal Bible study Features and Benefits Everything you need to know to study the Bible well Maps, charts and diagrams Backgrounds, themes and theology, interpretation and application
ISBN: 9780830828289Publication Date: 2007-02-27
Introduction to the Hebrew Bible: The Torah/Pentateuch by
John J. Collins's Introduction to the Hebrew Bible is one of the most popular introductory textbooks in colleges and seminary classrooms. Enriched by decades of classroom teaching, it is aimed explicitly at motivated students, regardless of their previous exposure to the Bible or faith commitments.The third edition is presented in a new and engaging format with new maps and images. An index has been added to the volume for the first time.In order to enhance classroom use, Collins's major text has now been divided into four volumes, one for each major part of the Hebrew Bible. This volume focuses on the Torah/Pentateuch. Here, Collins explores the Near Eastern context and the nature of the pentateuchal narrative and provides helpful insights into Gensis thorugh Deuteronomy.The volume also contains the introduction to Collins's major text and is now available with even more student-friendly features, including charts, maps, photographs, chapter summaries, and bibliographies for further reading.Collins presents the current state of historical, archaeological, and literary understandings of the biblical text and engages the student in questions of significance and interpretation for the contemporary world.
ISBN: 9781506446417Publication Date: 2018-04-15 (3rd ed.)
Miscellaneous Reference Books
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE- EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
The Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms (2nd ed.) by Call Number: THEO REF BR95 .M378 2014ISBN: 9780664238353Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Which IVP Dictionary of the Old Testament volume in the box below should I use?
The most useful for Exodus and Deuteronomy (and also Genesis, Leviticus, Numbers): the Pentateuch volume.
Dictionaries /Encyclopedias - Hebrew Bible / Old Testament
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch by
Logos Book Award Winner ECPA Gold Medallion Finalist The first five books of the Old Testament lay the foundation on which the rest of Scripture stands. Its great themes, epochal events and towering figures set down vectors on which the biblical story is played out. The very shape of the rest of the Old Testament would collapse were the Penteteuch to be removed. The structure of New Testament thought would be barely intelligible without it. Here we meet the great ancestral figures of Israel--Abraham, Isaac and Jacob--and the towering figure of Moses, whose presence dominates four of these five books. The creative act of God, the paradisal garden, the exile of Adam and Eve, the judgment of the great flood, the call of Abraham from among the nations, the covenant of Abraham, the exodus from Egypt, the giving of the law at Sinai, the plan of the tabernacle, the varied experiences of Israel in the wilderness, and the announcement of the covenant blessings and curses--all of these and more contribute to a work of world-formative power. This dictionary explores the major themes and contours of the Pentateuch. Behind and beneath the grandeur of the Pentateuch, issues of historicity have both puzzled and beckoned. But whereas in the mid-twentieth century many English-speaking scholars were confident of archaeological support for the patriarchal accounts, the climate has now changed. In the most extreme cases, some contemporary scholars have radically challenged the antiquity of the ancestral stories, arguing for their final composition even as late as the Hellenistic era. This dictionary examines and weighs the historical issues and poses possible solutions. The documentary hypothesis, the former reigning critical consensus, is now widely rumored to be on life support with no heir apparent. Meanwhile, conservative scholars reconsider what indeed a claim to Mosaic authorship should entail. This dictionary offers an assessment of the array of questions surrounding these issues and considers some possible ways forward for evangelical scholarship. At the same time, there has been a fruitful turning to the nature, message and art of the received text of the Pentateuch. Literary studies of brief episodes, sprawling sagas, complex narrative and even the fivefold composition of the Pentateuch itself have delivered promising and exciting results. This dictionary offers both appreciative panoramas and close-up assessments of these developments and their methods. The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch is the first in a four-volume series covering the text of the Old Testament. Following in the tradition of the four award-winning IVP dictionaries focused on the New Testament and its background, this encyclopedic work is characterized by close attention to the text of the Old Testament and the ongoing conversation of contemporary scholarship. In exploring the major themes and issues of the Pentateuch, editors T. Desmond Alexander and David W.Baker, with an international and expert group of scholars, inform and challenge through authoritative overviews, detailed examinations and new insights from the world of the ancient Near East. The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch is designed to be your first stop in the study and research of the Pentateuch, on which the rest of the Bible is built. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.1ISBN: 0830817816Publication Date: 2003
Diccionario del Antiguo Testamento: Pentateuco by
Recomendado por expertos en el Antiguo Testamento, este libro se caracteriza por su especial atención a los debates que se están produciendo actualmente en el seno de las ciencias bíblicas contemporáneas.
Call Number: Spanish Language Reference BS440 .D5318 v.1ISBN: 9788482676999Publication Date: 2012-10-07
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by
Edited by Bill T. Arnold and Hugh G. M. Williamson, the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books is the second volume in IVP's Old Testament dictionary series. This volume picks up where the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch left off--with Joshua and Israel poised to enter the land--and carries us through the postexilic period. Following in the tradition of the four award-winning IVP dictionaries focused on the New Testament, this encyclopedic work is characterized by in-depth articles focused on key topics, many of them written by noted experts. The history of Israel forms the skeletal structure of the Old Testament. Understanding this history and the biblical books that trace it is essential to comprehending the Bible. The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books is the only reference book focused exclusively on these biblical books and the history of Israel.The dictionary presents articles on numerous historical topics as well as major articles focused on the books of Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings, Chronicles, Ezra and Nehemiah. Other articles focus on the Deuteronomistic History as well as the Chronicler's History, the narrative art of Israel's historians, innerbiblical exegesis, text and textual criticism, and the emergence of these books as canonical. One feature is a series of eight consecutive articles on the periods of Israel's history from the settlement to postexilic period, which form a condensed history of Israel within the DOTHB.Syro-Palestinian archaeology is surveyed in one article, while significant archaeological sites receive focused treatment, usually under the names of biblical cities and towns such as Jerusalem and Samaria, Shiloh and Shechem, Dan and Beersheba. Other articles delve into the histories and cultures of the great neighboring empires--Egypt, Assyria, Babylonia and Persia--as well as lesser peoples, such as the Ammonites, Edomites, Moabites, Philistines and Phoenicians. In addition there are articles on architecture, Solomon's temple, agriculture and animal husbandry, roads and highways, trade and travel, and water and water systems.The languages of Hebrew and Aramaic, as well as linguistics, each receive careful treatment, as well as the role of scribes and their schools, and writing and literacy in ancient Israel and its environs. The DOTHB also canvases the full range of relevant extrabiblical written evidence, with five articles focused on the various non-Israelite written sources as well as articles on Hebrew inscriptions and ancient Near Eastern iconography.Articles on interpretive methods, on hermeneutics and on preaching the Historical Books will assist students and communicators in understanding how this biblical literature has been studied and interpreted, and its proper use in preaching. In the same vein, theological topics such as God, prayer, faith, forgiveness and righteousness receive separate treatment. The history of Israel has long been contested territory, but never more so than today. Much like the quest of the historical Jesus, a quest of the historical Israel is underway. At the heart of the quest to understand the history of Israel and the Old Testament's Historical Books is the struggle to come to terms with the conventions of ancient historiography. How did these writers conceive of their task and to whom were they writing? Clearly the Old Testament historians did not go about their task as we would today. The divine word was incarnated in ancient culture.Rather than being a dictionary of quick answers and easy resolutions readily provided, the DOTHB seeks to set out the evidence and arguments, allowing a range of informed opinion to enrich the conversation. In this way it is hoped that the DOTHB will not only inform its readers, but draw them into the debate and equip them to examine the evidence for themselves.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.2ISBN: 9780830817825Publication Date: 2005
Diccionario del Antiguo Testamento: Históricos by
El Diccionario del Antiguo Testamento: Libros Históricos es el segundo de una serie de cuatro volúmenes que abarcan el texto del Antiguo Testamento y sus temas, su entorno y su trasfondo. Es un diccionario enciclopédico que se caracteriza por la especial atención a los debates que se están produciendo en el seno de las ciencias bíblicas contemporáneas.
