Jonah/Twelve Prophets/Minor Prophets Commentaries
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Jonah (BTCB=Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible) by
Pastors and leaders of the classical church--such as Augustine, Calvin, Luther, and Wesley--interpreted the Bible theologically, believing Scripture as a whole witnessed to the gospel of Jesus Christ. Modern interpreters of the Bible questioned this premise. But in recent decades, a critical mass of theologians and biblical scholars has begun to reassert the priority of a theological reading of Scripture. The Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible enlists leading theologians to read and interpret Scripture for the twenty-first century, just as the church fathers, the Reformers, and other orthodox Christians did for their times and places. In the sixth volume in the series, Phillip Cary presents a theological exegesis of Jonah.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .B73 v.32 2008ISBN: 9780334041955Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Hosea--Micah (IBC=Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching series) by
Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .I68 v.28-33 1988 and Stamps Stacks BS1560 .L553 1988ISBN: 9780664236106Publication Date: 2011-08-26
Hosea-Micah: A Commentary in the Wesleyan Tradition (NBBC=New Beacon Bible Commentary series) by
Engaging, perceptive, and academically thorough, the New Beacon Bible Commentary will expand your understanding and deepen your appreciation for the meaning and message of each book of the Bible.Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, this indispensable commentary provides pastors, professional scholars, teachers, and Bible students with a critical, relevant, and inspiring interpretation of the Word of God in the 21st century.EACH VOLUME FEATURES:Contemporary scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan theological traditionConvenient introductory material, including information on authorship, date, history, audience, sociological/ cultural issues, purpose, literary features, theological themes, and hermeneutical issuesClear verse-by-verse explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived from the biblical text in its original languageComprehensive annotation divided into three sections, which cover background elements behind the text; verse-by-verse details and meanings found in the text; and significance, relevance, intertextuality, and application from the textHelpful sidebars, which provide deeper insight into theological issues, word meanings, archeological connections, historical relevance, and cultural customsExpanded bibliography for further study of historical elements, additional interpretations, and theological themes
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .B43 v.28-33 2014ISBN: 9780834132184Publication Date: 2014-04-01
PRINT ONLY
Jonah: Introduction and Commentary (ICS=Illuminations series) by
The dominant reading of the book of Jonah--that the hapless prophet Jonah is a lesson in not trying to run away from God--oversimplifies a profoundly literary biblical text, argues Amy Erickson. Likewise, the more recent understanding of Jonah as satire is problematic in its own right, laden as it is with anti-Jewish undertones and the superimposition of a Christian worldview onto a Jewish text. How can we move away from these stale interpretations to recover the richness of meaning that belongs to this short but noteworthy book of the Bible? This Illuminations commentary delves into Jonah's reception history in Christian, Jewish, and Islamic contexts while also exploring its representations in visual arts, music, literature, and pop culture. After this thorough contextualization, Erickson provides a fresh translation and exegesis, paving the way for pastors and scholars to read and utilize the book of Jonah as the provocative, richly allusive, and theologically robust text that it is.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .I55 v.32 2021ISBN: 9780802868312Publication Date: 2021-05-01
Jonah (AB=Anchor Bible series) by
Were Jonah's experiences true to the history of ancient Israel? Were they meant to be read comically, philosophically, allegorically, symbolically, or realistically? And is God godly when acting beyond the comprehension of prophets, let alone ordinary human beings? These issues, and many more, are thoughtfully considered in this meticulously detailed and insightful translation of the original Hebrew text of Jonah as created by Jewish authorities during the second half of the first millennium B.C.E. In these profound and enduring tales, realistic events and miraculous incidents merge, and we never have to wait long to witness the power of God's love or wrath. One of the twelve prophets, Jonah faced more challenges in a short span of time than any other biblical hero. He went to sea and nearly drowned in the belly of a great fish. On land, Jonah journeyed east to Nineveh, where his mission was to spread the word of God in a city plagued by evil. He was tested by God at every tum. But even during his darkest hours, his faith never wavered and through all the tumult, he always listened for the comforting voice of the Lord. Author Jack M. Sasson employs the very latest information in biblical scholarship to interpret the many nuances in Jonah's seemingly simple story. Providing Greek, Hebrew, Latin, Aramaic, and, occasionally, Syriac and Arabic translations, this work is an exciting addition to the world-acclaimed Anchor Bible commentaries.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2.A1 v.32 1990 and Stamps Stacks BS1603 .S3ISBN: 0385235259Publication Date: 1990-09-01
Jonah (Hermeneia series) by
In the new Hermeneia volume, the Jonah translation and commentary, renowned biblical scholar Susan Niditch encourages the reader to investigate challenging questions about ancient conceptions of personal religious identity. Jonah's story is treated as a complex reflection upon the heavy matters of life and death, good and evil, and human and divine relations. The narrative probes an individual's relationship with a demanding deity, considers vexing cultural issues of "us versus them," and examines the role of Israel's god in a universal and international context. The author examines the ways in which Jonah prods readers to contemplate these fundamental issues concerning group- and self-definition. In her technical study of Jonah's language, style, structure, content, and context, Niditch examines the text through the comparative lens of international folklore. The thread of appropriations of Jonah by post-biblical writers and artists is explored, and special attention is paid to rabbinic midrash, medieval Jewish manuscript illuminations, and Christian art of late antiquity. And in the tradition of Hermeneia volumes, the commentary evaluates and incorporates the insights of a long legacy of scholars who have explored this venerable text from varied perspectives.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1605.3 .N583 2023ISBN: 9780800699031Publication Date: 2023-01-03
Jonah (JPSBC=JPS Bible Commentary series) by
Based on the same format and design as the Torah volumes, Jonah provides a critical line-by-line commentary of the biblical text, which is presented in its original Hebrew, complete with vocalization and cantillation marks, as well as the JPS English translation. It includes a scholarly introduction, extensive bibliographic and critical notes, and other explanatory material.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .J49 v.32 1999ISBN: 9780827606722Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Jonah (OTL=Old Testament Library series) by
In this volume, now available in a new casebound edition, James Limburg examines Jonah with several questions in mind: How did the story originate? What is its place in the Bible? How did the New Testament understand the story? How has the story been understood in Judaism and in Islam? What might t mean for people today? And what does it have to say about God, about the human condition, and even about God and nature? In reviewing the book, Limburg gives special attention to the many contributions of artists, musicians, painters, and sculptors who, he says, may have been the best interpreters of Jonah. He also keeps in mind literary dimension of the text and takes great care to follow the divisions of the book as they were defined by Jewish scribal tradition. The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The Contributors are scholars of international standing.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .O4 v.32 and Stamps Stacks BS1605.3 .L565 1993ISBN: 0664212964Publication Date: 1993-09-01
Jonah: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary (AYB=Anchor Yale Bible commentary series) by
An innovative translation and commentary on the book of Jonah by a trio of award-winning scholars The book of Jonah, which tells the outlandish story of a disobedient prophet swallowed by a great fish, is one of the Bible's best-known narratives. This tale has fascinated readers for millennia and has inspired countless interpretations. This commentary features a new translation of Jonah as well as an introduction outlining the major interpretive issues in the text. The introduction traces the composition history of the book, paying special attention to the psalm in the second chapter; and the authors explore new theories surrounding the time and place where Jonah delivers his message to Nineveh, as well as the city's act of repentance. In addition to these features, this volume draws on a variety of critical approaches to biblical literature, including affect theory, animal studies, performance criticism, postcolonial criticism, psychological criticism, spatial theory, and trauma theory, to reveal the book's many interpretive possibilities. An updated treatment of Jonah's reception history includes an in-depth analysis of the story in religious traditions, art and literature, and popular culture.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .A1 v.24H 2023ISBN: 9780300206678Publication Date: 2023-10-10
The Minor Prophets: An Exegetical and Expository Commentary by
The story of the Blind Man and the Loon is a living Native folktale about a blind man who is betrayed by his mother or wife but whose vision is magically restored by a kind loon. Variations of this tale are told by Native storytellers all across Alaska, arctic Canada, Greenland, the Northwest Coast, and even into the Great Basin and the Great Plains. As the story has traveled through cultures and ecosystems over many centuries, individual storytellers have added cultural and local ecological details to the tale, creating countless variations. In The Blind Man and the Loon: The Story of a Tale, folklorist Craig Mishler goes back to 1827, tracing the story’s emergence across Greenland and North America in manuscripts, books, and in the visual arts and other media such as film, music, and dance theater. Examining and comparing the story’s variants and permutations across cultures in detail, Mishler brings the individual storyteller into his analysis of how the tale changed over time, considering how storytellers and the oral tradition function within various societies. Two maps unequivocally demonstrate the routes the story has traveled. The result is a masterful compilation and analysis of Native oral traditions that sheds light on how folktales spread and are adapted by widely diverse cultures.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1560 .M47 1992 (vols. 1-3)ISBN: 9780801036316Publication Date: 1992-1998
The Twelve Prophets (BO=Berit Olam series) by
There is generally no common material that binds together the works of the individual prophets that comprise the Twelve, but through Sweeney's commentary they stand together as a single, clearly defined book among the other prophetic books of the Bible. The Book of the Twelve Prophets is a multifaceted literary composition that functions simultaneously in all Jewish and Christian versions of the Bible as a single prophetic book and as a collection of twelve individual prophetic books. Each of the twelve individual books - Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi - begins with its own narrative introduction that identifies the prophet and provides details concerning the historical setting and literary characteristics. In this manner each book is clearly distinguished from the others within the overall framework of the Twelve. By employing a combination of literary methodologies, such as reader response criticism, canonical criticism, and structural form criticism, Sweeney establishes the literary structure of the Book of the Twelve as a whole, and of each book with their respective ideological or theological perspectives. An introductory chapter orients readers to questions posed by reading the Book of the Twelve as a coherent piece of literature and to a literary overview of the Twelve. Sweeney then treats each of the twelve individual prophetic books in the order of the Masoretic canon, providing a discussion of each one's structure, theme, and outlook. This is followed by a detailed literary discussion of the textual units that comprise the book.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.2 .B47 v.28-32A 2000 & v.33-39B 2000ISBN: 9780814650912Publication Date: 2000-10-01
