Note
SEE THE COURSE-SPECIFIC GUIDES TAB FOR MIN 108, MIN 226 and MIN 300 RESEARCH GUIDES (LIBGUIDES)
Reference Works
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Feasting on the Word: Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year A, Volume 1 by
Based on the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL), "Feasting on the Word Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year A, Volume 1" is an invaluable aid that provides liturgical pieces needed in preparing for worship each week. Written and compiled by a team of eleven ecumenical and seasoned liturgy writers under the creative leadership of Kimberly Bracken Long, this resource offers a multitude of poetic prayers and responsive readings for all parts of worship and is meant to complement existing denominational resources. In addition, the weekly entries include questions for reflection and household prayers for morning and evening that are drawn from the lectionary, allowing churches to include them in their bulletin for parishioners to use throughout the week. During times of the year when two different tracks of Old Testament texts are offered by the RCL, this resource offers an entire set of materials for each track. Also, a CD-ROM is included with each volume that enables planners to easily cut and paste relevant readings, prayers, and questions into worship bulletins.
ISBN: 9781611643206Publication Date: 2013-09-02
Feasting on the Word: Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year A, Volume 2 by
Based on the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL), Feasting on the Word Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year A, Volume 2 provides liturgical pieces used in preparing for worship. Written and compiled by an ecumenical team of 11 seasoned liturgy writers, this resource offers a multitude of poetic prayers and responsive readings for all parts of worship and is meant to complement existing denominational resources. In addition, the weekly entries include questions for reflection and household prayers for morning and evening that are drawn from the lectionary, allowing churches to include them in their bulletin for parishioners to use throughout the week. During times of the year when two different tracks of Old Testament texts are offered by the RCL, this resource offers an entire set of materials for each track. Also, a CD-ROM is included with each volume that enables planners to easily cut and paste relevant readings, prayers, and questions into worship bulletins. Liturgy writers include the following: Kimberly L. Clayton, Director of Contextual Education, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, Georgia; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) David Gambrell, Associate for Worship in the Office of Theology and Worship, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), Louisville, Kentucky; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) Daniel M. Geslin, Pastor, Sixth Avenue United Church of Christ, Denver, Colorado; United Church of Christ Kimberly Bracken Long, Associate Professor of Worship, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, Georgia; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) L. Edward Phillips, Associate Professor of Worship and Liturgical Theology, Candler School of Theology, Atlanta, Georgia; United Methodist Church Melinda Quivik, Liturgical Scholar, Houghton, Michigan; Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Carol L. Wade, Dean of Christ Church Cathedral, Lexington, Kentucky; Episcopal Church
ISBN: 9781611643763Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Feasting on the Word: Worship Companion : Liturgies for Year B, Volume 1 by
Based on the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL), Feasting on the Word Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year B, Volume 1 provides liturgical pieces used in preparing for worship. Written and compiled by an ecumenical team of eleven seasoned liturgy writers, this resource offers a multitude of poetic prayers and responsive readings for all parts of worship and is meant to complement existing denominational resources. In addition, the weekly entries include questions for reflection and household prayers for morning and evening that are drawn from the lectionary, allowing churches to include them in their bulletin for parishioners to use throughout the week. During times of the year when two different tracks of Old Testament texts are offered by the RCL, this resource offers an entire set of materials for each track. Also, a CD-ROM is included with each print volume that enables planners to easily cut and paste relevant readings, prayers, and questions into worship bulletins. Liturgy writers include the following: Kimberly L. Clayton, Director of Contextual Education, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, Georgia; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) David Gambrell, Associate for Worship in the Office of Theology and Worship, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), Louisville, Kentucky; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) Daniel M. Geslin, Pastor, Union Congregational Church of Hancock, Hancock, Maine; United Church of Christ Kimberly Bracken Long, Associate Professor of Worship, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, Georgia; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) L. Edward Phillips, Associate Professor of Worship and Liturgical Theology, Candler School of Theology, Atlanta, Georgia; United Methodist Church Melinda Quivik, Liturgical Scholar, Houghton, Michigan; Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Carol L. Wade, Dean of Christ Church Cathedral, Lexington, Kentucky; Episcopal Church
ISBN: 9781611645194Publication Date: 2014-09-12
Feasting on the Word: Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year B, Volume 2 by
"Of all the resources available to worship leaders, this is the best. . . . The liturgies for each Sunday are exceptionally well-written and grounded in language that resonates with Scripture." --Presbyterian Outlook Based on the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL), the Feasting on the Word Worship Companion series provides liturgical pieces used in preparing for worship. Written and compiled by an ecumenical team of seven seasoned liturgy writers, this resource offers a multitude of poetic prayers and responsive readings for all parts of worship. During times of the year when two different tracks of Old Testament texts are offered by the RCL, this resource offers an entire set of materials for each track. Each volume includes access to the digital files for the content, which enables worship planners to easily cut and paste readings, prayers, questions for reflection, and household prayers for morning and evening into worship bulletins. Liturgy writers include: Kimberly L. Clayton, Director of Contextual Education, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, Georgia; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) David Gambrell, Associate for Worship in the Office of Theology and Worship, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), Louisville, Kentucky; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) Daniel M. Geslin, Pastor, The United Church of Christ in Simi Valley, Simi Valley, California; United Church of Christ Kimberly Bracken Long, Liturgical Scholar and Minister in the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) L. Edward Phillips, Associate Professor of Worship and Liturgical Theology, Candler School of Theology, Atlanta, Georgia; United Methodist Church Melinda Quivik, Liturgical Scholar, St. Paul, Minnesota; Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Carol L. Wade, Dean of Christ Church Cathedral, Lexington, Kentucky; Episcopal Church
ISBN: 9780664260385Publication Date: 2015-02-13
Feasting on the Word: Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year C, Volume 1 by
"Of all the resources available to worship leaders, this is the best. . . . The liturgies for each Sunday are exceptionally well-written and grounded in language that resonates with Scripture." --Presbyterian Outlook Based on the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL), the Feasting on the Word Worship Companion series provides liturgical pieces used in preparing for worship. Written and compiled by an ecumenical team of seven seasoned liturgy writers, this resource offers a multitude of poetic prayers and responsive readings for all parts of worship. During times of the year when two different tracks of Old Testament texts are offered by the RCL, this resource offers an entire set of materials for each track. Each volume includes access to the digital files for the content, which enables worship planners to easily cut and paste readings, prayers, questions for reflection, and household prayers for morning and evening into worship bulletins. Liturgy writers include: Kimberly L. Clayton, Director of Contextual Education, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, Georgia; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) David Gambrell, Associate for Worship in the Office of Theology and Worship, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), Louisville, Kentucky; Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) Daniel M. Geslin, Pastor, The United Church of Christ in Simi Valley, Simi Valley, California; United Church of Christ Kimberly Bracken Long, Liturgical Scholar and Minister in the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) L. Edward Phillips, Associate Professor of Worship and Liturgical Theology, Candler School of Theology, Atlanta, Georgia; United Methodist Church Melinda Quivik, Liturgical Scholar, St. Paul, Minnesota; Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Carol L. Wade, Dean of Christ Church Cathedral, Lexington, Kentucky; Episcopal Church
ISBN: 9780664238056Publication Date: 2012-09-03
Feasting on the Word: Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year C, Volume 2 by
Based on the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL), Feasting on the Word Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year C, Volume 2 is an invaluable aid that provides liturgical pieces needed in preparing for worship each week. Written and compiled by a team of eleven ecumenical and seasoned liturgy writers under the creative leadership of Kimberly Bracken Long, this resource offers a multitude of poetic prayers and responsive readings for all parts of worship and is meant to complement existing denominational resources. In addition, the weekly entries include questions for reflection and household prayers for morning and evening that are drawn from the lectionary, allowing churches to include them in their bulletin for parishioners to use throughout the week. During times of the year when two different tracks of Old Testament texts are offered by the RCL, this resource offers an entire set of materials for each track. Also, a CD-ROM is included with each volume that enables planners to easily cut and paste relevant readings, prayers, and questions into worship bulletins.
ISBN: 9781611643091Publication Date: 2013-03-25
Feasting on the Word: Preaching from the Revised Common Lectionary, Year A, Volume 1 by
With the twelve-volume series Feasting on the Word, Westminster John Knox Press offers one of the most extensive and well-respected resources for preaching on the market today. When complete, the twelve volumes will cover all of the Sundays in the three-year lectionary cycle, along with moveable occasions. The page layout is truly unique. For each lectionary text, preachers will find brief essaysÃ,âe"one each on the exegetical, theological, pastoral, and homiletical challenges of the text. Each volume will also contain an index of biblical passages so that nonlectionary preachers may make use of its contents. The printed volumes for Ordinary Time include the complementary stream during Year A, the complementary stream during the first half of Year B, the semicontinuous stream during the second half of Year B, and the semicontinuous stream during Year C. Beginning with the season after Pentecost in Year C, the alternate lections for Ordinary Time not in the print volumes will be available online at feastingontheword.net.
ISBN: 9780664231040Publication Date: 2010-07-13
Feasting on the Word: Preaching from the Revised Common Lectionary, Year A, Volume 3 by
With the twelve-volume series Feasting on the Word, Westminster John Knox Press offers one of the most extensive and well-respected resources for preaching on the market today. When complete, the twelve volumes will cover all of the Sundays in the three-year lectionary cycle, along with moveable occasions. The page layout is truly unique. For each lectionary text, preachers will find brief essaysÂ--one each on the exegetical, theological, pastoral, and homiletical challenges of the text. Each volume will also contain an index of biblical passages so that nonlectionary preachers may make use of its contents. The printed volumes for Ordinary Time include the complementary stream during Year A, the complementary stream during the first half of Year B, the semicontinuous stream during the second half of Year B, and the semicontinuous stream during Year C. Beginning with the season after Pentecost in Year C, the alternate lections for Ordinary Time not in the print volumes will be available online at feastingontheword.net.
ISBN: 9780664231064Publication Date: 2011-01-27
Feasting on the Word: Preaching on the Revised Common Lectionary, Year B, Volume 2 by
With this new lectionary commentary series, Westminster John Knox offers the most extensive resource for preaching on the market today. When complete, the twelve volumes of the series will cover all the Sundays in the three-year lectionary cycle, along with movable occasions, such as Christmas Day, Epiphany, Holy Week, and All Saints' Day. For each lectionary text, preachers will find four brief essays--one each on the theological, pastoral, exegetical, and homiletical challenges of the text. This gives preachers sixteen different approaches to the proclaimation of the Word on any given occasion. The editors and contributors to this series are world-class scholars, pastors, and writers representing a variety of denominations and traditions. And while the twelve volumes of the series will follow the pattern of the Revised Common Lectionary, each volume will contain an index of biblical passages so that nonlectionary preachers, as well as teachers and students, may make use of its contents.
ISBN: 9780664230975Publication Date: 2008-09-29
Feasting on the Word: Preaching the Revised Common Lectionary, Year B, Volume 3 by
With this new lectionary commentary series, Westminster John Knox offers the most extensive resource for preaching on the market today. When complete, the twelve volumes of the series will cover all the Sundays in the three-year lectionary cycle, along with movable occasions, such as Christmas Day, Epiphany, Holy Week, and All Saints' Day. For each lectionary text, preachers will find four brief essays--one each on the theological, pastoral, exegetical, and homiletical challenges of the text. This gives preachers sixteen different approaches to the proclaimation of the Word on any given occasion. The editors and contributors to this series are world-class scholars, pastors, and writers representing a variety of denominations and traditions. And while the twelve volumes of the series will follow the pattern of the Revised Common Lectionary, each volume will contain an index of biblical passages so that nonlectionary preachers, as well as teachers and students, may make use of its contents.
