Your Librarian is Denise Gehring
This page is to help you in locating materials for the course Spiritual Concept Analysis in Healthcare:
Description of the Course: Scholarly research and analysis of selected concepts in the spiritual care of persons from the Judeo-Christian perspective provide a central focus to the course. Students also examine healthcare research/other healthcare literature for adequacy with respect to the concept they select. Various assignments facilitate greater student awareness of their own spiritual journey and knowledge of faith traditions other than their own. The course is conducted as a tutorial/seminar experience.
Getting Started
- Recommended Databases in the Health SciencesThis includes a list of recommended databases in the different areas of health sciences as well as a video on how to locate these on the library website.
Course Texts & Recommended Resources
Required Texts:
Church History in Plain Language by Call Number: R150 .S52 2021 ebookISBN: 9780310115960Publication Date: 2021-07-13
The New Interpreter's Study Bible by Call Number: BS191.5.A1 2003 .N49 2003ISBN: 0687278325Publication Date: 2003-05-01
The Oxford English Dictionary by Call Number: PE1625 .O87 ebookISBN: 0198611862Publication Date: 1989-03-30
Monk Habits for Everyday People by Call Number: BV4501.3 .O456 2007 ebookISBN: 9781587431852Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Religion: a clinical guide for nurses by Call Number: RT85.2 .R45 2012 ebookISBN: 9780826108609Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Recommended Texts:
Christian Spirituality by Call Number: BV4490 .C464 1987ISBN: 9780824508470Publication Date: 1987-12-01Essays in this volume discuss the early history of the church, gnostic spirituality, monasticism, the great fathers, sosteriology, the Trinity, anthropology, grace, Christian art, the sacraments, prayer and spiritual guidance.
Christian Spirituality: High Middle Ages & Reformation by Call Number: BV4990 .C48 1987ISBN: 0824507657Publication Date: 1987-04-01A multivolume series with more than 500 contributing scholars worldwide, presenting the spiritual wisdom of the human race in its historical unfolding, from prehistoric times, through the great religions to the meeting of traditions at the present.
Christian Spirituality: Post Reformation and Modern by Call Number: BV4490 .C49 1989ISBN: 0824507665Publication Date: 1989-01-01From the World Spirituality series, this is a broad-ranging, illustrated, scholarly treatment of core topics in Christian spirituality in the period after the Reformation.
Primary Speech by Call Number: BV225 .U4ISBN: 0804211345Publication Date: 1983-01-01Prayer is our basic expression of religious belief. It is our personal and most private act of devotion. Words cannot do justice to the feelings, wishes, terrors, pains, or pleasures that we exchange with God. This book sets out to define prayer as both a means of drawing nearer to God everyday and as a coping tool that people can use in order to achieve harmony, balance, and satisfaction in their in their lives.
Caring and curing : health and medicine in the Western religious traditions by Call Number: BL65.M4 C277ISBN: 9780801857966Publication Date: 1997-12-17A fascinating and enlightening overview of how religious values have come to affect the practice of medicine and medical care. Most religious traditions have a rich, if largely forgotten, heritage of involvement in medical issues of life, death, and health. Religious values influence our behavior and attitudes toward sickness, sexuality, and lifestyle, to say nothing of more controversial subjects such as abortion and euthanasia. The essays in this important book illuminate the history of health and medicine within the Judeo-Christian tradition. Bringing together 20 original articles by expert scholars in the fields of the history of religion and the history of medicine, Caring and Curing provides a fascinating and enlightening overview of how religious values have come to affect the practice of medicine and medical care.
An Anthology of Christian Mysticism by Call Number: BV5082.2 .A52 1996ISBN: 9780814660126Publication Date: 1991-07-01This comprehensive anthology will serve both as a text for serious students of mysticism and a reflective collection for those first exploring its thought. Biographical and historical data, as well as the mystic's key ideas and information about why the particular text was selected introduce each mystic to the reader. Fifty-five mystics or mystical theologians, ancient and modern, are represented, including: Origen, Augustine of Hippo, Hildegard of Bingen, Francis of Assisi, Bonaventure, Angela of Foligno, Catherine of Siena, the anonymous author of Cloud of Unknowing, Thomas a' Kempis, Teresa of Avila, John of the Cross, Francis de Sales, Therese of Lisieux, Elizabeth of the Trinity, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, Thomas Merton, and Karl Rahner.
Henri Nouwen : a spirituality of imperfection by Call Number: BX2350.3 .H47 2006 EbookISBN: 9780809144341Publication Date: 2007-01-02As a spiritual icon, Henri Nouwen continues to exert a powerful influence on America's religious landscape. In this important new book, Wil Hernandez reveals that in the dynamics of Nouwen's spiritual formation and lived spirituality, integration and imperfection could coexist.By describing, analyzing, and synthesizing Nouwen's writings, the author shows how Nouwen's integrative pursuit of the spiritual life and its formation--one that weaves spirituality with psychology, ministry, and theology in a seamless fashion--is both fueled and tempered by his own experience of imperfection. HENRI NOUWEN: A SPIRITUALITY OF IMPERFECTION vividly portrays a counterintuitive and countercultural "brand" of spirituality in which the journey to perfection is through the sobering realities of imperfection.
Jewish Spirituality by Call Number: BM723 .J487 1986ISBN: 0824507622Publication Date: 1986-05-01Essays discuss the Safed revival, mystical teachings, leadership typologies, Ashkenazic women, modern Jewish faith, Zionism, and current ritual observance.
