Secondary Sources I:Theological/Church History Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Companions, Atlases
- Cambridge Companions (Philosophy, Religion, Culture (database)Contains over 1300 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 150 volumes). Each volume also includes a substantial bibliography and other elements such as glossaries and timelines. Helpful for commentary on the life and work and themes found in the writings of major theologians, philosophers.
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (in the Oxford Reference Online database)Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide for both students and the general reader. It provides authoritative coverage of theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations across the world, canon law, and the church calendar, as well as entries on theologians, philosophers, artists, musicians, and mystics. Over 6,000 entries
A history of Christianity : the first three thousand years by
Contents A millennium of beginnings -- One Church, one faith, one Lord? -- Vanishing futures -- The unpredictable rise of Rome (300-1300) -- Orthodoxy -- Western Christianity dismembered (1300-1800) -- God in the dock (1492-present).
ISBN: 9781101189993Publication Date: 2009
Historia de la Iglesia Cristiana by
Diseñado para dos públicos, este libro contiene bosquejos y referencias en los márgenes para ayudar al estudiante y al maestro, junto con una narración continua y numerosas ilustraciones para el lector general. Ninguna institución ha cubierto más siglos y más continentes que la iglesia cristiana. Su historia dramática es de derramamiento de sangre y paz, corrupción y pobreza. Aquí el doctor Hurlbut vuelve a contar esta historia con un estilo objetivo, conciso y claro, haciendo énfasis en el espíritu de la iglesia, su crecimiento y maduración, y las causas que condujeron a los acontecimientos históricos y su influencia resultante. Preciso, al día, y presentado en forma vívida, Historia de la Iglesia Cristiana, de Hurlbut, cubre los seis períodos generales de la historia de la iglesia desde el año 30 d. C. hasta el día de hoy. En esta edición revisada después de la muerte del doctor Hurlbut, se ha añadido una sección de conclusión que abarca el período desde el fallecimiento del autor hasta la actualidad para darnos un vistazo completo y fácil de entender acerca de la iglesia cristiana. Es ideal para utilizarlo en la Escuela Dominical, ya que al final del libro se incluyen bosquejos sugeridos y preguntas de repaso para cada capítulo. Designed for two audiences, this book contains outlines and references in the margins to aid the student or teacher along with a continuous narrative and numerous illustrations for the general reader. No other institution has spanned more centuries and more continents than the Christian church. Its dramatic story is one of bloodshed and peace, corruption and poverty. Here Dr. Hurlbut retells the story in an objective, concise, and clear style, emphasizing the spirit of the church, its growth and maturity, and the causes leading to historic events and their resulting influence. Accurate, up-to-date, and vividly presented, Hurlbut's "Story of the Christian Church" traces the six general periods of church history from A.D. 30 to the present time. In this revised edition prepared after Dr. Hurlbut's death, an additional concluding section covers the years from the time of the author's death to the present, thus providing the reader with a comprehensive and easy to understand overview of the Christian church. Designed for two audiences, this book contains outlines and references in the margins to aid the student or teacher along with a continuous narrative and numerous illustrations for the general reader. It is ideal for use in Sunday school classes, because suggested outlines and review questions for each chapter are included at the end of the book.
ISBN: 9780829720037Publication Date: 1999-06-21
Breve Historia de Las Doctrinas Cristianas by
Este libro es una introducción a las doctrinas básicas cristianas, el contexto histórico en que surgieron y la continua importancia que tienen para la creencia y práctica cristiana actual. El Dr. Justo L. González una vez más nos muestra su habilidad para interpretar las creencias (doctrinas) e historia de la iglesia. En este libro, expone las respuestas a tres preguntas fundamentals para entender la tradición cristiana. La primera es: ¿cuáles son las doctrinas cristianas básicas? ¿Qué ideas y convicciones forman el corazón de la identidad cristiana? La segunda es: ¿De dónde provienen esas doctrinas? ¿cuáles son los contextos históricos en que comenzaron a destacar? La tercera, ¿qué significan estas doctrinas en la actualidad? ¿Qué reclamos siguen poniendo a la creencia y práctica cristiana en el siglo veintiuno? Escrito con la claridad y entendimiento por los que el Dr. González es conocido, Breve Historia de las Doctrinas Cristianas servirá a estudiantes que estén tomando cursos de historia de la iglesia, teología histórica y teología sistemática en universidades, seminaries o facultades de teología. Translated from the English version published in January 2006, this book is an introduction to the core Christian doctrines, the historical context in which they arose, and their ongoing importance to contemporary Christian belief and practice. Justo González has long been recognized as one of our best teachers and interpreters of the church's belief and history. In this new volume he lays out the answers to three questions crucial to understanding the Christian tradition: First, what are the core Christian doctrines? What ideas and convictions form the heart of Christian identity? Second, where did these doctrines come from? What are the historical contexts in which they first rose to prominence? How have they developed across the history of the church? Finally, what do these doctrines mean today? What claims do they continue to place on Christian belief and practice in the twenty-first century? Written with the clarity and insight for which González is famous, A Short History of Christian Doctrine will serve the needs of students in church history, historical theology, and systematic theology classes in college/university settings, as well as seminaries/theological schools.nbsp;
ISBN: 9781630885670Publication Date: 2014-06-10
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
ISBN: 0521880920Publication Date: 2011-02-24
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by
This bestselling reference tool has been a trusted resource for more than 25 years with over 165,000 copies sold. Now thoroughly updated and substantially revised to meet the needs of today's students and classrooms, it offers cutting-edge overviews of key theological topics. Readable and reliable, this work features new articles on topics of contemporary relevance to world Christianity and freshened articles on enduring theological subjects, providing comprehensive A-Z coverage for today's theology students. The author base reflects the increasing diversity of evangelical scholars. Advisory editors include D. Jeffrey Bingham, Cheryl Bridges Johns, John G. Stackhouse Jr., Tite Ti nou, and Kevin J. Vanhoozer.
ISBN: 9780801039461Publication Date: 2017-11-07
The Routledge Companion to Early Christian Thought by
The shape and course which Christian thought has taken over its history is largely due to the contributions of individuals and communities in the second and third centuries. Bringing together a remarkable team of distinguished scholars, The Routledge Companion to Early Christian Thought is the ideal companion for those seeking to understand the way in which Early Christian thought developed within its broader cultural milieu and was communicated through its literature, especially as it was directed toward theological concerns. Divided into three parts, the Companion: asks how Christianity's development was impacted by its interaction with cultural, philosophical, and religious elements within the broader context of the second and third centuries. examines the way in which Early Christian thought was manifest in key individuals and literature in these centuries. analyses Early Christian thought as it was directed toward theological concerns such as God, Christ, Redemption, Scripture, and the community and its worship.
ISBN: 9780415442251Publication Date: 2010-02-23
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought by
"The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought is an authoritative and readable reference source for all interested in the development of Christian thought from the dawn of the Enlightenment to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes substantial review essays dealing with the development of central themes of Christian thought, including the doctrine of God, the person and work of Christ, and Christian understandings of other religions." "The book allows easy access to the distinctive ideas of the major schools of thought that have emerged within Christianity during this period, such as liberation theology, evangelicanism and liberalism. The work also includes substantial material relating to Christian biblical interpretation, ethics, economic thought, political theory, aesthetics, music and philosophy." "One of the most distinctive features of the Encyclopedia is its thorough survey of regional developments during the period. The Encyclopedia includes major articles on the development of Christian thought in Australia, Canada, China, Germany, Holland, India, Japan, Korea, Scandinavia, South Africa, the United Kingdom and the United States, wherever possible compiled by scholars living and working in the regions concerned. The book also includes material on neglected yet significant themes, such as Arab Christianity." "Additionally, it covers the impact of the sciences upon Christian thought during this seminal period, with major survey articles dealing individually with biological, physical, psychological and social science."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 0631168966Publication Date: 1993-11-01
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BR95 .E8913 1999 v.1-v.5ISBN: 9780802824141Publication Date: 2000-11-01
A Companion to Augustine by
A Companion to Augustine presents a fresh collection of scholarship by leading academics with a new approach to contextualizing Augustine and his works within the multi-disciplinary field of Late Antiquity, showing Augustine as both a product of the cultural forces of his times and a cultural force in his own right. Discusses the life and works of Augustine within their full historical context, rather than privileging the theological context Presents Augustine's life, works and leading ideas in the cultural context of the late Roman world, providing a vibrant and engaging sense of Augustine in action in his own time and place Opens up a new phase of study on Augustine, sensitive to the many and varied perspectives of scholarship on late Roman culture State-of-the-art essays by leading academics in this field
ISBN: 9781118255483Publication Date: 2012-04-03
The Eerdmans Encyclopedia of Early Christian Art and Archaeology (3 vols.) by
Splendid, monumental reference work, authoritative and lavishly illustrated More than 400 distinguished scholars, including archaeologists, art historians, historians, epigraphers, and theologians, have written the 1,455 entries in this monumental encyclopedia--the first comprehensive reference work of its kind. From Aachen to Zurzach, Paul Corby Finney's three-volume masterwork draws on archaeological and epigraphic evidence to offer readers a basic orientation to early Christian architecture, sculpture, painting, mosaic, and portable artifacts created roughly between AD 200 and 600 in Africa, Asia, and Europe. Clear, comprehensive, and richly illustrated, this work will be an essential resource for all those interested in late antique and early Christian art, archaeology, and history.
ISBN: 9780802838117Publication Date: 2016-11-11
The Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms, Second Edition by
This second edition of the Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms provides a comprehensive guide to nearly 7,000 theological terms--1,000 more terms than the first edition. McKim's succinct definitions cover a broad range of theological studies and related disciplines: contemporary theologies, biblical studies, church history, ethics, feminist theology, global theologies, hermeneutics, liberation theology, liturgy, ministry, philosophy, philosophy of religion, postcolonial theology, social sciences, spiritually, worship, and Protestant, Reformed, and Roman Catholic theologies. This new edition also includes cross-references that link readers to other related terms, commonly used scholarly abbreviations and abbreviations for canonical and deuterocanonical texts, an annotated bibliography, and a new introductory section that groups together terms and concepts, showing where they fit within particular theological categories. No other single volume provides the busy student, and the theologically experienced reader, with such easy access to so many theological definitions.
ISBN: 9780664259761Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Pocket Dictionary of Theological Terms by
Beginning to study theology is like stepping into a conversation that has been going on for two thousand years.How do you take part in this conversation--or even make sense of it--if you don't understand the vocabulary or know the contributions made by other participants?The Pocket Dictionary of Theological Terms is the perfect companion to your theological studies. Among its three hundred-plus definitions areEnglish terms, from accommodation to wrath of Godforeign terms, from a posteriori to via mediatheological movements and traditions, from the Alexandrian School to Wesleyanismtheologians, from Anselm of Canterbury to Ulrich ZwingliHere is an affordable and easily accessible resource for your theological readings, lectures and writing assignments. It's a must-have for every theological student.
ISBN: 0830814493Publication Date: 1999-04-26
Pocket Dictionary of Christian Spirituality by
The Pocket Dictionary of Christian Spirituality is an A to Z introduction and resource for curious newcomers and novice students of spirituality. From our first call to Abba until we arrive at Zion, the heavenly Jerusalem, Don Thorsen charts the Christian spiritual pilgrimage through its many traditions, schools of thought, and tested practices.Among the over 300 definitions you'll find terms and ideas traditions and movements practices and rituals texts and theology A reliable guide and launching pad for learning, the Pocket Dictionary of Christian Spirituality is a basic resource for the pilgrimage travel bag.
ISBN: 9780830849673Publication Date: 2018-03-27
Atlas of Christian History by
A new atlas of Christian history has been needed for many years. Now, Fortress Press is pleased to offer the Atlas of Christian History from acclaimed author and editor Tim Dowley. The Atlas of Christian History is built new from the ground up. Featuring more than fifty new maps, graphics, and timelines, the atlas is a necessary companion to any study of Christian history. Concise, helpful text, written by acknowledged authorities, guide the experience and interpret the visuals. Consciously written for students at any level, the volume is perfect for independent students, as well as those in structured courses. The atlas is broken into five primary parts that correspond well to most major introductions to the topic. The final section on the modern era pays significant attention to the growth of Christianity as a global religion. Extensive maps are provided that illuminate Christianity in Asian, African, and Latin American contexts.
ISBN: 1451499701Publication Date: 2016-01-01- The Student's Companion to the Theologians by
This companion brings together a team of contemporary theologians and writers to provide substantial introductions to the key people who shaped the Christian story and tradition. A substantial reference work, bringing together over 75 entries on the most important and influential theologians in the history of Christianity Structured accessibly around five periods: early centuries, middle ages, reformation period, the Enlightenment, and the twentieth-century to the present A to Z entries range from substantial essays to shorter overviews, each of which locates the theologian in their immediate context, summarizes the themes of their work, and explains their significance Covers a broad span of theologians, from Augustine to Thomas Aquinas, through to C. S. Lewis, James Cone, and Rosemary Radford Reuther Provides profiles of key Catholic, protestant, evangelical, and progressive theologians Includes a useful timeline to orientate the reader, reading lists, and a glossary of key terms
ISBN: 9781118427170Publication Date: 2013-01-31
Atlas of the European Reformations by
A new, definitive atlas of the European Reformations has been needed for many years. Now, in anticipation of the upcoming reformation anniversaries, Fortress Press is pleased to offer the Atlas of the European Reformations. The Atlas of the European Reformations is newly built from the ground up. Featuring more than sixty brand new maps, graphics, and timelines, the atlas is a necessary companion to any study of the reformation era. Consciously written for students at any level, concise, helpful texts guide the experience and interpret the visuals. The volume is perfect for independent students, as well as those in structured courses. The atlas is broken into four primary parts. Before the Reformation presents the larger political, religious, and economic context of Europe on the eve of the Reformation. Reformation presents the major contours of the Reformation, including Lutheran, Reformed, English, and Anabaptist movements. Catholic Reform and Counter-Reformation provides extensive information on the reforming movements within Catholicism and the responses to other movements. Finally, Early Modern Europe sheds fresh light on the movement and implications of the reformation in the later sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
ISBN: 9781451499698Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Atlas of World Religions by
Understanding the where of the world's religious traditions is an important component of understanding the what. Now, as part of a brand-new series of atlas resources, Fortress Press is pleased to offer an affordable, compact yet comprehensive atlas of world religions.Atlas of World Religions is newly built from the ground up. Featuring more than fifty new maps, graphics, and timelines, the atlas is an immensely helpful companion to any study of world religions. Concise, helpful text written by acknowledged authorities guides the experience and interprets the visualsConsciously written for students at any level, the volume is perfect for independent students, as well as those in structured courses.The atlas provides ample and equal coverage of all of the world's major religious traditions, as well as generous coverage of regional or indigenous traditions in specific regions of the world.The atlas is grounded in a helpful section on the earliest humans and the spread of the first organized religions, and it culminates in up-to-date maps of religion in the world today.
ISBN: 9781451499681Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Women in World Religions [2 Volumes] by
This reference offers reliable knowledge about women's diverse faith practices throughout history and prehistory, and across cultures. Across the span of human history, women have participated in world-building and life-sustaining cultural creativity, making enormous contributions to religion and spirituality. In the contemporary period, women have achieved greater equality, with more educational opportunities, female role models in public life, and opportunities for religious expression than ever before. Contemporaneously with this increased visibility, women are actively and energetically engaging with religion for themselves and for their communities. Drawing on the expertise of a range of scholars, this reference chronicles the religious experiences of women across time and cultures. The book includes sections on major religions as well as on spirituality, African religions, prehistoric religions, and other broad topics. Each section begins with an introduction, followed by reference entries on specialized subjects along with excerpts from primary source documents. The entries provide numerous suggestions for further reading, and the book closes with a detailed bibliography. * Offers nearly 300 reference articles by international scholars of religion, women, and history * Provides an overview of the religious experiences of women across time, faiths, and cultures * Devotes sections to particular religious traditions to provide information about the role of women and the feminine devine within those faiths * Presents reference information about the experiences of women within religions * Directs the user to additional resources via suggestions for further reading and an end-of-work bibliography
ISBN: 9781440848490Publication Date: 2018-11-16
Select Print Reference Books
Also see Ask for Help to contact us.