Old Testament Introductions
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
An Introduction to the Old Testament by
Enter the classroom of one of today's premier biblical interpreters as he shares his infectious love for the Old Testament. This is where you begin the adventure of exploring the Bible's First Testament. Some Old Testament introductions tell you what you could have seen for yourself. They might recount in detail what other scholars have said, and then tell you what you should think about it. But with refreshing directness, John Goldingay outfits you with basic knowledge, points out the main approaches, outlines the primary issues and then sets you loose to explore the terrain for yourself. Traverse the grand tapestry of the Torah. Discern the art and grain of biblical narrative. Listen to the cries, confessions and cadences of the Psalms. Probe the varied textures of wisdom literature. And ponder the prophets in the darkening nightmare of exile and the distant light of hope. More workbook than handbook, this introduction to the Old Testament is rooted in decades of tried and proven teaching. Goldingay displays a robust confidence in the truthfulness of Scripture combined with a refreshing trust in the reader's ability to grapple responsibly with the Old Testament. Even when the text hits you sideways, Goldingay encourages you not to squirm or run, but to grab hold and go deeper. Under his expert guidance the cordon between faith and criticism swings open into theological and spiritual insight.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1194 .G635 2015ISBN: 0830899081Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Reading the Old Testament by
Reading the Old Testament was recognized as a classic almost from its date of publication in 1984. Without in any way diminishing its famed clarity, judiciousness, and theological depth, two prominent scholars, Richard Clifford and Daniel Harrington, have brought the book into the twenty-first century.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1140.3 .B63 2012 (2nd ed.)ISBN: 9780809147809Publication Date: 2012-09-04
PRINT COPY ONLY
The Old Testament by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS1140.3 C662 2018ISBN: 9780190608651Publication Date: 2017-07-03
An Introduction to the Old Testament, Second Edition by Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1140.3 .B78 2012ISBN: 9780664234584Publication Date: 2012-07-12
An Introduction to the Old Testament by Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1140.3 .L66 2007ISBN: 9780310263418Publication Date: 2006-12-03
The Pentateuch by Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS1225.2 .B544 2000ISBN: 0385497881Publication Date: 2000-03-01
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
A Theological Introduction to the Old Testament by
This book has become a standard text in seminary and university classrooms. The purpose of this second edition is to help readers come to a critically informed understanding of the Old Testament as the church's scripture. This book introduces the Old Testament both as a witness of ancient Israel and as a witness to the church and synagogue through the generations of those who have passed these texts on as scripture. The authors of this volume share a commitment to the interpretation of the Old Testament as a central resource for the life of the church today. At the same time, they introduce the Old Testament witness in a manner that honors the importance of biblical scholarship in helping students engage the variety of theological voices within the Old Testament. This second edition gives special attention to deepening and broadening theological interpretations by including, for example, issues related to gender, race, and class. It also includes more detailed maps and charts for student use.
ISBN: 9781426721977Publication Date: 2005 (2nd. ed.)
The Hebrew Bible for Beginners: A Jewish and Christian Introduction by
Jews call the Hebrew Scriptures the "Tanakh" and Christians call them the "Old Testament." It doesn't take long to see that Jews and Christians view the same set of books differently and interpret these scriptures in unique and at times conflicting ways. The Hebrew Bible for Beginners introduces students to the tremendous influence the Hebrew Bible has had on western society for over two millennia and explores the complexities of reading ancient religious literature today. The book also addresses how certain modern critical approaches may initially be alarming, indeed even shocking, to those who have not been exposed to them, but it tackles the conversation in a respectful fashion. Avoiding jargon and convoluted prose, this highly accessible volume provides textboxes, charts, a timeline, a glossary, and regularly includes artistic renderings of biblical scenes to keep lay and beginning readers engaged.
ISBN: 9781426775635Publication Date: 2015-09-15
The IVP Introduction to the Bible by
A concise summary of evangelical thinking on the introductory issues related to Bible study. A basic but rigorous resource to assist readers in their Bible reading. Market/Audience General readers New Christians People engaged in personal Bible study Features and Benefits Everything you need to know to study the Bible well Maps, charts and diagrams Backgrounds, themes and theology, interpretation and application
ISBN: 9780830828289Publication Date: 2007-02-27
Introduction to the Hebrew Bible: The Torah/Pentateuch by
John J. Collins's Introduction to the Hebrew Bible is one of the most popular introductory textbooks in colleges and seminary classrooms. Enriched by decades of classroom teaching, it is aimed explicitly at motivated students, regardless of their previous exposure to the Bible or faith commitments.The third edition is presented in a new and engaging format with new maps and images. An index has been added to the volume for the first time.In order to enhance classroom use, Collins's major text has now been divided into four volumes, one for each major part of the Hebrew Bible. This volume focuses on the Torah/Pentateuch. Here, Collins explores the Near Eastern context and the nature of the pentateuchal narrative and provides helpful insights into Gensis thorugh Deuteronomy.The volume also contains the introduction to Collins's major text and is now available with even more student-friendly features, including charts, maps, photographs, chapter summaries, and bibliographies for further reading.Collins presents the current state of historical, archaeological, and literary understandings of the biblical text and engages the student in questions of significance and interpretation for the contemporary world.
ISBN: 9781506446417Publication Date: 2018-04-15 (3rd ed.)
New Testament Introductions
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Introducing the New Testament: a historical, literary, and theological survey (2nd ed.) by
This lively, engaging introduction to the New Testament is critical yet faith-friendly, lavishly illustrated, and accompanied by a variety of pedagogical aids, including sidebars, maps, tables, charts, diagrams, and suggestions for further reading. The full-color interior features art from around the world that illustrates the New Testament's impact on history and culture. The first edition has been well received (over 60,000 copies sold). This new edition has been thoroughly revised in response to professor feedback and features an updated interior design. It offers expanded coverage of the New Testament world in a new chapter on Jewish backgrounds, features dozens of new works of fine art from around the world, and provides extensive new online material for students and professors available through Baker Academic's Textbook eSources.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2330.3 .P67 2018ISBN: 9780801099601Publication Date: 2018-05-15
PRINT COPY ONLY
The New Testament: A Historical Introduction to the Early Christian Writings by
Featuring vibrant full color throughout, this new edition of Bart Ehrman's highly successful introduction approaches the New Testament from a consistently historical and comparative perspective, emphasizing the rich diversity of the earliest Christian literature. Rather than shying away fromthe critical problems presented by these books, Ehrman addresses the historical and literary challenges they pose, showing why scholars continue to argue over such significant issues as how the books of the New Testament came into being, when they were written (and by whom), what they mean, how theyrelate to contemporary Christian and non-Christian literature, and how they came to be collected into the canon of scripture that we now call the New Testament. Distinctive to this study is its unique focus on the historical, literary, and religious milieux of the Greco-Roman world, including earlyJudaism. As part of its historical orientation, the book also discusses works by other Christian writers who were roughly contemporary with the New Testament, such as the Gospel of Thomas, the Apocalypse of Peter, and the letters of Ignatius. The text is enhanced by maps, timelines, an extensivetext box program, and more than one hundred photos. An accompanying Instructor's Manual contains chapter summaries, discussion questions, and a test bank. An updated Website Study Guide provides chapter summaries, glossary terms, and self-quizzes for students.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS2330.2 .E36 2008ISBN: 0195322592Publication Date: 2007-11-05
An Introduction to the New Testament by
Grasp the message of the New Testament by focusing on the essentials. An Introduction to the New Testament focuses on historical questions dealing with authorship, date, sources, purpose, destination, and so forth, ensuring that the New Testament books will be accurately understood within historical settings. For each New Testament document, the authors also provide a substantial summary of the book's content, discuss the book's theological contribution to the overall canon, and give an account of current studies on the book, including recent literary and social-science approaches to interpretation. This second edition reflects significant revision and expansion from the original, making this highly acclaimed text even more valuable. A new chapter provides a historical survey examining Bible study method through the ages. The chapter on Paul has been expanded to include an analysis of debates on the "new perspective." The discussion of New Testament epistles has been expanded to form a new chapter. This new edition is an ideal textbook for seminary students and will help a new generation better grasp the message of the New Testament.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2330.2 .C34 2005ISBN: 0310238595Publication Date: 2005-08-29
Exploring the New Testament by
David Wenham and Steve Walton have written a clear introduction to the Gospels and Acts with a student-friendly approach, rooted in up-to-date scholarship and actual classroom experience, that offers a comprehensive package to facilitate learning.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2535.3 .E96 2001 (vols. 1&2)/Stamps Stacks (vol. 1)ISBN: 9780830825554Publication Date: 2001-06-25
Introducing the New Testament by Call Number: Stamps Stacks BS2330.2 .D7 2001ISBN: 0800632729Publication Date: 2000-11-08
Introducing the New Testament by
Introducing the New Testament is an outstanding guide to the writings of the New Testament for readers ranging from Bible students to those approaching the Christian Scriptures for the first time. Written by three leading Bible specialists, this book discusses in a clear and balanced way the New Testament's literature, its message, and the issues raised by a careful reading of its pages. Wonderfully readable and well supplied with maps and photographs, this volume is both an ideal textbook for courses covering the New Testament and a superb introduction for general readers wanting authoritative, straight-forward instruction on the writings of the New Testament. Unlike other New Testament introductions that are primarily concerned with historical-critical issues or with what scholars have said, this book gets directly to the business of explaining the New Testament's background, content, and theology. The authors do not presume that readers need to be familiar with scholarly debates about the New Testament, nor do they assume those debates have necessarily raised the most important issues. Instead, this book is aimed at putting the message of the Christian Scriptures back within the reach of general readers. Although informed by the current scholarship in the history, traditions, and literature of the New Testament, this book is primarily designed to induct readers of the New Testament into sensitive appreciation and serious awareness of its major figures and concerns. After explaining the nature of the New Testament and the world in which it was written, the authors thoroughly discuss each of the twenty-seven books of the New Testament. The content and essential message of these ancient works are described in simple but dynamic language that reveals why they continue to inspire and challenge readers today. Separate chapters also explore the types of literature found in the New Testament, the life and teachings of Jesus, Paul's life and world, and the formation of the New Testament canon. In addition, numerous sidebars offer a wealth of fascinating and highly relevant background information that helps modern readers more fully grasp biblical themes. No other work on the New Testament is so accessible and enjoyable to use.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor and Stamps Stacks BS2330.3 .A34 2001ISBN: 0802837174Publication Date: 2001-08-10
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
The New Testament by
This capstone work from widely respected senior evangelical scholar Donald Hagner offers a substantial introduction to the New Testament. Hagner deals with the New Testament both historically and theologically, employing the framework of salvation history. He treats the New Testament as a coherent body of texts and stresses the unity of the New Testament without neglecting its variety. Although the volume covers typical questions of introduction, such as author, date, background, and sources, it focuses primarily on understanding the theological content and meaning of the texts, putting students in a position to understand the origins of Christianity and its canonical writings. Throughout, Hagner delivers balanced conclusions in conversation with classic and current scholarship. The book includes summary tables, diagrams, maps, and extensive bibliographies.
ISBN: 9780801039317Publication Date: 2012-11-15
De-Introducing the New Testament by
In De-Introducing the New Testament, the authors arguefor a renewed commitment to the defamiliarizing power of NewTestament studies and a reclaiming of the discipline as one thatexemplifies the best practices of the humanities. A new approach that asks us to ?defamiliarize? whatwe think we know about the New Testament, articulating themes andquestions about its study that encourage further reflection andengagement Looks behind the traditional ways in which the NT is?introduced? to critically engage the conceptualframework of the field as a whole Provides a critical intervention into several methodologicalimpasses in contemporary NT scholarship Offers an appraisal of the relationship between economics andculture in the production of NT scholarship Written in a style that is clear and concise, ideal for studentreadership
ISBN: 9781405187688Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Bible Backgrounds: Culture and History (Also see Bible Dictionaries/Encyclopedias page)
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
The IVP Bible Background Commentary: Old Testament (4th ed.) by
Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference for 2014 (General Reference)How can we account for the "Book of the Law" suddenly being discovered during Josiah's renovation of the temple (2 Chron 34:14)? We know from Egypt and Mesopotamia that it was common to seal important documents--including theological documents--in the masonry or foundations of a palace or temple in order to inform a future king who might undertake restoration of the building.What might the psalmist have had in mind when praising God for removing our transgressions "as far as the east is from the west" (Ps 103:12)? In an Egyptian hymn to Amun-Re, the deity is praised for his judgment of the guilty. As a result of the god's discernment the guilty are assigned to the east and the righteous to the west.What is meant by God "weighing the heart" (Prov 21:2)? In Egyptian religious tradition we find the notion of the dead being judged before the gods. As the soul is examined, the dead person's heart is weighed in a scale against a feather symbolizing Truth. If the answers are correct and the heart does not outweigh the feather, the soul may enter the realm of everlasting life.The narratives, genealogies, laws, poetry, proverbs and prophecies of the Old Testament are deeply rooted in history. Archaeologists, historians and social scientists have greatly advanced our knowledge of the ancient world of the Bible. When we illuminate the stories of Abraham or David, the imagery of the Psalms or Proverbs, or the prophecies of Isaiah or Jeremiah with this backlight of culture and history, these texts spring to new life.The unique commentary joins The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament in providing historical, social and cultural background for each passage of the Old Testament. From Genesis through Malachi, this single volume gathers and condenses an abundance of specialized knowledge--making it available and accessible to ordinary readers of the Old Testament. Expert scholars John Walton, Victor Matthews and Mark Chavalas have included along with the fruits of their research and collaborationa glossary of historical terms, ancient peoples, texts and inscriptionsmaps and charts of important historical resourcesexpanded explanations of significant background issuesintroductory essays on each book of the Old TestamentThe IVP Bible Background Commentary: Old Testament will enrich your experience of the Old Testament--and your teaching and preaching from Scripture--in a way that no other commentary can do.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor and Stamps Stacks BS1151.2 .W35 2000ISBN: 0830814191Publication Date: 2000-11-2008
The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament (2nd ed.) by
Voted one of Christianity Today's 1995 Books of the Year!Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference for 2014 (New Testament General)This revised edition of the standard reference work in its field has been expanded throughout to now provide even more up-to-date information by Craig Keener, one of the leading New Testament scholars on Jewish, Greek and Roman culture.To understand and apply the Bible well, you need two crucial sources of information. One is the Bible itself. The other is an understanding of the cultural background of the passage you're reading.Only with the background can you grasp the author's original concerns and purposes. This unique commentary provides, in verse-by-verse format, the crucial cultural background you need for responsible--and richer--Bible study. It includes a glossary of cultural terms and important historical figures, maps and charts, up-to-date bibliographies, and introductory essays about cultural background information for each book of the New Testament.Based on decades of in-depth study, this accessible and bestselling commentary is valuable for pastors in sermon preparation, for Sunday-school and other church teachers as they build lessons, for missionaries concerned not to import their own cultural biases into the Bible, for college and seminary students in classroom assignments, and for everyday Bible readers seeking to deepen and enhance their study of Scripture.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS2341.2 .K445 2014ISBN: 9780830824786Publication Date: 2014-01-03
The World of the New Testament: Cultural, Social and Historical Contexts by
This volume addresses the most important issues related to the study of New Testament writings. Two respected senior scholars have brought together a team of distinguished specialists to introduce the Jewish, Hellenistic, and Roman backgrounds necessary for understanding the New Testament and the early church. Contributors include renowned scholars such as Lynn H. Cohick, David A. deSilva, James D. G. Dunn, and Ben Witherington III. The book includes seventy-five photographs, fifteen maps, numerous tables and charts, illustrations, and bibliographies. All students of the New Testament will value this reliable, up-to-date, comprehensive textbook and reference volume on the New Testament world.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks DS122 .W67 2013ISBN: 9780801039621Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Jesus Through Middle Eastern Eyes by
Beginning with Jesus' birth, Ken Bailey leads you on a kaleidoscopic study of Jesus throughout the four Gospels. Bailey examines the life and ministry of Jesus with attention to the Lord's Prayer, the Beatitudes, Jesus' relationship to women, and especially Jesus' parables. Through it all, Bailey employs his trademark expertise as a master of Middle Eastern culture to lead you into a deeper understanding of the person and significance of Jesus within his own cultural context. With a sure but gentle hand, Bailey lifts away the obscuring layers of modern Western interpretation to reveal Jesus in the light of his actual historical and cultural setting.This entirely new material from the pen of Ken Bailey is a must-have for any student of the New Testament. If you have benefited from Bailey's work over the years, this book will be a welcome and indispensable addition to your library. If you are unfamiliar with Bailey's work, this book will introduce you to a very old yet entirely new way of understanding Jesus.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BT299.3 .B35 2008ISBN: 9780830825684Publication Date: 2008-01-22
