Find Additional Internet Resources - GNRS 506/GSPH 506 - Spiritual Concept Analysis in Healthcare

Internet Searching

Try searching for online texts by particular theologians by using Google. Use the examples below as guides for your searches - simply substitute the names of various theologians where you see "soren kierkegaard."

"soren kierkegaard" online texts

-OR-

"soren kierkegaard" online books

Evaluating Websites

There are several excellent resources on the Internet that will aid you in your assignment. On this page, you'll find some recommended websites. This is not an exhaustive list by any means - you may find several other relevant sites. However, be sure to evaluate what you find for not only relevancy, but also authority and quality. Take a look at the handout below for tips on evaluating websites.

Evaluating Web Pages

Introduction - Internet Resources

There are many websites that provide online texts written by theologians throughout church history. However, the majority of these will be older because of copyright laws. The most current texts will still be in print, and will not be available online. For finding texts written by recent theologians, go to the Find Books page under the Concept Study - Church History tab.

There are several links below (Recommended Websites: Online Primary Sources) that will take you to sites with collections of various theological online texts. You should also try searching with Google - see the Internet Searching box to the left for search examples. There are also some links that will help you identify theologians in particular church history eras (Recommended Websites: Church History).

After you've found an online text, see if there is some sort of search feature that will allow you to search for your concept term. If there is no search feature, then use your browser search. Press Ctrl+f (PCs) or Command+f (Macs). Type in your concept, and search through the document/text.

Recommended Websites: Online Primary Sources

The following websites contain a lot of different, freely available primary sources written by many different theologians. Be sure to make use of Ctrl+f (PCs) or Command+f (Macs) to search for your terms when you are exploring a particular online text (especially if there is no search feature).

Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) The CCEL is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. The CCEL includes searchable online versions of the Nicene & Post-Nicene Fathers and the Ante-Nicene Fathers. Look in the Home/Church Fathers or Browse/Author sections to start looking for particular theologians.
Early Christian Writings The purpose of this web site is to set out all of the Christian writings that are believed to have been written in the first and second centuries, as well as a few selected from the early third.
Internet Christian Library: Guide to Early Church Documents Includes links to online files relating to the early church, including canonical documents, creeds, the writings of the Apostolic Fathers and other historical texts relevant to church history. Also contains secondary literature.
IntraText Digital Library Dozens of online texts written by a variety of authors.
New Advent: The Fathers of the Church This site includes an alphabetical listing of the church fathers and the full-text for many of their writings.
Religion Online This site include 6000+ full-text articles and other texts in religion. There are several online texts in the "Theologians" section.
The Texts of the Magisterium and Commentaries This contains the principal texts of the Magisterium of the Church, as well as commentaries by the Popes.

Recommended Websites: Church History

The following resources are related to church history and may help you get more information about particular theologians.

Christianity.com: Church History Timeline This site lists many different people of significance during particular time periods, and provides brief articles on them.
Church History: Early, Imperial, Medieval, & Modern Church History Timelines Interactive timeline that provides events from church history, as well as the significant people involved.
Church History Timeline This timeline is intended as an overview, to give "the big picture" of some of the major events in the church in the last couple of millennia.
The Ecole Initiative The Ecole Initiative is a cooperative effort on the part of scholars to establish an online encyclopedia of early church history (to the Reformation, 1500 CE). Although this site is no longer maintained, it still has very useful elements.
The Hall of Church History This site includes short blurbs on various significant figures in church history with corresponding Internet links for primary sources, further reading, etc. Topics include "The Church Fathers," "The Medieval Churchmen," "The Puritans," and many more.
Theology Website: Church History Study Helps Provides links to various resources related to significant people and movements in church history
Wabash Center: Internet Guide to Religion A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion. Try looking for online texts by particular theologians by using the Advanced Search feature.

GNRS 506/GSPH 506 - Spiritual Concept Analysis in Healthcare: Find Additional Internet Resources

Internet Searching

Evaluating Websites

Introduction - Internet Resources

Recommended Websites: Online Primary Sources

Recommended Websites: Church History