NOTE
THIS GUIDE IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION: MORE CONTENT AND TOPICS TO COME
Reference Works (Dictionaries/Encyclopedias, Handbooks)
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics by
This one-stop reference book on the vital relationship between Scripture and ethics offers needed orientation and perspective for students, pastors, and scholars. Written to respond to the movement among biblical scholars and ethicists to recover the Bible for moral formation, it is the best reference work available on the intersection of these two fields. The volume shows how Christian Scripture and Christian ethics are necessarily intertwined and offers up-to-date treatment of five hundred biblical, traditional, and contemporary topics, ranging from adultery, bioethics, and Colossians to vegetarianism, work, and Zephaniah. The stellar ecumenical list of contributors consists of more than two hundred leading scholars from the fields of biblical studies and ethics, including Darrell Bock, David Gushee, Amy Laura Hall, Daniel Harrington, Dennis Olson, Christine Pohl, Glen Stassen, and Max Stackhouse.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.E84 D53 2011ISBN: 9780801034060Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics (OEBE) explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through extensive analytical and constructive treatments of a wide range of topics by leading biblical scholars and ethicists. Combiningtraditional theoretical frameworks, such as comparative religion, with more recent approaches (postmodern, queer and gender theory, etc.), the OEBE provides a landmark reference overview of everything from ethics in books of the Bible to modern movements and hot-button issues, such as capitalpunishment, bioethics, and abortion.The two-volume Encyclopedia contains over 180 entries ranging in length from 1,000 to 7,000 words. With bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, each entry provides a thorough introduction to the topic that will be of use to scholars and students alike. Given its contemporaryresonance and detailed summary of current scholarship, the OEBE offers a comprehensive, interdisciplinary starting point for research.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.E84 O94 2014 (Vols. 1-2)ISBN: 9780199829910Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Monographs
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Moral Choices: An Introduction to Ethics by
Outlines the distinctive elements of Christian ethics while avoiding undue dogmatism. Introduces other ethical systems and their key historical proponents, including Plato, Aristotle, Augustine, Thomas Aquinas, and Immanuel Kant. Describes a seven-step procedure for tackling ethical dilemmas, then uses case studies to guide critical thinking on social issues including Abortion, Reproductive Technologies, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, Sexual Ethics, The Morality of War, Genetic Technologies and Human Cloning Ethics and Economics NEW: Creation Care, Animal Rights, Gun-Control, Race, Gender, and Diversity, Immigration, Refugees, and Border Control.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BJ1012 .R32 2009 (3rd ed.)ISBN: 9780310536420Publication Date: eBook 2018-10-16 (4th ed.)
Just Immigration: American Policy in Christian Perspective by
Few issues are as complex and controversial as immigration in the United States. The only thing anyone seems to agree on is that the system is broken. Mark Amstutz offers a succinct overview and assessment of current immigration policy and argues for an approach to the complex immigration debate that is solidly grounded in Christian political thought. After analyzing key laws and institutions in the US immigration system, Amstutz examines how Catholics, evangelicals, and main-line Protestants have used Scripture to address social and political issues, including immigration. He critiques the ways in which many Christians have approached immigration reform and offers concrete suggestions on how Christian groups can offer a more credible political engagement with this urgent policy issue.
Call Number: Stamps Faith Integration, Ref Floor/Stacks BR516 .A535 2017ISBN: 9780802874849Publication Date: 2017-05-01
PRINT COPY ONLY
Finding Jesus at the Border by
"A beautifully written, well-researched, painfully moving book" Interweaving biblical narratives of border crossing and stories of immigrants journeying to the United States, Finding Jesus at the Border invites Christians to reconsider the plight of their neighbors and respond with compassion to the immigration crisis. Book jacket.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BV2695.E4 F64 2020ISBN: 9781587434303Publication Date: 2020-04-21
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Jesus, King of Strangers by
Recovering the church's native language for migrants Nationalistic tribalism is on the rise around the world. How we treat strangers (foreigners, immigrants, migrants) is a prominent political, economic, and religious issue. Drawing on his personal experiences and expertise as a biblical scholar, Mark Hamilton argues that Scripture describes God's people as strangers who are called to show grace and hospitality to others. The church has often identified itself as a community of strangers. This was the story of the church during much of its early history. In many parts of the world, it still is. In a world in which 240 million persons are voluntary immigrants and another 60 to 70 million are refugees, the urgency of the church's recovery of its native language on immigration remains vital. Jesus, King of Strangers examines the Bible's key ideas about human movement and the relationship between migrants and their hosts. Hamilton argues that reclaiming the biblical language will free the church from hypernationalism and fear-driven demagoguery.
