Print and Ebook Directories
- Directory of teacher education programs in TESOL in the United States and Canada byCall Number: ECampus Ref - PE1128.A2 T4543 2005-07ISBN: 1931185255Alexandria, Va. : Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages, 2005. “The current edition provides information about nearly 420 programs in 232 institutions in the United States and Canada. Entries describe program length, requirements, courses, staff, tuition, fees, admission requirements, and summer sessions. State and provincial requirements for teaching ESL are also included.”
Opportunities in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages by Call Number: Link+ - PE1128 .A2 C32 2007ISBN: 0071476105New York : McGraw Hill, c2007. What is TESOL? -- Teaching the teacher -- What an ESL/EFL teacher does? -- Salaries and benefits -- Job hunting --U.S. and Canadian teaching jobs -- Going overseas -- Opportunities abroad -- Around the world -- Appendix A: Job-hunting and online resources -- Appendix B: Job contacts by country -- Appendix C: Teacher training programs.
Opportunities in Overseas Careers by Call Number: Link+ - HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005ISBN: 0071437258New York : VGM Career Books, c2005. Working overseas -- Finding that job -- Private U.S. companies overseas -- Teaching English as a foreign language -- Department of Defense dependents schools and international schools -- The foreign service -- The Peace Corps -- Nonprofit organizations
Online Directories
- Directory of foreign language immersion programs in U.S. schools“This directory includes elementary, middle, and high schools that teach all or part of their curriculum through a second language. Such programs are referred to as total or partial immersion programs. In general, the programs are designed for students whose native language is English.”
- Foreign Language Assessment Directory“A free, searchable database with information on more than 200 assessments in over 90 languages other than English. FLAD contains information about assessments currently used in elementary, middle, secondary, and post-secondary school programs around the United States.”
- MLA directory of periodicals: a guide to journals and series in languages and literatures“Presents detailed information on more than 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, with 4,400 currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines.”
- Online Directory of ESL Resources“This directory provides an online reference for the most useful ESL resources primarily for teachers and students, though other groups, such as administrators, business people, researchers, and parents, may find them helpful as well.”
Subject Guide
Denise R. Gehring, MSLIS, MA
She/Her
Contact:
Associate Professor;
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
Head of Collections & Technical Services
Hugh & Hazel Darling Library #210
701 E. Foothill Blvd., PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702
(626) 815-2055
Website