Note
Constructs and terms used in examining and discussing gender identity, sexual orientation and related expressions of gender diversity are developing and expanding, are not absolute definitions and are not necessarily claimed commonly by all. Currently many in academics as well as in the LGBTQ+ community and organizations use the term "queer" as an umbrella term to accommodate the spectrum in today's understanding of what is commonly labeled LGBTQ+ and more. See, for example, Terms and Definitions provided by the QRC (Queer Resource Center) at Amherst College (this note has been paraphrased from content provided there).
Reference Works (Dictionaries/Encyclopedias, Handbooks)
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics by
This one-stop reference book on the vital relationship between Scripture and ethics offers needed orientation and perspective for students, pastors, and scholars. Written to respond to the movement among biblical scholars and ethicists to recover the Bible for moral formation, it is the best reference work available on the intersection of these two fields. The volume shows how Christian Scripture and Christian ethics are necessarily intertwined and offers up-to-date treatment of five hundred biblical, traditional, and contemporary topics, ranging from adultery, bioethics, and Colossians to vegetarianism, work, and Zephaniah. The stellar ecumenical list of contributors consists of more than two hundred leading scholars from the fields of biblical studies and ethics, including Darrell Bock, David Gushee, Amy Laura Hall, Daniel Harrington, Dennis Olson, Christine Pohl, Glen Stassen, and Max Stackhouse.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.E84 D53 2011ISBN: 9780801034060Publication Date: 2011-11-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies by
As the first major encyclopedia of its kind, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies (OEBGS) is the go-to source for scholars and students undertaking original research in the field. Extending the work of nineteenth and twentieth century feminist scholarship and more recent queer studies, the Encyclopedia seeks to advance the scholarly conversation by systematically exploring the ways in which gender is constructed in the diverse texts, cultures, and readers that constitute "the world of the Bible." With contributions from leading scholars in gender and biblical studies as well as contemporary gender theorists, classicists, archaeologists, and ancient historians, this comprehensive reference work reflects the diverse and interdisciplinary nature of the field and traces both historical and modern conceptions of gender and sexuality in the Bible.The two-volume Encyclopedia contains more than 160 entries ranging in length from 1,000 to 10,000 words. Each entry includes bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, as well as a topical outline and index to aid in research. The OEBGS builds upon the pioneering work of biblically focused gender theorists to help guide and encourage further gendered discussions of the Bible.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.W7 O94 2014 (v.1-v.2)ISBN: 9780199836994Publication Date: 2014-11-14
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics (OEBE) explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through extensive analytical and constructive treatments of a wide range of topics by leading biblical scholars and ethicists. Combiningtraditional theoretical frameworks, such as comparative religion, with more recent approaches (postmodern, queer and gender theory, etc.), the OEBE provides a landmark reference overview of everything from ethics in books of the Bible to modern movements and hot-button issues, such as capitalpunishment, bioethics, and abortion.The two-volume Encyclopedia contains over 180 entries ranging in length from 1,000 to 7,000 words. With bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, each entry provides a thorough introduction to the topic that will be of use to scholars and students alike. Given its contemporaryresonance and detailed summary of current scholarship, the OEBE offers a comprehensive, interdisciplinary starting point for research.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.E84 O94 2014 (Vols. 1-2)ISBN: 9780199829910Publication Date: 2014-12-01
PRINT COPY ONLY
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender by
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender presents an unrivalled overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. These topics are not merely contentious and pervasive: they have escalated in importance within theology. Theologians increasingly agree that even the verydoctrine of God cannot be contemplated without a prior grappling with each. Featuring 41 newly-commissioned essays, written by some of the foremost scholars in the discipline, this authoritative collection presents and develops the latest thinking in these areas.Divided into eight thematic sections, the Handbook explores: methodological approaches; contributions from neighbouring disciplines; sexuality and gender in the Bible, and in the Christian tradition; controversies within the churches, and within four of the non-Christian faiths; and key concepts andissues. The final, extended section considers theology in relation to married people and families; gay and lesbian people; bisexual people; intersex and transgender people; disabled people; and to friends. This volume is an essential reference for students and scholars, which will also stimulatefurther research.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BT708 .O94 2015ISBN: 9780199664153Publication Date: 2014-12-30
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Monographs
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Moral Choices: An Introduction to Ethics by
Outlines the distinctive elements of Christian ethics while avoiding undue dogmatism. Introduces other ethical systems and their key historical proponents, including Plato, Aristotle, Augustine, Thomas Aquinas, and Immanuel Kant. Describes a seven-step procedure for tackling ethical dilemmas, then uses case studies to guide critical thinking on social issues including Abortion, Reproductive Technologies, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, Sexual Ethics, The Morality of War, Genetic Technologies and Human Cloning Ethics and Economics NEW: Creation Care, Animal Rights, Gun-Control, Race, Gender, and Diversity, Immigration, Refugees, and Border Control.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BJ1012 .R32 2009 (3rd ed.)ISBN: 9780310536420Publication Date: eBook 2018-10-16 (4th ed.)
