Ruth Commentaries
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Ruth (AB=Anchor Bible commentary series) [see Campbell's in pre-'85 below also] by
Delving deeply into the complicated nature of the book's characters' relationships, Jeremy Schipper encourages readers to consider the roles that categories of difference involving gender, disability, household status, ethnicity, and sexual desire play throughout the text. This fresh translation is more literal and less idiosyncratic than its predecessors. Reflects the latest research in biblical scholarship. See also Campbell in AB series in pre-'85 box below.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2.A1 v.8 2016ISBN: 9780300192155Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Book of Ruth (NICOT=New International Commentary on the Old Testament series) by
The book of Ruth contains one of the Bible's best-known and most-loved stories. This major commentary by Robert L. Hubbard Jr. shows how the author of Ruth used, with great literary artistry, the story of Ruth and Naomi to convey important theological themes. In his introduction Hubbard discusses the issues of text, canonicity, literary criticism, authorship, date, purpose, setting, genre, legal background, themes, and theology, concluding with an outline of the book and a thorough bibliography. The commentary proper is based on Hubbard's own fresh translation and accented by copious footnotes on textual, philological, and literary matters. Gleaning the best from recent research on Ruth, Hubbard gives the story's rich literary, grammatical, and theological dimensions a careful, rigorous treatment. He allows for the possibility that the anonymous author was a woman and argues that the narrative itself aims to counter opposition to the Davidic monarchy in Israel and Judah during Solomon's reign. Throughout, Hubbard's sensitivity to the literary genius of Ruth's author and his coherent explication of the outworking of the book's theological themes make this volume an invaluable tool for anyone desiring to explore the intriguing story of Ruth in depth.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .N48 v.8 (Stamps stacks copy missing)ISBN: 9780802825261Publication Date: 1989-02-20
Ruth and Esther (BO=Berit Olam series) by
Some ancient works of literature survive in fragments that appear so simple and complete it's hard to imagine them as being part of a larger narrative. Such is the case with Ruth and Esther. On first reading they appear so simple, so whole, and their meanings so completely self-evident. Yet the closer you look, the more perplexing they become. Ruth and Estheroffers that close look, enabling readers to discover the uncertainties of the texts and demonstrating how these uncertainties are not problems to be solved, but rather are integral to the narrative art of these texts. In Ruth, the first part of this volume, Tod Linafelt highlights the most unresolved and perplexing aspects of Ruth. In doing so he offers an interpretation he calls "unsettling." Linafelt states that it is unsettling in the sense that he often refuses to "settle" on a single, unequivocal meaning of a particular word, phrase, or theme. Rather he prefers to underscore the dual or even multiple meanings that the narrative so often has. Another way Ruthdiffers from other interpretations is that Linafelt entertains the possibility that there might be complexity or ambiguity with regard to the various characters' motivations, the presentation of God, or the book's purpose. In this commentary, Linafelt explores the ambiguities of meaning built into the grammar, syntax, and vocabulary of the story to discover how these ambiguities carry over to the larger interpretive issues of characterization, theology, and purpose. He also lays forth an argument that the book of Ruth is intended to be read as an interlude between Judges and Samuel. The second part of this volume focuses on Esther, a story of anti-Judaism that raises strikingly contemporary questions concerning relations between sexism, ethnocentrism, and national identity. In EstherTimothy Beal guides readers into the meaning of the story using rhetorical criticism. He asks questions without assuming that there must be answers and allows for complexity, perplexity, and the importance of accidents in the text. In essence, Beal emphasizes the particular over the general and the tentative over the continuous; however, he does not altogether dismiss the importance of broader interpretations of Esther, especially those focusing on narrative structure. Chapters in Ruthare "The Bond between Ruth and Naomi," "Finding Favor in Boaz's Field," "An Ambiguous Encounter in the Night," and "Making It All Legal." Chapters in Estherare "Beginning with the End of Vashti: Esther 1:1-22," "Remembering to Forget: Esther 2:1-4," "New Family Dynamics: Esther 2:5-18," "Coup: Esther 2:19-23," "Politics of Anti-Judaism: Esther 3:1-15," "Another Quarter: Esther 4:1-17," "Face to Face: Esther 5:1-8," "Fifty Cubits for Mordecai: Esther 5:9-14," "Sleep Deserts: Esther 6:1-14," "Coming Out Party: Esther 7:1- 10," "Overwriting: Esther 8:1-17," and "Aftermath: Esther 9:1--10:3."