PRINT COPY ONLY
Jesús a Través de Los Ojos del Medio Oriente by Call Number: Stamps Stacks BT299.3 .B3518 2012ISBN: 9781602557741Publication Date: 2012-07-02
Life in Biblical Israel by
This special-edition volume of the Library of Ancient Israel, based on the latest research, presents a vivid description of the world of Ancient Israel, covering such topics as domestic life, the means of existence, cultural expression, and religious practices. With over 175 full-color pictures and illustrations, Life in Biblical Israelopens the door to everyday life in biblical Israel for all readers. This volume is perfect for classrooms, coffee tables, and personal use. Volumes in the Library of Ancient Israel draw on multiple disciplines--such as archaeology, anthropology, sociology, linguistics, and literary criticism--to illuminate the everyday realities and social subtleties these ancient cultures experienced. This series employs sophisticated methods resulting in original contributions that depict the reality of the people behind the Hebrew Bible and interprets these insights for a wide variety of readers.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks DS112 .K48 2001ISBN: 0664221483Publication Date: 2002-01-01
T&T Clark Handbook to Early Christian Meals in the Greco-Roman World by
This handbook situates early Christian meals in their broader context, with a focus on the core topics that aid understanding of Greco-Roman meal practice, and how this relates to Christian origins. In addition to looking at the broader Hellenistic context, the contributors explain the unique nature of Christian meals, and what they reveal about early Christian communities and the development of Christian identity. Beginning with Hellenistic documents and authors before moving on to the New Testament material itself, according to genre - Gospels, Acts, Letters, Apocalyptic Literature - the handbook culminates with a section on the wider resources that describe daily life in the period, such as medical documents and inscriptions. The literary, historical, theological and philosophical aspects of these resources are also considered, including such aspects as the role of gender during meals; issues of monotheism and polytheism that arise from the structure of the meal; how sacrifice is understood in different meal practices; power dynamics during the meal and issues of inclusion and exclusion at meals.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BR115.N87 T23 2019ISBN: 9780567666406Publication Date: 2019-02-21
The Carta Bible Atlas by
271 two-color maps and text depicting religious, political, military, and economic events of the Old Testament, Second Temple, Intertestamental, New Testament, and Early Church periods in Bible history. Illuminating maps and text are illustrations of statues and likenesses, tools and weapons, coins and artifacts. In addition, there are valuable appendices, a detailed comparative chronology of early civilizations, a key to the maps according to the books of the Bible, and a new index to persons, making this work the most comprehensive Bible atlas available. Book jacket.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor and Stacks G2230 .A2 2002ISBN: 9652204870Publication Date: 2004-01-01
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Ancient Israel by
The Companion to Ancient Israel offers an innovative overview of ancient Israelite culture and history, richly informed by a variety of approaches and fields. Distinguished scholars provide original contributions that explore the tradition in all its complexity, multiplicity and diversity. A methodologically sophisticated overview of ancient Israelite culture that provides insights into political and social history, culture, and methodology Explores what we can say about the cultures and history of the people of Israel and Judah, but also investigates how we know what we know Presents fresh insights, richly informed by a variety of approaches and fields Delves into 'religion as lived,' an approach that asks about the everyday lives of ordinary people and the material cultures that they construct and experience Each essay is an original contribution to the subject
ISBN: 9780470656778Publication Date: 2016-01-26
The World Around the Old Testament by
Leading Experts Introduce the People and Contexts of the Old Testament What people groups interacted with ancient Israel? Who were the Hurrians and why do they matter? What do we know about the Philistines, the Egyptians, the Amorites, the Assyrians, the Babylonians, and others? In this up-to-date volume, leading experts introduce the peoples and places of the world around the Old Testament, providing students with a fresh exploration of the ancient Near East. The contributors offer comprehensive orientations to the main cultures and people groups that surrounded ancient Israel in the wider ancient Near East, including not only Mesopotamia and the northern Levant but also Egypt, Arabia, and Greece. They also explore the contributions of each people group or culture to our understanding of the Hebrew Scriptures. This supplementary text is organized by geographic region, making it especially suitable for the classroom and useful in a variety of Old Testament courses. Approximately eighty-five illustrative items are included throughout the book.