Buddhist Spirituality by Call Number: ON OrderISBN: 9780824512774Publication Date: 1993-01-01Of all the great religions, Buddhism has focused most intensively on the aspect of religion that we call spirituality. No religion has set a higher value on the states of spiritual insight and liberation, and none has set forth so methodically and with such a wealth of reflection the various paths and disciplines by which such states are reached. This volume, the second in the series, takes up further developments of Buddhism in China, Korea, and Japan, including Ch'an (Zen) and new Buddhist movements. It presents the Chinese realization of enlightenment here and now, and the practical, down-to-earth terms in which the enlightened vision was expressed and enacted.
Islamic Spirituality - Manifestations by Call Number: BP189 .I85 1997ISBN: 9780824517243Publication Date: 1997-10-01A broad-ranging, illustrated, scholarly treatment of the different ways that Sufism is lived out around the world, with attention to the various sects and their writings of core topics in Islamic spirituality.
Concept Analysis in Nursing Literature
Loading ...
Introduction to the Library
Locating Biblical & Theological Literature on a Concept
- Start on the GNRS506 Biblical and Theological Guide
- If you are looking for scriptures on your concept, biblegateway.com is a good resource.
- To locate Greek & Hebrew words use the STEP Bible, there are some good resources on how to use this resource on bullet point number one.
- Article searches either topically on your concept or by scripture can be done in ATLA. ATLA has a scripture search feature at the top left side of the screen.
- Primary sources written by theologians - Past Masters, CCEL, & LOEB are really good places to start. In Past Masters, about half of the writers are theologians and the other half philosophers (not helpful for every assignment). Using this is a bit like opening a book and dropping your finger down on a word - you have to back up and read the beginning of the piece of literature that you are looking at.
- APA citations for the theological texts you are likely to use.
Need help on finding theological materials, contact a Theology Librarian below:
Locating Nursing Literature on Spiritual Concepts
Go to apu.edu/library. Choose the Cinahl database.
- In the first search box, enter your concept (include phrase searching and/or truncation as appropriate)
- In the second search box enter: concept* or frame* or theor* or model* or phenomenon* (include the asterisks, or, etc. in your search)
- In the third search box enter: nurs*
Then I selected these limiters "english language" and "scholarly peer review". Select a date range as appropriate for the topic. To do this, click on "show more" under "limit to". Then check the box next to English language, scholarly peer-reviewed, and change the date range.
Examples
- Suffering
- Healing
- Courage
- Joy and Happiness
Suggested Databases and Resources
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS PLUS This link opens in a new window
- Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. Also includes content from the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.
- About
- CINAHL Plus with FullText & Medline with FullText This link opens in a new window
- Search in both Cinahl & Medline at the same time.
- Bonhoeffer, Dietrich Works (Project Muse) This link opens in a new window
- Definitive English translation of the German editions of Dietrich Bonhoeffer Werke. This is a comprehensive and thoroughly annotated 17-volume series compiling the work of one of the most significant Protestant theologians of the twentieth century.
- JSTOR Full Collection This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR contains digitized back runs of over six hundred core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, some dating as far back as the 1600s. Includes all of JSTOR including the archive collections of JSTOR 1-15, Business IV, Ecology & Botany II, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, & Life Sciences. The thematic collections: Lives of Literature, Security Studies, & Sustainability. And the primary source collections: World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, & Global Plants.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- Covers the entire ancient Greek and Latin literary heritage, including epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, as well as the ancient writers on medicine and mathematics. In the Loeb, it contains the full texts of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts and parallel English translations. The users can browse by author, language, period, form, genre, or subject.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new window
- Searchable full text collections of writings by major philosophers and theologians.
- Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window
- With 375 journals in their Standard Collection the disciplines covered range from African American and African Studies to Women’s and Gender Studies with History, Literature, Political Science, Philosophy and Religion, and all manner of Area and Ethnic Studies in between. Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source for access to essential humanities and social science research for close to 30-years. Over that time, MUSE has been an integral part of the scholarly communications ecosystem and platform of choice for respected not-for-profit publishers and offers institutions interdisciplinary content consistent with their collection development needs.
Selecting a Topic & writing a Research Question Tutorial
Checkout these suggestions on selecting a topic and writing a research question:
Boolean Operators & Other Searching Techniques
How Boolean Operators Work
Placing the words “AND” and “OR” (also called Boolean operators) between your search concepts and synonyms can help you create a search statement that retrieves the most relevant sources.
As the diagrams illustrate, using the word “AND” reduces the number of results you get, by requiring that both terms appear in each result. Placing “OR” between search terms expands the number of results because it retrieves sources that use any of the words. Generally speaking, you should use “AND” between each of your concept terms, since you want to find books and articles that address all the aspects of your topic. You should use “OR” between synonyms, to make sure that you find closely related sources.
Searching Techniques
| Truncation | Phrase Searching | Wildcards | Nesting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Broaden your search to include variant word endings and spellings. Enter the root of the word then the truncation symbol, usually the asterisk *. | Use quotation marks " " around search words to search for a phrase - only use this around two or more words. Using the phrase search will help you narrow your results. | Substitute a symbol for just one character. The most commonly used wildcard symbol is a question mark ? | Use parentheses () to put search words into sets. Terms in the parentheses are processed first. Use nesting with AND, OR, & NOT. |
|
Examples: nurs* = nurse, nurses, nursing religio* = religion, religions, religious, religiosity |
Examples: "end of life" "spiritual care" |
Examples: wom?n = women, woman m?n = men, man |
Examples: (screening or detect*) and lupus (cancer* or neoplasm*) and "spiritual* care" |
More information on Effective Search Techniques can be found on this tutorial: