EndNote 20 Assisting You in Research: Home

For a quick start see Dave's 12-Page APU EndNote 20 Tutorial 1-1-2022

EndNote is a tool to aid you in performing research for course work and more.  Among the tasks that EndNote can help you. with are the following:

• Assist in the collection and organizing of research material
• Gather bibliographic information without the need to type all of it
• Store PDF files that are the full-text version of a reference, e.g.., the information on an article and the article itself
• Formatting a paper to match a specific citation format, such as APA, MLA, Turabian, etc.
• Create both in-text citations and footnotes or endnotes with the correct bibliographic information for a given citations style, called "Cite While You Write"
• Create a bibliography automatically, adding entires each time you cite another reference and format the bibliography correctly for a given citation style

EndNote can save you both time and "grunt work." This guide provides information how to perform these tasks. EndNote can do more, but these are the most common tasks you will need to do, whether you are writing a five-page research paper, a thesis, dissertation, or a multi-volume book. Throughout this guide, the terms "reference" and "resource" will be used interchangeably. Both refer to a bibliographic entry for an article, book, film, or other specific item you want to save for the writing of your assignments or other writing projects.

This LibGuide refers to other LibGuides that provide "how-to" information for tasks related to EndNote. You may find these LibGuides helpful:

• Finding Library Resources by Subject

  by Lindsey Sinnott Last Updated Jan 27, 2016 32 views this year

• How to Cite Sources in APA 7th Edition Format

  by Dave Harmeyer Last Updated Aug 28, 2020 199 views this year

• How to Cite Sources in Turabian Format

  by Luba Zakharov Last Updated Jan 25, 2016 255 views this year

This LibGuide covers how to do the following tasks in EndNote:

• Downloading and installing EndNote
• Create groups to organize references
• Exporting Records into EndNote
• Upload PDF files and connect them to the related references
• Configuring EndNote to use templates and create citations
• How to "Cite while You Write," including the generation of bibliographies

This LibGuide refers to other Libguides that provide "how-to" information for tasks related to EndNote.  You may find  these LibGuides helpful: