Daniel Commentaries
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN (Hermeneia eBook provided by JSTOR database)
Daniel (OTL=Old Testament Library series) by
The book of Daniel is a literary rich and complex story known for its apocalyptic style. Written in both Hebrew and Aramaic, the book begins with stories of Daniel and three Jewish young men Hananiah (Shadrach), Mishael (Meshach), and Azariah (Abednego) who are exiles among the remnant from Judea in Babylon in sixth century b.c.e. It ends with Daniel's visions and dreams about the Jewish community that offer comfort and encouragement as they endure persecution and hope for deliverance into God's kingdom. Newsom's commentary offers a fresh study of Daniel in its historical context. Newsom further analyzes Daniel from literary and theological perspectives. With her expert commentary, Newsom's study will be the definitive commentary on Daniel for many years to come. The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The contributors are scholars of international standing. The editorial board consists of William P. Brown, Professor of Old Testament, Columbia Theological Seminary in Decatur, Georgia; Carol A. Newsom, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Old Testament, Candler School of Theology at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia; and Brent A. Strawn, Professor of Old Testament, Candler School of Theology at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .O4 v.27 2014ISBN: 9780664220808Publication Date: 2014-11-21
Daniel: A Commentary on the Book of Daniel (Hermeneia series) by
The most comprehensive English-language commentary on Daniel in 65 years. Collins situates the Old Testament in its historical context and offers a full explanation of the text, especially its religious imagery.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2.H47 v.27 1993 and Stamps Stacks BS1555.3 .C64 1993ISBN: 9780800660406Publication Date: 1994-02-01
Esther and Daniel (BTCB=Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible series) by
The Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible advances the assumption that the Nicene creedal tradition, in all its diversity, provides the proper basis for the interpretation of the Bible as Christian scripture. The series volumes, written by leading theologians, encourage Christians to extend the vital roots of the ancient Christian tradition to our day. In this addition to the acclaimed series, two respected scholars offer a theological exegesis of Esther and Daniel. As with other volumes in the series, this book is ideal for those called to ministry, serving as a rich resource for preachers, teachers, students, and study groups.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .B73 v.17, 27 2013ISBN: 9781587433313Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Daniel: A Commentary in the Wesleyan Tradition (NBBC=New Beacon Bible Commentary series) by
The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.Each volume features:Completely New Scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan traditionConvenient Introductory Material for each book of the Bible including information on authorship, date, history, audience, sociological/cultural issues, purpose, literary features, theological themes, hermeneutical issues, and moreClear Verse-by-Verse Explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived from the passage's original languageComprehensive Annotation divided into three sections, which cover background elements behind the text; verse-by-verse details and meanings found in the text; and significance, relevance, intertextuality, and application from the textHelpful Sidebars, which provide deeper insight into theological issues, word meanings, archeological connections, historical relevance, cultural customs, and moreExpanded Bibliography for further study of historical elements, additional interpretations, and theological themesThe Book of Daniel speaks a fresh message to each new generation. For over two millennia it has done so. The book invites its readers to liYNbeaThe New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .B43 v.27 2009ISBN: 9780834123984Publication Date: 2009-02-15
PRINT COPY ONLY
Daniel (WBC=Word Biblical Commentary series) by
The Word Biblical Commentary delivers the best in biblical scholarship, from the leading scholars of our day who share a commitment to Scripture as divine revelation. This series emphasizes a thorough analysis of textual, linguistic, structural, and theological evidence. The result is judicious and balanced insight into the meanings of the text in the framework of biblical theology. These widely acclaimed commentaries serve as exceptional resources for the professional theologian and instructor, the seminary or university student, the working minister, and everyone concerned with building theological understanding from a solid base of biblical scholarship.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .W67 v.27 2019 and Stamps Stacks BS491.2 .W67 v.30ISBN: 9780849902291Publication Date: 1989-06-18
Daniel, with an Introduction to Apocalyptic Literature (FOTL=Forms of the Old Testament Literature series) by
Daniel, with an Introduction to Apocalyptic Literature is Volume XX of The Forms of the Old Testament Literature, a series that aims to present a form-critical analysis of every book and each unit in the Hebrew Bible. Fundamentally exegetical, the FOTL volumes examine the structure, genre, setting, and intention of the biblical literature in question. They also study the history behind the form-critical discussion of the material, attempt to bring consistency to the terminology for the genres and formulas of the biblical literature, and expose the exegetical process so as to enable students and pastors to engage in their own analysis and interpretation of the Old Testament texts. In his introduction to Jewish apocalyptic literature, John J. Collins examines the main characteristics and discusses the setting and intention of apocalyptic literature. Collins begins his discussion of Daniel with a survey of the book's anomalies and an examination of the bearing of form criticism on them. He goes on to discuss the book's place in the canon and the problems with its coherence and bilingualism. Collins's section-by-section commentary provides a structural analysis (verse-by-verse) of each section, as well as discussion of its genre, setting, and intention. The book includes bibliographies and a glossary of genres and formulas that offers concise definitions with examples and bibliography.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .F67 v.20ISBN: 9780802800206Publication Date: 1984-12-01
Daniel (SHBC=Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series) by
The book of Daniel showcases the tragic experience and memories of a unique people—Israel—but it also transcends its specific time and place. This collection of stories and visions can comment on the experience of anyone or any group that finds itself weighed down by suffering. Dr. Sharon Pace's superb analysis and commentary reveal that from the depths of despair comes a faith that refuses to abandon the belief that the universe operates according to God’s will—even though its unfolding cannot yet be seen. Daniel boldly declares, through the eyes of faith, that the suffering of the righteous matters, that God hears their voices, and that there is a divine plan for good.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .S69 v.27 2008ISBN: 9781573120746Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Historical Daniel Commentaries
PRINT COPY ONLY
Ezekiel, Daniel (ACCS=Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture series) by
The books of Ezekiel and Daniel are rich in imagery that is taken up afresh in the New Testament. Echoes of Ezekiel--with its words of doom and hope, vision of a new temple, and scroll-eating prophet--are especially apparent in the book of Revelation. Daniel is most notable in supplying terminology and imagery for Jesus of Nazareth's favored self-description as "Son of man," a phrase also found in Ezekiel. The four beasts of Daniel find their counterparts in the lion, ox, man, and eagle of Ezekiel and Revelation. It is no wonder these books, despite the difficulties in interpreting them, took hold on the imagination of the early church.In this Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture volume, over forty church fathers are cited in the commentary on Ezekiel, some of whom are here translated into English for the first time, but pride of place goes to four significant extant works: the homilies of Origen and Gregory the Great, and the commentaries of Jerome and Theodoret of Cyr, thus bridging East and West, North and South.A similar array of fathers are found within the commentary on Daniel. Extensive comments derive from the works of Theodoret of Cyr, Hippolytus, Jerome, and Isho'dad of Merv, providing a wealth of insight.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3.A53 v.13ISBN: 9780830814831Publication Date: 2008-02-26
Ezekiel, Daniel (RCS=Reformation Commentary on Scripture series) by
The Reformation era revolution in preaching and interpreting the Bible did not occur without keen attention to the Old Testament Scriptures. This is especially true with regard to the Hebrew prophets. Ezekiel and Daniel, replete with startling, unnerving imagery and visions, apocalyptic oracles of judgment and destruction, captivated the reformers as they sought to understand their time and themselves through the lens of Scripture. Equally, these prophetic books underscored the covenantal promises to God's people and the hope of restoration, which the Reformers understood to be the righteousness of Christ made available in faith.Reformation commentary on the prophets Ezekiel and Daniel are windows into the biblical, theological and pastoral minds of the reformers as they engage the details of the texts, make theological judgments and apply fresh reading of Scripture to their contemporary hearers. Familiar passages, such as Ezekiel's dazzling vision of the wheels, the building of the temple, or Daniel's four beasts, are given new layers and textures.This volume collects the comments of the monumental figures like Luther, Calvin and Melancthon, alongside many lesser known and read thinkers, such as Heinrich Bullinger, Hans Denck, Giovanni Diodati, Johann Gerhard, John Mayer, Matthew Mead, Johann Oecolampadius, Jakob Raupius, Johann Wigand and Andrew Willet. Several beloved English Puritans are included as well: Richard Baxter, John Bunyan, Thomas Manton and John Owen. The wealth of Reformation interpretation on these books of Scripture is brought together for the first time.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .R44 v.26-27 2012ISBN: 9780830829620Publication Date: 2012-02-06
The Book of Daniel: the commentary of R. Saadia Gaon : edition and translation by
This edition of the original commentary and its translation illustrates the first serious example of rabbinical reading and displays the multidimensional role of the 'Book of Daniel'. In the commentary a new style emerges where philological consideration and historical enquiry replace the midrashic exegesis.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1555.53 .S2313 2006ISBN: 9780820480282Publication Date: 2005-12-01
"Specialized Lens" Commentaries
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN (Texts @ Contexts eBooks provided by JSTOR database)
Africa Bible Commentary by
The Africa Bible Commentary is a unique publishing event - the first one-volume Bible commentary produced in Africa by African theologians to meet the needs of African pastors, students, and lay leaders. Interpreting and applying the Bible in the light of African culture and realities, it furnishes powerful and relevant insights into the biblical text that transcend Africa in their significance. The Africa Bible Commentary gives a section-by-section interpretation that provides a contextual, readable, affordable, and immensely useful guide to the entire Bible. Readers around the world will benefit from and appreciate the commentary's fresh insights and direct style that engage both heart and mind. for Africa - and for the world; section-by-section interpretive commentary and application; more than 70 special articles dealing with topics of key importance in to ministry in Africa today, but that have global implications; 70 African contributors from both English- and French-speaking countries; and, it transcends the African context with insights into the biblical text and the Christian faith for readers worldwide.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .A47 2010ISBN: 9780310264736Publication Date: eBook 2006; print 2010 (2nd ed.)
South Asia Bible Commentary by
A one-volume commentary, written and edited by South Asian Biblical scholars on all the books of the Bible.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .S67 2015ISBN: 9780310286868Publication Date: 2015-10-06
The Africana Bible: Reading Israel's Scriptures from Africa and the African Diaspora by
A landmark volume, The Africana Bible gathers multicultural and interdisciplinary perspectives on every book in the Hebrew Bible. It opens a critical window onto the world of interpretation on the African continent and in the multiple diasporas of African peoples, including the African-American experience, with attention to Africana histories, literatures, cultures, and backgrounds for understanding biblical literature. The Africana Bible features a critical commentary on every book of the Hebrew Bible, the Apocrypha, and Pseudepigrapha that are authoritative for many in African and African-diasporan communities worldwide. It highlights issues of concern to the global Black community (such as globalization and the colonial legacy) and the distinctive norms of interpretation in African and African Diasporan settings.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1171.3 .A37 2010ISBN: 9780800621254Publication Date: 2009-11-19
A Postcolonial Commentary on the New Testament Writings by
Since its emergence a few years ago, postcolonial biblical criticism has witnessed swift expansion and development in Biblical Studies. This critical approach has been increasingly applied to biblical texts as well as modern and postmodern interpretations and interpreters of these texts, yielding an ever-growing body of dissertations, scholarly articles, and volumes. In the process, this approach has become increasingly sophisticated as well in matters of method and theory. This Postcolonial Commentary on the New Testament Writings represents a critical benchmark in postcolonial biblical criticism. Indeed, the Commentary stands as the most comprehensive application to date of postcolonial criticism to the biblical texts, with its focus on the entire corpus of the New Testament. It places the reality and ramifications of imperial-colonial frameworks and relations at the centre of biblical criticism. The various entries pursue their analysis across a broad range of concerns and through a number of different approaches. They show, among other things, how texts and interpretations construct and/or relate to their respective imperial-colonial contexts; foreground literary, rhetorical, and ideological marks of coloniality and postcoloniality in both texts and interpretations; reveal how postcolonial reading strategies disrupt and destabilize hegemonic biblical criticism; and engage in critical dialogue with the visions and projects identified in texts as well as in interpretations. Toward this end, the Commentary has recourse to a highly distinguished and diversified roster of scholars, making this a definite point of reference for years to come.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2361.3 .P67 2007ISBN: 9780567179869Publication Date: 2007-09-27
Women's Bible Commentary (3rd. ed., rev. and exp.) by
The Women's Bible Commentary is a trusted, classic resource for biblical scholarship, written by some of the best feminist scholars in the field today. This twentieth anniversary edition features brand new or thoroughly revised essays to reflect newer thinking in feminist interpretation and hermeneutics. It comprises commentaries on every book of the Bible, including the apocryphal books; essays on the reception history of women in the Bible; and essays on feminist critical method. The contributors raise important questions and explore the implications of how women and other marginalized people are portrayed in biblical texts, looking specifically at gender roles, sexuality, political power, and family life, while challenging long-held assumptions. This commentary brings modern critical methods to bear on the history, sociology, anthropology, and literature of the relevant time periods to illuminate the context of these biblical portrayals and challenges readers to new understandings.
Call Number: Stamp Reference Floor BS491.3 .W66 2012 (3rd. ed.)ISBN: 9780664237073Publication Date: 07-17-2014 (imprint copy used for eBook)
Wisdom Commentary series (WCom) by Call Number: OT: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .W57/NT: Stamps Ref Floor BS2341.52 .W57ISBN: 9780814681022Publication Date: 2015-For some volumes in the series we only have print copies, while for some we have both print and eBook copies. To discover availability and access options, search the catalog or CONSULT THE TABBED PAGES FOR EACH BOOK OF THE BIBLE IN THIS GUIDE.
Note: The publisher describes this series as feminist, but adds that in some volumes "[that lens is] informed by critical masculinity studies, queer theory, and[/or] reception criticism," e.g., Revelation and others.
Texts @ Contexts Commentary series by Call Number: see note belowISBN: 9780800699376Publication Date: 2013-04-01For some volumes in the series we only have print copies, for some we have both print and eBook copies. To discover availability and access options, search the catalog or consult the pages for each book of the Bible in this Commentaries guide. (If you found this record on another guide, Commentaries/Works by Book of the Bible can be found under Biblical Studies on the Stamps Virtual Library).
PRINT COPY ONLY
Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary by
The Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary is a groundbreaking, multi-year work and the first full-Bible commentary to come out of Central and Eastern Europe. The aim of this resource is to provide a contemporary, contextually relevant, church-based commentary written exclusively by biblical scholars from the region. Rooted in scholarship, while also written in clear and accessible language, this commentary will appeal to Christians everywhere.
This resource will help pastors, preachers, teachers and lay leaders to interpret and apply biblical truths in the rapidly changing contexts of their lives and faith communities.
Features:
Central and Eastern European contextual theological applications of biblical teaching
Over 100 articles addressing issues pertaining to our life as Christians in the twenty-first century
Clear, accessible language which will appeal to Christians everywhere
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .C46 2022ISBN: 9781783688227Publication Date: 2022
Global Bible Commentary by
The Global Bible Commentary invites its users to expand their horizon by reading the Bible with scholars from all over the world and from different religious persuasions.nbsp; These scholars have approaches and concerns that often are poles apart.nbsp; Yet they share two basic convictions:nbsp; biblical interpretation always matters; and reading the Bible "with others" is highly rewarding.nbsp;nbsp; Each of the short commentaries of the Global Bible Commentary is a readily accessible guide for reading a biblical book. Written for undergraduate and seminary students and their teachers, as well as for pastors, priests, and Adult Sunday School classes, it introduces the users to the main features of the biblical book and its content. Yet each short commentary does more. It also brings us a precious gift, namely the opportunity of reading this biblical book as if for the first time. By making explicit the specific context and the concerns from which she/he reads the Bible, the scholar points out to us the significance of aspects of the biblical text that we simply took for granted or overlooked. Need more info?nbsp; Download Global Bible Commentary Marketing Brochure PDF Free Adobe Acrobat Reader! If any book demonstrates the value of cultural criticism and the importance of particularity in interpretation, this is it! Scholars from diverse social locations in every continent bring their distinctive context to bear on the act of interpreting. In so doing, they shed eye-opening light on the biblical texts. The resulting critical dialogue with the Bible exposes the oppressive as well as the liberating dynamics of the texts while at the same time showing how the Bible might address the social, political, cultural, and economic dynamics of our world today. This collection can change the way you read the Bible--scholars and students, clergy and laity alike. -David Rhoads, Professor of New Testament, Lutheran School of Theology, Chicago, IL nbsp; Contributors: Daniel Patte, Professor of New Testament and Early Christianity at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, USA.nbsp; A Frenchnbsp; Huguenot (Église Réformée de France), he taught two years in Congo-Brazzaville, and "read the Bible with" people in France, Switzerland, South Africa, Botswana, the Philippines, as well as in the USA.nbsp; His publications include books on hermeneutics and semiotics (such as Early Jewish Hermeneutics, 1975;nbsp; The Religious Dimensions of Biblical Texts, 1990); on Paul and Matthew (such as Paul''s Faith and the Power of the Gospel, 1983; The Gospel according to Matthew: A Structural Commentary on Matthew''s Faith, 1987), as well as, most directly related to the GBC,nbsp; Ethics of Biblical Interpretation (1995),nbsp; The Challenge of Discipleship (1999),nbsp; Reading Israel in Romans:nbsp; Legitimacy and Plausibility of Divergent Interpretations (ed. with Cristina Grenholm, 2000), The Gospel of Matthew: A Contextual Introduction (with Monya Stubbs, Justin Ukpong, and Revelation Velunta, 2003). nbsp;José Severino Croatto,. Professor of Exegesis, Hebrew, and Religious Studies, at Instituto Superior Evangélico de Estudios Teológicosnbsp; (ISEDET).nbsp; A contributor to Revista de Interpretación Bíblica Latinoamericana (= RIBLA) and the Movement of Popular Reading of the Bible, he published 22 books, including three volumes on hermeneutics, Exodus, A Hermeneutics of Freedom (1981); Biblical Hermeneutics. Toward a Theory of Reading as the Production of Meaning (1987); Hermenéutica Práctica. Los principios de la hermenéutica bíblica en ejemplos (2002); three volumes on Génesis 1-11 (1974; 1986; 1997), the last one, Exilio y sobrevivencia. Tradiciones contraculturales en el Pentateuco; three volumes on the book of Isaiah (1988; 1994; 2001), the last one, Imaginar el futuro. Estructura retórica y querigma del Tercer Isaías (Isaías 56-66); two volumes on Religious Studies (1994; 2002), the last one, Experiencia de lo sagrado y tradiciones religiosas. Estudio de fenomenología de la religión (2002). nbsp;Rev. Dr. Nicole Wilkinson Duran, after teaching New Testament in the USA, South Africa (Zululand), in Turkey, is currently teaching part-time at Rosemont College and Villanova University, and with her husband raising twin sons in the suburbs of Philadelphia, PA.nbsp; She has published articles on topics ranging from gender and race in Esther, to the unread Bible in Toni Morrison''s novels, to body symbolism in the story of John the Baptist''s execution, and edited (with G. Phillips) Reading Communities Reading Scripture (2002).nbsp; She is an ordained Presbyterian minister and does occasional preaching and adult Christian education. nbsp;Teresa Okure, SHCJ, a graduate from the University of Ibadan, La Sorbonne, École Biblique of Jerusalem, and Fordham University (Ph.D.), is Professor of New Testament and Gender Hermeneutics at the Catholic Institute of West Africa, Port Harcourt, Nigeria. She is or has been a member of the executive committees of several associations, including EATWOT (Ecumenical Association of Third World Theologians, as Executive Secretary), the International Association for Mission Studies (IAMS), and the Society for New Testament Studies (SNTS).nbsp; She published more than 100 articles and six books including The Johannine Approach to Mission: a Contextual Study of John 4:1-42nbsp; (1988), ed. Evaluating the Inculturation of Christianity in Africa (1990) andnbsp; ed. To Cast Fire upon the Earth:nbsp; Bible and Mission.nbsp; Collaborating in Today''s Multicultural Global Contextnbsp; (2000). nbsp;Archie Chi_Chung Lee,nbsp; Professor of Hebrew Bible, Department of Cultural and Religious Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.nbsp; A specialist of cross-textual hermeneutics, especially Chinese text and the post-exilic biblical tradition.nbsp; He is the author of several books including A Comm
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .G57 2004ISBN: 9780687064038Publication Date: 2004-10-01
The IVP Women's Bible Commentary by
What does the Bible say to a young mother at home nursing her baby?What role models for intelligent, talented women can we find in Scripture?What was everyday life like for women in biblical times?What does Scripture say to women who have been abused or raped?What can men learn from women by viewing Scripture through their concerns and insights?This surprising commentary searches Scripture in light of the many theological, biblical, sociological and psychological concerns of women. Led by editors Catherine Clark Kroeger and Mary J. Evans, an international team of contributors offers thoughtful, engaging insight to complement more traditional approaches that have viewed Scripture primarily through the experiences and understanding of men. Fresh, practical and helpful, the IVP Women's Bible Commentary shows how relevant Scripture is to the legitimate concerns of men and women alike--and just how transforming God's Word can be when viewed from unaccustomed perspective.This reference work will be welcomed by pastors developing sermons, by Bible study teachers and leaders preparing lessons, by college and seminary students researching study assignments, and by individual readers who want to broaden their understanding of the richness of biblical revelation.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor and Stacks BS521.4 .I97 2002ISBN: 083081437XPublication Date: 2002-02-07
Feminist Biblical Interpretation: A Compendium of Critical Commentary on the Books of the Bible and Related Literature by
The original German edition of Feminist Biblical Interpretation received high acclaim and widespread positive reviews in Europe. That groundbreaking reference tool for contextual biblical interpretation is here available in English for the first time. With contributions from more than sixty female scholars, this is the only one-volume feminist commentary on the entire Bible, including books that are relatively uncharted territory for feminist theology.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS521.4 .K6513 2012ISBN: 9780802860972Publication Date: 2012-11-29
The Queer Bible Commentary by
The Queer Bible Commentary brings together the work of several scholars and pastors known for their interest in the areas of gender, sexuality and Biblical studies. Rather than a verse-by-verse analysis, typical of more traditional commentaries, contributors to this volume focus specifically upon those portions of the book that have particular relevance for readers interested in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues such as the construction of gender and sexuality, the reification of heterosexuality, the question of lesbian and gay ancestry within the Bible, the transgendered voices of the prophets, the use of the Bible in contemporary political, socio-economic and religious spheres and the impact upon lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities. Accordingly, the commentary raises new questions and re-directs more traditional questions in fresh and innovative ways, offering new angles of approach. This comprehensive, cutting-edge commentary is prefaced by an introductory essay by Professor Mary Tolbert. Contributors draw on feminist, queer, deconstructionist, utopian theories, the social sciences and historical-critical discourses. The focus is both how reading from lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender perspectives affect the reading and interpretation of biblical texts and how biblical texts have and do affect lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender communities. The commentary includes an extensive bibliography that directs the reader to a full range of literature relating to queer interpretation of scripture.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.H67 Q44 2006ISBN: 9780334040217Publication Date: 2006-09-28
The Bible and Disability by
The Bible and Disability: A Commentary (BDC) is the first comprehensive commentary on the Bible from the perspective of disability. The BDC examines how the Bible constructs or reflects human wholeness, impairment, and disability in all their expressions. Biblical texts do envision the ideal body, but they also present visions of the body that deviate from this ideal, whether physically or through cognitive impairments or mental illness. The BDC engages the full range of these depictions of body and mind, exploring their meaning through close readings and comparative analysis. The BDC enshrines the distinctive interpretive imagination required to span the worlds of biblical studies and disability studies. Each of the fourteen contributors has worked at this intersection; and through their combined expertise, the very best of both biblical studies and disability studies culminates in detailed textual work of description, interpretation, and application to provide a synthetic and synoptic whole. The result is a close reading of the Bible that gives long-overdue attention to the fullness of human identity narrated in the Scriptures.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.P435 B53 2017ISBN: 9781481308533Publication Date: 2017-10-01
The Women's Torah Commentary by
