BSOL 302 Adult Development and Learning Assessment, Los Angeles Pacific University: Find Journal Articles

APU has over 100 databases to assist you as an Los Angeles Pacific University student in your research. Databases will help you find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles that are full text. All links should be Los Angeles Pacific University friendly (if you are not authenticated you will be asked to do so).

To access the databases...

• Go to the library website, click on "Articles and Databases," and then "View all databases." 
• For databases relevant to BSOL 304, from the library website, click on "Articles and Databases," then click the All Subjects drop down menu and choose Psychology. Try one or more of the following:
  • Academic Search Premier
  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I-IV
  • Project Muse
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO 
  • ScienceDirect
  • Web of Science

Search Everything 

• Peer Reviewed
• English 
• Publish Date
• Academic Journal  
• Other categories

The subject-specific databases listed above in the Psychology section are the best place to start searching for adult development articles, but you will probably also benefit from searching in some of the multi-disciplinary databases. Here are a few that I would recommend:

All of these are peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and, except for those noted, will provide current full text articles.

To access full text article click on the journal link. Then click on Full Text Access. If you want to browser current articles, click on the most recent issue number. To search the entire journal - type in the box your topic, for example "adult development" with quotation marks, and your search will result in dozens to hundreds of articles. 

Use the following examples to develop your own database searches.

In this search, you wouldn't want to change anything in the top search box (so, type in 'bible biographies' just as you see it below), and be sure to choose 'SU Subjects' in the drop-down menu to the right. However, in the second search box, you would want to enter the name of the Bible character you are interested in. In this example, of course, it's Moses.

In this search, you'll want to change two things. In the top search box, you'll keep the term 'bible,' but then you'll type after it whichever book of the Bible contains information about your Bible character. So, you could type 'bible acts' to find out more about the Apostle Paul. Be sure to also choose 'SU Subjects' from the drop-down menu. The second thing you should change is the name in the second search box. If I were interested in the Apostle Paul, I would want to type 'paul' in the box.

There are usually a couple of scenarios in which you find yourself needing to know if APU Libraries can provide you with a particular journal article: 1) you found a journal article listed in a bibliography, or a syllabus, or elsewhere, and you'd really like to get it, or 2) you're searching in one of the many journal article databases, and you find an article in the results list that you want, but you don't see a full-text link. In the first case, a tool called 'Article Finder' will be helpful, and in the second case, the 'Full Text Finder' links will assist you.

Have a Particular Article You Want to Find? Use Article Finder!

When you want to know if APU Libraries can provide you with a particular journal article you have citation information for, Article Finder is the tool for you. Follow these steps:

1. 1. Go to the Los Angeles Pacific University friendly library website: http://www.apu.edu.apu.idm.oclc.org/library/resources/​
   2. On the left click on "Find Books and Resources" then on the "Article Finder"
   3. Type in at least the journal title (or International Standard Serial Number, ISSN, looks like: 0009-5753), volume, issue, date, and the article title, and click 'Search' or 'Go.' If you have a Digital Object Identifier or DOI, which looks like: 10.1080/02763877.2016.1129248, no other information is necessary.
   4. If the article is available in full-text for you to read online, you will see a 'Full Text' section with one or more databases listed (see graphic below). Most of the time, these links will take you directly to the article you want. In a few cases, you might have to do some additional searching. 
   5. If you don't see a 'Full Text' section, then you will probably see only the 'Browse,' 'Interlibrary Loan,' and 'Tools' sections. At this point just request your article through ArticleReach (get the article for free into your email in 48 hours or less) by going to the library main page at http://www.apu.edu.apu.idm.oclc.org/library/ and in the "Search Everything" box type the first 5-8 words of the article's title and put it in quotation marks and click GO. It should be one of the first records that come up. Then click on Full text finder. When the Full text finder screen comes up continue by requesting a free copy. You will then be asked to fill out an authentication form with 1) your first or last name, 2) your University College ID#, and 3)  your PIN, which is the same number as your Los Angeles Pacific University ID#. 
   6. The next screen will be the ArticleReach form with all the information for your article filled out. Make sure the journal name is correct as well as the date of the publication. Then scroll down and click Send. This is what the authentication login form looks like.

​

Found a Great Article in a Database but No Full Text? Use Full Text Finder!

Before following the instructions below, note that not all of our databases will have Full Text Finder links (but most will).

1. When you've performed a search in one of the journal article databases, and you have a list of results, you'll eventually start noticing that some results will have a full-text link (which means you can access the article online), and others have a Full Text Finder link (which means the database you're using does not provide access to the article online):
2. Click on the Full Text Finder link to see if the article you want is in another database, or in one of our APU print collections. You should see results that look like the graphic below.
3. If you get a 'Full Text' section (as you see below), you will also see one or more links. Most of the time, these links will take you directly to the online article. Occasionally, additional searching may be required.