Historical Jonah/Twelve Prophets Commentaries
PRINT COPY ONLY
The Twelve Prophets (ACCS=Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture series) by
"And beginning with Moses and all the prophets, [the risen Jesus] interpreted to them in all the scriptures the things concerning himself" (Lk 24:27).The church fathers mined the Old Testament throughout for prophetic utterances regarding the Messiah, but few books yielded as much messianic ore as the Twelve Prophets, sometimes known as the Minor Prophets because of the relative brevity of their writings. Encouraged by the example of the New Testament writers, the church fathers found numerous parallels between the Gospels and the prophetic books. Among the events foretold, they found not only the flight into Egypt after the nativity, the passion, and resurrection of Christ, and the outpouring of the Spirit at Pentecost, but also Judas's act of betrayal, the earthquake at Jesus' death and the rending of the temple veil. Detail upon detail brimmed with significance for Christian doctrine, including baptism and the Eucharist as well as the relation between the covenants.In this rich and vital resource you will find excerpts, some translated here into English for the first time, from more than thirty church fathers, ranging in time from Clement of Rome, Justin Martyr, and Irenaeus (late first and early second centuries) to Gregory the Great, Braulio of Saragossa, and Bede the Venerable (late sixth to early eighth centuries). Geographically the sources range from the great Cappadocians--Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, Gregory of Nyssa--John Chrysostom, Ephrem the Syrian, and Hippolytus in the East, to Ambrose, Augustine, Cyprian, and Tertullian in the West, and Origen, Cyril, and Pachomius in Egypt.This Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture volume is a treasure trove out of which Christians may bring riches both old and new in their understanding of these ancient texts.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor and Stamps Stacks BS1560 .T87 2003ISBN: 9780830814848Publication Date: 2003-10-01
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Jonah Through the Centuries (BBC=Wiley Blackwell/Blackwell Bible Commentaries series by
A meticulous exploration of the reception history of Jonah in all its facets Jonah through the Centuries is a systematic examination of the reception history of the book of Jonah, long-recognized for its numerous theological implications and diverse interpretations. The first book of its kind written in English, this singular volume provides a lucid and coherent commentary on the most influential re-readings of Jonah in Jewish, Christian, Muslim, and secular traditions. Author Lena-Sofia Tiemeyer progresses slowly through the book of Jonah verse-by-verse--even word-by-word through key verses such as Jonah 1:1 and 2:1--to offer readers deep insight into the many and multifaceted interpretations of Jonah from early Jewish readings to modern literary retellings. Structured thematically rather than strictly chronologically, the text begins with the earliest interpretation and follows its trendline all the way through to modern times before turning to the next-oldest interpretation. The commentary covers a broad range of retellings in many languages and in various media including commentaries, sermons, prose, poetry, theatrical drama, art, and music. Throughout the text, the author demonstrates how all these retellings ultimately originate within the biblical text itself and highlights how many of the interpretations are fueled and influenced by the interpreter's religious background, cultural assumptions, and their preconceived notions of what the text should say. Discusses how retellings of Jonah ultimately originate within the text's theological or literary ambiguities, choice of words, or syntactical construction Explains how cross-cultural interchanges between Jews, Christians, and Muslims at different points throughout the centuries influenced the reception of Jonah Highlights how several retellings form clusters according to the interpreters' religious affiliations Covers various interpretations of both often-cited and lesser-known verses from the book of Jonah Interacts with an international range of literary retellings of the book of Jonah, offered in English translation Jonah through the Centuries is an invaluable resource for educated clergy, undergraduate and graduate students in both seminaries and universities, scholars and academics, and general readers with interest in the reception of biblical texts in literature, art, and music.
ISBN: 9781118973332Publication Date: 2021-12-10
"Specialized Lens" Commentaries
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN (Texts @ Contexts eBooks provided by JSTOR database)
Africa Bible Commentary by
The Africa Bible Commentary is a unique publishing event - the first one-volume Bible commentary produced in Africa by African theologians to meet the needs of African pastors, students, and lay leaders. Interpreting and applying the Bible in the light of African culture and realities, it furnishes powerful and relevant insights into the biblical text that transcend Africa in their significance. The Africa Bible Commentary gives a section-by-section interpretation that provides a contextual, readable, affordable, and immensely useful guide to the entire Bible. Readers around the world will benefit from and appreciate the commentary's fresh insights and direct style that engage both heart and mind. for Africa - and for the world; section-by-section interpretive commentary and application; more than 70 special articles dealing with topics of key importance in to ministry in Africa today, but that have global implications; 70 African contributors from both English- and French-speaking countries; and, it transcends the African context with insights into the biblical text and the Christian faith for readers worldwide.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .A47 2010ISBN: 9780310264736Publication Date: eBook 2006; print 2010 (2nd ed.)
