Introductory Information and Instruction
- *2024 HEALTH SCIENCES VERSION OF GUIDE (Complementary to this guide, uniquely adds instruction on CINAHL for locating nursing/healthcare literature on your concept). Located on the Health Sciences Virtual LibraryAfter instruction by your professor in class and on the syllabus (and by a visiting librarian), consult both this bible/church history and theological literature guide and the health sciences guide for guidance on methods and resources to locate appropriate material for those sections of your particular spiritual concept analysis assignment. Subject librarians are also available via chat, LibAnswers, email, by appointment, (via Zoom or in person) and at the Research Desks in the libraries.
1. Thinking About Meaning and Concepts: Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
This exercise will help you to begin to think conceptually as you look at words used for your concept in the history of the English language. You will also begin to record -- or discard -- synonyms for the word you selected when you thought about and chose your concept. You will also note different meanings, nuances and usage in a semantic field or fields where your concept dwells and you will begin to focus on the meaning/meanings you are considering in your mind for your study.
Next go to the Bible Verses/Word Study Step 2 (and following steps) below or to the Theological Journal Literature Step 2 on the bottom right -- as appropriate to meet the approach and requirements for the assignment set by your professor.
2. Find Bible Verses (Biblical Texts) and Hebrew and Greek Words for your Concept: STEP Bible
As of 2021: SOME SECTIONS/FACULTY DO NOT USE THIS STEP/THESE RESOURCES BUT MOVE TO "NEW" STEP 2 IN THE NEXT BOX BELOW -- OTHERS SKIP THIS STEP 2 AND MOVE TO STEP 3, FF. THEN SEE THE "WHAT'S NEXT" BOX THAT MOVES YOU INTO HEALTHCARE LITERATURE.
- How to Use STEP Bible for a Word StudyThis PDF includes step by step instructions on how to do a brief word study using the Step Bible Website.
- Greek and Hebrew Alphabetsan aid for transliterating from Greek and Hebrew alphabets to our "Roman" alphabet
Do NOT use BibleGateway for this. STEP Bible can be used to find scripture verses which contain specific Hebrew (Old Testament) and Greek (New Testament) words conveying the meaning(s) of your chosen concept, thereby accomplishing both research needs (see How to Use STEP Bible PDF above).
*NEW Step 2 for Alternate Approach: Finding Biblical/Theological Literature
For some sections/faculty in Nursing and in Public Health, ATLA database is the main designated resource to be used for the Bible/Theology part of your concept study (after the Step 1 - OED work), ie to "search the theological literature" (Nursing) or "search for theological journal articles" (Public Health). JSTOR and Christian Periodical Index can sometimes be useful as well.
The Public Health course also sometimes suggests to search for books: Consult the online catalog: https://apu.on.worldcat.org/advancedsearch?queryString=&databaseList=638 Here are general directions on how to search topically for books and/or eBooks in the catalog: https://apu.libguides.com/c.php?g=1012442&p=7333426
PROCEED TO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING STEPS OR JUMP TO "WHAT'S NEXT" IN THE BOTTOM RIGHT IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE SPECIFICATIONS OF YOUR PROFESSOR'S REQUIREMENTS FOR THE ASSIGNMENT.
- Christian Periodical IndexIndexed citations with limited linked full-text. When there's no linked full-text, use Full Text Finder on the record to locate any available full-text or place a request via Interlibrary Loan.
3. Find Primary Texts: Loeb Classical Library, Past Masters and Select Other Resources (See First Handout Below for Orientation and Other Resources)
CHECK YOUR SYLLABUS AND/OR ASK YOUR PROFESSOR WHICH TIME PERIODS FROM THE SHELLEY TEXTBOOK AND HOW MANY AUTHORS/WORKS ARE REQUIRED FOR YOUR CLASS'S ASSIGNMENT.
- Class Handout for Church History: A Guide to Time Periods/Author/Works/ResourcesConsult this to help you work with the church history time periods laid out in the Shelley textbook, identify writers belonging to a particular time period -- in addition to those presented on the timelines in Shelley -- and discover which have works included in Past Masters and/or Loeb or in the additional approved non-library resources/websites listed here that contain relevant searchable primary texts.
- Loeb Classical LibraryThis is a huge collection of works by "Classical" Greek and Latin authors. Relevant Church Father and early Medieval authors included are: Clement, Ignatius of Antioch, Polycarp, Clement of Alexandrai, Tertullian, Eusebius, Augustine, Gregory of Nazianzus, Jerome, and Bede.
- Past MastersThe Past Masters database provides several searchable online texts written by philosophers and theologians (so these are primary sources). St. Augustine, Martin Luther, and John Calvin, Kierkegaard, for example, are among those whose works are represented in this database. Select a theologian from the list, and then enter your concept in the search box at the top of the left column (you might also want to try entering synonyms if your initial concept doesn't retrieve anything).
- CCEL (Christian Classics Ethereal Library)The CCEL is "a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education." While the CCEL includes searchable online versions of the Ante-Nicene Fathers, the Nicene & Post-Nicene Fathers series (ie the "Church Fathers"), and works by, for example, Luther and many others, many works by those authors can be found in Loeb and/or Past Masters in newer editions.
But CCEL can fill in some holes as a resource for primary texts, especially for the concept study, including works by, for example, Catherine of Siena, Teresa of Avila, Julian of Norwich, John Hentry Newman and others. Look in the Browse/Author sections to start looking for particular theologians/religious authors. - Internet Medieval Sourcebook main pageThis site, located at the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies, contains thousands of public-domain and copyright-permitted texts of primary sources for use in teaching and studying all disciplines and periods of the Middle Ages.The website contains both older (copyright-free) translations and newly translated texts, many only available on the Sourcebook.
- Linked Full-Text Sources-Internet Medieval SourcebookThe full-text sources linked here not only include those from the Medieval period but range from late antiquity, including works of the Church Fathers, through the Renaissance and Reformation periods. Most works of writers you have identified from these periods can be accessed, read and provide a 'search within this work" function here. Note: Use the Search page to search the content of all the source texts.
- Search page-Internet "Medieval" SourcebookFrom the website:"Search the Sourcebook" will enable searches of the full texts of all the source texts at Fordham, at ORB, or selected ancient, late antique, and medieval text databases. [Caveat, these functions are clunky for me so far and so instead I've skimmed the Linked Full-Text Sources to find authors/works-SR, APU librarian]
4. Secondary Sources for Scholarly Overviews on Biblical Concepts and Topics including and beyond your specific words: Bible Dictionaries
As of 2021: SOME SECTIONS/FACULTY DO NOT USE THIS STEP/THESE RESOURCES
We've recommended using the IVP Old Testament and New Testament dictionaries for this assignment. Ebook copies can be found in the OT/Hebrew Bible Dictionaries and NT Dictionaries boxes via the link below (they have the black covers). Alternatively, the highly regarded Anchor Bible Dictionary is also now available online here; it covers the complete Bible, providing access to comprehensive entries on topics in one resource.
5. Secondary Sources for Scholarship on the Meaning and Analysis of Biblical Texts: Commentaries
As of 2021: SOME SECTIONS/FACULTY DO NOT USE THIS STEP/THESE RESOURCES
This link is to an index to pages devoted to available ebooks for each book of the Bible (and Apocrypha). Most useful for this assignment on those pages, you will find boxes presenting ebook and/or print commentaries, including some specialized "particular lens" one-volume commentaries. If you have identified a verse where your concept is conveyed by a Hebrew or Greek word that resonates with you, you can consult a discussion ("comments") on that verse in a Bible commentary to aid your understanding. Remember that there are different kinds of commentaries: historical-critical (very scholarly), theological (these can also be critical or application in type), application, teaching/preaching and some have a particular theological perspective among those categories. Some have a "specialized lens" such as feminist, African or other non-Western approach. Feel free to contact us for recommendations.
Additional Resources and Guides
More information on searching for ebooks by author to locate and access primary texts by that author (and use the Search Within function for your concept) is provided in the Class Handout in box 3 on this page. This can often be a good resource option for writers/theologians not in Loeb, Past Masters or CCEL.
- Church History Dictionaries Featured on Stamps Virtual LibraryThese can often be useful to learn more about who might have written on your concept (and in which works), about their writings (their ideas) and/or for a a contextual doctrinal understanding of your concept. These are secondary source resources. The two print reference dictionaries listed there have been especially useful.
- APA 7 Guide - Adapted for Biblical Studies and Church HistoryThis is also linked in the tab above on the complete guide.
Resources for Faith Traditions
Health and Medicine in the ___ TraditionCall Number: (click on link)ISBN: 1563380978Traditions include Anabaptist, Anglican, Catholic, Christian Science, Evangelical, Hindu, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, and Reformed.
Jewish Spirituality by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor/Stacks BM723 .J487 1986 (v.1-v.2)ISBN: 0824507622Publication Date: 1986
Islamic Spirituality: Foundations by
The first part of the volume is concerned with "The Roots of the Islamic Tradition and Spirituality". These are seen to include the Qu'ran as the central theophany of Islam, the Prophet who received the word of God and made it known to mankind and the rites of Islam.
The second part examines the divisions of the Islamic community with their distinctive pieties and emphases: Sunnism and Shi'ism and female spirituality.
Part III is devoted to Sufism - its nature and origin, its early development, its various spiritual practices and its science of the soul.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BP161.2 .I85 v.1 1987ISBN: 9780824507671Publication Date: 1986-08-01
Buddhist Spirituality: Indian, Southeast Asian, Tibetan, and Early Chinese by
Buddhism has focused intensively on the aspect of religion that we call spirituality. No religion has set a higher value on the states of spiritual insight and liberation, and none has set forth so methodically and with such a wealth of reflection the various paths and disciplines by which such states are reached. The present volume covers earliy Buddhism as it unfolded in India, Southeast Asia, Tibet, and China. Despite the great chronological and geographical sweep of this volume, a deliberate effort has been made to identify the distinctive core of Buddhist spirituality. That core is found in two themes that pervade the book and offer a promising point of entry into the immense and often unfamiliar world of Buddhist thought. They are meditation, which is central to Part One ("Early Buddhism and Theravada"), and emptiness, which is recurrent in Parts Two and Three, dealing with the Mahayana movement in India and its acculturation in Tibet and China.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BQ266 .B83 v.1 1993ISBN: 9780824514525Publication Date: 1995-02-01
Buddhist Spirituality - Later China, Korea, Japan, and the Modern World by
Of all the great religions, Buddhism has focused most intensively on the aspect of religion that we call spirituality. No religion has set a higher value on the states of spiritual insight and liberation, and none has set forth so methodically and with such a wealth of reflection the various paths and disciplines by which such states are reached. This volume, the second in the series, takes up further developments of Buddhism in China, Korea, and Japan, including Ch'an (Zen) and new Buddhist movements. It presents the Chinese realization of enlightenment here and now, and the practical, down-to-earth terms in which the enlightened vision was expressed and enacted.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BQ266 .B83 v.2 1999ISBN: 9780824515959Publication Date: 1999-04-01
The Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Ethics by
Many forms of Buddhism, divergent in philosophy and style, emerged as Buddhism filtered out of India into other parts of Asia. Nonetheless, all of them embodied an ethical core that is remarkably consistent. Articulated by the historical Buddha in his first sermon, this moral core is founded on the concept of karma - that intentions and actions have future consequences for an individual - and is summarized as Right Speech, Right Action, and Right Livelihood, three of the elements of the Eightfold Path. Although they were later elaborated and interpreted in a multitude of ways, none of these core principles were ever abandoned. The Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Ethics provides a comprehensive overview of the field of Buddhist ethics in the twenty-first century.The Handbook discusses the foundations of Buddhist ethics focusing on karma and the precepts looking at abstinence from harming others, stealing, and intoxication. It considers ethics in the different Buddhist traditions and the similarities they share, and compares Buddhist ethics to Western ethics and the psychology of moral judgments. The volume also investigates Buddhism and society analysing economics, environmental ethics, and Just War ethics. The final section focuses on contemporary issues surrounding Buddhist ethics, including gender, sexuality, animal rights, and euthanasia. This groundbreaking collection offers an indispensable reference work for students and scholars of Buddhist ethics and comparative moral philosophy.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BJ1289 .O94 2018ISBN: 9780198746140Publication Date: 2018-05-22
WHAT'S NEXT FOR MOST VERSIONS OF THE ASSIGNMENT:
Get Help From a Theological Librarian
The librarians at the Stamps Theological Library aim to monitor this Stamps chat service a minimum of 30 hours per week (Monday - Friday; see our research help hours for details). If we are not available via chat, you will see a link to submit your question to us so that we can follow up with you via email.