Recommended Websites
- Adult ESL Resources“Helping states build their capacity to promote English language learning and academic achievement of adults learning English. The site contains ESL FAQs, articles, reports, bibliographies, fact sheets on current ESL issues, information on health literacy, annotated links to related sites, and more.”
- CAL Resources Archive: Resource Guides Online26 resources guides relating to the field of English language acquisition and teaching. Areas include standards, assessment, policy, programs, training, employment, etc.
- iLoveLanguages“A comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources. The more than 2400 links at iLoveLanguages have been hand-reviewed to bring you the best language links the Web has to offer. Includes online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, and information on languages.”
- LINGUIST List“Dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world. LINGUIST maintains a web-site with over 2000 pages and runs a mailing list with over 25,000 subscribers worldwide."
- Second Language Acquisition TopicsCovers current issues and topics in second language acquisition, including approaches, theory, methodology, learning and using, bilingualism, individual differences, controversial issues, language teaching, and research tools.
SLA Blogs
Loading ...
Finding & Evaluating Websites
Finding websites:
Good websites can be found by asking your Instructor for
suggestions; using subject directories such as Librarians' Internet Index,
Open
Directory Project, or Internet
Public Library; using the "advanced search" option in Google;
using Google Scholar to search across many
disciplines for "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and
articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint
repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations"; and by
using the Best Search Engines guide for finding more tips
on locating high quality websites.
Evaluating
Websites:
Before selecting websites for your research paper, be sure they follow UNC's Evaluating Web Sites for Educational Uses: Bibliography and Checklist guidelines. In addition, before using any information you have found on the Internet, be sure you can answer the following questions:
- Who created the web site?
- When was the site last updated?
- Why was the site created?
- Where does the site’s information come from?
- Are sources documented and cited?
If the answers to these questions are not easily available, you should be cautious of using it for your research.
Stages of Language Acquisition
Conferences, Associations, and Organizations Websites
- American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)“The only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction." Student membership fee: $25/year.
- California Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (CATESOL)“Promotes excellence in education for English language learners and a high quality professional environment for their teachers. CATESOL represents teachers of English language learners throughout California and Nevada, at all levels and in all learning environments." Student membership fee: $35.
- Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA)"The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) is one of the U.S. Department of Education's Title VI National Language Resource Centers, whose role is to improve the nation's capacity to teach and learn foreign languages effectively."
- Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL)“As the world gets smaller, effective communication becomes even more important. The Center for Applied Linguistics is dedicated to providing a comprehensive range of research-based information, tools, and resources related to language and culture. CAL is a private, nonprofit organization working to improve communication through better understanding of language and culture. Established in 1959, CAL is headquartered in Washington, DC.”
- SIL International“Founded over 70 years ago, SIL International is a faith-based organization that studies, documents, and assists in developing the world’s lesser-known languages. SIL’s staff shares a Christian commitment to service, academic excellence, and professional engagement through literacy, linguistics, translation, and other academic disciplines."
- Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)“Incorporated in 1966, Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages, Inc. (TESOL) is a global association for English language teaching professionals headquartered in Alexandria, Virginia, USA. TESOL encompasses a network of approximately 60,000 educators worldwide, consisting of more than 14,000 individual members and an additional 45,000 educators within the 100 plus TESOL affiliate associations." Student membership fee: $33/year (up to 5 years).
Government Websites
- National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition (NCELA)“NCELA is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of English Language Acquisition. They have developed a nice set of resource guides with articles and Internet resources on topics of interest to English language learners."
- National Institute for Literacy, Special Collections, ESL“The National Institute for Literacy has a "special collection" site to 'English as a Second Language' resources. The special collection promotes the development of high-quality ESL programs, and provides guidelines for planning and supporting these programs. There are sections for instructors, administrators and adult learners."
- Center for Adult English Language Acquisition (CAELA)“CAELA's website is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Vocational and Adult Education. Their mission is "helping states build their capacity to promote English language learning and academic achievement."
- Office of English Language Acquisition, U.S. Department of Education“The Office of English Language Acquisition (OELA) is responsible for administering grant programs, recommending policies and promoting best practices to meet the needs of English language learners. Information about services, special programs, and resources for educators, parents and students are available on this website.”
Subject Guide
Denise R. Gehring, MSLIS, MA
Contact:
Associate Professor;
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Librarian for the School of Nursing, Public Health, & ALCI (ESL)
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Librarian for the School of Nursing, Public Health, & ALCI (ESL)
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
(626) 815-2055
Website
Second Language Acquisition Links
These links present an overview of the SLA theory as well as the stages of SLA.