South Asia Bible Commentary by
A one-volume commentary, written and edited by South Asian Biblical scholars on all the books of the Bible.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .S67 2015ISBN: 9780310286868Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Women's Bible Commentary (3rd. ed., rev. and exp.) by
The Women's Bible Commentary is a trusted, classic resource for biblical scholarship, written by some of the best feminist scholars in the field today. This twentieth anniversary edition features brand new or thoroughly revised essays to reflect newer thinking in feminist interpretation and hermeneutics. It comprises commentaries on every book of the Bible, including the apocryphal books; essays on the reception history of women in the Bible; and essays on feminist critical method. The contributors raise important questions and explore the implications of how women and other marginalized people are portrayed in biblical texts, looking specifically at gender roles, sexuality, political power, and family life, while challenging long-held assumptions. This commentary brings modern critical methods to bear on the history, sociology, anthropology, and literature of the relevant time periods to illuminate the context of these biblical portrayals and challenges readers to new understandings.
Call Number: Stamp Reference Floor BS491.3 .W66 2012 (3rd. ed.)ISBN: 9780664237073Publication Date: 07-17-2014 (imprint copy used for eBook)
The Africana Bible: Reading Israel's Scriptures from Africa and the African Diaspora by
A landmark volume, The Africana Bible gathers multicultural and interdisciplinary perspectives on every book in the Hebrew Bible. It opens a critical window onto the world of interpretation on the African continent and in the multiple diasporas of African peoples, including the African-American experience, with attention to Africana histories, literatures, cultures, and backgrounds for understanding biblical literature. The Africana Bible features a critical commentary on every book of the Hebrew Bible, the Apocrypha, and Pseudepigrapha that are authoritative for many in African and African-diasporan communities worldwide. It highlights issues of concern to the global Black community (such as globalization and the colonial legacy) and the distinctive norms of interpretation in African and African Diasporan settings.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1171.3 .A37 2010ISBN: 9780800621254Publication Date: 2009-11-19
Wisdom Commentary series (WCom) by Call Number: OT: Stamps Reference Floor BS1151.52 .W57/NT: Stamps Ref Floor BS2341.52 .W57ISBN: 9780814681022Publication Date: 2015-For some volumes in the series we only have print copies, while for some we have both print and eBook copies. To discover availability and access options, search the catalog or CONSULT THE TABBED PAGES FOR EACH BOOK OF THE BIBLE IN THIS GUIDE.
Note: The publisher describes this series as feminist, but adds that in some volumes "[that lens is] informed by critical masculinity studies, queer theory, and[/or] reception criticism," e.g., Revelation and others.
A Postcolonial Commentary on the New Testament Writings by
Since its emergence a few years ago, postcolonial biblical criticism has witnessed swift expansion and development in Biblical Studies. This critical approach has been increasingly applied to biblical texts as well as modern and postmodern interpretations and interpreters of these texts, yielding an ever-growing body of dissertations, scholarly articles, and volumes. In the process, this approach has become increasingly sophisticated as well in matters of method and theory. This Postcolonial Commentary on the New Testament Writings represents a critical benchmark in postcolonial biblical criticism. Indeed, the Commentary stands as the most comprehensive application to date of postcolonial criticism to the biblical texts, with its focus on the entire corpus of the New Testament. It places the reality and ramifications of imperial-colonial frameworks and relations at the centre of biblical criticism. The various entries pursue their analysis across a broad range of concerns and through a number of different approaches. They show, among other things, how texts and interpretations construct and/or relate to their respective imperial-colonial contexts; foreground literary, rhetorical, and ideological marks of coloniality and postcoloniality in both texts and interpretations; reveal how postcolonial reading strategies disrupt and destabilize hegemonic biblical criticism; and engage in critical dialogue with the visions and projects identified in texts as well as in interpretations. Toward this end, the Commentary has recourse to a highly distinguished and diversified roster of scholars, making this a definite point of reference for years to come.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2361.3 .P67 2007ISBN: 9780567179869Publication Date: 2007-09-27
Texts @ Contexts Commentary series by Call Number: see note belowISBN: 9780800699376Publication Date: 2013-04-01For some volumes in the series we only have print copies, for some we have both print and eBook copies. To discover availability and access options, search the catalog or consult the pages for each book of the Bible in this Commentaries guide. (If you found this record on another guide, Commentaries/Works by Book of the Bible can be found under Biblical Studies on the Stamps Virtual Library).
PRINT COPY ONLY
Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary by
The Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary is a groundbreaking, multi-year work and the first full-Bible commentary to come out of Central and Eastern Europe. The aim of this resource is to provide a contemporary, contextually relevant, church-based commentary written exclusively by biblical scholars from the region. Rooted in scholarship, while also written in clear and accessible language, this commentary will appeal to Christians everywhere.
This resource will help pastors, preachers, teachers and lay leaders to interpret and apply biblical truths in the rapidly changing contexts of their lives and faith communities.
Features:
Central and Eastern European contextual theological applications of biblical teaching
Over 100 articles addressing issues pertaining to our life as Christians in the twenty-first century
Clear, accessible language which will appeal to Christians everywhere
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .C46 2022ISBN: 9781783688227Publication Date: 2022
Global Bible Commentary by
The Global Bible Commentary invites its users to expand their horizon by reading the Bible with scholars from all over the world and from different religious persuasions.nbsp; These scholars have approaches and concerns that often are poles apart.nbsp; Yet they share two basic convictions:nbsp; biblical interpretation always matters; and reading the Bible "with others" is highly rewarding.nbsp;nbsp; Each of the short commentaries of the Global Bible Commentary is a readily accessible guide for reading a biblical book. Written for undergraduate and seminary students and their teachers, as well as for pastors, priests, and Adult Sunday School classes, it introduces the users to the main features of the biblical book and its content. Yet each short commentary does more. It also brings us a precious gift, namely the opportunity of reading this biblical book as if for the first time. By making explicit the specific context and the concerns from which she/he reads the Bible, the scholar points out to us the significance of aspects of the biblical text that we simply took for granted or overlooked. Need more info?nbsp; Download Global Bible Commentary Marketing Brochure PDF Free Adobe Acrobat Reader! If any book demonstrates the value of cultural criticism and the importance of particularity in interpretation, this is it! Scholars from diverse social locations in every continent bring their distinctive context to bear on the act of interpreting. In so doing, they shed eye-opening light on the biblical texts. The resulting critical dialogue with the Bible exposes the oppressive as well as the liberating dynamics of the texts while at the same time showing how the Bible might address the social, political, cultural, and economic dynamics of our world today. This collection can change the way you read the Bible--scholars and students, clergy and laity alike. -David Rhoads, Professor of New Testament, Lutheran School of Theology, Chicago, IL nbsp; Contributors: Daniel Patte, Professor of New Testament and Early Christianity at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, USA.nbsp; A Frenchnbsp; Huguenot (Église Réformée de France), he taught two years in Congo-Brazzaville, and "read the Bible with" people in France, Switzerland, South Africa, Botswana, the Philippines, as well as in the USA.nbsp; His publications include books on hermeneutics and semiotics (such as Early Jewish Hermeneutics, 1975;nbsp; The Religious Dimensions of Biblical Texts, 1990); on Paul and Matthew (such as Paul''s Faith and the Power of the Gospel, 1983; The Gospel according to Matthew: A Structural Commentary on Matthew''s Faith, 1987), as well as, most directly related to the GBC,nbsp; Ethics of Biblical Interpretation (1995),nbsp; The Challenge of Discipleship (1999),nbsp; Reading Israel in Romans:nbsp; Legitimacy and Plausibility of Divergent Interpretations (ed. with Cristina Grenholm, 2000), The Gospel of Matthew: A Contextual Introduction (with Monya Stubbs, Justin Ukpong, and Revelation Velunta, 2003). nbsp;José Severino Croatto,. Professor of Exegesis, Hebrew, and Religious Studies, at Instituto Superior Evangélico de Estudios Teológicosnbsp; (ISEDET).nbsp; A contributor to Revista de Interpretación Bíblica Latinoamericana (= RIBLA) and the Movement of Popular Reading of the Bible, he published 22 books, including three volumes on hermeneutics, Exodus, A Hermeneutics of Freedom (1981); Biblical Hermeneutics. Toward a Theory of Reading as the Production of Meaning (1987); Hermenéutica Práctica. Los principios de la hermenéutica bíblica en ejemplos (2002); three volumes on Génesis 1-11 (1974; 1986; 1997), the last one, Exilio y sobrevivencia. Tradiciones contraculturales en el Pentateuco; three volumes on the book of Isaiah (1988; 1994; 2001), the last one, Imaginar el futuro. Estructura retórica y querigma del Tercer Isaías (Isaías 56-66); two volumes on Religious Studies (1994; 2002), the last one, Experiencia de lo sagrado y tradiciones religiosas. Estudio de fenomenología de la religión (2002). nbsp;Rev. Dr. Nicole Wilkinson Duran, after teaching New Testament in the USA, South Africa (Zululand), in Turkey, is currently teaching part-time at Rosemont College and Villanova University, and with her husband raising twin sons in the suburbs of Philadelphia, PA.nbsp; She has published articles on topics ranging from gender and race in Esther, to the unread Bible in Toni Morrison''s novels, to body symbolism in the story of John the Baptist''s execution, and edited (with G. Phillips) Reading Communities Reading Scripture (2002).nbsp; She is an ordained Presbyterian minister and does occasional preaching and adult Christian education. nbsp;Teresa Okure, SHCJ, a graduate from the University of Ibadan, La Sorbonne, École Biblique of Jerusalem, and Fordham University (Ph.D.), is Professor of New Testament and Gender Hermeneutics at the Catholic Institute of West Africa, Port Harcourt, Nigeria. She is or has been