Women rabbis are changing the face of Judaism. Discover how their interpretations of the Torah can enrich your perspective. "Rich and engaging...makes available to a wide readership the collective wisdom of women who have changed the face of Judaism." --Judith Plaskow, author, Standing Again at Sinai: Judaism from a Feminist Perspective; Professor of Religious Studies, Manhattan College Here, for the first time, women's unique experiences and perspectives are applied to the entire Five Books of Moses, offering all of us the first comprehensive commentary by women. In this groundbreaking book, more than 50 women rabbis come together to offer us inspiring insights on the Torah, in a week-by-week format. Included are commentaries by the first women ever ordained in the Reform, Reconstructionist and Conservative movements, and by many other women across these denominations who serve in the rabbinate in a variety of ways. This rich resource offers new perspectives to inspire all of us to gain deeper meaning from the Torah and a heightened appreciation of Judaism. A major contribution to modern biblical commentary. The gift of choice for every young woman's bat mitzvah, and for anyone wanting a new, exciting view of Torah. Contributing Rabbis: Rebecca T. Alpert * Lia Bass * Miriam Carey Berkowitz * Elizabeth Bolton * Analia Bortz * Sharon Brous * Judith Gary Brown * Nina Beth Cardin * Diane Aronson Cohen * Sandra J. Cohen * Cynthia A. Culpeper * Lucy H.F. Dinner * Lisa A. Edwards * Amy Eilberg * Sue Levi Elwell * Rachel Esserman * Helaine Ettinger * Susan Fendrick * Lori Forman * Dayle A. Friedman * Elyse D. Frishman * Nancy Fuchs-Kreimer * Shoshana Gelfand * Laura Geller * Elyse M. Goldstein * Julie K. Gordon * Claire Magidovitch Green * Rosette Barron Haim * Jill Hammer * Karyn D. Kedar * Sarra Levine * Valerie Lieber * Ellen Lippmann * Sheryl Nosan * Stacy K. Offner * Sara Paasche-Orlow * Barbara Rosman Penzner * Hara E. Person * Audrey S. Pollack * Sally J. Priesand * Geela-Rayzel Raphael * Laura M. Rappaport * Debra Judith Robbins * Rochelle Robins * Gila Colman Ruskin * Sandy Eisenberg Sasso * Ilene Schneider * Rona Shapiro * Michal Shekel * Beth J. Singer * Sharon L. Sobel * Ruth H. Sohn * Julie Ringold Spitzer z"l * Shira Stern * Pamela Wax * Nancy Wechsler-Azen * Nancy H. Wiener * Elana Zaiman
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1225.3 .W66 2000ISBN: 9781580230766Publication Date: 2000-03-01
True to Our Native Land: An African American New Testament Commentary by
This pioneering commentary sets biblical interpretation firmly in the context of African American experience and concern. Cutting-edge scholarship that is in tune with African American churches calls into question many of the canons of traditional biblical research and highlights the role of the Bible in African American history, accenting themes of ethnicity, class, slavery, and African heritage as these play a role in Christian scripture and the Christian odyssey of an emancipated people. Contributors include the volume editors, Thomas Hoyt, Gay L. Byron, Vincent Wimbush, and sixteen other notable scholars.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2341.52 .T78 2007ISBN: 9780800634216Publication Date: 2007-05-25
Africa Bible Commentary series (ABC)
The landmark Africa Bible Commentary compiles the wisdom of over seventy African scholars in one volume. Now, the Africa Bible Commentary Series provides deeper insights into each biblical book. This series places a premium on showing the relevance of biblical concepts for the life of the church. Case studies and African illustrations make this happen in ways that mere explanations cannot. In addition, each commentary is divided into sermon units for easy use in developing a preaching series on the biblical books.
Three currently available.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS 2347.3 .A47ISBN: 9789966003065Publication Date: 2009-
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Postcolonial Commentary and the Old Testament by
This is the first volume to provide a wide range of postcolonial interpretations of and commentaries upon significant texts in the Hebrew Bible. The volume intersects with the work of the key theorists in postcolonial studies such as Fanon, Senghor, Said and Spivak as well as with scholars such as Sugirtharajah, Kwok Pui-lan, and Segovia who have applied this theory to biblical studies. Texts have been chosen specifically for their relevance to postcolonial discourse, rather than seeking to cover each biblical document. This volume is designed to demonstrate how historical criticism, postmodernism, and the important concerns of postcolonial readings may be integrated to obtain an informed explanation of the Hebrew Bible and the writings of early Judaism. The chapters are written by scholars who represent a spectrum of national, indigenous, and diasporic contexts. Taken together these perspectives and the interpretations they yield represent a continued expansion of the manner in which Old Testament texts are read and interpreted through postcolonial lenses, reminding readers that the interpretive trajectories of these texts are almost inexhaustible. As such the volume serves as not only an addition to ongoing scholarship on postcolonialism but also as an expansion of the horizon for dialogue.
ISBN: 9780567680990Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Comentario Biblico Latino-Americano by
Uma obra única, este comentário revela a força e o vigor da teologia latino-americana, cuja concepção envolveu os teólogos abaixo, que representam diferentes nacionalidades, contextos culturais e ministérios. Tendo como editor geral o inesquecível C. René Padilla, a obra reúne dezenas de artigos temáticos, aplicações para a vida diária, centenas de questões para reflexão, além de incentivar o leitor e a leitora a se aprofundarem no conhecimento da Palavra de Deus.
ISBN: 9786559880607Publication Date: 2022
Asia Bible Commentary series
The ABC Series is designed to help pastors in their sermon preparation, lay leaders in their Bible study groups, Christian students in their study of the Bible, and Christians in general in their efforts to apply the Bible in their respective contexts.