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .B47 v.8,17 1999ISBN: 9780814650455Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Ruth & Esther (SHBC=Smyth & Helwys series) by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .S69 v.8, 17 2016ISBN: 9781573128919Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Ruth (IBC=Interpretation: A Commentary for Teaching and Preaching series) by
The narrative of the book of Ruth is a drama of ordinary human life, but the drama unfolds against a background of the providence and purposes of God. Katharine Doob Sakenfeld has written a commentary that makes very clear why the book of Ruth has such great importance as literature and as Scripture. Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .I68 v.8 1999ISBN: 9780804231497Publication Date: 1999-10-01
Ruth (WCom=Wisdom Commentary series) by
This volume, using multiple methods, seeks to bring together the best scholarship and insight--Jewish and Christian, past and present--that has contributed to our understanding and appreciation of the biblical book of Ruth. As a feminist commentary, it is particularly sensitive to issues of relationship and inclusion, power and agency. In addition to the voices of the primary co-authors, Alice Laffey and Mahri Leonard-Fleckman, the volume incorporates and integrates important contributing voices from diverse contemporary social contexts and geographical locations. In sum, the commentary seeks to allow Ruth, Naomi, and Boaz to speak again for the first time.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .W57 v.8 2017ISBN: 9780814681077Publication Date: 2017-07-25
PRINT COPY ONLY
Ruth-Esther (WBC=Word Biblical Commentary by
The Word Biblical Commentary delivers the best in biblical scholarship, from the leading scholars of our day who share a commitment to Scripture as divine revelation. This series emphasizes a thorough analysis of textual, linguistic, structural, and theological evidence. The result is judicious and balanced insight into the meanings of the text in the framework of biblical theology. These widely acclaimed commentaries serve as exceptional resources for the professional theologian and instructor, the seminary or university student, the working minister, and everyone concerned with building theological understanding from a solid base of biblical scholarship. Overview of Commentary Organization Introduction--covers issues pertaining to the whole book, including context, date, authorship, composition, interpretive issues, purpose, and theology. Each section of the commentary includes: Pericope Bibliography--a helpful resource containing the most important works that pertain to each particular pericope. Translation--the author's own translation of the biblical text, reflecting the end result of exegesis and attending to Hebrew and Greek idiomatic usage of words, phrases, and tenses, yet in reasonably good English. Notes--the author's notes to the translation that address any textual variants, grammatical forms, syntactical constructions, basic meanings of words, and problems of translation. Form/Structure/Setting--a discussion of redaction, genre, sources, and tradition as they concern the origin of the pericope, its canonical form, and its relation to the biblical and extra-biblical contexts in order to illuminate the structure and character of the pericope. Rhetorical or compositional features important to understanding the passage are also introduced here. Comment--verse-by-verse interpretation of the text and dialogue with other interpreters, engaging with current opinion and scholarly research. Explanation--brings together all the results of the discussion in previous sections to expose the meaning and intention of the text at several levels: (1) within the context of the book itself; (2) its meaning in the OT or NT; (3) its place in the entire canon; (4) theological relevance to broader OT or NT issues. General Bibliography--occurring at the end of each volume, this extensive bibliographycontains all sources used anywhere in the commentary.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .W67 v.8,17 1996 and Stamps Stacks BS491.2 .W67 v.9ISBN: 0310522102
Ruth (OTL=Old Testament Library) by
Kirsten Nielsen's commentary on the book of Ruth, now available in a new casebound edition, paints a rich and subtle portrait of its characters, carefully tracing the many connections between this story and other biblical passages, such as the stories of Judah and Tamar. This volume is a powerful addition to this critically acclaimed Old Testament Library series. The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The contributors are scholars of international standing.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .O4 v.8ISBN: 9780664220921
Ruth (JPSBC=The JPS Bible Commentary series) by
Thanks to these generous donors for making the publication of this book possible: Dr. and Mrs. Lawrence Deutsch. The latest in the JPS Bible Commentary series, 2011 National Jewish Book Award Winner, Barbara Dobkin Award in Women's Studies The moving story of Ruth, with its themes of loyalty, loving kindness (hesed), and redemption, is one of the great narratives of the Bible. Socially, the Israelites were aware of their responsibility to protect the weak and unprotected among them. Redemption secures the life of the people as a community, not just as individuals. In this story, Boaz fills the familial obligation to marry the widow of a deceased relative who never was able to father children, both to continue the family line and protect an otherwise vulnerable woman. The authors provide a critical, line-by-line commentary of the biblical text, presented in its original Hebrew, complete with vocalization and cantillation marks, as well as the 1985 JPS English translation. The extensive introduction places the book within its historical, literary, and critical context, discusses contemporary interpretations of the story of Ruth, and examines its major motifs and themes, among them: family, marriage and levirate marriage in biblical and ancient Israel, redemption and inheritance, hesed, and the book's connection with the Jewish holiday of Shavuot.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .J49 v.8 2011ISBN: 9780827607446Publication Date: 2011-07-06
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Judges and Ruth (TOTC=Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries series) by
The book of Judges presents Israel's frailty, the nation's need for deliverance, and God's use of flawed leaders to guide his chosen people through a dark period of their history. The book of Ruth tells a smaller story within this narrative, showing God quietly at work in the lives of a few individuals. Mary Evans's replacement Tyndale commentary places each book in its historical and canonical context, examines key theological themes, and addresses issues facing twenty-first-century readers. The Tyndale Commentaries are designed to help the reader of the Bible understand what the text says and what it means. The Introduction to each book gives a concise but thorough treatment of its authorship, date, original setting, and purpose. Following a structural Analysis, the Commentary takes the book section by section, drawing out its main themes, and also comments on individual verses and problems of interpretation. Additional Notes provide fuller discussion of particular difficulties. In the new Old Testament volumes, the commentary on each section of the text is structured under three headings: Context, Comment, and Meaning. The goal is to explain the true meaning of the Bible and make its message plain.
ISBN: 9780830842575Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Ruth (ABC=Asia Bible Commentary series) by
This commentary presents the book of Ruth through a uniquely Asian lens that helps bring out the nuances of this Old Testament text that are often missed or misunderstood. The deep and skillful exegesis presented will satisfy a scholarly reader, yet the language used is accessible enough for lay preachers and teachers to understand, appreciate, and use. This commentary brings the text to life; Ruth is no longer a story in a time long gone, but one that effortlessly unfolds right in front of your eyes. The Asia Bible Commentary Series empowers Christian believers in Asia to read the Bible from within their respective contexts. Holistic in its approach to the text, each exposition of the biblical books combines exegesis and application. The ultimate goal is to strengthen the Body of Christ in Asia by providing pastoral and contextual exposition of every book of the Bible.