ISBN: 9780664230982Publication Date: 2009-01-27
Feasting on the Word: Preaching the Revised Common Lectionary, Year C, Volume 1 by
With this new lectionary commentary series, Westminster John Knox offers the most extensive resource for preaching on the market today. When complete, the twelve volumes of the series will cover all the Sundays in the three-year lectionary cycle, along with movable occasions, such as Christmas Day, Epiphany, Holy Week, and All Saints' Day. For each lectionary text, preachers will find four brief essays--one each on the theological, pastoral, exegetical, and homiletical challenges of the text. This gives preachers sixteen different approaches to the proclaimation of the Word on any given occasion. The editors and contributors to this series are world-class scholars, pastors, and writers representing a variety of denominations and traditions. And while the twelve volumes of the series will follow the pattern of the Revised Common Lectionary, each volume will contain an index of biblical passages so that nonlectionary preachers, as well as teachers and students, may make use of its contents.
ISBN: 9780664231002Publication Date: 2009-07-29
Feasting on the Word: Lenten Companion: A Thematic Resource for Preaching and Worship by
This new volume in the Feasting on the Word series will serve as an all-in-one pastor's companion for Lent and Holy Week, providing worship materials and sermon preparation tools for both lectionary and nonlectionary preachers. In keeping with other Feasting on the Word resources, four essays provide theological, pastoral, exegetical, and homiletical perspectives on an Old Testament and a Gospel text for each Sunday. A complete order of service is provided for each of the Sundays in Lent, plus Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday, and Easter Sunday. Hymn suggestions, midweek services, and children's sermon suggestions make this an invaluable resource for the season of Lent.
ISBN: 9780664261122Publication Date: 2015-12-31
Feasting on the Word: Advent Companion: A Thematic Resource for Preaching and Worship by
This new volume in the Feasting on the Word series provides an alternative to strict lectionary use for Advent, with six thematically-designed services for the four Sunday in Advent, as well as, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Four midweek services provide a supplemental study of John the Baptist to enhance the congregation's Advent experience. The resources in this companion are a combination of material from existing Feasting on the Word volumes as well as newly written material. In keeping with other Feasting on the Word resources, the Advent Companion offers pastors focused resources for sermon preparation along with ready-to-use liturgies for a complete order of worship. All new material including hymn suggestions, Service of Hope and Healing, and children's sermon make this an invaluable resource for the Advent season.
ISBN: 9780664259648Publication Date: 2014-10-24
Feasting on the Word: Guide to Children's Sermons by
Feasting on the Word Guide to Children's Sermons equips church leaders and children's ministry volunteers to deliver children's sermons that are free of gimmicks and simplistic conclusions, that welcome children into the family of faith, and that give a foundation in God's good news for all people. This volume will address the common questions pastors have about the children's sermon, steps on avoiding common pitfalls, suggestions on how to use the children's time in a church following the lectionary, and sample Bible stories for use in the children's time.
ISBN: 0664238149Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Feasting on the Word: Children's Sermons for Year B by
Many pastors are confused about what to say during children's time in churches. Feasting on the Word Children's Sermons for Year B offers practical suggestions for preparing and delivering the children's sermon. After explaining the importance and purpose of the children's sermon, noted Christian educator Carol Wehrheim provides a retelling of each Sunday's Bible story-- based on the Revised Common Lectionary--for the entire church year. In addition, she provides a few stories for special Sundays, including the Jewish Celebration of Purim, the Jewish Celebration of Passover, and Thanksgiving Day. This resource provides pastors and other church leaders with fresh, engaging stories that children will understand and enjoy. Also available: Feasting on the Word Children's Sermons for Year A and Feasting on the Word Children's Sermons for Year C.
ISBN: 9780664261085Publication Date: 2017-09-14
Feasting on the Word: Children's Sermons for Year C by
Many pastors are confused about what to say during children's time in churches. Feasting on the Word Children's Sermons for Year Coffers practical suggestions for preparing and delivering the children's sermon. After explaining the purpose of the children's sermon, noted Christian educator Carol Wehrheim provides a story for each Sunday of the church year based on the Revised Common Lectionary. In addition, a few stories are provided for special moments in the church's life, such as when a mission group is commissioned, church leaders ordained, a death occurs. This resource provides pastors and other church leaders with fresh, engaging stories that children will understand and enjoy.
ISBN: 9780664261092Publication Date: 2015-09-16
Monographs
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Ministry with Persons with Mental Illness and Their Families, Second Edition by
Those who are afflicted as well as those who are adversely affected by mental illness often live lives of "quiet desperation" without recourse to appropriate assistance. Most caregivers confronted with these illnesses in the work of ministry have had no training or accurate information about mental illnesses, so frequently they do nothing, resulting in further harm and damage. Others may operate out of a theological system that does not adequately account for the nature, severity, or treatment of these illnesses. In Ministry with Persons with Mental Illness and Their Families, Second Edition, psychiatrists and pastoral theologians come together in an interdisciplinary, collaborative effort to ensure accuracy of information concerning the medical dimensions of mental illness, interpret these illnesses from a faith perspective, and make suggestions relative to effective ministry. Readers will learn how science and a faith tradition can not only co-exist but work in tandem to alleviate the pain of the afflicted and affected.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BV4461 .M56 2012 (1st ed. Also available as eBook: https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt22nm9z4)ISBN: 9781506457833Publication Date: 2019-12-03
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Intergenerational Christian Formation by
"One generation commends your works to another; they tell of your mighty acts." --Psalm 145:4 Most churches and faith communities segment their ministries by age and generation. In some congregations, people may never interact with those of other ages. But it was not always so. Throughout biblical tradition and the majority of history, communities of faith included people of all ages together in corporate worship, education, and ministry. The church was not just multigenerational; it was intergenerational, with the whole church together as one family and people of all ages learning from one another in common life. The process of becoming Christlike does not happen alone, and intergenerational faith communities are designed for Christian formation. All generations are gifted parts of the body, and churches need all the parts. In this comprehensive text, Holly Allen, Christine Lawton, and Cory Seibel offer a complete framework for intentional intergenerational Christian formation. They provide the theoretical foundations for intergenerationality, showing how learning and spiritual formation are better accomplished through intergenerational contexts. Then the authors give concrete guidance for intergenerational praxis on how worship, learning, community, and service can all be achieved intergenerationally. Case studies of intergenerational congregations provide models for how a culture of intergenerationality can be created in local churches. This second edition has been revised and updated throughout with new empirical research, intergenerational spiritual practices, and Gen Z realities, with fresh stories of intergenerational formation both in the US and around the world. Discover the riches of intergenerational ministry, and let all generations commend the works of God to one another.
ISBN: 9781514001431Publication Date: 2023-06-13
Praying with the Senses: Contemporary Eastern Orthodox Spirituality in Practice by
"These essays advance the understanding of Eastern Orthodox spiritual practices from a religious studies perspective."--Reading Religion How do people experience spirituality through what they see, hear, touch, and smell? In this book, Sonja Luehrmann and an international group of scholars assess how sensory experience shapes prayer and ritual practice among Eastern Orthodox Christians. Prayer, even when performed privately, is considered as a shared experience and act that links individuals and personal beliefs with a broader, institutional, or imagined faith community. It engages with material, visual, and aural culture including icons, relics, candles, pilgrimage, bells, and architectural spaces. Whether touching upon the use of icons in the age of digital and electronic media, the impact of Facebook on prayer in Ethiopia, or the implications of praying using recordings, amplifiers, and loudspeakers, these timely essays present a sophisticated overview of the history of Eastern Orthodox Christianities. Taken as a whole they reveal prayer as a dynamic phenomenon in the devotional and ritual lives of Eastern Orthodox believers across Eastern Europe, the Middle East, North Africa, and South Asia. "Precisely by looking at so varied a group of locations home to Orthodox practice, this book conveys the fragility―and durability―of traditional religion in a postmodern, secular age."--Nadieszda Kizenko, author of A Prodigal Saint: Father John of Kronstadt and the Russian People
ISBN: 9780253031679Publication Date: 2017-12-15