Call Number: Spanish Language Reference BS440 .D5318 v.2ISBN: 9788482677002Publication Date: 2014-05-06
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by
ECPA Book Award finalist With the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets, IVP's Black Dictionary series completes its coverage of the Old Testament canonical books. A true compendium of recent scholarship, the volume includes 115 articles covering all aspects of Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, the twelve "minor prophets" and Daniel. Each book's historical, cultural, religious and literary background is thoroughly covered, alongside articles on interpretation history and critical method. Pastors, scholars and students will find this a deep resource for their Old Testament studies. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.3ISBN: 9780830817849Publication Date: 2012-05-17
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings by
Christianity Today Merit Award winner ECPA Gold Medallion The Old Testament books of wisdom and poetry carry themselves differently from those of the Pentateuch, the histories or the prophets. The divine voice does not peal from Sinai, there are no narratives carried along by prophetic interpretation nor are oracles declaimed by a prophet. Here Scripture often speaks in the words of human response to God and God's world. The hymns, laments and thanksgivings of Israel, the dirge of Lamentations, the questionings of Qohelet, the love poetry of the Song of Songs, the bold drama of Job and the proverbial wisdom of Israel all offer their textures to this great body of biblical literature. Then too there are the finely crafted stories of Ruth and Esther that narrate the silent providence of God in the course of Israelite and Jewish lives. This third Old Testament volume in InterVarsity Press's celebrated "Black Dictionary" series offers nearly 150 articles covering all the important aspects of Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Over ninety contributors, many of them experts in this literature, have contributed to the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry Writings. This volume maintains the quality of scholarship that students, scholars and pastors have come to expect from this series. Coverage of each biblical book includes an introduction to the book itself as well as separate articles on its ancient Near Eastern background and its history of interpretation. Additional articles amply explore the literary dimensions of Hebrew poetry and prose, including acrostic, ellipsis, inclusio, intertextuality, parallelism and rhyme. And there are well-rounded treatments of Israelite wisdom and wisdom literature, including wisdom poems, sources and theology. In addition, a wide range of interpretive approaches is canvassed in articles on hermeneutics, feminist interpretation, form criticism, historical criticism, rhetorical criticism and social-scientific approaches. The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry Writings is sure to command shelf space within arm's reach of any student, teacher or preacher working in this portion of biblical literature. Tremper Longman III and Peter E. Enns edit this collection of 148 articles by 90 contributors on Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.4ISBN: 9780830817832Publication Date: 2008-06-06
Additional Bible/Biblical Studies Dictionaries
AVAILABLE BOTH ONLINE (DATABASE) AND IN PRINT - ONLINE REQUIRES LOGIN
The Anchor Bible Dictionary/Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (set) by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .A54 1992 (v.1-v.6)ISBN: 0385193513Publication Date: 1992/2008
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible by
Offering a wealth of reliable information, The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible provides more than 300 articles that cover everyone from Adam and Eve to Jesus Christ and everywhere from the Garden of Eden to Golgotha and Gethsemane.Readers will find fascinating, informative entries on virtually every major figure who walked across the biblical stage. Here are Hebrew Bible figures such as Cain and Abel, Noah and Methuselah, Abraham and Isaac, David and Goliath, Solomon and Sheba, Moses and Aaron, Naomi and Ruth, andSamson and Delilah. The New Testament is likewise well covered, with pieces on Peter and Paul, John the Baptist and Mary Magdalene, the apostles (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John), Pontius Pilate and Judas Iscariot, and of course Jesus, Mary, and Joseph. Articles also define groups of people whofigure in the Bible, such as Angels, Archangels, and Demons, the Magi, the Tribes of Israel, and Women. Entries on the significant places of the Bible, both ancient and modern, include kingdoms and countries (Egypt, Assyria, Mesopotamia) and cities (Bethlehem, Jerusalem, Sodom and Gomorrah), as wellas geographical features such as the Sea of Galilee and Mount Hebron. The guide includes a detailed index for ease of use, and 14 pages of color maps, providing an accurate, detailed portrait of the biblical world.Here then is the first place to turn to find factual information on the people and places of Holy Scripture. Written by an international team of noted biblical experts, it is an essential addition to any family library as well as a useful, reliable resource for scholars and students.