ISBN: 9781783688678Publication Date: 2016-
India Commentary on the New Testament series (ICNT)
The India Commentary on the New Testament (ICNT) series aims to give a well-informed exposition of the meaning of the text and relevant reflections in everyday language from a contemporary Indian context. The intended audience is the theological seminary or bible college, both students and faculty. The commentaries are also ideal for pastors and lay people with an interest in theology or responsibilities for preaching in the local congregation.The commentaries are culturally rooted, and the various applications relating to culture, society, and religious life will help those involved in cross-cultural evangelism and mission work. There is no direct equivalent to the ICNT, and hence this is the first Indian commentary serving India, the entire subcontinent--India, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka--and the world.The ICNT is an affordable evangelical commentary series written by respected academics in everyday language, providing a well-informed meaning of the New Testament and practical reflections for modern India.
ISBN: 9781506438092Publication Date: 2017-
Handbooks
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN (provided by Oxford Academic)
The Oxford Handbook of Apocalyptic Literature by
Apocalypticism arose in ancient Judaism in the last centuries BCE and played a crucial role in the rise of Christianity. It is not only of historical interest: there has been a growing awareness, especially since the 2001 terrorist attacks on the United States, of the prevalence of apocalypticbeliefs in the contemporary world. To understand these beliefs, it is necessary to appreciate their complex roots in the ancient world, and the multi-faceted character of the phenomenon of apocalypticism.The Oxford Handbook of Apocalyptic Literature is a thematic and phenomenological exploration of apocalypticism in the Judaic and Christian traditions. Most of the volume is devoted to the apocalyptic literature of antiquity. Essays explore the relationship between apocalypticism and prophecy, wisdomand mysticism; the social function of apocalypticism and its role as resistance literature; apocalyptic rhetoric from both historical and postmodern perspectives; and apocalyptic theology, focusing on phenomena of determinism and dualism and exploring apocalyptic theology's role in ancient Judaism,early Christianity, and Gnosticism.The final chapters of the volume are devoted to the appropriation of apocalypticism in the modern world, reviewing the role of apocalypticism in contemporary Judaism and Christianity, and more broadly in popular culture, addressing the increasingly studied relation between apocalypticism andviolence, and discussing the relationship between apocalypticism and trauma, which speaks to the underlying causes of the popularity of apocalyptic beliefs. This volume will further the understanding of a vital religious phenomenon too often dismissed as alien and irrational by secular westernsociety.
ISBN: 9780199856497Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Daniel eBook Monographs
To use the catalog to find any print copies of these as well as additional print or eBook monographs, consult the Search for Books tab on Stamps Virtual Library or access the catalog from the library home page. Consult the Search for Commentaries tab on this guide for tips for finding commentaries in the catalog.
Of Courtiers and Kings: The Biblical Daniel Narratives and Ancient Story-Collections by
Holm's book is an innovative approach to the biblical Book of Daniel. It places Daniel against the background of story-collections, an ancient genre that began in Egypt in the mid-second millennium B.C.E. This work focuses on Daniel 6-4 and provides detailed comparisons with specific bodies of story-collections and other related material from the Ancient Near East. In this regard, special attention is given to Egyptian court tales, a large corpus mostly neglected by previous biblical scholars. Thus, this book brings new evidence and fresh insights to the field of Daniel studies, which in recent years has generated constant interest, especially as it pertains to textual issues and literary matters. Setting Daniel against an explicit definition of the story-collection genre redefines a vast array of questions concerning textual criticism, compositional history, and the overall nature of the book. For instance, the divergent texts of the narrative parts of Daniel (the Masoretic text and the Greek editions in Theodotion and the Septuagint) now need to be described in part as variant editions, or tellings, of a common core material, rather than as translations of older written texts with clearly traceable genealogies. When Daniel is studied in the context of story-collections and kindred compositions from the Ancient Near Eastern and neighboring literatures, new light is shed on the literary traditions and processes from which the Daniel stories arose. There are a greater number of court tales and cycles than previously recognized, as in the case of Qumran but also the Egypt Demotic corpus. The detailed discussion of all these materials allows us to appreciate the Book of Daniel in a much wider literary milieu and it furthers our understanding of the history of its composition and early transmission.
ISBN: 9781575062600Publication Date: 2013-11-14
The Book of Daniel and the Apocryphal Daniel Literature by
This volume illuminates the full extent of the corpus of ancient and mediaeval apocryphal Daniel literature. It is the first study to examine the Daniel legenda, the apocryphal apocalypses, and the prognostica as discrete categories of texts and to evaluate their generic relationship to the biblical Book of Daniel. Special emphases include the identification of the texts and their manuscript evidence as well as the study of late antique and early mediaeval apocalyptic literature attributed to Daniel. This volume will be of particular interest to biblical scholars and to those who specialise in biblical apocrypha and pseudepigrapha.