ISBN: 9781783685462Publication Date: 2019-10-31
Ruth/Song of Songs/Esther: A Commentary in the Wesleyan Tradition (NBBC=New Beacon Bible Commentary series) by
Love, faithfulness, and redemption are among the themes of Ruth, Song of Songs, and Esther. This masterful New Beacon Bible Commentary, written by three accomplished scholars, highlights the unique features of each of these three biblical books. Ruth's portrayal of love, devotion, and redemption is set alongside the Song of Song's poetic celebration of God s gift of love between a man and a woman. And rounding out this incredible volume is Esther's story of God, faithful but seemingly hidden, working through human hands to reverse the intentions of evil and deliver his people. As always, this NBBC brings to readers the finest literary, historical, and theological analysis of the text, along with guidance for application and further study.The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.EACH VOLUME FEATURES:Contemporary scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan theological traditionConvenient introductory material, including information on authorship, date, history, audience, sociological/ cultural issues, purpose, literary features, theological themes, and hermeneutical issuesClear verse-by-verse explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived YNbeaLove, faithfulness, and redemption a
ISBN: 9780834138735Publication Date: 2020-08-24
Pre-1985 Ruth Commentaries
These commentaries were published before 1985. For exegetical papers, many of our faculty will not accept works that are this old. Please consult your syllabus or ask your professor before using these. They are included here as several are classics and still useful; many provide specialized contributions for advanced study as well.
BOTH ONLINE AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - ONLINE REQUIRES INTERNET ARCHIVE LOGIN
Ruth (AB=Anchor Bible series) by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2.A1 v.8 1975 and Stamps Stacks BS1313 .C35ISBN: 9780385053167Publication Date: 1975-08-01
Historical Ruth Commentaries
PRINT COPY ONLY
Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1-2 Samuel (ACCS=Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture series) by
The history of the entry into the Promised Land followed by that of the period of the judges and early monarchy may not appear to readers today as a source for expounding the Christian faith. But the church fathers readily found parallels, or types, in the narrative that illumined the New Testament. An obvious link was the similarity in name between Joshua, Moses' successor, and Jesus--indeed, in Greek both names are identical. Thus Joshua was consistently interpreted as a type of Christ. So too was Samuel. David was recognized as an ancestor of Jesus, and parallels between their two lives were readily explored. And Ruth, in ready fashion, was seen as a type of the church.Among the most important sources for commentary on these books are the homilies of Origen, most of which are known to us through the Latin translations of Rufinus and Jerome. Only two running commentaries exist--one from Gregory of Nazianzus, one of the famous Cappadocian theologians, the other from Bede the Venerable. Another key source for the selections found here derives from question-and-answer format, such as Questions on the Heptateuch from Augustine, Questions on the Octateuch from Theodoret of Cyr and Thirty Questions on 1 Samuel from Bede. The remainder of materials come from a wide variety of occasional and doctrinal writings, which make mention of the biblical texts to support the arguments.Readers will find a rich treasure trove of ancient wisdom, some appearing here for the first time in English translation, that speaks with eloquence and challenging spiritual insight to the church today.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3.A53 v.4 and Stamps Stacks BS1295.53 .J67 2005ISBN: 9780830814749Publication Date: 2005-09-23
"Specialized Lens" Commentaries
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN (Texts @ Contexts eBooks provided by JSTOR database)
Africa Bible Commentary by
The Africa Bible Commentary is a unique publishing event - the first one-volume Bible commentary produced in Africa by African theologians to meet the needs of African pastors, students, and lay leaders. Interpreting and applying the Bible in the light of African culture and realities, it furnishes powerful and relevant insights into the biblical text that transcend Africa in their significance. The Africa Bible Commentary gives a section-by-section interpretation that provides a contextual, readable, affordable, and immensely useful guide to the entire Bible. Readers around the world will benefit from and appreciate the commentary's fresh insights and direct style that engage both heart and mind. for Africa - and for the world; section-by-section interpretive commentary and application; more than 70 special articles dealing with topics of key importance in to ministry in Africa today, but that have global implications; 70 African contributors from both English- and French-speaking countries; and, it transcends the African context with insights into the biblical text and the Christian faith for readers worldwide.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .A47 2010ISBN: 9780310264736Publication Date: eBook 2006; print 2010 (2nd ed.)
South Asia Bible Commentary by
A one-volume commentary, written and edited by South Asian Biblical scholars on all the books of the Bible.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .S67 2015ISBN: 9780310286868Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Women's Bible Commentary (3rd. ed., rev. and exp.) by
The Women's Bible Commentary is a trusted, classic resource for biblical scholarship, written by some of the best feminist scholars in the field today. This twentieth anniversary edition features brand new or thoroughly revised essays to reflect newer thinking in feminist interpretation and hermeneutics. It comprises commentaries on every book of the Bible, including the apocryphal books; essays on the reception history of women in the Bible; and essays on feminist critical method. The contributors raise important questions and explore the implications of how women and other marginalized people are portrayed in biblical texts, looking specifically at gender roles, sexuality, political power, and family life, while challenging long-held assumptions. This commentary brings modern critical methods to bear on the history, sociology, anthropology, and literature of the relevant time periods to illuminate the context of these biblical portrayals and challenges readers to new understandings.
Call Number: Stamp Reference Floor BS491.3 .W66 2012 (3rd. ed.)ISBN: 9780664237073Publication Date: 07-17-2014 (imprint copy used for eBook)
The Africana Bible: Reading Israel's Scriptures from Africa and the African Diaspora by
A landmark volume, The Africana Bible gathers multicultural and interdisciplinary perspectives on every book in the Hebrew Bible. It opens a critical window onto the world of interpretation on the African continent and in the multiple diasporas of African peoples, including the African-American experience, with attention to Africana histories, literatures, cultures, and backgrounds for understanding biblical literature. The Africana Bible features a critical commentary on every book of the Hebrew Bible, the Apocrypha, and Pseudepigrapha that are authoritative for many in African and African-diasporan communities worldwide. It highlights issues of concern to the global Black community (such as globalization and the colonial legacy) and the distinctive norms of interpretation in African and African Diasporan settings.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1171.3 .A37 2010ISBN: 9780800621254Publication Date: 2009-11-19
Wisdom Commentary series (WCom) by Call Number: OT: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .W57/NT: Stamps Ref Floor BS2341.52 .W57ISBN: 9780814681022Publication Date: 2015-For some volumes in the series we only have print copies, while for some we have both print and eBook copies. To discover availability and access options, search the catalog or CONSULT THE TABBED PAGES FOR EACH BOOK OF THE BIBLE IN THIS GUIDE.
Note: The publisher describes this series as feminist, but adds that in some volumes "[that lens is] informed by critical masculinity studies, queer theory, and[/or] reception criticism," e.g., Revelation and others.
A Postcolonial Commentary on the New Testament Writings by
Since its emergence a few years ago, postcolonial biblical criticism has witnessed swift expansion and development in Biblical Studies. This critical approach has been increasingly applied to biblical texts as well as modern and postmodern interpretations and interpreters of these texts, yielding an ever-growing body of dissertations, scholarly articles, and volumes. In the process, this approach has become increasingly sophisticated as well in matters of method and theory. This Postcolonial Commentary on the New Testament Writings represents a critical benchmark in postcolonial biblical criticism. Indeed, the Commentary stands as the most comprehensive application to date of postcolonial criticism to the biblical texts, with its focus on the entire corpus of the New Testament. It places the reality and ramifications of imperial-colonial frameworks and relations at the centre of biblical criticism. The various entries pursue their analysis across a broad range of concerns and through a number of different approaches. They show, among other things, how texts and interpretations construct and/or relate to their respective imperial-colonial contexts; foreground literary, rhetorical, and ideological marks of coloniality and postcoloniality in both texts and interpretations; reveal how postcolonial reading strategies disrupt and destabilize hegemonic biblical criticism; and engage in critical dialogue with the visions and projects identified in texts as well as in interpretations. Toward this end, the Commentary has recourse to a highly distinguished and diversified roster of scholars, making this a definite point of reference for years to come.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2361.3 .P67 2007ISBN: 9780567179869Publication Date: 2007-09-27
Texts @ Contexts Commentary series by Call Number: see note belowISBN: 9780800699376Publication Date: 2013-04-01For some volumes in the series we only have print copies, for some we have both print and eBook copies. To discover availability and access options, search the catalog or consult the pages for each book of the Bible in this Commentaries guide. (If you found this record on another guide, Commentaries/Works by Book of the Bible can be found under Biblical Studies on the Stamps Virtual Library).
PRINT COPY ONLY
Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary by
The Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary is a groundbreaking, multi-year work and the first full-Bible commentary to come out of Central and Eastern Europe. The aim of this resource is to provide a contemporary, contextually relevant, church-based commentary written exclusively by biblical scholars from the region. Rooted in scholarship, while also written in clear and accessible language, this commentary will appeal to Christians everywhere.
This resource will help pastors, preachers, teachers and lay leaders to interpret and apply biblical truths in the rapidly changing contexts of their lives and faith communities.
Features:
Central and Eastern European contextual theological applications of biblical teaching
Over 100 articles addressing issues pertaining to our life as Christians in the twenty-first century
Clear, accessible language which will appeal to Christians everywhere
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .C46 2022ISBN: 9781783688227Publication Date: 2022
Global Bible Commentary by
The Global Bible Commentary invites its users to expand their horizon by reading the Bible with scholars from all over the world and from different religious persuasions.nbsp; These scholars have approaches and concerns that often are poles apart.nbsp; Yet they share two basic convictions:nbsp; biblical interpretation always matters; and reading the Bible "with others" is highly rewarding.nbsp;nbsp; Each of the short commentaries of the Global Bible Commentary is a readily accessible guide for reading a biblical book. Written for undergraduate and seminary students and their teachers, as well as for pastors, priests, and Adult Sunday School classes, it introduces the users to the main features of the biblical book and its content. Yet each short commentary does more. It also brings us a precious gift, namely the opportunity of reading this biblical book as if for the first time. By making explicit the specific context and the concerns from which she/he reads the Bible, the scholar points out to us the significance of aspects of the biblical text that we simply took for granted or overlooked. Need more info?nbsp; Download Global Bible Commentary Marketing Brochure PDF Free Adobe Acrobat Reader! If any book demonstrates the value of cultural criticism and the importance of particularity in interpretation, this is it! Scholars from diverse social locations in every continent bring their distinctive context to bear on the act of interpreting. In so doing, they shed eye-opening light on the biblical texts. The resulting critical dialogue with the Bible exposes the oppressive as well as the liberating dynamics of the texts while at the same time showing how the Bible might address the social, political, cultural, and economic dynamics of our world today. This collection can change the way you read the Bible--scholars and students, clergy and laity alike. -David Rhoads, Professor of New Testament, Lutheran School of Theology, Chicago, IL nbsp; Contributors: Daniel Patte, Professor of New Testament and Early Christianity at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, USA.nbsp; A Frenchnbsp; Huguenot (Église Réformée de France), he taught two years in Congo-Brazzaville, and "read the Bible with" people in France, Switzerland, South Africa, Botswana, the Philippines, as well as in the USA.nbsp; His publications include books on hermeneutics and semiotics (such as Early Jewish Hermeneutics, 1975;nbsp; The Religious Dimensions of Biblical Texts, 1990); on Paul and Matthew (such as Paul''s Faith and the Power of the Gospel, 1983; The Gospel according to Matthew: A Structural Commentary on Matthew''s Faith, 1987), as well as, most directly related to the GBC,nbsp; Ethics of Biblical Interpretation (1995),nbsp; The Challenge of Discipleship (1999),nbsp; Reading Israel in Romans:nbsp; Legitimacy and Plausibility of Divergent Interpretations (ed. with Cristina Grenholm, 2000), The Gospel of Matthew: A Contextual Introduction (with Monya Stubbs, Justin Ukpong, and Revelation Velunta, 2003). nbsp;José Severino Croatto,. Professor of Exegesis, Hebrew, and Religious Studies, at Instituto Superior Evangélico de Estudios Teológicosnbsp; (ISEDET).nbsp; A contributor to Revista de Interpretación Bíblica Latinoamericana (= RIBLA) and the Movement of Popular Reading of the Bible, he published 22 books, including three volumes on hermeneutics, Exodus, A Hermeneutics of Freedom (1981); Biblical Hermeneutics. Toward a Theory of Reading as the Production of Meaning (1987); Hermenéutica Práctica. Los principios de la hermenéutica bíblica en ejemplos (2002); three volumes on Génesis 1-11 (1974; 1986; 1997), the last one, Exilio y sobrevivencia. Tradiciones contraculturales en el Pentateuco; three volumes on the book of Isaiah (1988; 1994; 2001), the last one, Imaginar el futuro. Estructura retórica y querigma del Tercer Isaías (Isaías 56-66); two volumes on Religious Studies (1994; 2002), the last one, Experiencia de lo sagrado y tradiciones religiosas. Estudio de fenomenología de la religión (2002). nbsp;Rev. Dr. Nicole Wilkinson Duran, after teaching New Testament in the USA, South Africa (Zululand), in Turkey, is currently teaching part-time at Rosemont College and Villanova University, and with her husband raising twin sons in the suburbs of Philadelphia, PA.nbsp; She has published articles on topics ranging from gender and race in Esther, to the unread Bible in Toni Morrison''s novels, to body symbolism in the story of John the Baptist''s execution, and edited (with G. Phillips) Reading Communities Reading Scripture (2002).nbsp; She is an ordained Presbyterian minister and does occasional preaching and adult Christian education. nbsp;Teresa Okure, SHCJ, a graduate from the University of Ibadan, La Sorbonne, École Biblique of Jerusalem, and Fordham University (Ph.D.), is Professor of New Testament and Gender Hermeneutics at the Catholic Institute of West Africa, Port Harcourt, Nigeria. She is or has been a member of the executive committees of several associations, including EATWOT (Ecumenical Association of Third World Theologians, as Executive Secretary), the International Association for Mission Studies (IAMS), and the Society for New Testament Studies (SNTS).nbsp; She published more than 100 articles and six books including The Johannine Approach to Mission: a Contextual Study of John 4:1-42nbsp; (1988), ed. Evaluating the Inculturation of Christianity in Africa (1990) andnbsp; ed. To Cast Fire upon the Earth:nbsp; Bible and Mission.nbsp; Collaborating in Today''s Multicultural Global Contextnbsp; (2000). nbsp;Archie Chi_Chung Lee,nbsp; Professor of Hebrew Bible, Department of Cultural and Religious Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.nbsp; A specialist of cross-textual hermeneutics, especially Chinese text and the post-exilic biblical tradition.nbsp; He is the author of several books including A Comm
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .G57 2004ISBN: 9780687064038Publication Date: 2004-10-01
The IVP Women's Bible Commentary by
What does the Bible say to a young mother at home nursing her baby?What role models for intelligent, talented women can we find in Scripture?What was everyday life like for women in biblical times?What does Scripture say to women who have been abused or raped?What can men learn from women by viewing Scripture through their concerns and insights?This surprising commentary searches Scripture in light of the many theological, biblical, sociological and psychological concerns of women. Led by editors Catherine Clark Kroeger and Mary J. Evans, an international team of contributors offers thoughtful, engaging insight to complement more traditional approaches that have viewed Scripture primarily through the experiences and understanding of men. Fresh, practical and helpful, the IVP Women's Bible Commentary shows how relevant Scripture is to the legitimate concerns of men and women alike--and just how transforming God's Word can be when viewed from unaccustomed perspective.This reference work will be welcomed by pastors developing sermons, by Bible study teachers and leaders preparing lessons, by college and seminary students researching study assignments, and by individual readers who want to broaden their understanding of the richness of biblical revelation.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor and Stacks BS521.4 .I97 2002ISBN: 083081437XPublication Date: 2002-02-07
Feminist Biblical Interpretation: A Compendium of Critical Commentary on the Books of the Bible and Related Literature by
The original German edition of Feminist Biblical Interpretation received high acclaim and widespread positive reviews in Europe. That groundbreaking reference tool for contextual biblical interpretation is here available in English for the first time. With contributions from more than sixty female scholars, this is the only one-volume feminist commentary on the entire Bible, including books that are relatively uncharted territory for feminist theology.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS521.4 .K6513 2012ISBN: 9780802860972Publication Date: 2012-11-29
The Bible and Disability by
The Bible and Disability: A Commentary (BDC) is the first comprehensive commentary on the Bible from the perspective of disability. The BDC examines how the Bible constructs or reflects human wholeness, impairment, and disability in all their expressions. Biblical texts do envision the ideal body, but they also present visions of the body that deviate from this ideal, whether physically or through cognitive impairments or mental illness. The BDC engages the full range of these depictions of body and mind, exploring their meaning through close readings and comparative analysis. The BDC enshrines the distinctive interpretive imagination required to span the worlds of biblical studies and disability studies. Each of the fourteen contributors has worked at this intersection; and through their combined expertise, the very best of both biblical studies and disability studies culminates in detailed textual work of description, interpretation, and application to provide a synthetic and synoptic whole. The result is a close reading of the Bible that gives long-overdue attention to the fullness of human identity narrated in the Scriptures.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.P435 B53 2017ISBN: 9781481308533Publication Date: 2017-10-01
The Queer Bible Commentary by
The Queer Bible Commentary brings together the work of several scholars and pastors known for their interest in the areas of gender, sexuality and Biblical studies. Rather than a verse-by-verse analysis, typical of more traditional commentaries, contributors to this volume focus specifically upon those portions of the book that have particular relevance for readers interested in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues such as the construction of gender and sexuality, the reification of heterosexuality, the question of lesbian and gay ancestry within the Bible, the transgendered voices of the prophets, the use of the Bible in contemporary political, socio-economic and religious spheres and the impact upon lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities. Accordingly, the commentary raises new questions and re-directs more traditional questions in fresh and innovative ways, offering new angles of approach. This comprehensive, cutting-edge commentary is prefaced by an introductory essay by Professor Mary Tolbert. Contributors draw on feminist, queer, deconstructionist, utopian theories, the social sciences and historical-critical discourses. The focus is both how reading from lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender perspectives affect the reading and interpretation of biblical texts and how biblical texts have and do affect lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender communities. The commentary includes an extensive bibliography that directs the reader to a full range of literature relating to queer interpretation of scripture.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.H67 Q44 2006ISBN: 9780334040217Publication Date: 2006-09-28
The Women's Torah Commentary by
Women rabbis are changing the face of Judaism. Discover how their interpretations of the Torah can enrich your perspective. "Rich and engaging...makes available to a wide readership the collective wisdom of women who have changed the face of Judaism." --Judith Plaskow, author, Standing Again at Sinai: Judaism from a Feminist Perspective; Professor of Religious Studies, Manhattan College Here, for the first time, women's unique experiences and perspectives are applied to the entire Five Books of Moses, offering all of us the first comprehensive commentary by women. In this groundbreaking book, more than 50 women rabbis come together to offer us inspiring insights on the Torah, in a week-by-week format. Included are commentaries by the first women ever ordained in the Reform, Reconstructionist and Conservative movements, and by many other women across these denominations who serve in the rabbinate in a variety of ways. This rich resource offers new perspectives to inspire all of us to gain deeper meaning from the Torah and a heightened appreciation of Judaism. A major contribution to modern biblical commentary. The gift of choice for every young woman's bat mitzvah, and for anyone wanting a new, exciting view of Torah. Contributing Rabbis: Rebecca T. Alpert * Lia Bass * Miriam Carey Berkowitz * Elizabeth Bolton * Analia Bortz * Sharon Brous * Judith Gary Brown * Nina Beth Cardin * Diane Aronson Cohen * Sandra J. Cohen * Cynthia A. Culpeper * Lucy H.F. Dinner * Lisa A. Edwards * Amy Eilberg * Sue Levi Elwell * Rachel Esserman * Helaine Ettinger * Susan Fendrick * Lori Forman * Dayle A. Friedman * Elyse D. Frishman * Nancy Fuchs-Kreimer * Shoshana Gelfand * Laura Geller * Elyse M. Goldstein * Julie K. Gordon * Claire Magidovitch Green * Rosette Barron Haim * Jill Hammer * Karyn D. Kedar * Sarra Levine * Valerie Lieber * Ellen Lippmann * Sheryl Nosan * Stacy K. Offner * Sara Paasche-Orlow * Barbara Rosman Penzner * Hara E. Person * Audrey S. Pollack * Sally J. Priesand * Geela-Rayzel Raphael * Laura M. Rappaport * Debra Judith Robbins * Rochelle Robins * Gila Colman Ruskin * Sandy Eisenberg Sasso * Ilene Schneider * Rona Shapiro * Michal Shekel * Beth J. Singer * Sharon L. Sobel * Ruth H. Sohn * Julie Ringold Spitzer z"l * Shira Stern * Pamela Wax * Nancy Wechsler-Azen * Nancy H. Wiener * Elana Zaiman
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1225.3 .W66 2000ISBN: 9781580230766Publication Date: 2000-03-01
True to Our Native Land: An African American New Testament Commentary by
This pioneering commentary sets biblical interpretation firmly in the context of African American experience and concern. Cutting-edge scholarship that is in tune with African American churches calls into question many of the canons of traditional biblical research and highlights the role of the Bible in African American history, accenting themes of ethnicity, class, slavery, and African heritage as these play a role in Christian scripture and the Christian odyssey of an emancipated people. Contributors include the volume editors, Thomas Hoyt, Gay L. Byron, Vincent Wimbush, and sixteen other notable scholars.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2341.52 .T78 2007ISBN: 9780800634216Publication Date: 2007-05-25
Africa Bible Commentary series (ABC)
The landmark Africa Bible Commentary compiles the wisdom of over seventy African scholars in one volume. Now, the Africa Bible Commentary Series provides deeper insights into each biblical book. This series places a premium on showing the relevance of biblical concepts for the life of the church. Case studies and African illustrations make this happen in ways that mere explanations cannot. In addition, each commentary is divided into sermon units for easy use in developing a preaching series on the biblical books.
Three currently available.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS 2347.3 .A47ISBN: 9789966003065Publication Date: 2009-
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Asia Bible Commentary series
The ABC Series is designed to help pastors in their sermon preparation, lay leaders in their Bible study groups, Christian students in their study of the Bible, and Christians in general in their efforts to apply the Bible in their respective contexts.
ISBN: 9781783688678Publication Date: 2016-- Comentario Biblico Latino-Americano by
Uma obra única, este comentário revela a força e o vigor da teologia latino-americana, cuja concepção envolveu os teólogos abaixo, que representam diferentes nacionalidades, contextos culturais e ministérios. Tendo como editor geral o inesquecível C. René Padilla, a obra reúne dezenas de artigos temáticos, aplicações para a vida diária, centenas de questões para reflexão, além de incentivar o leitor e a leitora a se aprofundarem no conhecimento da Palavra de Deus.
ISBN: 9786559880607Publication Date: 2022
India Commentary on the New Testament series (ICNT)
The India Commentary on the New Testament (ICNT) series aims to give a well-informed exposition of the meaning of the text and relevant reflections in everyday language from a contemporary Indian context. The intended audience is the theological seminary or bible college, both students and faculty. The commentaries are also ideal for pastors and lay people with an interest in theology or responsibilities for preaching in the local congregation.The commentaries are culturally rooted, and the various applications relating to culture, society, and religious life will help those involved in cross-cultural evangelism and mission work. There is no direct equivalent to the ICNT, and hence this is the first Indian commentary serving India, the entire subcontinent--India, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka--and the world.The ICNT is an affordable evangelical commentary series written by respected academics in everyday language, providing a well-informed meaning of the New Testament and practical reflections for modern India.
ISBN: 9781506438092Publication Date: 2017-
Postcolonial Commentary and the Old Testament by
This is the first volume to provide a wide range of postcolonial interpretations of and commentaries upon significant texts in the Hebrew Bible. The volume intersects with the work of the key theorists in postcolonial studies such as Fanon, Senghor, Said and Spivak as well as with scholars such as Sugirtharajah, Kwok Pui-lan, and Segovia who have applied this theory to biblical studies. Texts have been chosen specifically for their relevance to postcolonial discourse, rather than seeking to cover each biblical document. This volume is designed to demonstrate how historical criticism, postmodernism, and the important concerns of postcolonial readings may be integrated to obtain an informed explanation of the Hebrew Bible and the writings of early Judaism. The chapters are written by scholars who represent a spectrum of national, indigenous, and diasporic contexts. Taken together these perspectives and the interpretations they yield represent a continued expansion of the manner in which Old Testament texts are read and interpreted through postcolonial lenses, reminding readers that the interpretive trajectories of these texts are almost inexhaustible. As such the volume serves as not only an addition to ongoing scholarship on postcolonialism but also as an expansion of the horizon for dialogue.
ISBN: 9780567680990Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Ruth eBook Monographs
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Gleaning Ruth by
The biblical story of Ruth celebrates the power to begin life anew, to gather what has been scattered, to glean what one needs. In this original approach to understanding an ancient love story, Jennifer L. Koosed crafts a multifaceted portrait of the Old Testament character of Ruth and of the demanding agricultural world in which her story unfolds. Highlighting the most complex aspects of the book--the relationships Ruth has with her mother-in-law, Naomi; sister-in-law, Orpah; future husband, Boaz; and infant son, Obed--Koosed explores the use of pairings to define Ruth's aspirational fortitude. Koosed also touches on the narrative's questions of sexuality, kinship, and law as well as the metaphoric activities of harvest that serve to advance the plot and illuminate the social and geographic context of Ruth's tale. From the private world of women to the public world of men, Koosed guides readers through the book of Ruth's revealing glimpses into the sociology of the ancient Hebrew world. The study concludes with a discussion of the post biblical fascination with Ruth and her later representations in a variety of literary and visual mediums.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1315.52 .K66 2011ISBN: 9781570039836Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Helpmates, Harlots, and Heroes: Women's Stories in the Hebrew Bible, Second Edition by
This best-selling book, now revised and updated, shares the work of many feminist biblical scholars who have examined women's stories for several years. These stories are powerful accounts of women in the Old Testament--stories that have profoundly affected how women understand themselves as well as men's perception of them. Here, Alice Bellis shares the research of feminist biblical scholarship during a quarter of a century, which renders a vast amount of refreshing, exciting, sometimes disturbing material.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS575 .B45 1994 (1st. ed.)ISBN: 9780664230289Publication Date: 2007-07-03
PRINT COPY ONLY
Reading Ruth: contemporary women reclaim a sacred story by
"The Book of Ruth is one of Western civilization's great narratives of women's relationships. This collection of modern-day interpretations brings together the wisdom, sensitivity, and spirituality of the biblical story with the struggles and insights of contemporary women. Readers will be moved and inspired by these essays." --Susannah Heschel Editor of On Being a Jewish Feminist With Reading Ruth, two creative scholars have brought together an amazingly eclectic group of Jewish novelists, essayists, poets, rabbis, psychologists, and scholars--including Cynthia Ozick, Marge Piercy, Francine Klagsbrun, and Nessa Rapoport--to explore one of the most beloved stories in the Bible. In lively essays, poetry, fiction, and personal narrative, the gamut of women's experience in the modern world is illuminated by this ancient story. Whether the essayists explore relationships between sisters, the complex bond between mother-in-law and daughter-in-law, the place of the "other" in society, the heartache of loss, the limitations of loyalty, or the elaborate connections of family, they give voice to an exciting array of thought and interpretation that endows this sacred tale with new life. "[A] rich, diverse, and thought-provoking collection." --Judith Plaskow Author of Standing Again at Sinai "Filled with passion, humor, insight, and just the right combination of irreverence and awe, Reading Ruth puts the Book of Ruth right where it belongs--in the hands of women. All of us are the richer for it." --Ari L. Goldman Author of The Search for God at Harvard "The book of Ruth is a gem in its own right. Through Reading Ruth the gem becomes a multifaceted diamond that reflects and refracts a multiplicity of images....Read this book." --The Rocky Mountain News