Online from the Oxford Reference Online database.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS570 .O94 2004ISBN: 0195176103
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by
Christianity Today 1999 Book of the Year Every reader of the Bible has encountered the powerful, comforting and sometimes puzzling imagery of Scripture. These concrete pictures with their hidden force have struck sharp and lasting impressions on our minds. Their imprint has etched itself on the language and grammar of Christian faith and Western culture. Why then do traditional Bible dictionaries and reference works offer so little help to explorers of the Bible's galaxy of verbal pictures? They excel in describing the climate, borders and location of Galilee or Sinai. But they are often blind to the artistic expressions and deaf to the musical meanings that echo from within the world of the biblical text. The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is the first contemporary reference work dedicated to exploring the images, symbols, motifs, metaphors and literary patterns found in the Bible. More than that, it examines the Bible's universal archetypes or master images--including the plot motifs and character types that recur throughout life, literature and the Bible. This unique dictionary explores the dazzling variety in which the Word of God comes dressed in clothes of everyday life. It traces the trail of images from Eden to the New Jerusalem. It captures the plotted patterns of biblical narrative. It surveys the imaged texture of each book of the Bible. In short, The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is an inviting, enlightening and indispensable companion to the reading, study, contemplation and enjoyment of the Bible.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS537 .D48 1998ISBN: 0830814515Publication Date: 1998-11-02
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
The Dictionary of Early Judaism is the first reference work devoted exclusively to Second Temple Judaism (fourth century b.c.e. through second century c.e.). The first section of this substantive and incredible work contains thirteen major essays that attempt to synthesize major aspects of Judaism in the period between Alexander and Hadrian. The second ? and significantly longer ? section offers 520 entries arranged alphabetically. Many of these entries have cross-references and all have select bibliographies. Equal attention is given to literary and nonliterary (i.e. archaeological and epigraphic) evidence and New Testament writings are included as evidence for Judaism in the first century c.e. Several entries also give pertinent information on the Hebrew Bible. The Dictionary of Early Judaism is intended to not only meet the needs of scholars and students ? at which it succeeds admirably ? but also to provide accessible information for the general reader. It is ecumenical and international in character, bringing together nearly 270 authors from as many as twenty countries and including Jews, Christians, and scholars of no religious affiliation.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BM176 .E34 2010ISBN: 9780802825490Publication Date: 2010-11-11
Handbook of Biblical Criticism, Fourth Edition by
The fourth edition of this best-selling textbook continues to be a valuable resource for the beginning student in the critical study of the Bible. Thoroughly revised to include the newest methods, recent discoveries, and developments in the field of biblical criticism over the past decade, the Handbook of Biblical Criticism is designed to be a starting point for understanding the vast array of methods, approaches and technical terms employed in this field. Updates in this edition also include an expanded dictionary of terms, phrases, names, and frequently used abbreviations, as well as a bibliography that includes the most up-to-date date publications. The Handbook of Biblical Criticism is a valuable introductory textbook and a reliable guide for pastors, laypersons, and scholars whose expertise lies in other fields.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS511.2 .S68 2001 (3rd. ed.)ISBN: 9780664235345Publication Date: 2011-11-23
PRINT COPY ONLY
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (set) by
The New Interpreter's® Dictionary of the Bible (NIDB) in five volumes provides the best quality in contemporary biblical scholarship on a comprehensive range of topics from the Old and New Testaments, the Deuterocanonical books, and from contextual studies of the ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman worlds and their literatures. The dictionary contains maps, charts, and illustrations to further clarify the written material. The biblical text used is the NRSV translation. A diverse group of 900 scholars from 40 countries have contributed 7100 fresh new articles with 8400 entries including persons, places, things, theological concepts, and much more. These contributors were selected by the editorial board for their expertise in their field and for the quality of their scholarship in publication. Special care was taken to select authors who could provide a variety of perspectives from different theological traditions (Protestant, Catholic, Jewish), diverse theological trajectory (conservative and liberal), and from the social locations of gender, ethnicity, and race. Topics are listed in alphabetical order from A-Z and evenly divided among the five volumes. The main entry (in bold) includes a pronunciation guide. Hebrew and Greek origins of the entry follow, with transliteration. Longer articles contain an introduction that summarizes the topic and include a helpful outline to guide the reader. Articles conclude with a short bibliography and cross references to related articles. In each definition, authors strive to incorporate as many biblical instances of the term as possible in the given amount of space, and to discuss the theological, social, or ecclesial implications of the topic, so that the definitions are practical aids to the tasks of preaching, teaching, and study of the Bible. Volume Structure; 1. A - C 2. D - H 3. I - Ma 4. Me-R 5. S - Z Readers who are trained in ancient languages will appreciate the discussion of Hebrew and Greek terms, while at the same time, readers who are not familiar with Hebrew or Greek should not have difficulty following the articles, because transliteration and complete definitions are used throughout. "The New Interpreter's Bible Dictionary combines the latest biblical scholarship with the practical needs of pastors, teachers and students in a way that will deepen their understanding and enliven their experience of the living Word in scripture." Rev. Jim Harnish, Hyde Park United Methodist Church, Tampa, Florida "I'm looking forward to the New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible so I may continue with the work of the church. I've read many articles already, and it is very helpful when you are working on a sermon, a presentation, or preparing for a Bible study class." Rev. Evelene "Tweedy" Navarrete-Sombrero, Holbrook United Methodist Church, Holbrook, Arizona
