Secondary Sources II: Church History Dictionaries, Encyclopedias Grouped by Time Periods/Geography
Also see the Secondary Sources I page
I. HISTORY OF SAINTS:
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints by
From the famous to the obscure, this book provides concise accounts of the lives, cults, and artistic associations of over 1,300 saints. Fully revised and updated for this new edition, it includes new entries on a number of recently canonized saints and a new appendix on patronages,confirming the work's reputation as the standard one-volume work available in English.'an essential reference work for anyone interested in the subject,'Daily Telegraph'this delightful array of the good and the incredible is the sort of thing that gives hagiography a good name.'The Times'he breathes life into his scholarship and has produced a dictionary which makes compulsive reading.'Tablet'Even those who do not believe in the saints ... will be able to enjoy and to profit from this splendid book.'The Economist'the usual Oxford Dictionary qualities of authority, succinct wit and an eye for the anecdotal and the bizarre.'Country Life'excellent and readable ... A holy dip that's much more pleasant than baptism.'Guardian
ISBN: 0192800582Publication Date: 1998-01-08
Favourite Patron Saints by
This book is a selection of saints presented chronologically and as Patrons. The proportion of women to men is deliberately higher than usual and the aim is-in accordance with Pope John Paul's intentions-to produce a worldwide spread of saints. Lesser-known figures that did remarkable things feature amongst some of the best-known saints. Although legends are mentioned, in true Butler's tradition, emphasis is always on historical fact. Entries are limited to canonised saints. Emblems or attributes are described where relevant and there are touches of humor where appropriate. The short introduction concentrates on the historical development of canonisation and draws some social implications. At the head of each page the patronage of the saint in question is given: for example medicine, taking exams, music, hunting, architects, and blind people. There is a saint for almost every chosen path of life and human predicament. On each page there is a decoration or illustration. The book ends with a simple glossary.
ISBN: 9780860124108Publication Date: 2005-12-07
II. EARLY TO 500 CE:
Who's Who in the Ancient near East by
What do we know of the real Nebuchadnezzar? Was there an historical precedent for the mythical Gilgamesh? Who were the Hittites? When did Isaiah preach? How did Jezebel get her reputation? These and many more questions are answered in this fascinating survey of the people who inhabited the Near East between the twenty-fifth and the second centuries BC. From Palestine to Iran and from Alexander the Great to Zechariah, Who's Who in the Ancient Near East presents a unique and comprehensive reference guide for all those with an interest in the ancient history of the area. A comprehensive glossary, chronological charts, maps and bibliographical information complement the biographical entries.
ISBN: 0203065816Publication Date: 2002-01-31
Who's Who in the Greek World by
Was there such a person as Homer? Who were the key figures in the first democracy of the Western World? Who is the father of tragedy? Who is the father of history? Of all the world's ancient civilisations, it is perhaps the Ancient Greece that has the strongest hold over the modern imagination. The history, philosophy and literature continue to intrigue and enthral. Now John Hazel has compiled the definitive biographical guide to the Greek and Hellenistic world from 750 BC to the end of the Roman Empire. The lives of Alexander the Great, Socrates and Plato are opened up, but so too are those of lesser-known figures: Bacchylides the lyric poet; Chares the general; and the traitor Ephialtes, giving a thorough and fascinating overview of life in Ancient Greece.
ISBN: 0415124972Publication Date: 1999-12-28
Who's Who in the Roman World by
Who's Who in the Roman World is a wide-ranging biographical survey of one of the greatest civilizations in history. Covering a period from the 5th century BC to AD 364, this is an authoritative and hugely enjoyable guide to an era which continues to fascinate today. The figures included come from all walks of Roman life and include some of history's most famous - not to mention infamous - figures as well as hitherto little-known, but no less fascinating, characters. These include : * the notorious emperors - Caligula; Nero; Elagabalus; Commodus * the great poets, philosophers and historians - Virgil; Tacitus; Seneca; Ovid * the brilliant politicians and soldiers - Hannibal; Scipio; Caesar; Mark Antony; Constantine * noteworthy citizens - Acte, mistress of Nero; Catiline, the revolutionary; Spartacus, champion of the slaves; Gaius Verres, the corrupt governor of Sicily. The inclusion of cross-referencing, a glossary of terms, select bibliographies, maps, genealogies and an author's preface complete what is at once a superb reference resource and an enormously entertaining read.
