This is the "Introduction" page of the "Second Language Acquisition Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Second Language Acquisition Research Guide   Tags: research, second_language_acquisition, sla, tesol  

Research guide to support the study and teaching of SLA at Azusa Pacific University.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2010 URL: http://apu.libguides.com/sla Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Other TESOL Related Guides

Accessing TESOL Quarterly
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
TESOL Quarterly is a scholarly/peer reviewed journal published by the Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages, Inc. (TESOL) association and is the most widely used journal of APU TESOL graduate students for research.
20 views this year
Diversity in Language Teaching: A select bibliography
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Jun 17, 2010
A bibliography on diversity in TESOL and Modern Languages.
62 views this year
Second Language Acquisition Research Guide
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Aug 19, 2010
Research guide to support the study and teaching of SLA at Azusa Pacific University.
717 views this year
TESOL Research Guide
by Denise Gehring - Last Updated Jul 19, 2012
Provides information to library resources and services for those studying Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at APU.
32 views this year

APU Faculty Publications in TESOL

 

Introduction

Second Language Acquisition (SLA) is the process of learning another language in addition to the native language. It draws on literature from the disciplines of the humanities and social sciences. There is an overlap between the literature in the areas of education, communication, psychology and linguistics. The study of SLA at APU focuses on the nature of SLA; patterns in the process of acquisition; strategies to employ for success; linguistic, cognitive, affective, and social factors that effect the development of the second language; and role of the language teacher. Some well known names in the field of SLA include Noam Chomsky, Stephen D. Krashen, Dell Hymes, John McWhorter, Peter Ladefoged, Vivian Cook, Zoltán Dörnyeia, Diane Larson-Freeman, Michael H. Long, Sandra McKay, David Nunan, and Andrew D. Cohen.

Since the SLA draws from different fields, this guide identifies a variety of resources that will facilitate research. It contains scholarly and professional, print and electronic resources for graduate students in the Second Language Acquisitions, a required class in the MA TESOL program. However, all resources listed are not available through Azusa Pacific University.

 

Introductory Resources

Cover Art
Key thinkers in linguistics and the philosophy of language - edited by Siobhan Chapman and Christopher Routledge
Call Number: P107 .K49 2005
ISBN: 9780195187687
“A reference text on noted thinkers from antiquity to the present day who have made important contributions to the description or the theory of language. Included are linguists, philosophers, psychologists, anthropologists, cognitive scientists, critical theorists, and mathematicians, all from the Western tradition of thought. Each of the 80 entries offers an overview of the individual's work and a closer analysis of one or more aspects of that work; sufficient biographical information to place the individual's career and ideas in their historical and cultural context; names of other related key thinkers; and suggestions for primary and further reading. For undergraduate and graduate students, academics, and general readers in linguistics and the philosophy of language.”

Cover Art
Theories in Second Language Acquisition: An Introduction - Bill VanPatten and Jessica Williams
Call Number: P118.2 .T45 2007
ISBN: 9780805857382
“Thirteen international academics contribute 12 chapters focusing on a number of contemporary mainstream theories in second language acquisition (SLA) research that have gained attention among scholars. Designed for the beginning student of SLA theory and research, each of the chapters follows the same model: the theory and its constructs, what counts as evidence for the theory, common misunderstandings about the theory, an exemplary study, and how the theory addresses the observable phenomena of SLA.”

Cover Art
Learning New Languages: A Guide to Second Language Acquisition - Tom Scovel
Call Number: P53 .S36 2001
ISBN: 083846677X
“Explores a wide range of issues that influence how children and adults learn second languages. By using P.L.A.C.E as an acronym, standing for People, Language, Attention, Cognition, and Emotion, the book offers an accessible way to examine both the practical and theoretical sides of each issue. The author weaves in his own experiences as a second language learner, language teacher, researcher, and theoretician in second language acquisition.”

Cover Art
Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning - Eli Hinkel
Call Number: P118.2 .H359 2005
ISBN: 9781410612700
“Sixty-nine international academics contribute 57 chapters to a broad- based, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and research in second language (L2) teaching and learning. Coverage includes social contexts of learning; research methodologies in learning, acquisition, and teaching; contributions of applied linguistics to the teaching and learning of discrete and inextricably intertwined L2 skills; L2 processes and development; teaching methods and curricula; second or foreign language testing and assessment; and language planning and policies. For researchers, practitioners, graduate students, and faculty in teacher education and applied linguistics programs; teachers; teacher trainers and trainees; curriculum and material developers; and others in the field of L2 teaching and learning.”

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Denise R. Gehring, MS(LIS), MA
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Associate Professor
Head of Print Resources & Bibliographic Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd.
Azusa, CA 91702
626-815-6000 x5264
Send Email
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Quick Search

Search for books, media, ebooks, and journal articles (from selected databases) in one search.

 

APU Libraries' Twitter Feed

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip