APU Stone Collection
APU Stone Collection, donated by The George G. Stone Center for Children's Books, located at the Claremont Graduate School, was a former special library of the Claremont Graduate University's School of Education Studies. Carolyn Angus, Director (retired) of the Stone Center for Children's Books, and Dr. Nancy Brashear, faculty emerta at Azusa Pacific University, initiated the donation with Luba Zakharov, Librarian & Curator at APU. The collection is now housed in the APU Marshburn Library (children's literature) and in the Special Collections library (Stone Collection).
Reference Resources about Children's Literature
- Masterworks of Children's Literature byCall Number: PZ5 .M38ISBN: 9780877543763Publication Date: 1983-09-01
- Twentieth-Century Children's Writers byCall Number: PN1009.A1 T9 1978ISBN: 9780312824136Publication Date: 1978-09-01
- Down the rabbit hole: adventures & misadventures in the realm of children's literature byCall Number: PN1009.A1 L3 1971Publication Date: 1971
Nursery Rhymes & Stories in Rhyme
1 Is One by
Tasha Tudor teaches young readers to count to twentry in this beautifully illustrated, Caldecott Honor-winning picture book. 1 is one duckling swimming in a dish 2 is two sisters making a wish "There will, of course, always be children who must learn to count. Teach them also to enjoy the process and to count those things that are most important to them. Eighteen stars twinkling in the sky and twelve baby birds learning how to sing are an excellent start." --Tasha Tudor, author and illustrator of 1 Is One
Call Number: PZ8.3.Ti Aad 2000ISBN: 9780689828430Publication Date: 2000-05-01
In the Small, Small Pond by
Award-winning author/illustrator Denise Fleming gives young readers a frog's eye view of life in a pond throughout the seasons in the Caldecott Honor Book,In the Small, Small Pond. A child explores the wonders of the natural world in this rhyming, beautiful bright colored picture storybook about the lives of small animals and insects living around a freshwater pond.
Call Number: PZ8.3.F637 In 1993ISBN: 9780805022643Publication Date: 1993-09-15
Now We Are Six by
Celebrate the 90th birthday of one of the world's most beloved icons of children's literature, Winnie-the-Pooh! Whether you're six, sixty-six, or anywhere in between, this enchanting collection of verses about Christopher Robin and, of course, Winnie-the-Pooh, will enchant. Filled with gentle humor and playful rhythms, Now We Are Six contains some of the best-loved poems for children. Between its pages, readers will delight in the always accessible, sun-filled realm of the imagination, perfectly rendered in Ernest Shepard's beautiful illustrations. The essential book for that all-important birthday, Now We Are Six is a classic in its own right, treasured by every new generation of readers.
Call Number: PZ8.3.M6354 No 1988ISBN: 9780525444466Publication Date: 1988-10-31
On Market Street by
"In a delightful and unusual book, a boy trots down Market Street buying presents for a friend, each one starting with a letter of the alphabet. Every letter is illustrated by a figure ingeniously composed of, for instance, apples or wigs or quilts. The notion is original, and the sum total enjoyable and unique."--Horn Book.
Call Number: PZ8.3.L82 Om 1981ISBN: 9780688843090Publication Date: 1981-04-01
Award Winning Books in the Stone Collection
Tibet Through the Red Box by
A father's diary, an artist's memoir. By the author of the best-selling Three Golden Keys. While my father was in China and Tibet, he kept a diary, which was later locked in a red box. We weren't allowed to touch the box. The stories I heard as a little boy faded to a hazy dream, and my drawings from that time make no sense. I cannot decipher them. It was not until I myself had gone far, far away and received the message from my father that I became interested in the red box again . . . In New York, Peter Sis receives a letter from his father. "The Red Box is now yours," it says. The brief note worries him and pulls him back to Prague, where the contents of the red box explain the mystery of his father's long absence during the 1950s. Czechoslovakia was behind the iron curtain; Vladimir Sis, a documentary filmmaker of considerable talent, was drafted into the army and sent to China to teach filmmaking. He left his wife, daughter, and young son, Peter, thinking he would be home for Christmas. Two Christmases would pass before he was heard from again: Vladimir Sis was lost in Tibet. He met with the Dalai Lama; he witnessed China's invasion of Tibet. When he returned to Prague, he dared not talk to his friends about all he had seen and experienced. But over and over again he told Peter about his Tibetan adventures. Weaving their two stories together - that of the father lost in Tibet and that of the small boy in Prague, lost without his father - Sis draws from his father's diary and from his own recollections of his father's incredible tales to reach a spiritual homecoming between father and son. With his sublime pictures, inspired by Tibetan Buddhist art and linking history to memory, Peter Sis gives us an extraordinary book - a work of singular artistry and rare imagination. This title has Common Core connections. Tibet Through the Red Box is a 1999 Caldecott Honor Book and the winner of the 1999 Boston Globe - Horn Book Award for Special Citation.
Call Number: DS786 .S548 1998ISBN: 0374375526Publication Date: 1998-11-05
Song of the Water Boatman and Other Pond Poems by
A 2006 Caldecott Honor Book From spring's first thaw to autumn's chill, the world of the pond is a dramatic place. Though seemingly quiet, ponds are teeming with life and full of surprises. Their denizens--from peepers to painted turtles, duckweed to diving beetles--lead secret and fascinating lives. A unique blend of whimsy, science, poetry, and hand-colored woodcuts, this Caldecott Honor-winning collection invites us to take a closer look at our hidden ponds and wetlands. Here is a celebration of their beauty and their mystery.
Call Number: PS3569.I295 S66 2005ISBN: 9780618135479Publication Date: 2005-04-04
Dear Mr. Henshaw by
Newbery Medal Winner * Teachers' Top 100 Books for Children * ALA Notable Children's Book Beverly Cleary's timeless Newbery Medal-winning book explores difficult topics like divorce, insecurity, and bullying through the thoughts and emotions of a sixth-grade boy as he writes to his favorite author, Boyd Henshaw. After his parents separate, Leigh Botts moves to a new town with his mother. Struggling to make friends and deal with his anger toward his absent father, Leigh loses himself in a class assignment in which he must write to his favorite author. When Mr. Henshaw responds, the two form an unexpected friendship that will change Leigh's life forever. From the beloved author of the Henry Huggins, Ramona Quimby, and Ralph S. Mouse series comes an epistolary novel about how to navigate and heal from life's growing pains.
Call Number: PZ7.C5792 De 1983ISBN: 068802405XPublication Date: 1983-08-22
Gone Wild by
Feast your eyes on these amazing creatures before they disappear. This stampede of wild animals, from Chinese Alligator to Grevy's Zebra, are so rare, they're all endangered. David McLiman's bold and playful illustrations transform each letter into a work of art, graphically rendered with animal characteristics. Scales, horns, even insect wings transform the alphabet into animated life. Once you take this eye-opening safari, you'll never look at letters or animals with the same way again. A striking work of art and a zoological adventure, Gone Wild is sure to be loved by children and adults alike.
Call Number: QL83 .M355 2006ISBN: 9780802795649Publication Date: 2006-09-05
Elijah of Buxton by
Newbery Medalist and CSK Award winner Christopher Paul Curtis's debut middle-grade/young-YA novel for Scholastic features his trademark humor, compelling storytelling, and unique narrative voice. Eleven-year-old Elijah is the first child born into freedom in Buxton, Canada, a settlement of runaway slaves just over the border from Detroit. He's best known in his hometown as the boy who made a memorable impression on Frederick Douglass. But things change when a former slave steals money from Elijah's friend, who has been saving to buy his family out of captivity in the South. Elijah embarks on a dangerous journey to America in pursuit of the thief, and he discovers firsthand the unimaginable horrors of the life his parents fled -- a life from which he'll always be free, if he can find the courage to get back home.
Call Number: PZ7.C94137 El 2007ISBN: 9780439023443Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Fairy Tales
The Tale of Despereaux by
The beloved author of Because of Winn-Dixie enlightens us with a tale of adventure, despair, love, and soup. Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled with light. And it is the story of Miggery Sow, a slow-witted serving girl who harbors a simple, impossible wish. These three characters are about to embark on a journey that will lead them down into a horrible dungeon, up into a glittering castle, and, ultimately, into each other's lives. And what happens then? As Kate DiCamillo would say: Reader, it is your destiny to find out. From the master storyteller who brought us Because of Winn-Dixie comes another classic, a fairy tale full of quirky, unforgettable characters, featuring twenty-four stunning black-and-white illustrations by Timothy Basil Ering, in an elegant design that pays tribute to the best in classic children's books and bookmaking traditions.
