Building a set of references for research is helpful in and of itself. EndNote, however, aids you in creating citations for books, articles and other works that you refer to in a paper you are writing.  The format of the citation can be set in EndNote and it will automatically create citations in your paper using that format.

    In academic writing, it is essential that you give credit for quotations and paraphrases of the works of other writers.  For example, if you wanted to quote from a book or article, you need to provide information on where this quotation or paraphrase comes from, which is called a citation. Detailed information about citing other works may be found here. This page will tell you how to create a citation in a Word document using  EndNote.  The EndNote program calls this "Cite While You Write". This page describes the steps for this process.

Step 1:  Prepare EndNote for Your Citation style

Your citations, and possibly the entire paper, needs to be in a particular style.  Professors generally want a particular style.  While there are many citation styles, at APU the primary styles used are

• APA (American Psychological Association)--used in social sciences
• MLA (Modern Language Association)--used in English courses
• CMS/Turabian (Chicago Manual of Style or Turabian, which is based on CMS)--used in the humanities, including biblical studies and theology

Any given course, however, may require a specific style for papers and citations regardless of what is common for that discipline.  Check with your instructor if there is any question.

In order for EndNote to use a particular style for citations, it needs to be configured for that style.  To do this

1. Go to the "Bibliographic Output Style" box just below the menu bar. Click on the arrow to see a list o available citation styles.

 

2. If you see the output style that you want to use, click on it.  If you do not see the style that you want, Click on "Select Another Style...", then scroll down to the style that you want and click on it.

This will provide you information on the style, including the category that it belongs to. 

 

If this is what you want to use, click on "Choose" to add it to the list of available styles in your session with EndNote. Just above the buttons and over to the left is a "Search Everything" box. This allows you to filter the results or go to a specific style that you know about. Notice that at the bottom of the dialog box, EndNote tells you how many styles fit your criteria and how many styles there are in total.  The "Comments" box gives you information on the style that you clicked on.

Now click on the style you want to use.  For this example, we will use "MLA'.

EndNote is now ready to create citations using the MLA Style.

The second step for creating a citation is to begin writing a document in MS Word.  There are two ways to do this. 

1. Use the "EndNote Manuscript Wizard".  This enables you to select the style for a paper. To create a document this way, go to EndNote.  On the menu bar, select "Tools", and on the Tools menu, select "Manuscript Templates"..

2. Select the template style you want and click "Open". In MS Windows, the template list appears in a "Windows Explorer" dialog box.

 

EndNote will open MS Word for you with a document template and will guide you in adding content to the document.  If you do not want to add content for a particular item, delete that part of the template.  You will then type your paper and EndNote will help you with citations..

 

3. Follow the steps through the template and write your paper.

a. Enter the title of the paper

b. Enter the name(s) of the author(s)

c. A dialog box will be displayed, shown below.

d. These are the elements for an MLA-formatted paper.

e. Uncheck the box for any item you do not want, such as the second occurrence of the "Course Identification Information," and click "Next."

f. EndNote will walk you through providing the information for each of these items.

g. When you click "Finish," your entire paper will be formatted corectly for the style that you chose when you selected a template.

If you prefer, you may create a document in Word yourself.  You will need to set up whatever page format(s) you need for the assignment.

Inserting citations requires that both EndNote and Word are open on your computer.  Verify that you can see the "EndNote" tab in Word.

There are two basic ways to cite sources in a paper, article, book, etc.:

1. Inline--The citation contains the author's last name, perhaps a year, and perhaps a page number. In this approach, some type of bibliography/reference list is needed at the end of the paper to be able to find all the bibliographic information on the works that are cited.

2.  Footnotes/Endnotes.  In this approach, when a source is cited, it is done by creating a footnote at the bottom of the page or an endnote (not to be confused with the program name EndNote) at the end of the paper, but before the bibliography. 

The mechanism for adding citations and automatically adding the works cited to a list at the end of the paper) is similar in both approaches.

A. To add an inline citation, e.g.., APA, MLA, AMA style

1 Click on the "EndNote" tab..

2. Place your cursor at the spot in the document where you want to insert a citation.

3. Click 'Insert Citation" and then click "Insert Citation".

4. This will switch you to EndNote and you will need to enter a search word to pick the desired reference to cite.  In the example, the author's last name is "Brown." Typing that into the box and clicking "Find" brings up the desired reference.

5. When you have the correct reference highlighted, as in the above image, click "Insert" at the bottom of the page.

6. When you return to Word, you will see that EndNote has inserted a citation and an item for a reference list/works cited page at the end of the paper.

7. In this case, because you have looked at a citation guide for MLA style, you know that the citation needs to include the page number of the quotation. To fix this, click on the citation in your paper, which should make it turn gray. Then, under the EndNote tab in Word, click on "Edit and Manage Citations".

.This will allow you to enter the page number.  Then click elsewhere on the page, and you should see the page number added to the in-text citation.

If you look at the bibliographic item inserted, you will notice that it lists one page, 138.  This particular article has twenty pages.  Sometimes when EndNote imports a reference, it does not get the page range.  If that happens,,you can go to EndNote, right-click on the reference and choose "Edit Reference."  You will see that for pages it lists "138".  That is incorrect.  Click on "Pages" and enter the correct page range of "138-157" and save the reference. 

You may have to update it in your paper as well.  It is recommended that when you first import the reference into EndNote that you fix this right away.  Then it will not be a problem when you want to cite the work.

B. Add a citation in a footnote

The process for inserting a citation in a paper that uses footnotes or endnotes, such as Turabian, is very similar to the above. 

EndNote does not create footnotes or endnotes.  You have to generate the footnote first by clicking the "References" menu item in MS Word and then  click :"Insert Footnote."

Go to the footnote, and go through to process to "Insert Citation" on the EndNote tab.

You will have to adjust the page number as before.

Whatever citation style you use, when you have completed your paper, you should have all your citations formatted correctly and a bibliography or reference list that was generated for you by EndNote.

EndNote expects you to use Cite-While-You-Write while writing a paper, which will create a bibliography/reference list for you.

It is possible to generate a bibliography only, either a Subject Bibliography (found on the Tools menu in EndNote), or from multiple documents. See the EndNote help information for more information on these two options. 

Citation Generators and Management Tools

This guide includes information about citation management tools, or applications used to organize your references, generate bibliographies, and collaborate with others.

Other Citation Generators:

• Grammerly
• SciSpace
• BibGuru
• Bibliography.com
• BibMe
• Chegg Writing APA  
• Chegg Writing MLA
• Citation Machine
• Cite This For Me
• DOI Citation Formater
• Easy Bib
• Scribbr
• NoodleTools
• Tweet2Cite: A free utility that can take the URL of any tweet and generate citations in either MLA or APA format.