See the How to Search for an Article instructions below for detailed information on how to search the ATLA Religion/ATLAS, Old Testament Abstracts, and New Testament Abstracts databases, topically by use of keywords and/or by use of subject headings. Also see the Advanced Searching in ATLA sub-page on the tab for this page. The video tutorials here by Atla provide three methods for the one approach of doing a scripture search in the database. Sometimes doing keyword/subject as well as scripture searches can be beneficial in maximizing results.
1 - Go to the APU library website: https://apu.edu/library.
2 - Below the image, click on the tab "Articles and Databases." Skip the Browse Databases box here and hit "Search."
3 - In the drop-down Browse by Subject menu on the top left, select and click "Biblical Studies" and hit "Search."
4 - Choose one of the three databases, either “ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS PLUS," “New Testament Abstracts," or “Old Testament Abstracts."**
Note: ATLAS Religion Database with ATLAS PLUS featured in Best Bets is the main academic content database for religion, including biblical studies.
5 - If you have not yet logged in, you must do so now.
6 - Enter two or three keywords related to your needs. Put the most important term first. If it is a phrase, enclose it in quotation marks, e.g., "Good Samaritan." (See tutorials in the top box for instructions on how to search by Scripture citation.)
7 - Use the limiters below the search boxes to limit the list of results. Set the Publication Type to "Article." Set the Language to the languages you read. Set the Year Published for the last 10 years or so (read assignment instructions). Set to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" [or "Peer Reviewed." Other terms are academic, arbitrated or adjudicated]. It is often useful to remove any preset checks on the boxes of search expanders (i.e. the "Also search within" and "Apply equivalent subjects" boxes).
8 - Click on "Search."
9 - From the list of results, read the titles to find the most appropriate one(s).
10 - Click on a title of a promising article to see the full display of the record. Look for the field labeled "Subjects."
11 - Read the subject headings. They are detailed descriptions keyed to the content of the article in question. They also serve as hyperlinks to articles of similar content.
12 - Choose the articles that are most appropriate according to the assigned "Subject" descriptors, the title of the article and the title of the journal.
13 - Additional keywords or subject headings can be added or combined for more accurate results.
**When searching for articles in other databases for other subjects, look for similar functions and features and use similar steps and search strategies described here.
The research librarians are here to help.
1 - Ir al sitio web de la biblioteca APU: apu.edu/library.
2 - Debajo de la imagen, haga clic en la pestaña <Artículos y bases de datos>.
3 - En el menú desplegable, seleccione <Teología / Religión / Filosofía> y haga clic en <Buscar>.
4 - Si aún no ha iniciado sesión, deberá hacerlo ahora.
5 - Elija una de las tres bases de datos, ya sea “ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS PLUS”, “New Testament Abstracts”, o “Old Testament Abstracts”.
Nota: ATLAS PLUS es la principal base de datos de contenido académico.
6 - Entrar dos o tres palabras clave relacionadas con sus necesidades. Pon el término más importante primero. Si es una frase, colóquela entre comillas, p. Ej. "buen samaritano."
7 - Haga clic en <Search>.
8 - Use los limitadores, en el lado izquierdo, para limitar la lista de resultados. Establezca el tipo de publicación en "Artículo". Establezca el idioma en los idiomas que lea. Establezca la fecha en los últimos 10 años aproximadamente (lea sus instrucciones). Establecido en "revisión por pares", puede aparecer como "Revistas académicas (revisadas por pares)". Otros términos son académicos, académicos, arbitrados o adjudicados.
9 - De la lista de resultados, lea los títulos para encontrar el más apropiado.
10 - En la página del elemento (descripción del artículo), busque los "Temas" o "Encabezados del tema". Los títulos del tema pueden estar en una página con la etiqueta <Extracto / Detalles>.
11 - Leer los encabezados de las materias. Son descripciones detalladas del contenido del artículo en cuestión. También sirven como hipervínculos a artículos de contenido similar.
12 - Elija los artículos que sean más apropiados según los “Temas”, el título del artículo y el título de la Revista.
13 - Se pueden agregar palabras clave o encabezados de materia adicionales para obtener resultados más precisos.
El bibliotecario de investigación está aquí para ayudar. Si, en algún momento, tiene problemas con esto o desea ayuda, consulte a la bibliotecaria de investigación en funciones.