Faith Integration Collection at APU
Click here (this link will take you into the APU library catalog) to see the complete list of titles that we have in our Faith Integration Collection, located on the 2nd floor in Stamps Library. There may also be additional copies throughout the circulating collections of the three APU libraries.
Books at APU
The following books can be found in the APU Libraries. For more books at APU (or from LINK+ and WorldCat), try some of the searches in the 'Searches to Get You Started' box to the right.
Christian Faith and Scholarship: An Exploration of Contemporary Developments by Call Number: Theology LC383 .R33 2007ISBN: 047022889XThis title can also be found in the Faith Integration Collection
Faith and Learning on the Edge: A Bold New Look at Religion in Higher education by Call Number: WCampus LC383 .C56 2004ISBN: 0310253179
God and Culture: Essays in Honor of Carl F.H. Henry by Call Number: Theology BR115.C8 G63 1993ISBN: 0802837093- Holiness as a Root of Morality: essays on Wesleyan ethics : Essays in Honor of Lane A. Scott by Call Number: Theology BX8331.3 .H65 2006ISBN: 0773458328
The Idea of a Christian College by Call Number: Theology LC383 .H57 1987ISBN: 0802802583This title can also be found in the Faith Integration Collection
The Integration of Faith and Learning: A Worldview Approach by Call Number: Theology BR115.L32 H37 2004ISBN: 159244671X
Joining the Mission: A Guide for (Mainly) New College Faculty by Call Number: Faith Int LC383 .V36 2011ISBN: 0802862632
Models for Christian Higher Education: Strategies for Survival and Success in the Twenty-First Century by Call Number: Theology LC427 .M63 1997ISBN: 080284121X
The Outrageous Idea of Christian Scholarship by Call Number: Theology BT738.17 .M37 1997ISBN: 0195105656This title can also be found in the Faith Integration Collection
Scholarship and Christian Faith: Enlarging the Conversation by Call Number: Faith Int LC383 .S33 2004ISBN: 0195170385
Taking Every Thought Captive: Forty Years of Christian Scholar's Review by Call Number: Theology BR50 .T32 2011ISBN: 0891125477This title can also be found in the Faith Integration Collection
Teaching and Christian Practices: Reshaping Faith and Learning by Call Number: Faith Int BV1610 .T43 2011ISBN: 0802866859
The Vocation of the Christian Scholar: How Christian Faith Can Sustain the Life of the Mind by Call Number: Faith Int LC383 .H84 2005ISBN: 0802829155
Searches to Get You Started
The links below perform subject searches in the APU library catalog. Be sure to click on the 
button off to the right of the search results for similar items in the LINK+ catalog. Some of the links below are only for LINK+ items (which means the APU library catalog didn't have anything for the subject heading).
The library resources you discover by using the links below are intended to provide a starting point for faith integration research - it is up to the individual to determine which, if any, of the items are useful (in other words, these are not 'officially sanctioned' by APU, nor will all of the items have anything to do directly with faith integration).
TIP: For more resources outside of the APU Libraries and LINK+ collections, try entering the subjects you see below as subject searches in the WorldCat catalog. Use our interlibrary loan service to request items from WorldCat.
Selected Online Journal Articles
Badley, K. R. (2009). Clarifying "faith-learning integration": essentially contested concepts and the concept-conception distinction. Journal Of Education & Christian Belief, 13(1), 7-17.
Gill, J.H. (1979). Faith in learning: Integrative education and incarnational theology. Christian Century, 96(33), 1009-1013.
Glanzer, P. L. (2008). Why we should discard "the integration of faith and learning": rearticulating the mission of the Christian scholar. Journal Of Education & Christian Belief, 12(1), 41-51.
Hasker, W. (1992). Faith-learning integration: An overview. Christian Scholar's Review, 21(3), 234-248.
Lyon, L., Beaty, M. D., Parker, J., & Mencken, F. (2005). Faculty attitudes on integrating faith and learning at religious colleges and universities: a research note. Sociology Of Religion, 66(1), 61-69.
Quinn, M. E., Foote, L. S., & Williams, M. L. (2012). Integrating a biblical worldview and developing online courses for the adult learner. Christian Scholar's Review, 41(2), 163-173.
Journal Articles from ATLA Religion Database
The articles below come from an ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS search. Click on 'View Website' to go into the database and view the search. You can also modify the search by clicking on the 'Advanced Search' link under the search box, and/or by applying search limits.