ISBN: 9780415224109Publication Date: 2001-02-28
III. MIDDLE AGES - MEDIEVAL HISTORY (APPROX. 500-1300 CE):
The Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300 by
Beginning in 500 with the fusion of classical, Christian, and Germanic cultures and ending in 1300 with a Europe united by a desire for growth, knowledge, and change, this volume provides basic information on the significant cultural figures of the Middle Ages. It includes over 400 people whose contributions in literature, religion, philosophy, education, or politics influenced the development and culture of the Medieval world. While focusing on Western European figures, the book does not neglect those from Byzantium, Baghdad, and the Arab world who also contributed to the politics, religion, and culture of Western Europe. Europe underwent fundamental changes during the Middle Ages. It changed from a preliterate to a literate society. Cities became a vital part of the economy, culture, and social structure. The poor and serfs went to the cities. The devout joined monastic orders. Christianity spread throughout Europe, while a man was born in Mecca who would change the shape of the religious map. Islam spread throughout the Holy Land. Christian piety led to the Crusades. This book provides a convenient guide to those who helped shape these movements and counter-movements during this era that would pave the way for the Renaissance.
ISBN: 0313308179Publication Date: 2002-05-30- Historical Dictionary of Late Medieval England, 1272-1485 by
Providing the chronological setting for many of Shakespeare's plays, various swashbuckling novels and Hollywood films, late Medieval England is superficially well known. Yet its true complexity remains elusive, locked in the covers of specialized monographs and journal articles. Covering political, military, religious and constitutional subjects as well as social and economic topics, this work is a useful resource for undergraduate and graduate students, scholars and educated laymen.; Rightly characterized as an age of crisis, the 14th century saw the Hundred Years War, the Black Death, the Peasants' Revolt of 1381, the Avignon Papacy, and the Great Schism of the Western Church. All placed great stresses on English society, aggravating old problems and creating new ones. The entries in this book synthesize recent scholarship on these and other historical events.
ISBN: 9780313011368Publication Date: 2002-03-30
- The A to Z of the Crusades by
During the late 11th through the early 14th centuries at least seven major expeditions were made between Western Europe and the Holy Land with the goal of ending Muslim control of Jerusalem. Ultimately the crusaders were driven out, but not before a cultural exchange had taken place that had an immense impact on Western Europe and an equally enormous, albeit less positive, impact on Arabs and the Islamic world. Although the crusades occurred many centuries ago, echoes still resound through the current clashes of nations and ideologies, kidnappings for ransom, assassinations, and the declaring of "jihad"--all making the crusades an eminently timely subject. This one-volume overview provides an accessible reference work for scholars, students, and general readers on the period with numerous entries on key persons, places, events, battles and sieges, use of weapons and armor, and the deeper issues of the political and cultural background. Complete with a detailed chronology and a bibliography, this work allows readers to learn how Europe was changed forever by these battles with Islam.
ISBN: 9780810868151Publication Date: 2009-07-24
- Women in the Middle Ages by
The experiences of women in the Middle Ages have been receiving growing amounts of attention, and we are only now beginning to appreciate the full extent of their contributions. Women significantly shaped medieval political, economic, and cultural life as rulers, religious leaders, wives, patrons, teachers, healers, merchants, warriors, and agricultural laborers. They also produced enduring works in historiography, literature, music, and the visual arts. Comprehensive in scope, meticulous in scholarship, and accessible in style to general readers and specialists alike, this encyclopedia offers full coverage of the myriad roles, experiences, and contributions of women in the medieval world. Written by leading scholars in a variety of fields, Women in the Middle Ages offers more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries that conclude with extensive bibliographies of both primary and secondary sources. Entries cover people and topics ranging from the third to the fifteenth centuries, and treat well-known figures, more recently discovered or re-evaluated figures, and much more. Medieval women in the principal stages of life, both mortal and spiritual, are also covered in entries on childhood, virginity, marriage, widowhood, penitentials, hagiography, and relics. This illustrated encyclopedia also includes a general bibliography, index, and guide to related topics.
ISBN: 9780313330162Publication Date: 2004-12-30
IV. RENAISSANCE, REFORMATION AND COUNTER-REFORMATION (APPROX. 1300-1600s CE)
Doing Theology with the Reformers by
The Reformation was a time of tremendous upheaval, renewal, and vitality in the life of the church. The challenge to maintain and develop faithful Christian belief and practice in the midst of great disruption was reflected in the theology of the sixteenth century. In this volume, which serves as a companion to IVP Academic's Reformation Commentary on Scripture, theologian and church historian Gerald L. Bray immerses readers in the world of Reformation theology. He introduces the range of theological debates as Catholics and Protestants from a diversity of traditions--Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, and Anabaptist--disputed the essentials of the faith, from the authority of Scripture and the nature of salvation to the definition of the church, the efficacy of the sacraments, and the place of good works in the Christian life. Readers will find that understanding how the Reformers engaged in the theological discipline can aid us in doing theology today.
ISBN: 9780830852512Publication Date: 2019-07-16- Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by
Authoritative companion to the Renaissance, covering not only Italy but developments in the arts, sciences, and ideas across Europe.
ISBN: 9781859865446Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by
In 1517, Martin Luther's legendary Ninety-five Theses set in motion a chain of events that fundamentally altered European history. The resulting Reformation of the sixteenth century proved to be one of the most important and far-reaching phenomena of an era marked by dramatic religious and social upheaval. A critical chapter in the history of Christian thought, the movement provoked political, social, and cultural transformations that profoundly changed the Western world. The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritative reference available on early modern European society as a whole. The Encyclopedia is a unique compendium of contemporary scholarship focusing on the complete range of religious and social changes wrought by the Reformation-- including not only issues of church polity and theology but also related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, and literature. It is an unparalleled source of information on the personalities and events of the era, with broad coverage ranging from biographies to extensive treatments of topics such as Lutheranism, women, law, the Augsburg Confession, music, the Holy Roman Empire, peasants, the Bible, persecution, and literacy. Offering exhaustive interdisciplinary and international coverage of all aspects of the Reformation, this is the ultimate reference on the subject. Transcending the bounds of denominational encyclopedias and dictionaries of Reformation history currently available, it offers the only comprehensive picture of western Europe and the British Isles, along with southern Europe, Scandinavia, and east-central Europe in the early modern period. It is the first source scholars, students, and general readers in any discipline will reach for when studying the Reformation. This is a four-volume set.
ISBN: 0195064933Publication Date: 1996-02-29- Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620 by
Covering the period comprising the Renaissance and Reformation, this volume introduces a unique set of interdisciplinary biographical dictionaries providing basic information on the people who have contributed significantly to the culture of Western civilization. Unlike general dictionaries which focus on political and military figures, this book covers such figures as the religious leaders who contributed to the Reformation, scientists who paved the way for a new view of the universe, and Renaissance painters, sculptors, and architects, as well as writers, musicians, and scholars. While the great personalities are included--Michelangelo, Shakespeare, Galileo--the volume covers lesser known figures as well--the Muslim scholar Leo Africanus, the Flemish geographer-astronomer Gemma Frisius, the English travel writer Thomas Coryate. Although many of the subjects also had political influence, the entries are written to highlight their individual cultural achievement. An exciting, tumultuous, and chaotic age, the years from 1500 to 1620 saw increasing discontent with Catholicism and the beginning of Protestantism with Luther's 95 theses, great strides in the development of the printing press and a resulting increase in literacy, the humanist movement with its emphasis on the arts of antiquity, a proliferation of literature and art inspired by but moving beyond classical forms, and conflict between the triumph of Renaissance culture and the theologians of the Protestant Reformation. The resulting cultural production was astounding. This volume covers those who contributed to the fields of art and architecture, music, philosophy, religion, political and social thought, science, mathematics, literature, history, and education. With over 350 entries written by 72 scholars, the book provides a good basic resource on an exciting age.
ISBN: 0313305749Publication Date: 2000-10-30
Reformation and Counter-Reformation by
The Protestant Reformation of the 16th century has traditionally been viewed as marking the onset of modernity in Europe. It finally broke up the federal Christendom of the middle ages, under the leadership of the papacy and substituted for it a continent of autonomous and national states, independent of Rome. The Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation provides a comprehensive account of two chains of events--the Protestant Reformation and the Catholic Counter-Reformation--that have left an enduring imprint on Europe, America, and the world at large. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries on persons, places, countries, institutions, doctrines, ideas, and events.
ISBN: 9780810858152Publication Date: 2010-04-30
V. BRITISH HISTORY:
- Dictionary of British History by
This text covers the history of Britain from Roman times to the post-devolution era. Also covered is the history of Britain's overseas territories under British rule, and the histories of Scotland, Wales and Ireland. Succint and unpedantic, yet fully authoritative, the dictionary covers all aspects of British history: including battles such as Hastings, Pinkie and Marston Moor; political and social groups such as Whigs, Tories, Whiteboys, and Luddites; legislation such as the Corn Laws and the Reform Acts; significant events from the Synod of Whitby to the Good Friday Agreement; and biographies of men and women from Boudicca and Alfred to Gladstone and Tony Blair.
ISBN: 9780007128068Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (online resource) by
Tens of thousands of biographies and tens of millions of words record the lives of the men and women who shaped all aspects of British history. All walks of life are represented, new fields greatly increased alongside more traditional areas. A new focus gives extended coverage to the regions, Britons abroad and former colonies.
ISBN: 9780198614128
Historical Dictionary of the Holiness Movement by
It is much harder to define a religious movement than it is to define a religion or denomination. That applies especially when that movement almost defies definition as the Holiness Movement does. The Holiness Movement is a Methodist religious renewal movement that has over 12 million adherents worldwide. Perhaps the most familiar public manifestation of the holiness movement has been its urban holiness missions, and the Salvation Army--noted for its service ministries among poor and people suffering the dislocations that accompany war and disaster--is the most notable example. In the second edition of the Historical Dictionary of the Holiness Movement, important new developments in the Holiness Movement--such as the widely discussed "Holiness Manifesto"--are thoroughly discussed, and the content has also been expanded to include information on figures from Asia and Africa to reflect the continued growth of the Holiness Movement. With a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries, this reference has information that cannot be found elsewhere.