Kingdom Ethics: Following Jesus in Contemporary Context (2nd ed.) by
"Kingdom Ethics is arguably the most significant and comprehensive Christian ethics textbook of our time." -- Michelle A. Clifton-Soderstrom, North Park Theological Seminary Christian churches across the spectrum, and Christian ethics as an academic discipline, are often guilty of evading what Jesus actually said about moral life, focusing instead on other biblical texts or traditions. This evasion of Jesus has seriously malformed Christian moral witness--which Jesus said is tested by whether we put his words "into practice." David Gushee and Glen Stassen's Kingdom Ethics is the leading Christian introductory ethics textbook for the twenty-first century. Solidly rooted in Scripture--and uniquely focusing on Jesus's teachings in the Sermon on the Mount--the book has offered students, pastors, and other readers a comprehensive and challenging framework for Christian ethical thought. Writing to recenter Christian ethics in Jesus Christ, Gushee and Stassen focus on the meaning of the Kingdom of God, perennial themes of moral authority and moral norms, and all the issues raised by the Sermon on the Mount--such as life and death, sexual and gender ethics, love and justice, truth telling, and politics. This second edition of Kingdom Ethics is substantially revised by Gushee and features enhanced and updated treatments of all major contemporary ethical issues--including updated data and examples, a more global perspective, gender-inclusive language, a clearer focus on methodology, discussion questions for every chapter, and a detailed new glossary. Kingdom Ethics is for readers anywhere wanting a robust, comprehensive understanding of Christian ethics founded on the concrete teachings of Jesus and will equip them for further exploration into the field.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BJ1251 .S8132 2016ISBN: 9780802874214Publication Date: 2016-06-29
check books below
Understanding Transgender Identities by
One of the most pressing issues facing the evangelical church today involves dramatic shifts in our culture's perceptions regarding human sexuality. While homosexuality and same-sex marriage have been at the forefront, there is a new cultural awareness of sexual diversity and gender dysphoria. The transgender phenomenon has become a high-profile battleground issue in the culture wars. This book offers a full-scale dialogue on transgender identities from across the Christian theological spectrum. It brings together contributors with expertise and platforms in the study of transgender identities to articulate and defend differing perspectives on this contested topic. After an introductory chapter surveys key historical moments and current issues, four views are presented by Owen Strachan, Mark A. Yarhouse and Julia Sadusky, Megan K. DeFranza, and Justin Sabia-Tanis. The authors respond to one another's views in a respectful manner, modeling thoughtful dialogue around a controversial theological issue. The book helps readers understand the spectrum of views among Christians and enables Christian communities to establish a context where conversations can safely be held.
ISBN: 9781493419869Publication Date: 2019-11-05
Respectful LGBT Conversations by
In stark contrast to the shrill and nasty interactions among many Christians regarding contentious LGBT issues, this book models a redemptive mode of engagement by featuring respectful conversations among deeply committed Christians who hold to diverging traditional and non-traditional views. The foundational values guiding these conversations are the quest for truth, giving the gift of love to all brothers and sisters in Christ, and modeling Christian unity. Emerging from these conversations are practical steps for a way forward that include creating safe spaces for ongoing conversation and practicing courageous Christian leadership. Based on case studies for a Christian university and two Christian churches, this book provides helpful advice for navigating conflict within churches, Christian denominations, and Christian educational institutions.
ISBN: 9781532617904Publication Date: 2018-05-14
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
People to Be Loved by
Christians who are confused by the homosexuality debate raging in the US are looking for resources that are based solidly on a deep study of what Scripture says about the issue. In People to Be Loved, Preston Sprinkle challenges those on all sides of the debate to consider what the Bible says and how we should approach the topic of homosexuality in light of it. In a manner that appeals to a scholarly and lay-audience alike, Preston takes on difficult questions such as how should the church treat people struggling with same-sex attraction? Is same-sex attraction a product of biological or societal factors or both? How should the church think about larger cultural issues, such as gay marriage, gay pride, and whether intolerance over LGBT amounts to racism? How (or if) Christians should do business with LGBT persons and supportive companies? Simply saying that the Bible condemns homosexuality is not accurate, nor is it enough to end the debate. Those holding a traditional view still struggle to reconcile the Bible's prohibition of same-sex attraction with the message of radical, unconditional grace. This book meets that need.
ISBN: 9780310519669Publication Date: 2015-12-08