Internet Resources
The list below contains a variety of websites that are related to faith integration.
- APU Office of Faith Integration: Faith Integration LinksThis page contains several links to sites related to faith integration.
- APU Office of Faith Integration: ResourcesThis website includes a faith integration guide, web links, and several other resources.
- APU Office of Faith Integration: Scholarly SocietiesThis is a list of several scholarly societies for Christians in particular disciplines.
- Baylor Institute for Faith and Learning"The Institute for Faith and Learning gives attention to Christian intellectual resources valuable for the work of scholars, teachers, and students in the church-related academy and beyond."
- Bibliography for the Integration of Faith and Learning and the Development of a Christian World ViewPrepared by Dr. Donal Nilsson, Professor Emeritus, Nyack College.
- Calvin College: Faculty Resources - Integration of Faith & LearningThis page includes "recent examples of faculty thinking on what it means to be a Christian scholar,' and is organized by discipline.
- Council for Christian Colleges & UniversitiesThis is a search page that includes faith and learning integration resources from the CCCU website.
- Faith & Learning Forum: An International Forum on Faith and Learning IssuesThe Faith & Learning Forum "is truly an open international forum on which people can publish papers, make comments, review books, or simply find resources."
- George Fox University: Faith and Learning Bibliographies"These bibliographies will assist faculty with their integration essays, completed as part of the tenure process, and serve as resources for integrative work."
- James L. Stamps Theological Library Blog: Faith IntegrationThis blog was created by Liz Leahy and contains many useful resources related to faith integration.
- Leadership U: Academic Integration Bibliography"The purpose of this selected bibliography is to be an aid and introduction into the subject of integrating the Christian faith into the academic disciplines."
- Montreat College: Faith and Learning Resources"This guide identifies resources that explore the integration of faith and learning in various disciplines."
- Palm Beach Atlantic University: Faith Integration Resources"Resources to help develop an understanding of the nature and significance of a worldview, discover some of the issues that are affected by one’s worldview, and observe the contrast of the Christian worldview with competing views of reality."
- Point Loma Nazarene University: Wesleyan Center - Resources & Links"The Wesleyan Center Resources and Links section is intended to be a helpful collection of resources for further academic research in Wesleyan thought, history and tradition."
- Regent University: Integrating Faith & LearningThis webpage includes several links and a bibliography relevant to faith integration.
- Union University: Integration of Faith & LearningThis page provides several links and other resources for the integration of faith and learning.
- VirtualSalt: Resources for the Integration of Faith and Learning"On this site you will find links to many articles, Web sites, and other resources to help you in the process of integrating your faith with the knowledge claims you will encounter at college or the university."
- VirtualSalt: The Integration of Faith and LearningThis is an article written by Dr. Robert Harris, former faculty member at Vanguard University.
Denominational Websites
There are many denominations that have worked through various cultural issues and have issued position statements and/or resolutions that spell out the theological and/or biblical basis for such decisions. The links included in this section will help you find some of those position statements. You may also want to go to a particular denominational website and either use the search box (if there is one) to find a particular issue, or you can try looking for a section of the website that deals with position statements or resolutions.
- Hartford Institute for Religion Research: Official Denominational Web Sites Links to denominational websites
- Pew Research Center: Religion & Public Life Project Reports and data by subject - each subject page collects all reports published since 2001
- Religious Institute: Denominational Statements The Denominational Statements resource has been created for those seeking up-to-date information about the official positions of major U.S. religious denominations on sexuality-related issues.
- Religious Tolerance Look in the 'hot topics' section in the left part of the homepage
- World Council of Churches: Declarations and Policy Statements on HIV/AIDS by churches and faith-based organizations from 2001 to 2005
Google Web Search
Click 'Search' to get even more results than what you see below. You can also try the same search in Google Scholar (just cut and paste the search string you see below). You may want to eliminate the 'site:.edu' part of the search string for more results in Google Scholar.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Look for the 'APU Library FT Finder' link off to the right of results - these will take you into an APU journal article database where you can usually view the full text of the article.
Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to go through the following steps to see which items are available through APU databases:
- Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com) and click on Settings near the top of the page
- Select Library Links from the menu on the left
- Type Azusa Pacific University in the search box and click the search icon
- Azusa Pacific University should show up in the list below the search box - check the box for Azusa Pacific University
- Click the Save button
- Do a search in Google Scholar
More Research Guides
The following guides were created by APU librarians, and may be helpful in finding faith integration resources.