Select Reference Books - Primary Texts
The following reference books can be found in the Stamps Library, but are not available for checkout. Click on the title link to see more information about the book (this will take you into the library catalog). Click on the image link to go to the item in Amazon (if you're interested in purchasing).
The Ante-Nicene Fathers: Translations of the Writings of the Fathers Down to AD 325 by Call Number: Theology Ref BR60 .A52 (vols.1-10)ISBN: 1602064695Available online in CCEL: labeled ANF
A Select Library of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church by Call Number: Theology Ref BR60 .S4 1956 (vols.1-14)ISBN: 1565631161Second series
Available online in CCEL: labeled NPNF
A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs: A Reference Guide to More Than 700 Topics Discussed by the Early Church Fathers by Call Number: Theology Ref BR66.5 .D53 1998ISBN: 1565633571This volume functions as an index to the Ante-Nicene Fathers 10-volume set.
Luther's Works by Call Number: Theology Ref BR330 .E5 1955 (vols.1-55)ISBN: 0570064260Volume 55 is an index.
Select Reference Books - Secondary Resources
The following reference books can also be found in the Stamps Library, but are not available for checkout. Click on the title link to see more information about the book (this will take you into the library catalog). Click on the image link to go to the item in Amazon (if you're interested in purchasing).
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440.D53 v.8/Stamps Stacks BS2625.5 .D53 1997ISBN: 0851117511
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Call Number: Theology Ref BR162.2 .E53 1997 (vols.1-2)ISBN: 0815316631
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Call Number: Theology Ref BR66.5 .D5813 2014 (vols. 1-3)ISBN: 9780830829439
A Scripture Index to the Works of St. Augustine in English Translation by Call Number: Theology Ref BR65.A9 W55 1995ISBN: 0819198471
The Westminster Handbook to Thomas Aquinas by Call Number: Theology Ref B765.T54 W26 2005ISBN: 0664224695
Cumulative Index to Kierkegaard's Writings by Call Number: Theology Ref Z8464.25 .K54 2000ISBN: 9780691032252
Recommended Online Resources: Past Masters Database and CCEL Website, C.S. Lewis Ebook Index
The Past Masters database provides several searchable online texts written by philosophers and theologians (so these are primary sources). St. Augustine, Martin Luther, and John Calvin, for example, are among those whose works are represented in this database. Select a theologian from the list, and then enter your concept in the search box at the top of the left column (you might also want to try entering synonyms if your initial concept doesn't retrieve anything).
The CCEL is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. The CCEL includes searchable online versions of the Ante-Nicene Fathers, the Nicene & Post-Nicene Fathers series as well as works by many others across church history, including Catherine of Siena, Martin Luther, John Wesley, Kierkegaard and more. Look in the Home/Church Fathers or Browse/Author sections to start looking for particular theologians.
A useful searchable ebook that indexes the works of C.S. Lewis; is The Quotable Lewis: This is considered a secondary source. It provides select quotations from his works by topic and provides citations to those primary sources which you should then consult.
Also see Find Additional Internet Resources for more information about other searchable online texts.
Select Primary Text Ebooks
On the Incarnation by
One of the most important works of Christian theology, the treatise "On the Incarnation" was written by the fourth century Egyptian religious leader St. Athanasius of Alexandria. An influential Christian theologian and church elder, St. Athanasius, also known as Athanasius the Great, Athanasius the Confessor, and Athanasius the Apostolic, was the twentieth bishop of Alexandria from 328 AD to 373 AD. St. Athanasius played an important role in the First Council of Nicaea in 325 AD where Roman Emperor Constantine the Great convened the council to address the question of whether Jesus of Nazareth was the son of God and distinct from his Father. "On the Incarnation" expands with clarity on the conclusion reached by the First Council of Nicaea, that God became man through His son, Jesus of Nazareth, and through Jesus, we too may become one with God. While brief, St. Athanasius explores in detail why God became flesh through Jesus and why this transformation was necessary to save the corrupted human soul and prepare it for a perfect and immortal union with God. This treatise, by one of the most important and influential teachers of Christian philosophy, is an essential read for all students of the Christian faith. This edition follows the translation of Archibald Robertson.
