The University Libraries welcome gifts from the APU community and other outside sources. Donors wishing to designate the libraries as a recipient of gifts of cash or other assets (besides materials donations) should contact the Office of University Advancement.
Liaisons must coordinate with the Head of Collections & Technical Services or the Print Resources Coordinator for donations of 10 books or more to ensure that sufficient personnel is available to process the donated materials. Librarians should apply the selection criteria based on the subject area for books that are accepted and added to the collection.
Those wishing to make larger donations (more than 10 books or other materials) must first contact the library liaison in advance of the donation. Donations can be given to the Circulation desks at each of the libraries, to the Technical Services Coordinator, or to any librarian. Circulation Coordinators should give any donations to the Technical Services Coordinator along with donor contact information (donor name, address, number of books, and count by binding) if an acknowledgment letter is desired (Library Donation Form should be completed). Librarians should give donations to the Technical Services Coordinator if the books do not fit their liaison areas; otherwise, they may keep the materials and evaluate them.
Donors wishing to donate materials intended for inclusion in the collection of the libraries should consider the following:
There are significant costs associated with accepting gifts of materials for the University Libraries. Financial contributions to offset the review, processing, and storage costs are welcome. The evaluation and approval process for gift materials is very labor-intensive, requiring the time of a librarian, cataloging and acquisitions staff. Indeed, every item added to the collection requires the approval of a librarian in accordance with the library collection development policy.
Gifts become the property of the libraries and can be added to the collection or disposed of at the discretion of the librarian.
It should be emphasized that the libraries’ primary focus in developing its collection is the support of the academic activities of the APU community. As a result, the University Libraries will maintain God-honoring standards of quality for materials intended for inclusion in the collections of the libraries.
The libraries do not assign value to donations for tax purposes. It is up to the donor to determine the value.
Gifts must meet the same criteria as an item purchased for the libraries.
Gifts must be clean and free of dirt.
Gifts must be free of insects, spiders, mold, mildew, and other organisms.
Gifts must be in excellent physical condition.
Gifts must normally not be former library books.
Gifts must be free of significant highlighting and other markings.
Gifts of formats not currently collected will not normally be accepted.
Gifts of textbooks will normally not be accepted.
Gifts of duplicate items will normally not be accepted.
Gifts with restrictions will normally not be accepted.
Gift donors should include their contact information at the time of the donation on the Library Donation Form. The Technical Services Coordinator will prepare an acknowledgment letter for the University Librarian’s signature. This will be sent to the donor for tax purposes and copies will be sent to the University Librarian’s Office and the Office of University Advancement.