Commentaries on Q and Some Noncanonical Early Christian Literature
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN (Hermeneia eBooks provided by JSTOR database)
Ignatius of Antioch: A Commentary on the Letters of Ignatius of Antioch (Hermeneia series) by
This book belongs on the shelf of every minister who takes seriously the history and theology of the early church. Buy a copy—and read it.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor/Stamps Stacks BR65.I34 S36 1985ISBN: 9780800660161Publication Date: 1985-01-01
The Shepherd of Hermas: A Commentary (Hermeneia series) by
Extremely popular in its time, The Shepherd of Hermas is a second-century work often used for instruction of catechumens, and in fact, is widely regarded as scripture. In it Hermas, a rich freed slave whose wealth was not always lawfully obtained, undergoes and relates several visions (including one from an angel disguised as a shepherd), repents, and offers advice on Christian teaching and behavior. Comprehensive and careful, Carolyn Osiek's is the only full-length commentary on "The Shepherd" in English. Hermas's revelations afford us glimpses of religious imagination, social world, and moral ideals among early second-century Roma
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor/Stamps Stacks BS2900.H5 O84 1999ISBN: 9780800660635Publication Date: 1999-07-26
Didache: A Commentary (Hermeneia series) by
One hundred twenty-five years ago, Philotheos Bryennios discovered the text of the Didache in an eleventh-century manuscript version. In 1883 he edited the manuscript for publication, and its special fascination for scholars remains undiminished. One of the oldest extracanonical Christian documents, the Didache's origins can be traced to the first century. It is apparently a catechism, intended to provide basic instructionin the Christian lifestyle and worship for persons preparing for baptism. The Didache exhibits fascinating echoes of Jesus' teaching in its Matthean form, along with rare glimpses into the life of an early Christian community--its values, its observance of the Eucharist, its leaders, and the character of its hope. Niederwimmer's wonderful commentary is a model of clarity and learning and a splendid addition to this premier commentary series.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor/Stamps Stacks BS2940.T5 N54 1998ISBN: 9780800660277Publication Date: 1998-11-02
The Critical Edition of Q by
A major new resource on the text and traditions of the Sayings Gospel. The existence of Q (simply defined as the non-Markan material common to Matthew and Luke) as a document in the earliest churches was first hypothesized by C. H. Weisse in 1838. The existence, character, and significance of Q as a document from primitive Christianity has further been developed since then by numerous scholars, including the two groundbreaking Fortress Press books by John S. Kloppenborg: The Formation of Q (1987) and Excavating Q (2000). Q remains a subject of heated debate. The Q material consists mainly of sayings of Jesus, but begins with some sayings of John the Baptist. For the most part narratives are missing; most conspicuously of all is the Passion Narrative. The critical text edition will include an introduction; the running text of Q; new translations of Q in English, German, and French; the fully formatted Greek text of Q with parallels in Matthew, Luke, Mark, Gospel of Thomas, and other gospels wherever relevant; a concordance; and a bibliography. This book is a cooperative venture between Fortress Press and Peeters Publishers (Leuven, Belgium). This also is the first volume of Hermeneia Supplements.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor/Stamps Stacks BS2555.2 .C73 2000ISBN: 9780800631499Publication Date: 2000-11-01
The Apostolic Tradition: A Commentary by
The anonymous early church order that became known as the Apostolic Tradition and conventionally attributed to Hippolytus of Rome has generated enormous scholarly discussion since its discovery in the nineteenth century. Surprisingly, however, there has never before been a comprehensive commentary on it such as there is for other patristic works. We have here attempted to remedy this defect, and at the same time we have offered the first full synoptic presentation in English of the various witnesses to its text. We have also taken the opportunity to develop our argument that it is neither the work of Hippolytus nor of any other individual. Instead, we believe that it is a composite document made up of a number of layers and strands of diverse provenance and compiled over a period of time, and therefore not representing the practice of any one Christian community. — from the Preface This Hermeneia volume provides an important contribution to New Testament research as well as the study of the patristic era.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BR65.H83 T7333 2002ISBN: 9780800660468Publication Date: 2002-10-10
OT Apocrypha & OT Pseudepigrapha Primary Texts in Translation, Commentaries, and Monographs About Them
FOR TEXTS OF AND COMMENTARIES AND MONOGRAPHS ABOUT THE BOOKS OF THE (OT ) APOCRYPHA (aka "The Apocrypha" as found in NOAB) & (OT) PSEUDEPIGRAPHA, THESE RESOURCES ARE LISTED ON THE RESEARCH GUIDE FOR GBBL631.
New Testament Apocrypha Texts (in translation with introductions and comments) & Monographs About Them
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Ancient Apocryphal Gospels by
In this reader-friendly guide, Markus Bockmuehl offers a sympathetic account of the ancient apocryphal Gospel writings, showing their place within the reception history and formation of what was to become the canonical fourfold Gospel. Bockmuehl begins by helping readers understand the early history behind these noncanonical Gospels before going on to examine dozens of specific apocryphal texts. He explores the complex oral and intertextual relationships between the noncanonical and canonical Gospels, maintaining that it is legitimate and instructive to read the apocryphal writings as an engagement with the person of Jesus that both presupposes and supplements the canonical narrative outline. Appropriate for pastors and nonspecialists, this work offers a fuller understanding of these writings and their significance for biblical interpretation in the church.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2851 .B63 2017ISBN: 9780664235895Publication Date: 2017-01-17
PRINT COPY ONLY
The Apocryphal New Testament by
THOROUGH REVISION This is the first ever thorough revision of Oxford's best-selling edition of the Apocryphal texts, first published in 1924. NEW MANUSCRIPT DISCOVERIES Keith Elliott has incorporated the many new manuscript discoveries made this century to present new translations of the texts in modern English, providing each with a concise introduction, and a bibliography pointing to critical editions, other translations and general studies. Full translations of the earliest texts are printed, as well as some derivative apocrypha. This up-to-date collection provides the most important or famous texts of the Christian Apocrypha, plus a small sample of gnostic texts.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor/Stacks BS2832 .A2 1993ISBN: 9780198261827Publication Date: 1994-01-06
New Testament Apocrypha by
This English translation of the new and thoroughly revised sixth German edition of the extensive extra-canonical gospel literature is an absolutely indispensable collection of sources for every student of the New Testament and of the history and literature of ancient Christianity. The reader will find lucid accounts of the results and questions of the intensive and exciting international scholarly debate of the last two decades.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor/Stacks BS2832 .S3 1991 v.1-v.2ISBN: 9780664218799Publication Date: 1991-1992 (rev. ed.)
ONLINE COPY/EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
New Testament Apocrypha, Vol. 3: More Noncanonical Scriptures by
An expansive compilation of New Testament apocrypha in English translation, featuring fascinating but heretofore unpublished texts. New Testament Apocrypha, vol. 3, continues to unearth the vast diversity of Christian Scripture outside of the traditional canon. This new collection encompasses a broad range of languages--Greek, Church Slavic, Old English, Coptic, and more--and spans centuries, from the formation of the canonical New Testament to the high Middle Ages.     The selections here represent some of the least studied apocryphal texts, many of which have not previously received an English translation or a critical edition. Notable newly edited and translated selections include The Martyrdom of Zechariah, The Decapitation of John the Forerunner, The Birth of John, The Revelation about the Lord's Prayer, and The Dialogue of Mary and Christ on the Departure of the Soul.   Each text is accompanied by a robust introduction, bibliography, and notes. Scholars of apocrypha, Scripture, and hagiography from a breadth of disciplines will find this an indispensable reference for their research and teaching. Contributors: Carson Bay, Mark Glen Bilby, Rick Brannan, Christian H. Bull, Slavomir ČÉplÖ, Alexander D'Alisera, J. Gregory Given, Nathan J. Hardy, Brandon W. Hawk, Stephen C. E. Hopkins, Alexander Kocar, Brent Landau, Jacob A. Lollar, Christine Luckritz Marquis, Ivan Miroshnikov, Tobias Nicklas, Samuel Osborn, Stephen Pelle, Bradley Rice, Julia A. Snyder, Janet E. Spittler, James Toma, PÉter TÓth, Sarah Veale, J. Edward Walters, Charles D. Wright, Lorne R. Zelyck
ISBN: 9780802877932Publication Date: 2023-05-25
Secret Scriptures Revealed: A New Introduction to the Christian Apocrypha by
The Christian Apocrypha burst into the public consciousness in 2003, following the publication of The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. Interest in the wide assortment of texts not included in the Bible has remained strong ever since. Although much has been written and said on the subject, misunderstandings still abound. Tony Burke's Secret Scriptures Revealed dismantles the many myths and misconceptions about the Christian Apocrypha and straightforwardly answers common questions like these: Where did the apocryphal texts come from and who wrote them? Why were they not included in the Bible? Is reading these texts harmful to personal faith? The book describes and explains numerous fascinating apocryphal stories, including many that are not well known. Instead of dismissing or smearing the Christian Apocrypha, Burke shows how these texts can help us better understand early Christian communities and the canonical Bible.
ISBN: 9781467439152Publication Date: 2013-12-19