Call Number: PZ8.D525 Tal 2003ISBN: 9780763617226Publication Date: 2003-08-25
The Little Prince by
This beloved, world-famous allegorical classic about a young prince on a quest for knowledge is an essential read for every home library. Few stories are as widely read and as universally cherished by children and adults alike as The Little Prince. When a pilot crashes in the Sahara Desert, he meets a little boy who asks him to draw a sheep. Gradually the Little Prince reveals more about himself: he comes from a small asteroid, where he lived alone until a rose grew there. But the rose grew demanding, and he was confused by his feelings about her. The story unfolds further from one planet to the next in a thoughtful philosophical exploration of love and the ephemeral. Combining Richard Howard's translation with restored original full-color art, this definitive English-language edition of The Little Prince will capture the hearts of readers of all ages.
Call Number: PZ8.S14 Li 2000ISBN: 9780152023980Publication Date: 2000-06-01
The Fairy Tales of Oscar Wilde by
A splendid edition of these fairy tales with 2 or 3 illustrations per story.
Call Number: PZ8.W647 Fai 1994ISBN: 9780670855858Publication Date: 1994-10-01
Bartholomew and the Oobleck by
Join Bartholomew Cubbins in Dr. Seuss's Caldecott Honor-winning picture book abouta king's magical mishap! Bored with rain, sunshine, fog, and snow, King Derwin of Didd summons his royal magicians to create something new and exciting to fall from the sky. What he gets is a storm of sticky green goo called Oobleck-which soon wreaks havock all over his kingdom! But with the assistance of the wise page boy Bartholomew, the king (along with young readers) learns that the simplest words can sometimes solve the stickiest problems.
Call Number: PZ8.G326 Bar 1976ISBN: 0394800753Publication Date: 1949-10-12
Folklore
Duffy and the Devil by
Duffy and the Devil was a popular play in Cornwall in the nineteenth century, performed at the Christmas season by groups of young people who went from house to house. The Zemachs have interpreted the folk tale which the play dramatized, recognizable as a version of the widespread Rumpelstiltskin story. Its main themes are familiar, but the character and details of this picture book are entirely Cornish, as robust and distinctive as the higgledy-piggledy, cliff-hanging villages that dot England's southwestern coast from Penzance to Land's End. The language spoken by the Christmas players was a rich mixture of local English dialect and Old Cornish (similar to Welsh and Gaelic), and something of this flavor is preserved in Harve Zemach's retelling. Margot Zemach's pen-and-wash illustrations combine a refined sense of comedy with telling observation of character, felicitous drawing with decorative richness, to a degree that surpasses her own past accomplishments. Duffy and the Devil is a 1973 New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of the Year and Outstanding Book of the Year, a 1974 National Book Award Finalist for Children's Books, and the winner of the 1974 Caldecott Medal.
Call Number: PZ8.1.Z4 Du 1998ISBN: 0374318875Publication Date: 1973-01-01
Goldilocks and the Three Bears by
Goldilocks is a naughty little girl who does exactly as she pleases--even if that means sampling the three bears' porridge, breaking Baby Bear's chair and sleeping in his bed. James Marshall's offbeat and inventive telling of this familiar tale will enchant readers, young and old. A 1989 Caldecott Honor Book. An "American Bookseller" "Pick of the Lists". An ALA Notable Book. A "School Library Journal" Best Book of the Year. Full color. 32 pp. Ages 4-8. Pub: 1/98.Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.
Call Number: PZ8.1.M3554 Go 1988ISBN: 0803705433Publication Date: 1988-09-30
The Village of Round and Square Houses by
The village of Tos is like no other village in the world, for in this village the women live in round houses and the men live in square ones. The story of how this came to be is told from the point of view of a young girl who grew up there. Ann Grifalconi's bold, dynamic art and rhythmic storytelling recreate this world and make The Village of Round and Square Houses a perfect book for reading aloud.