ISBN: 9004144129Publication Date: 2005-05-18
Narrative in the Hebrew Bible by
"After almost two centuries of historical criticism, biblical scholarship has recently taken major shifts in direction, most notably towards literary study of the bible. Much germinal criticism has taken as its primary focus narrative texts of the Hebrew Bible (the 'Old Testament'). This book provides a lucid guide to its interpretative possibilities. It tries to be both theoretical and practical, combining discussion of method and the business of reading in general with numerous illustrations through readings of particular texts." "The opening chapter indicates how literary criticism is related to other dominant ways of reading the text over the last two thousand years, using as an example the story of Cain and Abel. In subsequent chapters, the authors discuss characters, not excluding the narrator and God; plot, modifying recent theory to accommodate the peculiar complexity of biblical narratives; and the play of language though repetition, ambiguity, multivalence, metaphor, and intertextuality. The concluding chapter, on readers and responsibility, explores the logical dimension of narrative interpretation, with particular attention to Genesis 1-3, a story which has generated much discussion about gender and social hierarchy. Other extended readings include: the stories of Abraham and Sarah, and of Tamar and Judah in Genesis, David and his family in the book of Samuel, the book of Jonah, and the account of Nebuchadnezzar and the three Jews thrown into the fiery furnace, from the book of Daniel. An extensive bibliography completes the book, arranged by subject and biblical text."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 019213244XPublication Date: 1993-07-29
Competing for Honor: A Social-Scientific Reading of Daniel 1-6 by
Using social-scientific criticism, this work presents a reading of Daniel 1-6 as literature of resistance. The characters and episodes of these tales are read against a backdrop of social competition for the cultural value of honor. Each of the tales of Daniel 1-6 is analyzed, revealing a comparison that is sustained throughout the compilation and that pits the Judean tradition in competition with a dominant foreign tradition. The dynamics of comparison and competition are explored in each tale with the help of social-scientific models depicting honor and exploring the related dynamics of purity, patronage, virtue, limited good, and envy. This work is particularly useful for scholars and students interested in social-scientific criticism and the value of that methodology for Hebrew Bible study, as well as for those interested in Daniel, honor and shame, ancient rhetoric, and cultural resistance in the postexilic period.
ISBN: 9004144870Publication Date: 2005-07-15
Dreams, Riddles, and Visions: Textual, Contextual, and Intertextual Approaches to the Book of Daniel by
The volume contains eight original studies, each of which focuses on a different chapter or central passage in Daniel and offers a new interpretation or reading of the passage in question. The studies span the Danielic tales and apocalypses, offering innovative analyses that often challenge the scholarly consensus regarding the exegesis of this book. The eight chapters relate to Daniel 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, Susanna, and the conception of angelology in Daniel. The studies are all based on careful textual analysis, including comparison between the Hebrew/Aramaic and Greek versions (especially regarding Daniel 4-6), and, in each case, the larger arguments are built upon solid philological foundations. Many of the insights proposed in this volume are based upon the realization that the authors of Daniel were frequently interpreters of earlier biblical books, and that the identification of these intertextual clues can be the key to unlocking the meaning of these texts. In this sense, Daniel is similar to other contemporaneous works, such as Jubilees and Qumran literature, but the extent of this phenomenon has not been fully appreciated by scholars of the book. This volume therefore contributes to the appreciation of Daniel as both the latest book in the Hebrew Bible, and a significant work in the landscape of Second Temple Judaism.
ISBN: 9783110330861Publication Date: 2016-06-20
With the Clouds of Heaven (New Studies in Biblical Theology series) by
"And behold, with the clouds of heaven there came one like a son of man, and he came to the Ancient of Days and was presented before him. And to him was given dominion and glory and a kingdom." (Daniel 7:13-14 ESV).Perceiving a hole in evangelical biblical theology that should be filled with a robust treatment of the book of Daniel, James Hamilton takes this chance to delve into the book's rich contribution to the Bible's unfolding redemptive-historical storyline. By setting Daniel in the broader context of biblical theology, this canonical study helps move us toward a clearer understanding of how we should live today in response to its message. First, Hamilton shows how the book's literary structure contributes to its meaning, and then addresses key questions and issues, concluding by examining typological patterns.This New Studies in Biblical Theology volume argues that the four kingdoms prophesied by Daniel are both historical and symbolic--that the "one like a son of man" seen by Daniel is identified with and distinguished from the Ancient of Days in a way that would be mysterious until Jesus came as both the son of David and God incarnate. He elaborates that the interpretations of Daniel in early Jewish literature attest to strategies similar to those employed by New Testament authors and exposes that those authors provide a Spirit-inspired interpretation of Daniel that was learned from Jesus. He also highlights how the book of Revelation uses Daniel's language, imitates his structure, points to the fulfillment of his prophecies and clarifies the meaning of his "seventieth week."Addressing key issues in biblical theology, the works comprising New Studies in Biblical Theology are creative attempts to help Christians better understand their Bibles. The NSBT series is edited by D. A. Carson, aiming to simultaneously instruct and to edify, to interact with current scholarship and to point the way ahead.
ISBN: 9780830826339Publication Date: 2014-08-29