a member of the executive committees of several associations, including EATWOT (Ecumenical Association of Third World Theologians, as Executive Secretary), the International Association for Mission Studies (IAMS), and the Society for New Testament Studies (SNTS).nbsp; She published more than 100 articles and six books including The Johannine Approach to Mission: a Contextual Study of John 4:1-42nbsp; (1988), ed. Evaluating the Inculturation of Christianity in Africa (1990) andnbsp; ed. To Cast Fire upon the Earth:nbsp; Bible and Mission.nbsp; Collaborating in Today''s Multicultural Global Contextnbsp; (2000). nbsp;Archie Chi_Chung Lee,nbsp; Professor of Hebrew Bible, Department of Cultural and Religious Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.nbsp; A specialist of cross-textual hermeneutics, especially Chinese text and the post-exilic biblical tradition.nbsp; He is the author of several books including A Comm
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS491.3 .G57 2004ISBN: 9780687064038Publication Date: 2004-10-01
The IVP Women's Bible Commentary by
What does the Bible say to a young mother at home nursing her baby?What role models for intelligent, talented women can we find in Scripture?What was everyday life like for women in biblical times?What does Scripture say to women who have been abused or raped?What can men learn from women by viewing Scripture through their concerns and insights?This surprising commentary searches Scripture in light of the many theological, biblical, sociological and psychological concerns of women. Led by editors Catherine Clark Kroeger and Mary J. Evans, an international team of contributors offers thoughtful, engaging insight to complement more traditional approaches that have viewed Scripture primarily through the experiences and understanding of men. Fresh, practical and helpful, the IVP Women's Bible Commentary shows how relevant Scripture is to the legitimate concerns of men and women alike--and just how transforming God's Word can be when viewed from unaccustomed perspective.This reference work will be welcomed by pastors developing sermons, by Bible study teachers and leaders preparing lessons, by college and seminary students researching study assignments, and by individual readers who want to broaden their understanding of the richness of biblical revelation.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor and Stacks BS521.4 .I97 2002ISBN: 083081437XPublication Date: 2002-02-07
Feminist Biblical Interpretation: A Compendium of Critical Commentary on the Books of the Bible and Related Literature by
The original German edition of Feminist Biblical Interpretation received high acclaim and widespread positive reviews in Europe. That groundbreaking reference tool for contextual biblical interpretation is here available in English for the first time. With contributions from more than sixty female scholars, this is the only one-volume feminist commentary on the entire Bible, including books that are relatively uncharted territory for feminist theology.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS521.4 .K6513 2012ISBN: 9780802860972Publication Date: 2012-11-29
The Bible and Disability by
The Bible and Disability: A Commentary (BDC) is the first comprehensive commentary on the Bible from the perspective of disability. The BDC examines how the Bible constructs or reflects human wholeness, impairment, and disability in all their expressions. Biblical texts do envision the ideal body, but they also present visions of the body that deviate from this ideal, whether physically or through cognitive impairments or mental illness. The BDC engages the full range of these depictions of body and mind, exploring their meaning through close readings and comparative analysis. The BDC enshrines the distinctive interpretive imagination required to span the worlds of biblical studies and disability studies. Each of the fourteen contributors has worked at this intersection; and through their combined expertise, the very best of both biblical studies and disability studies culminates in detailed textual work of description, interpretation, and application to provide a synthetic and synoptic whole. The result is a close reading of the Bible that gives long-overdue attention to the fullness of human identity narrated in the Scriptures.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.P435 B53 2017ISBN: 9781481308533Publication Date: 2017-10-01
The Queer Bible Commentary by
The Queer Bible Commentary brings together the work of several scholars and pastors known for their interest in the areas of gender, sexuality and Biblical studies. Rather than a verse-by-verse analysis, typical of more traditional commentaries, contributors to this volume focus specifically upon those portions of the book that have particular relevance for readers interested in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues such as the construction of gender and sexuality, the reification of heterosexuality, the question of lesbian and gay ancestry within the Bible, the transgendered voices of the prophets, the use of the Bible in contemporary political, socio-economic and religious spheres and the impact upon lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities. Accordingly, the commentary raises new questions and re-directs more traditional questions in fresh and innovative ways, offering new angles of approach. This comprehensive, cutting-edge commentary is prefaced by an introductory essay by Professor Mary Tolbert. Contributors draw on feminist, queer, deconstructionist, utopian theories, the social sciences and historical-critical discourses. The focus is both how reading from lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender perspectives affect the reading and interpretation of biblical texts and how biblical texts have and do affect lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender communities. The commentary includes an extensive bibliography that directs the reader to a full range of literature relating to queer interpretation of scripture.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.H67 Q44 2006ISBN: 9780334040217Publication Date: 2006-09-28