Call Number: PZ8.1.G874 Vi 1986ISBN: 0316328626Publication Date: 1986-05-30
Children's Literature Anthologies
- A Comparative Anthology of Children's Literature by An anthology of folklore, poetry, short stories, and selections from longer fictional and non-fictional works.Call Number: PZ5.N35 Co 1972ISBN: 0030833795Publication Date: 1972-01-01
- St Nicholas Anthology by Contains the best of St. Nicholas, a magazine for boys and girls published at the turn of the century. Included stories, poems, and original illustrations.Call Number: PZ5ISBN: 9780517420829Publication Date: 1984-01-09
- Grandfather Tales by A collection of folk tales from North Carolina and Virginia for a slightly older audience than that for Chase's Jack Tales.Call Number: GR105.C48 Gr 1976ISBN: 9780395066928Publication Date: 1973-08-31
The ALA's List of Frequently Challenged Children's Books
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret by
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret No one ever told Margaret Simon that eleven-going-on- twelve would be such a hard age. When her family moves to New Jersey, she has to adjust to life in the suburbs, a different school, and a whole new group of friends. Margaret knows she needs someone to talk to about growing up-and it's not long before she's found a solution. Are you there God? It's me, Margaret. I can't wait until two o'clock God. That's when our dance starts. Do you think I'll get Philip Leroy for a partner? It's not so much that I like him as a person God, but as a boy he's very handsome. And I'd love to dance with him... just once or twice. Thank you God.
Call Number: PZ7.B6265 Ar 1986ISBN: 0440404193Publication Date: 1986-06-01
The Giver by
The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community. Lois Lowry has written three companion novels toThe Giver,includingGathering Blue, Messenger, andSon.
Call Number: PZ7.L9673 Gi 1993ISBN: 9780395645666Publication Date: 1993-04-26
I Saw Esau by
"Sticks and stones may break my bones, but names will never hurt me." That's what children chant when they are being teased; it's what their parents chanted, and probably their grandparents before them. Collected in this invaluable book are the wit and wisdom of generations of schoolchildren—more than 170 selections ranging from insults and riddles to jeers and jump-rope rhymes. With Iona Opie's introduction and detailed notes and Maurice Sendak's remarkable pictures—vignettes, sequences, and full-page paintings both wickedly funny and comically sad—it offers knowledge and entertainment to all who open it.
Call Number: PR977 .I185 1992ISBN: 9781564020468Publication Date: 1992-06-01
Little Black Sambo by
First published in London in 1899, this classic tale by Helen Bannerman tells the story of a little boy named Sambo who encounters four hunger tigers, outwits them, and turns them into butter, before returning safely home to eat a 169 pancakes for his supper.
Call Number: PZ7.B227 St 1995ISBN: 1557094144Publication Date: 1996-04-01
The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963 by
Celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about an unforgettable family on a road-trip during one of the most important times in the civil rights movement. When the Watson family--ten-year-old Kenny, Momma, Dad, little sister Joetta, and brother Byron--sets out on a trip south to visit Grandma in Birmingham, Alabama, they don't realize that they're heading toward one of the darkest moments in America's history. The Watsons' journey reminds us that even in the hardest times, laughter and family can help us get through anything. "A modern classic." --NPR "Marvelous . . . both comic and deeply moving." --The New York Times "One of the best novels EVER." --Jacqueline Woodson, Newbery Honor and National Book Award-winning author of Brown Girl Dreaming Bonus Content * New foreword and afterword from the author * Map of the Watsons' journey * Original manuscript pages and letter from the Newbery committee * Personal essays celebrating the book's legacy by award-winning authors: Elizabeth Acevedo, Chris Crutcher, Kate DiCamillo, Varian Johnson, David Barclay Moore, Jason Reynolds, Jerry Spinelli, Vince Vawter, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Jacqueline Woodson
Call Number: PZ7.C8555 Wat 1997ISBN: 0440414121Publication Date: 1997-09-08
The Wish Giver by
A Newbery Honor Book that the New York Times called "an eerie delight," The Wish Giver is an engaging literary folk story about those who get what they wish for--whether they want it or not. The people of Coven Tree are no strangers to magic. In fact, the town's very name comes from a gnarled old tree where covens of witches used to gather. Even now, imps and fiends continue to appear, frightening the townsfolk with their devilish pranks. Usually these creatures are easy to spot. They have a particular smell, or sound, or way of moving, that betrays their dark nature. But Thaddeus Blinn showed none of these signs when he came to Coven Tree. He was just a funny little man who drifted into town with a strange tale about being able to give people whatever they wished--for only fifty cents. There was nothing scary about him. At least, not until the wishing began...
Call Number: PZ7.B7806 Wi 1983ISBN: 006020687XPublication Date: 1983-04-20