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .N443 2006 (v.1-v.5)ISBN: 9780687054275Publication Date: 2006-2009)
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .I6 (v.1-v.4)ISBN: 9780802881601Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary (rev. ed.) by
A visually stimulating journey for anyone interested in learning more about the world of the Bible. The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary offers a wealth of insight into the historical, chronological, archaeological, geographical, social, theological, and biographical aspects of the Bible. Through the articles, sidebars, charts, maps, and full-color images included in this volume, the text of the Old and New Testaments will come alive for you as never before. As a condensation of the Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible, the information contained within this reference work is solid and biblically sound. The material is based completely on the NIV and cross-referenced to the King James Version. Features include: Over 7,200 entries with up-to-date scholarship, archaeological findings, and more 75 full-color maps created with new mapping technologies Over 500 full-color photographs, charts, and illustrations Understanding the Bible can be difficult. The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary will help you make sense of the Bible's context, people, places, and objects so you can better understand and apply the scripture. Ideal for pastors, Sunday school teachers, students, and general Bible readers.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .Z66 2011ISBN: 9780310229834Publication Date: 2011-02-06
Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquity by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .Y37 2014 (v.1-v.4)ISBN: 9781619707283Publication Date: 2014-2016Sampling of entries: Abortion, Adoption, Adultery, Contraception and Control of Births, Hair, Infanticide and Exposure, Inheritance, Marriage, Purity and Impurity, Same-Sex Relations, Widows and Orphans, and many more ...
Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible (2nd. rev. ed.) by
The Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible is the single major work of reference on the gods, angels, demons, spirits and semi-divine heroes whose names occur in the biblical books. First published in 1995 and chosen by "Choice" as Best Reference Work of 1996, an extensively revised edition was published in 1998. Arranged in the order of the Latin alphabet, the more than four-hundred names are those found in the books of the Hebrew and the Greek Bible, Old and New Testament, including the Apocrypha. There are entries on divine names recognized as such by the biblical authors; divine names in theophoric toponyms and anthroponyms; secular terms which occur as divine names in neighbouring civilizations, conjectural divine names, at times based on textual emendation, proposed by modern scholarship; and humans who acquired a semi-divine status in tradition. A typical entry contains a discussion of the pertinent name, its meaning, the religio-historical background, relevant biblical passages and an up-to-date bibliography. Extensive indices and cross-references provide easy access to the rich information of the dictionary. The Dictionary of Deities and Demons is the fruit of a common effort of a group of more than a hundred international scholars from a variety of traditions.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.G57 D53 1999ISBN: 9004111190Publication Date: 1999
Gran Diccionario Enciclopédico de Imágenes y Símbolos de la Biblia by
El «Diccionario enciclopédico de imágenes y símbolos de la Biblia» es la primera obra de referencia contemporánea dedicada a la exploración de las imágenes, símbolos, motivos, metáforas y modelos literarios que se encuentran en la Biblia. Todo lector de la Biblia se ha encontrado con el poder que tienen en nosotros las imágenes y símbolos de las Escrituras ya que son enigmáticas y desconcertantes. Estas imágenes con su fuerza oculta se han grabado en la propia lengua y la gramática de la fe cristiana y la cultura occidental, con un sentido completo y profundo, imágenes y símbolos que dicen mucho más que su sentido gramatical, por ejemplo: Mateo 19.24 Reina Valera 1977 (RVR1977) 24 «Otra vez os digo: Es más fácil que un camello pase por el ojo de una aguja, que el que un rico entre en el reino de Dios». El significado de esta imagen o símbolo dice mucho más de lo que gramaticalmente se expresa, e incluso está interiozizado dentro de nuestra cultura cristiana y occidental. Es una imagen y símbolo con un significado amplio. ¿Por qué entonces los diccionarios bíblicos tradicionales y obras de referencia ofrecen tan poca ayuda a los exploradores de la galaxia de imágenes verbales de la Biblia? Sobresalen en describir muchos conceptos y palabras, pero a menudo son ciegos a las expresiones artísticas y sordos a los significados musicales que se hacen eco de dentro del mundo del texto bíblico, y perdemos una riqueza enorme a no saber interpretarlos en su profunidad. El propósito del Gran diccionario enciclopédico de imágenes y símbolos de la Biblia es servir como libro de referencia que ayude a los lectores de la Escritura, estudiantes y comunicadores cristianos a explorar el fascinante y variado mundo del simbolismo bíblico. Los escritores de la Biblia -afirman los autores de este diccionario- eran verdaderos artistas desde un punto de vista literario. Por tanto, leer y estudiar la Biblia desde una perspectiva literaria que incluya la aclaración de sus imágenes, símbolos y figuras de lenguaje, aporta una comprensión mucho más amplia de su significado y con ello una mejor captación de su mensaje moral y espiritual. Aunque pensado y escrito a nivel académico, su principal audiencia no son los eruditos. Los autores se han esforzado en conseguir una obra legible y entendible, que no solo sirva como herramienta de referencia indispensable para complementar los diccionarios bíblicos, sino también que despliegue nuevas vías de lectura y apreciación de la Biblia.
Call Number: Spanish Language Reference BS537 .D4818 2015ISBN: 9788482677033Publication Date: 2016-02-02
Zondervan Dictionary of Bible Themes by
This instantly accessible and easy-to-use dictionary of Bible themes was complied by the outstanding editorial team of Martin Manser, Alister McGrath, J. I. Packer, and Donald Wiseman.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS432 .Z66 1999ISBN: 0310206685
EBOOK/ONLINE (DATABASE) COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
All the People in the Bible by
"More than any other book, the Bible offers an amazing collection of fascinating characters ranging from the holiest of the holy to some of the most depraved scoundrels imaginable. Many are mentioned only in passing, yet history and archaeology can often fill in the blanks and flesh them out as exciting human beings. For this reason we have in many cases been able to tell much more about them than the Bible alone reveals." -- Richard R. Losch (from the preface) A comprehensive gathering of persons found in the Bible, including the Apocrypha, All the People in the Bible really delivers on its title: literally all of the Bible's characters appear in this fascinating reference work. From the first article on Aaron to the final entry on Zophar, Richard Losch details each person in a lively narrative style. The bulk of the book consists of Losch's A-Z articles covering the familiar and the not-so-familiar figures in Scripture. Names of people who are found only in genealogies or who had no significant effect on history are included solely in the alphabetical listing starting on page 452. That listing, "All the People in the Bible and Apocrypha," includes pronunciations, brief identifications, and biblical references. Persons covered in greater detail in the main part of the book are identified in bold print. Losch's intriguing look at all the people in the Bible is anything but a dry reference work. This is a book to dip into and enjoy over and over.
ISBN: 9780802824547Publication Date: 2008-05-13
Essential Figures in the Bible by
For millions of people throughout the world, the Hebrew Bible functions as the foundation of their faith. For millions more, the same book functions as the subject of their studies. For both groups, the characters discussed in the Bible lend key insight to the lessons found there. However, sifting through the hundreds of names mentioned in this key religious text to find information about one figure can be tedious and time-consuming, and most reference guides either provide only brief, unhelpful entries on every character, including minor figures, or are so extensive that they can be more intimidating than the original text. Essential Figures in the Bible compiles thorough but manageable entries on the figures most vital to an understanding of the Bible and its teachings. In this valuable reference, Dr. Ronald L. Eisenberg catalogs and explains the importance of more than 250 figures who are most vital to an understanding of the Hebrew Bible and its teachings. For these figures selected from the more than 3,000 names found in the Hebrew Bible, Eisenberg provides summaries of the narratives relevant to each figure discussed along with illustrative quotations from the Bible and supplementary material from rabbinic literature when appropriate. Both religious studies and rabbinical students and casual readers of the Hebrew Bible will benefit from the comprehensive entries on the most-frequently discussed biblical figures and will gain valuable insights from this reader-friendly text. Complete in a single volume, this guide strikes a satisfying balance between the sparse, uninformative books and comprehensive but overly complex references that are currently the only places for inquisitive Bible readers to turn. For any reader who wishes to gain a better understanding of the Bible, Eisenberg's text is just as "essential" as the figures listed within.
ISBN: 9780765709394Publication Date: 2012-09-14