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1315.3 .R43 1994ISBN: 9780345380326
From Eve to Esther: rabbinic reconstructions of biblical women by
This is the first book-length attempt to examine the attitude of the ancient rabbis towards some of the most significant feminine figures in the Old Testament. It traces the biblical stories, examines their objectives and methods, and discusses how these original intentions were altered--sometimes beyond recognition--when the women discussed in them were subjected to the unique exegetical technique of midrash. The Gender and the Biblical Tradition series brings to a wide audience important new discoveries concerning women and the Bible, ancient Israel, and early Christianity. The books explore the role of sexuality within the biblical tradition and document the continuing influence of biblical treatments of gender on subsequent life and thought.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BM509.W7 B76 1994ISBN: 9780664255428
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Ruth and Esther: A Feminist Companion to The Bible (2nd series) by
The second series of Feminist Companions moves beyond the confines of sex- and gender-specific issues and studies of biblical women. Biblical feminist critics now address contemporary life situations, marginalization and a range of questions once not thought accessible to such critique. Feminist theory has also continued a rapid evolution. Among the topics included in this volume are composition, Torah, Ruth-the-Cat, female networking-together with much else to inform and stimulate female (and male) biblical scholars and non-scholars.
ISBN: 9781850759782Publication Date: 1999-04-01
The Story of Naomi--The Book of Ruth by
The book of Ruth is probably best known as a romantic love story that, through the expression of loving devotion, overcomes tragedy and ends with the founding of the most famous family in all of biblical Israel. But the book wasn't always this way. In fact, it wasn't a book at all but rather a story told with a very different purpose in mind. Before Ruth, there was the Story of Naomi, a subversive story designed to challenge a male-dominated status quo. Through comedy, sarcastic irony, and unparalleled rhetorical skill the Naomi storyteller holds up for inspection social gender roles and the power of sexuality in a manner that resonates yet today. The Story of Naomi--The Book of Ruth goes behind the literary rendition of the story and recaptures the original oral tale, with script and performance directions that brings to life the humor, tragedy, and transparent honesty shared between the Naomi storyteller and her audience.
ISBN: 9781498206181Publication Date: 2016-01-29
Identity and Ethics in the Book of Ruth by
This study demonstrates the importance of including narrative ethics in a construction of Old Testament ethics, as a correction for the current state of marginalisation of narrative in this discipline. To this end, the concept of identity is used as a lens through which to understand and derive ethics. Since self-conception in ancient Israel is generally held to be predominantly collectivist in orientation, social identity theory is used to understand ancient Israelite identity. Although collectivist sensitivities are important, a social identity approach also incorporates an understanding of individuality. This approach highlights the social emphases of a biblical text, and consequently assists in understanding a text's original ethical message. The book of Ruth is used as a test case, employing a social identity approach for understanding the narrative, but also to model the approach so that it can be implemented more widely in study of the Old Testament and narrative ethics. Each of the protagonists in the book of Ruth is examined in regards to their personal and social self-components. This study reveals that the narrative functions to shape or reinforce the identity of an ancient Israelite implied reader. Since behavioural norms are an aspect of identity, narrative also influences behaviour. A social identity approach can also highlight the social processes within a society. The social processes taking place in the two most commonly proposed provenances for the book of Ruth are discussed: the Monarchic and Persian Periods. It is found that the social emphases of the book of Ruth most closely correspond to the social undercurrents of the Persian Period. On this basis, a composition for the book of Ruth in the Restoration period is proposed.
ISBN: 9783110247602Publication Date: 2010-11-16
Scrolls of Love: Reading Ruth and the Song of Songs by
Scrolls of Love is a book of unions. Edited by a Jew and a Christian who are united by a shared passion for the Bible and a common literary hermeneutic, it joins two biblical scrolls and gathers around them a diverse community of interpreters. It brings together Ruth and the Song of Songs, two seemingly disparate texts of the Hebrew Bible, and reads them through a number of the methodological and theological perspectives. Respectful of traditional biblical scholarship, the collection of essays moves beyond it; alert to contemporary trends, the volume returns venerable interpretive tradition to center stage. Most significantly, it is interfaith. Despite the fact that Jews and Christians share a common text in the Hebrew Scripture, the two communities have read their Bibles in isolation from one another, in ignorance of the richness of the other's traditions of reading. Scrolls of Love brings the two traditions into dialogue, enriching established modes of interpretation with unconventional ones. The result is a volume that sets rabbinic, patristic, and medieval readings alongside feminist, psychoanalytic, and autobiographical ones, combining historical, literary, and textual criticism with a variety of artistic reinterpretations--wood cuts and paper cuts, poetry and fiction. Some of the works are scholarly, with the requisite footnotes to draw readers to further inquiry: others are more reflective than analytic, allowing readers to see what it means to live intimately with Scripture. As a unity, the collection presents Ruth and Song of Songs not only as ancient texts that deserve to be treasured but as old worlds capable of begetting the new.
ISBN: 9780823225712Publication Date: 2006-12-15
