Note
This brief guide covers resources directly related to Multicultural Education coursework. For more detailed research tips, consult the full K-12 Educational Leadership Research Guide.
You may also find the following LibGuides helpful:
Introduction
Multicultural education is an educational philosophy that promotes recognition, tolerance, and affirmation of racial, ethnic, linguistic, religious, gender, socioeconomic, age, and ability differences among all students and faculty. The beginnings of multicultural education are generally attributed to the U.S. civil rights movement of the 1960s.
Proponents of multicultural education frequently advocate pedagogical and curricular change, social justice, school reform, and political activism as a means of ensuring educational equality for students of all backgrounds.
Prominent scholars in the field of multicultural education include James A. Banks, Sonia Nieto, Carl A. Grant, Christine E. Sleeter, Cameron McCarthy, and Peter McLaren.
For a more detailed discussion, see the National Association for Multicultural Education's "Definition of Multicultural Education."
Introductory Resources
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education by ISBN: 1412937205A completely searchable electronic encyclopedia. Requires APU login and password.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education by Call Number: LC1099.3 .M58 1999ISBN: 0313300291Also available as an eBook.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of EducationISBN: 1412906784A completely searchable electronic encyclopedia. Requires APU login and password. Contains an excellent entry on multicultural education.
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education, 2nd ed. by Call Number: WCampus Ref LC1099.3 .H35 2004ISBN: 0787959154
Multicultural Education in a Pluralistic Society by Call Number: WCampus LC1099.3 .G65 1998ISBN: 0132695723
The Routledge International Companion to Multicultural Education by Call Number: WCampus LC1099 .R685 2009ISBN: 0415962307
Your Librarian
Marshburn Memorial Library |
901 E. Alosta Ave., Azusa, CA. 91702
eyee@apu.edu | (626) 815-6002 (direct) ext. 6002 (internal)