The Women's Torah Commentary by
Women rabbis are changing the face of Judaism. Discover how their interpretations of the Torah can enrich your perspective. "Rich and engaging...makes available to a wide readership the collective wisdom of women who have changed the face of Judaism." --Judith Plaskow, author, Standing Again at Sinai: Judaism from a Feminist Perspective; Professor of Religious Studies, Manhattan College Here, for the first time, women's unique experiences and perspectives are applied to the entire Five Books of Moses, offering all of us the first comprehensive commentary by women. In this groundbreaking book, more than 50 women rabbis come together to offer us inspiring insights on the Torah, in a week-by-week format. Included are commentaries by the first women ever ordained in the Reform, Reconstructionist and Conservative movements, and by many other women across these denominations who serve in the rabbinate in a variety of ways. This rich resource offers new perspectives to inspire all of us to gain deeper meaning from the Torah and a heightened appreciation of Judaism. A major contribution to modern biblical commentary. The gift of choice for every young woman's bat mitzvah, and for anyone wanting a new, exciting view of Torah. Contributing Rabbis: Rebecca T. Alpert * Lia Bass * Miriam Carey Berkowitz * Elizabeth Bolton * Analia Bortz * Sharon Brous * Judith Gary Brown * Nina Beth Cardin * Diane Aronson Cohen * Sandra J. Cohen * Cynthia A. Culpeper * Lucy H.F. Dinner * Lisa A. Edwards * Amy Eilberg * Sue Levi Elwell * Rachel Esserman * Helaine Ettinger * Susan Fendrick * Lori Forman * Dayle A. Friedman * Elyse D. Frishman * Nancy Fuchs-Kreimer * Shoshana Gelfand * Laura Geller * Elyse M. Goldstein * Julie K. Gordon * Claire Magidovitch Green * Rosette Barron Haim * Jill Hammer * Karyn D. Kedar * Sarra Levine * Valerie Lieber * Ellen Lippmann * Sheryl Nosan * Stacy K. Offner * Sara Paasche-Orlow * Barbara Rosman Penzner * Hara E. Person * Audrey S. Pollack * Sally J. Priesand * Geela-Rayzel Raphael * Laura M. Rappaport * Debra Judith Robbins * Rochelle Robins * Gila Colman Ruskin * Sandy Eisenberg Sasso * Ilene Schneider * Rona Shapiro * Michal Shekel * Beth J. Singer * Sharon L. Sobel * Ruth H. Sohn * Julie Ringold Spitzer z"l * Shira Stern * Pamela Wax * Nancy Wechsler-Azen * Nancy H. Wiener * Elana Zaiman
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1225.3 .W66 2000ISBN: 9781580230766Publication Date: 2000-03-01
True to Our Native Land: An African American New Testament Commentary by
This pioneering commentary sets biblical interpretation firmly in the context of African American experience and concern. Cutting-edge scholarship that is in tune with African American churches calls into question many of the canons of traditional biblical research and highlights the role of the Bible in African American history, accenting themes of ethnicity, class, slavery, and African heritage as these play a role in Christian scripture and the Christian odyssey of an emancipated people. Contributors include the volume editors, Thomas Hoyt, Gay L. Byron, Vincent Wimbush, and sixteen other notable scholars.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2341.52 .T78 2007ISBN: 9780800634216Publication Date: 2007-05-25
Africa Bible Commentary series (ABC)
The landmark Africa Bible Commentary compiles the wisdom of over seventy African scholars in one volume. Now, the Africa Bible Commentary Series provides deeper insights into each biblical book. This series places a premium on showing the relevance of biblical concepts for the life of the church. Case studies and African illustrations make this happen in ways that mere explanations cannot. In addition, each commentary is divided into sermon units for easy use in developing a preaching series on the biblical books.
Three currently available.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS 2347.3 .A47ISBN: 9789966003065Publication Date: 2009-
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Asia Bible Commentary series
The ABC Series is designed to help pastors in their sermon preparation, lay leaders in their Bible study groups, Christian students in their study of the Bible, and Christians in general in their efforts to apply the Bible in their respective contexts.
ISBN: 9781783688678Publication Date: 2016-
Comentario Biblico Latino-Americano by
Uma obra única, este comentário revela a força e o vigor da teologia latino-americana, cuja concepção envolveu os teólogos abaixo, que representam diferentes nacionalidades, contextos culturais e ministérios. Tendo como editor geral o inesquecível C. René Padilla, a obra reúne dezenas de artigos temáticos, aplicações para a vida diária, centenas de questões para reflexão, além de incentivar o leitor e a leitora a se aprofundarem no conhecimento da Palavra de Deus.
