Librarian for the School of Nursing, Public Health, & ALCI
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Librarian for the School of Nursing, Public Health, & ALCI (ESL)
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
Sources
All material in this Research Guide is adapted from Cochrane Help pages. Used with permission.
What is the Cochrane Library?
The Cochrane Library provides access to a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform health care decision-making. These databases include:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE - Other reviews)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
- Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
The Cochrane Library provides access to various systematic reviews in Cochrane Reviews.
According to Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing (2006), a systematic review is defined as "a systematic approach to literature reviews (published and unpublished material) that reduces random errors and bias".
Systematic review. (2006). Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com
Accessing the Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- A collection of high quality evidence-based medicine databases. Includes reviews, treatment protocols, and citations for articles from nursing and medicine journals.
Navigating Cochrane Library Homepage
User Guides & Training Materials
- Cochrane Library Training HubThe hub aims to guide you through using the Cochrane Library by providing access to quick training videos, user guides and webinars. The Cochrane Library Reference Guide provides step-by-step guidance to using the Cochrane Library. Please, follow the link below to view or download the guide.
- User GuideAn 11 page manual on how to use Cochrane
- What is new at Cochrane37-page document that goes over new options in the Cochrane library.
- How to Search the Cochrane LibraryDocument on how to search the Cochrane Library
- How to use the Cochrane Pico Search?Document on how to do PICO searching in Cochrane
Why use the Cochrane Library?
Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level on evidence on which to base clinical decisions. This evidence is gathered by bringing together the research which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions. Cochrane Reviews attempt to provide answers to the following questions:
- How do you know if one health care treatment or intervention is any better than another?
- Will the intervention do more good than harm?
- How can health professionals and consumers make sense of all the research going on around the world?
The Cochrane Library provides information on diverse topics such as injury prevention for pedestrians and cyclists, St John’s wort for depression, programs to reduce juvenile delinquency, the prevention of jet lag, advice on low-fat diets for obesity, and prayer for the alleviation of ill health.
Terminology relevant to the Cochrane Library
Protocol - plan or set of steps to be followed in preparation of a study
Systematic Reviews - overviews in clinical medicine which were originally summaries of relevant randomized controlled trials (RCTs)
Meta-Analyses - systematic reviews which employ a quantitative method to summarize results