ISBN: 9780801039188Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Bible Companions
BOTH ONLINE (DATABASE) AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - ONLINE REQUIRES LOGIN
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by
The Bible has had an immeasurable influence on Western culture, touching on virtually every aspect of our lives. It is one of the great wellsprings of Western religious, ethical, and philosophical traditions. It has been an endless source of inspiration to artists, from classic works such asMichaelangelo's Last Judgment, Handel's Messiah, or Milton's Paradise Lost, to modern works such as Thomas Mann's Joseph and His Brothers or Martin Scorsese's controversial Last Temptation of Christ. For countless generations, it has been a comfort in suffering, a place to reflect on the mysteriesof birth, death, and immortality. Its stories and characters are an integral part of the repertoire of every educated adult, forming an enduring bond that spans thousands of years and embraces a vast community of believers and nonbelievers.The Oxford Companion to the Bible provides an authoritative one-volume reference to the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the Bible. Written by more than 250 scholars from some 20 nations and embracing a wide variety of perspectives, theCompanion offers over seven hundred entries, ranging from brief identifications--who is Dives? where is Pisgah?--to extensive interpretive essays on topics such as the influence of the Bible on music or law.Ranging far beyond the scope of a traditional Bible dictionary, the Companion features, in addition to its many informative, factual entries, an abundance of interpretive essays. Here are extended entries on religious concepts from immortality, sin, and grace, to baptism, ethics, and the HolySpirit. The contributors also explore biblical views of modern issues such as homosexuality, marriage, and anti-Semitism, and the impact of the Bible on the secular world (including a four-part article on the Bible's influence on literature).Of course, the Companion can also serve as a handy reference, the first place to turn to find factual information on the Bible. Readers will find fascinating, informative articles on all the books of the Bible--including the Apocrypha and many other ancient texts, such as the Dead Sea Scrolls,Pseudepigrapha, and the Mishrah. Virtually every figure who walked across the biblical stage is identified here, ranging from Rebekah, Rachel, and Mary, to Joseph, Barabbas, and Jesus. The Companion also offers entries that shed light on daily life in ancient Israel and the earliest Christiancommunities, with fascinating articles on feasts and festivals, clothing, medicine, units of time, houses, and furniture. Finally, there are twenty-eight pages of full-color maps, providing an accurate, detailed portrait of the biblical world.A vast compendium of information related to scriptures, here is an ideal complement to the Bible, an essential volume for every home and library, the first place to turn for information on the central book of Western culture.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .M434 1993 and Stamps Reserves BS440 .M434 1993ISBN: 9780195046458Publication Date: 1993-10-14
The Cambridge Companion to the Bible by
The Cambridge Companion to the Bible, 2nd edition provides in-depth data and analysis of the production and reception of the canonical writings of the Hebrew Bible and New Testament, and also of the apocryphal works produced by Jewish and Christian writers. Unique among single-volume introductions, this book focuses on the ever-changing social and cultural contexts in which the biblical authors and their original readers lived. The authors of the first edition were chosen for their internationally recognized expertise in their respective fields: the history and literature of Israel; postbiblical Judaism; biblical archaeology; and the origins and early literature of Christianity. In this second edition, all chapters have been updated and thoroughly revised,under the direction of a new volume editor, Bruce D. Chilton. More than 22 new maps, 90 new photographs and a full-color section help illustrate the book.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS475.3 .C26 2008ISBN: 0521869978Publication Date: 2007-11-19
Get Help From a Theological Librarian
The librarians at the Stamps Theological Library aim to monitor this Stamps chat service a minimum of 30 hours per week (Monday - Friday; see our research help hours for details). If we are not available via chat, you will see a link to submit your question to us so that we can follow up with you via email.