Recommended Databases
This list includes subject selected databases that are relevent for research in the field of TESOL. Other databases can be found by going to the All Databases webpage on the library website.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts"Provides citations and abstracts to articles about all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics".
- Academic Search Premier"Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject".
- ERIC"Eric is the most complete indexing database for education and related topics. It indexes more than 1,000 journals, as well as research and technical reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations, and books".
- Google Scholar"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research".
- JSTOR"Provides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from the back issues of core journals (http://0-www.jstor.org.patris.apu.edu/action/showJournals) in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The issues include full page images for all articles".
- Project Muse"Provides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others (see http://0-muse.jhu.edu.patris.apu.edu/browse)".
- PsycInfo"Extensive coverage of literature on psychology and related fields, dating back to 1887".
- RAND CaliforniaU.S. and California statistics on business/economics, population/demographics, education, community, health/socioeconomics, government finance, census, and politics/public opinion.
- Sage Journals OnlineSAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
- SocIndex with FulltextAbstracts and some full text of articles from journals in sociology, sociolinguistics, and related fields.
- Web of ScienceContains multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. It includes access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, and Current Chemical Reactions.
Subject Specific Indexes & Abstracts
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World“Comprehensive reference volume that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. It has been an active research project for more than fifty years. Thousands of linguists and other researchers all over the world rely on and have contributed to the Ethnologue. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive listing of information of its kind. A new edition is published approximately every four years.”
- Language Teaching: The international research resource for language professionals“Provides professionals and academics with an up-to-date and convenient source of references on research in second and foreign language learning and teaching. Each four-part volume includes about 700 abstracts of research articles reporting the latest developments in language education. The abstracts are selected from some 200 key international periodicals surveyed regularly upon their publication."
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)"Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics."
- Sociological Abstracts“Provides international coverage of the literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Includes abstracts of journal articles, abstracts of conference papers, relevant dissertation listings from Dissertations Abstracts International, citations of book reviews, and abstracts of selected sociology books and book chapters."
- MLA International Bibliography.“Citations and some full text of articles, books, and dissertations about language and literature. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems."
Subject Guide
Denise R. Gehring, MSLIS, MA
She/Her
Contact:
Associate Professor;
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
(626) 815-2055
Website
Related Web Databases
- ESL Resource Database“The documents in this database discuss research background to the field of adult ESL instruction; provide guides to current practice; and may point the way to further research. The materials are recent, meaning produced since the year 2000, although there are a few important works or statistical compilations from the late 1990s.”
- ERIC“Contains abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database contains more than 1,243,000 records and links to more than 224,000 full-text documents from ERIC.”