ISBN: 9780802876621Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Adopting the Stranger as Kindred in Deuteronomy by
Deuteronomy addresses social contexts of widespread displacement, an issue affecting 65 million people today. In this book Mark R. Glanville investigates how Deuteronomy fosters the integration of the stranger as kindred into the community of Yahweh. According to Deuteronomy, displaced people are to be enfolded within the household, within the clan, and within the nation. Glanville argues that Deuteronomy demonstrates the immense creativity that communities may invest in enfolding displaced and vulnerable people. Inclusivism is nourished through social law, the law of judicial procedure, communal feasting, and covenant renewal. Deuteronomy's call to include the stranger as kindred presents contemporary nation-states with an opportunity and a responsibility to reimagine themselves and their disposition toward displaced strangers today.
ISBN: 9780884143116Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Borders: a Very Short Introduction by
[Not a theological or biblical treatment, but a section on the ancient world is included in this political anthropological book.] From publisher: Compelling and accessible, this Very Short Introduction challenges the perception of borders as passive lines on a map, revealing them instead to be integral forces in the economic, social, political, and environmental processes that shape our lives. Highlighting the historical development andcontinued relevance of borders, Alexander C. Diener and Joshua Hagen offer a powerful counterpoint to the idea of an imminent borderless world, underscoring the impact borders have on a range of issues, such as economic development, inter- and intra-state conflict, global terrorism, migration,nationalism, international law, environmental sustainability, and natural resource management. Diener and Hagen demonstrate how and why borders have been, are currently, and will undoubtedly remain hot topics across the social sciences and in the global headlines for years to come.
ISBN: 9780199731503Publication Date: 2012-09-03
Immigrant Neighbors among Us by
How do different Christian denominations in the United States approach immigration issues? In Immigrant Neighbors among Us, U.S. Hispanic scholars creatively mine the resources of their theological traditions to reflect on one of the most controversial issues of our day. Representative theologians from Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Reformed, Methodist/Wesleyan, Pentecostal, and Independent Evangelical church families show how biblical narratives, historical events, systematic frameworks, ethical principles, and models of ministry shape their traditions' perspectives on immigrant neighbors, law, and reform. Each chapter provides questions for dialogue.
ISBN: 9781625643766Publication Date: 2015-09-11
An Intercultural Theology of Migration: Pilgrims in the Wilderness by
Migration has long been associated with the social sciences. However, as a phenomenon that provides windows into possibly new forms of oppression and, at the same time, paths toward human liberation a systematic theological look at contemporary migration is long overdue. Building on the emerging interest on migration in theology this book presents an intercultural theology of migration drawn from the experience of Filipino women domestic workers in Hong Kong in dialogue with theological ethics and liberationist theologies. The result is a new look at the phenomenon of contemporary migration.
ISBN: 9789004181229Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Migrants and Citizens: justice and responsibility in the ethics of immigration by
What responsibilities do citizens have to migrants and potential migrants? What responsibilities do migrants themselves have? What is the basis of those responsibilities? In this book Tisha Rajendra reframes the confused and often heated debate surrounding immigration and develops a Christian ethic that can address these neglected questions. Rajendra begins by illuminating the flawed narratives about migrants that are often used in political debates on the subject. She goes on to propose a new definition of justice that is based on responsibility to relationships, drawing on the concrete experience of migrants, ethical theory, migration theory, and the relational ethics of the Bible. Professors, students, and others committed to formulating a solid ethical approach to questions surrounding immigration will benefit greatly from Rajendra's timely presentation of a constructive way forward.
ISBN: 9780802868824Publication Date: 2017-08-15
Religion, Migration and Identity by
Migration has become a major concern. The increase in migration in the 20th and 21st centuries has social, political and economic implications, but also effectuates change in the religious landscape, in religious beliefs and practices and in the way people understand themselves, each other and the world around them. In Religion, Migration and Identity scholars from various disciplines explore issues related to identity and religion, that people - individually and communally -, encounter when affected by migration dynamics. The volume foregrounds methodology in its exploration of the juxtaposition of religion, migration and identity and addresses questions which originate in various geographical locations, demonstrates new modes of interconnectedness, and thus aims to contribute to the ongoing academic discussions on mission, theology and the Christian tradition in general, in a worldwide perspective.
ISBN: 9004326146Publication Date: 2016-09-29
