Word Study
You'll find the resources for doing a word study in the box to the right. For in-depth instructions on how to do a word study, click here for an online guide, or view/print the document below.
Concordances in Stamps Library
The following concordances can be found in the reference section of Stamps Library.
Strongest Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by Call Number: Theology Ref BS425 .S8 2001ISBN: 0310233437KJV
Zondervan NIV Exhaustive Concordance by Call Number: Theology Ref BS425 .G62 1999ISBN: 0310229979NIV
Online Concordances
The Blue Letter Bible provides several Bible study tools, including concordances for several translations of the Bible. To obtain Strong's numbers, search either the KJV or NASB translations. The Bible Gateway doesn't have as many Bible study tools, but it has many more translations of the Bible, all of which are searchable.
- Bible GatewaySelect a Bible translation in the drop-down menu on the right, enter a word in the search box, and click 'Search.'
- Blue Letter BibleIn the 'BLB Searches' section on the right, enter an English word in the top box, and choose the translation in the drop-down menu. Look under the 'LexiConc/Concordance' tab for results.
What is a Concordance?
A Bible concordance is an alphabetical list of the principal words used in a particular translation of Scripture, along with their immediate contexts (i.e. the passages in which they appear). Those using a numbering system will also include a number that coordinates with a Hebrew-to-English or Greek-to-English dictionary in the back of the concordance. The dictionaries in the back include brief definitions of Hebrew and Greek words, but there are other reference tools that will provide much more information for each term.
Use the list below to find an appropriate concordance (or more than one). All of the ones listed include either Strong's numbers or G/K numbers, and have dictionaries in the back.
| Bible Translation | Title/Author | Call Number | Numbering System |
| AEV/REV |
Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible |
Theo Ref BS425 S8 1890 | Strong's |
| KJV | Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible J. Strong |
Theo Ref BS425 S8 1975 | Strong's |
| KJV | Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible J. Strong |
Theo Ref BS425 S8 1980 | Strong's |
| KJV | Strongest Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible J. Strong |
Theo Ref BS425 S8 2001 | Strong's |
| NASV | New American Standard Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible R.L. Thomas |
Theo Ref BS425 N385 | Strong's |
| NASV | Zondervan NASB Exhaustive Concordance | Theo Ref BS425 N27 2000 | Strong's |
| NIV | Zondervan NIV Exhaustive Concordance E.W. Goodrick & J.R. Kohlenberger |
Theo Ref BS425 G62 1999 | G/K* |
* This concordance has a conversion chart in the back that allows you to look up Strong's numbers in order to find the corresponding G/K number - it also goes the other way, and lets you look up G/K numbers in order to find the corresponding Strong's numbers.
Word Study Resources
The following resources can help you dig into word in the Bible more deeply. For instructions on how to do a word study, click here.
Expository Dictionary of Bible Words by Call Number: Theology Ref BS440 .E97 2005ISBN: 1565636732Use for OT and NT terms - accessible by English word, and provides Strong's numbers
The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology by Call Number: Theology Ref BS2312 .N48 1986 vs.1-4ISBN: 0310332001Use for NT terms - accessible by English word
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis by Call Number: Theology Ref BS440 .N438 1997 vs.1-5ISBN: 0310214009Use for OT terms - accessible by G/K number, English word, and OT passage
New Linguistic and Exegetical Key to the Greek New Testament by Call Number: Theology Ref BS1965.2 1998ISBN: 0310201756Use for NT terms - accessible by G/K number and NT passage
The NIV Theological Dictionary of New Testament Words by Call Number: Theology Ref BS2312 .N482 2000ISBN: 0310216508Use for NT terms - accessible by G/K number
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by Call Number: Theology Ref BS440 .B5713 vs.1-15ISBN: 0802823386Use for OT terms - accessible by English transliteration (get librarian's help with this)
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament by Call Number: BS 440 T4813 1997 vs.1-3ISBN: 1565631331Use for OT terms - accessible by Strong's number
Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament by Call Number: Theology Ref BS440 .T49 1980bISBN: 0802486495Use for OT terms - accessible by Strong's number
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by Call Number: Theology Ref BS2312 .K5813 1964 vs.1-10ISBN: 0802822509Use for NT terms - accessible by English word (look up in volume 10)