ISBN: 9786559880607Publication Date: 2022
India Commentary on the New Testament series (ICNT)
The India Commentary on the New Testament (ICNT) series aims to give a well-informed exposition of the meaning of the text and relevant reflections in everyday language from a contemporary Indian context. The intended audience is the theological seminary or bible college, both students and faculty. The commentaries are also ideal for pastors and lay people with an interest in theology or responsibilities for preaching in the local congregation.The commentaries are culturally rooted, and the various applications relating to culture, society, and religious life will help those involved in cross-cultural evangelism and mission work. There is no direct equivalent to the ICNT, and hence this is the first Indian commentary serving India, the entire subcontinent--India, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka--and the world.The ICNT is an affordable evangelical commentary series written by respected academics in everyday language, providing a well-informed meaning of the New Testament and practical reflections for modern India.
ISBN: 9781506438092Publication Date: 2017-
Postcolonial Commentary and the Old Testament by
This is the first volume to provide a wide range of postcolonial interpretations of and commentaries upon significant texts in the Hebrew Bible. The volume intersects with the work of the key theorists in postcolonial studies such as Fanon, Senghor, Said and Spivak as well as with scholars such as Sugirtharajah, Kwok Pui-lan, and Segovia who have applied this theory to biblical studies. Texts have been chosen specifically for their relevance to postcolonial discourse, rather than seeking to cover each biblical document. This volume is designed to demonstrate how historical criticism, postmodernism, and the important concerns of postcolonial readings may be integrated to obtain an informed explanation of the Hebrew Bible and the writings of early Judaism. The chapters are written by scholars who represent a spectrum of national, indigenous, and diasporic contexts. Taken together these perspectives and the interpretations they yield represent a continued expansion of the manner in which Old Testament texts are read and interpreted through postcolonial lenses, reminding readers that the interpretive trajectories of these texts are almost inexhaustible. As such the volume serves as not only an addition to ongoing scholarship on postcolonialism but also as an expansion of the horizon for dialogue.
ISBN: 9780567680990Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Handbooks
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN (provided by Oxford Academic)
The Oxford Handbook of the Minor Prophets by
The Oxford Handbook of the Minor Prophets provides a clear and engaging one-volume guide to the major interpretative questions currently engaging scholars of the twelve Minor Prophets by collecting 40 essays by both established and emerging scholars who explore a wide range of methodological perspectives. Divided into four sections, the first group of essays is devoted to historical studies which consider the manuscript evidence for these books and overview debates about how, when, and by whom they were composed. Essays dealing with literary explorations consider the genres and rhetorical style of the material, key themes, and intertextual connections with other sections of the Jewish and Christian canons. A large section on the history of interpretation traces the ways in which past and present confessional communities, scholars, and artists have understood the Minor Prophets. In the final section, essays on individual books of the twelve Minor Prophets explore the structure, themes, and contested issues of each book.
ISBN: 9780190673208Publication Date: 2021-02-05
Jonah or Twelve/Minor Prophets eBook Monographs
To use the catalog to find any print copies of these as well as additional print or eBook monographs, consult the Search for Books tab on Stamps Virtual Library or access the catalog from the library home page. Consult the Search for Commentaries tab on this guide for tips for finding commentaries in the catalog.
Narrative in the Hebrew Bible by
"After almost two centuries of historical criticism, biblical scholarship has recently taken major shifts in direction, most notably towards literary study of the bible. Much germinal criticism has taken as its primary focus narrative texts of the Hebrew Bible (the 'Old Testament'). This book provides a lucid guide to its interpretative possibilities. It tries to be both theoretical and practical, combining discussion of method and the business of reading in general with numerous illustrations through readings of particular texts." "The opening chapter indicates how literary criticism is related to other dominant ways of reading the text over the last two thousand years, using as an example the story of Cain and Abel. In subsequent chapters, the authors discuss characters, not excluding the narrator and God; plot, modifying recent theory to accommodate the peculiar complexity of biblical narratives; and the play of language though repetition, ambiguity, multivalence, metaphor, and intertextuality. The concluding chapter, on readers and responsibility, explores the logical dimension of narrative interpretation, with particular attention to Genesis 1-3, a story which has generated much discussion about gender and social hierarchy. Other extended readings include: the stories of Abraham and Sarah, and of Tamar and Judah in Genesis, David and his family in the book of Samuel, the book of Jonah, and the account of Nebuchadnezzar and the three Jews thrown into the fiery furnace, from the book of Daniel. An extensive bibliography completes the book, arranged by subject and biblical text."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 019213244XPublication Date: 1993-07-29
Jonah's World by
The story of Jonah, often read as a simple children's story, is a multifaceted and elaborate narrative with serious intent. Treating the biblical book as a fictitious story based on real locations and recognizable persons, 'Jonah's World' examines the background to the story and draws on social science approaches to describe its imaginative world. The book explores the geography, theology, myth, human characters, natural landscape, and the ideology behind the story to uncover a vision of reality shaped by literary technique. Jonah's World will be invaluable to students and scholars seeking a new approach to the reading of this colourful text.
ISBN: 9781845531232Publication Date: 2014-08-21
Also see Hosea for Minor Prophets eBook monographs included there.