LibGuides: Public Health Research Guide: Websites

Guidelines

Guidelines for public health topics in crises
There are essential pieces of information for effective crises preparedness and intervention. This section provides up-to date technical guidance on public health topics for emergency preparedness and response.
Guide to Clinical Preventive Services
The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services includes U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on screening, counseling, and preventive medication topics and includes clinical recommendations for each topic. This new pocket guide provides family physicians, internists, pediatricians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other clinicians with an authoritative source for making decisions about preventive services.
Guide to Community Preventive Services
The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.
Healthy People
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to:
Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors.
Empower individuals toward making informed health decisions.
Measure the impact of prevention activities.
MMWR Recommendations and Reports
The MMWR Recommendations and Reports contain in-depth articles that relay policy statements for prevention and treatment on all areas in CDC’s scope of responsibility (e.g., recommendations from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices).
Physical Activity Guidelines
Physical activity is key to improving the health of the Nation. Based on the latest science, the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans is an essential resource for health professionals and policy makers that provides recommendations on how everyone can improve their health through regular physical activity. Learn ways to help people understand the benefits of physical activity and how to make it a part of their regular routine.
Public health guidance
Public health guidances sets out options for prevention and control of communicable diseases, based on a thorough assessment of the most current evidence by an expert panel, using a rigorous and transparent evidence-based approach. They aim at supporting decision-making processes with respect to public health measures.
Public Health Guidelines
Systematic Review and Evidence-based Guidelines
Public Health Service U S Clinical Practice Guidelines Summaries
Find clinical practice guidelines from the Public Health Service U S. These official guideline summaries are developed from the Public Health Service U S guidelines and are authored to support clinical decision making at the point of care.
Public Health Standards
APHA is a leader in setting standards for the public health field and influencing public health policy.
US Preventive Services Task Force
The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.

Other Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) 's publications offer practical information to help a variety of health care organizations, providers, and others make care in all health care settings.
Behavioral Change Models
Public health is a multi-disciplinary field that aims to 1) prevent disease and death, 2) promote a better quality of life, and 3) create environmental conditions in which people can be healthy by intervening at the institutional, community, and societal level.
Community Health
NACCHO supports local health department programs and services focused on promoting health and preventing disease through:
The development of resources and tools;
Provision of technical assistance, continuing education, and capacity building support through demonstration projects; and
Facilitation of peer exchange of best practices and tools.
Creating a Systematic Review
UWM Systematic Review in Health and Medicine libguide
Disaster Health Information Search Guide
Databases and Indexes of Disaster Literature
MeSH Terms Used in Indexing Disaster-Related PubMed
Disaster Medicine and Disaster Preparedness Journals in PubMed
Emergency Medicine Journals in PubMed
Journals in All-Hazards Database (FEMA)
Glossaries
Emergency Access Initiative
U.S. Government Sources of Disaster Health Information
Environmental Health
NACCHO’s environmental health portfolio addresses the most pressing environmental health issues facing the world today, and NACCHO has numerous tools and resources available to help support local health departments in their environmental health initiatives.
EthnoMed
EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas.
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health
The Pathway to Evidence-Based Resources
Mayo Clinic Patient Information
MedlinePlus Health Information
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Your trusted resource for online peer-reviewed public health information.
Public Health at UCI
The Program in Public Health reflects a number of disciplines and academic interests, many with significant intersections between medicine, epidemiology, disease prevention, health care, environmental sciences, food sciences & nutrition, demography & sociology, education, gender studies, anthropology, Housing, Geography and many other relevant areas.
Public Health at UIC
A guide to information resources relevant to public health research. Includes scholarly sources available through the library, as well as links to public health information freely available on the web, including government documents and data sources.
Public Health Information Resources
Guide to selected resources in Public Health from Yale University.
Public Health Preparedness
Preparing your local health department for the worst, while hoping for the best.
National health security is a state in which the nation and its people are prepared for, protected from, and resilient in the face of incidents with health consequences. Local health departments play a key role in achieving national health security by preparing their communities for disasters, responding when emergencies occur, and lending support through the recovery process.
Public Health Research in the UCLA Library
This Public Health guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on public health. Because public health draws from multiple subject areas you will find resources from many different disciplines
Theories, models and frameworks used in capacity building interventions relevant to public health: a systematic review
BMC Public HealthBMC series – open, inclusive and trusted201717:914
https://doi.org/10.1186/s12889-017-4919-y© The Author(s). 2017
Received: 11 August 2017Accepted: 15 November 2017Published: 28 November 2017
Theories of practice and public health: understanding (un)healthy practices
Stanley Blue, Elizabeth Shove, Chris Carmona & Michael P. Kelly (2016) Theories of practice and public health: understanding (un)healthy practices, Critical Public Health, 26:1, 36-50, DOI: 10.1080/09581596.2014.980396
Theories on Health Behaviors
by Shaheen E Lakhan, MD, PhD, MEd, MS, FAAN | March 19, 2006
Writing Systematic Reviews
“A Systematic Review attempts to collate all empirical evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. It uses explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view to minimizing bias, thus providing reliable findings from which conclusions can be drawn and decisions made."
HealthKnowledge
This learning resource is for anyone working in health, social care and well-being wherever they work or study. The resource allows you to access a broad range of learning materials for personal use or for teaching purposes in order to help everyone expand their public health knowledge.
more...less...
The resources have been set up within four different learning styles:
Public Health Textbook organised in relation to the Faculty of Public Health Part A syllabus but can benefit anyone aiming to increase their public health competencies.
Text Courses involve reading provided text and then questions, answers and feedback, in epidemiology, statistical methods, sickness and health information, population health information, applications of health information at practitioner and specialist levels.
Video Courses in the form of audio podcasts with animated PowerPoint slides and supporting video components, Q&As, and further resources. The subjects covered are finding and appraising the evidence, learning from stakeholders, screening, programme budgeting and marginal analysis.
Management Training with PowerPoint slides, workbooks, and trainer notes in four clinical areas: diabetes, coronary heart disease, stroke and child health.