ISBN: 9780810858329Publication Date: 2009-08-03
Historical Dictionary of the Salvation Army by
With more than 1,500,000 members and adherents in 109 countries, there is hardly anyone nowadays who is not familiar with the Salvation Army. And while many have been directly affected by its activities in health, relief, and community service, it is rare that one knows much about this unique Christian movement, which was founded in London in 1865 by William Booth--its first "General"--and has continued growing ever since. Whether merely curious, impressed by its work, or among its members, the Historical Dictionary of the Salvation Army provides a wealth of information for those who want to know more. This excellent source on all varieties of aspects related to the Salvation Army--its history, organization, structure, beliefs, and activities around the world--sums them all up in a broad introduction. It then presents the information in greater detail in hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries, while nearly a century-and-a-half of history is traced in the chronology, and further reading is indicated by two extensive bibliographies. This volume, written by more than 150 contributors--all specialists on different aspects and countries--under the direction of Major John G. Merritt, concludes with nine appendixes, including the first-ever published list of the more than 425 men and women who have attained the rank of Commissioner.
ISBN: 0810853442Publication Date: 2006-09-05
VI. AMERICAN HISTORY:
- Hutchinson Dictionary of American History by
Peoples, places, events, movements, terms, and battles.
ISBN: 9781859865330Publication Date: 2006-01-01
- American National Biography (database)Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War by
A gold mine for the historian as well as the Civil War buff, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War offers a concise, comprehensive overview of the major personalities and pivotal events of the war that redefined the American nation. Drawing upon recent research that has moved beyond battles and military campaigns to address the significant roles played by civilians, women, and African Americans, the 250 entries explore the era in all its complexity and unmistakable human drama. Here of course are the major battles and campaigns, ranging from Gettysburg and Shiloh to Sherman's March to the Sea, as well as biographical entries on everyone from Abraham Lincoln and Robert E. Lee to Frederick Douglass, Clara Barton, and Walt Whitman. But the book also features entries on a wealth of other matters--music, photography, religion, economics, foreign affairs, medicine, prisons, legislative landmarks, military terms and weaponry, political events, social reform, women in the war, and much more. In addition, charts, newly commissioned maps, chronologies, and period photographs provide an appealing visual context. Suggestions for further reading at the end of most entries and a guide to more general sources in an appendix introduce the reader to the literature on a specific topic. A list of Civil War museums and historic sites and a representative sampling of Civil War websites also point to resources that can be tailored to individual interests. A quick, convenient, user-friendly guide to all facets of the Civil War, this new updated edition also serves as an invaluable gateway to the rich historical record now available, perfect for virtually anyone who wants to learn more about this tumultuous period in our history.
ISBN: 9780199782017Publication Date: 2011-08-02- The Civil War Era and Reconstruction by
The encyclopedia takes a broad, multidisciplinary approach to the history of the period. It includes general and specific entries on politics and business, labor, industry, agriculture, education and youth, law and legislative affairs, literature, music, the performing and visual arts, health and medicine, science and technology, exploration, life on the Western frontier, family life, slave life, Native American life, women, and more than a hundred influential individuals.
ISBN: 9780765682574Publication Date: 2011-09-15
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Civil War Era Biographies by
Behind the familiar names of the military and political leaders whose names we all know--Lincoln, Davis, Lee, Grant, Sherman, and Jackson, are the people whose lives and hard work defined the Civil War era: abolitionists, slaves, inventors, manufacturers, painters, lawyers, writers, spies, nurses, and preachers. These are the people who helped shape both the war and our ideas about it. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Civil War Era Biographies is a comprehensive collection of articles on roughly 900 individuals from the Civil War era, including people from both the years leading up to the war and the period of Reconstruction that came after. Also included are maps of key battles, a timeline that progresses from President Lincoln's election to the end of the war, and a list of innovations used or developed during the war.
ISBN: 9780415878036Publication Date: 2012-11-07
Dictionary of Contemporary History, 1945 to the Present by
This book is a concise guide to the ideas, events, people and movements that have shaped the world from the end of the Second World War to the present.
ISBN: 0631200169Publication Date: 1999-06-28
Asian American History and Culture: an Encyclopedia by
With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States. "Asian American History and Culture" covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society. In addition to entries on various groups and cultures, the encyclopedia also includes articles on general topics such as parenting and child rearing, assimilation and acculturation, business, education, and literature. More than 100 images round out the set.
ISBN: 9780765680778Publication Date: 2010-02-15