ISBN: 9781420959567Publication Date: 2018-10-06
Recommended Compendium-style Bible Commentaries for Access to Primary Texts
These commentary sets are a bit different than the ones listed in the Bible section of this guide. The format is the same, so you will be able to easily search for particular verses. However, instead of one scholar providing the "commentary" and analysis of the passages, you will see excerpts from works written by various church fathers, Reformation theologians or religious contributors from the Medieval period in the respective series listed. So, if a particular Bible verse has to do with the concept of "love," you can see what some of the these writers have had to say about that verse.
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture by Call Number: OT: Theology Ref BS491.3.A53 (vols.1-15) NT: Theology Ref BS491.3.A531 (vv.1-12)ISBN: 0830814868
The Church's Bible by Call Number: Theology Ref BS491.3 .C48 (select vols.)ISBN: 0802825796Publication Date: 2003-11-18
The Bible in Medieval Tradition by Call Number: Theology Ref BS491.32 .M43 (select vols.)ISBN: 9780802868459- Reformation Commentary on Scripture by Call Number: Theology Ref BS491.3 .R441 (select vols.)ISBN: 0830829512
Searches to Get You Started for Searching the Catalog for Additional Primary and Secondary Resources
- Immanuel Kant (primary) Click on page 2 to start seeing titles written by Kant
Select Monographs
The following items are all available in APU Libraries. Click on the title link to see more information about the book (this will take you into the library catalog). Click on the image link to go to the item in Amazon (if you're interested in purchasing).
The New Interpreter's Study Bible: New Revised Standard Version with the ApocryphaCall Number: WCampus Ref/Theology Ref BS191.5.A1 2003 .N49 2003ISBN: 0687278325
Christian Spirituality: Origins to the Twelfth Century by Call Number: Theology BV4490 .C464 1987ISBN: 0824508475
Medieval Women Monastics: Wisdom's Wellsprings by Call Number: Theology BX4200 .M43 1996ISBN: 0814622925
Christian Spirituality: High Middle Ages and Reformation by Call Number: Theology BV4990 .C48ISBN: 0824507657
Church History in Plain Language by Call Number: Theology BR150 .S52 1995ISBN: 0849938619Library copy is 2nd ed. Your textbook is 4th ed., 2013
Health and Medicine in the ___ TraditionCall Number: (click on link)ISBN: 1563380978Traditions include Anabaptist, Anglican, Catholic, Christian Science, Evangelical, Hindu, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, and Reformed.
Jewish Spirituality by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor/Stacks BM723 .J487 1986 (v.1-v.2)ISBN: 0824507622Publication Date: 1986
The Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Ethics by
Many forms of Buddhism, divergent in philosophy and style, emerged as Buddhism filtered out of India into other parts of Asia. Nonetheless, all of them embodied an ethical core that is remarkably consistent. Articulated by the historical Buddha in his first sermon, this moral core is founded on the concept of karma - that intentions and actions have future consequences for an individual - and is summarized as Right Speech, Right Action, and Right Livelihood, three of the elements of the Eightfold Path. Although they were later elaborated and interpreted in a multitude of ways, none of these core principles were ever abandoned. The Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Ethics provides a comprehensive overview of the field of Buddhist ethics in the twenty-first century.The Handbook discusses the foundations of Buddhist ethics focusing on karma and the precepts looking at abstinence from harming others, stealing, and intoxication. It considers ethics in the different Buddhist traditions and the similarities they share, and compares Buddhist ethics to Western ethics and the psychology of moral judgments. The volume also investigates Buddhism and society analysing economics, environmental ethics, and Just War ethics. The final section focuses on contemporary issues surrounding Buddhist ethics, including gender, sexuality, animal rights, and euthanasia. This groundbreaking collection offers an indispensable reference work for students and scholars of Buddhist ethics and comparative moral philosophy.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BJ1289 .O94 2018ISBN: 9780198746140Publication Date: 2018-05-22
Spiritual Care: Nursing Theory, Research, and Practice by Call Number: WCampus RT85.2 .T39 2002ISBN: 0130281646
