The GoodKnight Collection
Glen Howard GoodKnight II (1941-2010) was an Inklings enthusiast in the Los Angeles area, known for his extensive collection of Inklings related books. His collection consists of over 5500 books by and about J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and other Inklings. It includes numerous first editions and signed copies, as well as significant works from the personal library of Tolkien. It was donated to Azusa Pacific University in 2019. With 62 languages in the collection, representing 6 of the 7 continents, the GoodKnight Collection clearly illustrates the diversity of language and the global impact of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien.
Key Words in the GoodKnight Collection that Relate to Juvenile Fiction
Scandinavian Languages
- Poems (Icelandic) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 A61572 1996
- Farmer Giles of Ham (Faroese) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PZ56.3 .T5744 Far 1993
- Prince Caspian (Swedish) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 P6184 1961
Southeast Asian Languages
- The Hobbit (Thai) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 H6185 2002
ISBN: 9789747597554
- Farmer Giles of Ham (Indonesian) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 H6185 2002
ISBN: 9789747597554
- The Chronicles of Narnia (Vietnamese) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 C519 2006 (ep.1-7)
Cyrill Languages
- Mere Christianity (Russian) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: BR123 .L48417 1990
- The Lord of the Rings (Ukrainian) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 L6189 2006
ISBN: 9789668657184
- The Hobbit (Belarusian) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 H61256 2002
Poetry Written by the Inklings in the GoodKnight Collection
Spirits in Bondage by
"It is 'Will' that creates the world, even though the world itself is a malignant thing which inveigles us into reproducing and perpetuating life. The way to terminate this malignancy is by asceticism."--from the preface In 1919, when C.S. Lewis was only twenty, just a few months returned from the Great War, his first collection of poetry was published, presaging the author's brilliant career. At the time, Lewis was in the midst of his agnostic phase, yet to become the great Christian philosopher of his later life. As such, the poems all revolve around the theme of nature as a malevolent force, with beauty as the only divine truth. This volume includes a preface by Walter Hooper, which illuminates Lewis's formative influences, drawing from his letters, diaries, and other works to provide a record of the early part of the great writer's life. "[Lewis's] writing is like the easy talk of a good conversationalist and he challenges many deeply set convictions without raising his voice." --St. Louis Post Dispatch
Call Number: PR6023.E926 S6 1984ISBN: 0156847485Publication Date: 1984-01-06
Narrative Poems by
"You stranger, long before your glance can light Upon these words, time will have washed away The moment when I first took pen to write . . ." An essayist, novelist, and poet, C.S. Lewis combines all of his talents inNarrative Poems. Even when composing his prose works, such as his autobiographySurprised by Joy, Lewis wrote his first drafts in verse, so highly did he think of the narrative poem. Collected here are the four completed poems by Lewis: "Dymer," "Launcelot," "The Nameless Isle," and "The Queen of Drum." Though only "Dymer" was published in his lifetime, these poems display Lewis's deep love for medieval and Renaissance poetry and themes, the influence of which can be seen throughout his fiction. "If the mode of the fantastic, of elves, hags, castles, and 'damosels clothed in bright pale airy clothes' is . . . for you, then come on in."--The Christian Science Monitor
Call Number: PR6023.E926 A17 1979bISBN: 9780156027984Publication Date: 2002-12-23
The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún by
Many years ago, J.R.R. Tolkien composed his own version of the great legend of Northern antiquity, recounted here inThe Legend of Sigurd andGudrún. In theLay of the Völsungs is told the ancestry of the great hero Sigurd, the slayer of Fáfnir, most celebrated of dragons; of his awakening of the Valkyrie Brynhild, who slept surrounded by a wall of fire, and of their betrothal; and of his coming to the court of the great princes who were named the Niflungs (or Nibelungs), with whom he entered into blood-brotherhood. In scenes of dramatic intensity, of confusion of identity, thwarted passion, jealousy, and bitter strife, the tragedy of Sigurd and Brynhild, of Gunnar the Niflung and Gudrún his sister, mounts to its end in the murder of Sigurd, the suicide of Brynhild, and the despair of Gudrún. TheLay of Gudrún recounts her fate after the death of Sigurd, her marriage against her will to the mighty Atli, ruler of the Huns (the Attila of history), his murder of her brothers, and her hideous revenge.
Call Number: PR6039.O32 L44 2010ISBN: 9780547394572Publication Date: 2010-09-10
Windows of Night by
Williams was one of the finest--not to mention one of the most unusual--theologians of the 20th century. His mysticism is palpable, and spiritual exchange occurs all the time--unseen and largely unlooked for. His novels are legend, his poetry profound, and as a member of the Inklings, he contributed to the mythopoetic revival in contemporary culture.
Call Number: PR6045.I5 W56 2007ISBN: 9781933993355Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Classic Children's Literature & Fairy Tales in the GoodKnight Collection
Children's Classics to Read Aloud by Call Number: PZ5 .C4356 1992ISBN: 1856978257Publication Date: 1996-08-15
The Kingfisher Book of Great Boy Stories by
This handsome collection of carefully chosen and beautifully illustrated extracts celebrates favorite boy characters from children's literature. A new generation of readers will be delighted and inspired by the antics and adventures of timeless heroes such as Tom Sawyer, Oliver Twist, Peter Pan, and Winnie-the-Pooh.
Call Number: PZ5 .K593 2000ISBN: 0753453207Publication Date: 2000-10-15
The Viking Treasury of Children's Stories by
This excellent anthology contains 36 complete stories and excerpts from children's classics.
Call Number: PZ5 .P78965 1997ISBN: 0670873039Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Puffin Book of Nursery Rhymes by Call Number: PZ8.3.O6 Pu 1963ISBN: 014030200XPublication Date: 1964-01-30- The Princess and the Goblin by Young Princess Irene's belief in her great-grandmother's powers becomes essential as she and the miner Curdie work to foil the sinister Goblin plot against the king and his palace.Call Number: PZ8.M1754 Pr 1964ISBN: 9780140302202Publication Date: 1964-11-30
- The complete fairy stories of George Macdonald byCall Number: PZ8.M1754 Li 1961Publication Date: 1961
Germanic Languages
- The Hobbit (Frisian) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 H6146 2009
ISBN: 9789089541123
- Chronicles of Narnia (German) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 C515 2005b
ISBN: 9783800051861
- The Adventures of Tom Bombadil (Dutch) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 A6129 1975
ISBN: 9789060193167
Far East Languages
- Mr. Bliss (Korean) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 M73165 1998
ISBN: 9788942402458
- The Space Trilogy (Japanese) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 S5163 1987 (volumes 1-3)
ISBN: 9784480021212 (vol 1)
- The Great Divorce (Chinese) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: BJ1401 .L4127 1978
Middle Eastern Languages
- The Lord of the Rings (Persian) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 L6164 2001 (parts 1-3)
ISBN: 9789643341169 (pt. 1)
- The Hobbit (Hebrew) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 H6154 1977
- The Screwtape Letters (Arabic) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: BR125 .L67125 2007
ISBN: 9789059500648
Languages in the GoodKnight Collection
Afrikaans, Albanian, Arabic, Aragonese, Armenian, Basque, Belarusian, Braille, Breton, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Estonian, Faroese, Finnish, French, Frisian, Galician, Georgian, German, Gothic, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Luxembourgish, Macedonian, Middle English, Moldavian, Norwegian, Old English, Old Norse, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Tibetan, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, and Welsh.
Iberian Languages
- The Hobbit (Galician) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 H6148 2000
ISBN: 9788483024959
- The Horse and His Boy (Catalan) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 H6126 1992
ISBN: 9788435034579
- Farmer Giles of Ham (Aragonese) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PZ90.67.T5744 Far 1993
ISBN: 9788480940016
Romance Languages
- Roverandom (French) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PZ24.T5744 Ro 1999
ISBN: 9782267014662
- The Silmarillion (Italian) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 S516 1978
- The Four Loves (Spanish) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: BV4639 .L4518 2006
ISBN: 9780061140051
Distinctive Languages
- The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe (Tibetan) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 L5186 2006
ISBN: 9787105066612
- The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Welsh) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 V6194 1989
ISBN: 9781850490661
- The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe (Braille) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 L51257 2000
- The Magician's Nephew (Afrikaans) by C.S. Lewis
Call Number: PR6023.E926 C5122 2002
ISBN: 9780798142434 (bk 1)
- The Lord of the Rings (Esperanto) by J.R.R. Tolkien
Call Number: PR6039.O32 L6132 2007