LibGuides: RELG200 (Introduction to the Study of Religion): Find Websites

Other Websites

The following websites provide a variety of media and information related to world religions.

BBC: Religions While this site is no longer updated, it contains good overviews and other relevant information on a variety of religions
Internet Sacred Text Archive This site provides the sacred texts for most world religions, as well as additional information.
NPR: Religion Listen to stories about religion from around the world.
PBS: Religion & Ethics This site contains a wide variety of videos on various religions and ethical issues.
Religious Tolerance Provides information about 40 organized religions and faith groups
Virtual Religion Index This is a curated website the provides dozens of links to religion-related websites.

Huffington Post: Religion

The articles below come from the Religion section of the Huffington Post website.

Religions

The articles below come from Religions, an "international, interdisciplinary, open access journal on religions and theology."

Syllabus Websites

Required Websites

The Disputation (Part 1 of 5) A film adaptation of a theological debate between Christians and Jews that took place in Barcelona in 1263
The Disputation (Part 2 of 5) A film adaptation of a theological debate between Christians and Jews that took place in Barcelona in 1263
The Disputation (Part 3 of 5) A film adaptation of a theological debate between Christians and Jews that took place in Barcelona in 1263
The Disputation (Part 4 of 5) A film adaptation of a theological debate between Christians and Jews that took place in Barcelona in 1263
The Disputation (Part 5 of 5) A film adaptation of a theological debate between Christians and Jews that took place in Barcelona in 1263
Edward Said: On Orientalism A series of four videos of Edward Said speaking about orientalism as a tool of colonialism
Evangelical Interfaith Dialogue Online journal that "seeks to create space for evangelical scholars and practitioners to dialogue about the dynamics, challenges, practices, and theology surrounding interfaith work, while remaining faithful to the gospel of Jesus and his mission for his Church."
Major Religions of the World Ranked by Number of Adherents Statistics and charts from the Adherents.com website
Orthodox Church in America: Parish Ministry Resources This website contains " a wealth of articles categorized under eight ministry themes describing ways clergy and laity are successfully serving others."
Virtual Training Suite: Religious Studies A series of four modules to aid users in finding quality religious studies websites, in evaluating websites, in discovering scholarly websites, and in using the Internet for research.
Why Study Religion? An article on the Study Religion website, which includes many other articles on the study of religion

Recommended Websites

Adherents.com This website contains statistics and articles related to world religions
Elijah Interfaith Institute The Elijah Interfaith Institute is "a multinational organization dedicated to fostering peace between the world's diverse faith communities through interfaith dialogue, education, research and dissemination."
Interfaith Youth Core This is a website for an interfaith movement that believes that "American college students, supported by their campuses, can be the interfaith leaders needed to make religion a bridge and not a barrier."
Orthodox Church in America: World Churches Directory of world Orthodox churches
Pew Research Center: Religion & Public Life "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
Wabash Center: Religion on the Web This website is "a selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion, including syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software."

Religion Dispatches

The articles below come from the Religion Dispatches website.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Look for the 'APU Library FT Finder' link off to the right of results - these will take you into an APU journal article database where you can usually view the full text of the article. Feel free to play around with the search you see below - just click 'Search,' and modify the terms in the search box.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to go through the following steps to see which items are available through APU databases:

Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com) and click on Settings near the top of the page
Select Library Links from the menu on the left
Type Azusa Pacific University in the search box and click the search icon
Azusa Pacific University should show up in the list below the search box - check the box for Azusa Pacific University
Click the Save button