Denise R. Gehring, MSLIS, MA
Contact:
Associate Professor;
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Librarian for the School of Nursing, Public Health, & ALCI (ESL)
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Librarian for the School of Nursing, Public Health, & ALCI (ESL)
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
(626) 815-2055
Website
The Basics:
- APU Library CatalogSearch for books, ebooks, and streaming videos. Check to see if we have the textbook that you need for your class.
- Database A-Z ListFind library databases on the A-Z list that are relevant to your subject area.
- Search EverythingLocate articles by searching for the title name in Search Everything.
- Full Text FinderIf you have a full citation of an article you can look it up here.
- APU LibrariesGo to the APU libraries website.
- Ask a LibrarianChat online with a reference librarian anytime during the day or night. AskNow is staffed by academic librarians across the U.S. 24/7.
- Your Library AccountRenew books, pay your fines, check the status of the articles that you have requested and download them. Set up reading history and preferred searches.
- ILEAC (Inland Empire Academic Library Cooperative)It is a cooperative arrangement between 18 academic libraries in San Bernardino, Riverside, Los Angeles, and Orange Counties.
Careers in Public Health
Examples of careers or companies a public health professional will enter into could be a health educator, health care administrator, health initiatives program manager, wellness director, biostatistician, epidemiologist, working for American Red Cross, FEMA, American Heart Association, County of LA's Department of Public Health, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, or Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services just to name a few.
Welcome to the research guide for Public Health, which provides detailed lists of information sources to help answer your research questions. If you've been searching for 20 minutes or longer and can't find what you're looking for, feel free to email me.
Your librarian can:
- Help with your literature search or provide advice about your research topic
- Give you tips for finding questionnaires or other study elements
- Teach you advanced techniques for database searching
- Orient you to the library resources available through APU
- Show you how to cite your sources and manage your citations
- Provide links to other library resources for research and scholarship, teaching, and professional development
**This is a work in progress - I will add and edit items over time.
Important References in Public Health
Key Concepts in Public Health by Call Number: RA425|b.K447 2009ebISBN: 1412948797Publication Date: 2008-12-04Key Concepts in Public Health identifies fifty key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice. From epidemiology to health promotion, and ethics to leadership, the book offers an exciting guide to the multiprofessional field. Each entry features: A snapshot definition of the concept A broader discussion addressing the main issues and links to practice Key points relevant to the entry Case studies to illustrate the application to practice Examples of further reading Highly readable, with clear indexing and cross referencing, this is an ideal book to turn to for learning more about key issues in public health practice and education. The clever structure means the book can be read in its entirety to support a program of study or readers can use it to dip into and update their knowledge of a particular concept. It meets the curriculum requirements of all allied health and nursing training programs and will also be invaluable for policy-makers and healthcare practitioners continuing their professional education.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Call Number: RA423|b.G35 2013ebISBN: 1414498764Publication Date: 2013-06-06The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures. Entries are focused on issues in the United States but include information on other countries, including Australia and the United Kingdom. Entries also include resources for further information, full-color illustrations and photographs, statistical tables, and Key Terms sidebars; the book will also provide contact information for organizations and government programs, a glossary, and cross references. Public Health is an excellent reference for high school and college students conducting research, as well as the general public