Select Reference Resources for Senior Seminar Topics
Several of the books here are very useful for providing introductory and overview articles or chapters on locating moral issues in Scripture, providing historical theological perspectives and/or suggesting ways to bring biblical theology to bear on, or note how they are being addressed regarding, identified classical and contemporary issues: What values and issues are present? How have they been or might they be seen through the lens of Scripture and theological traditions? What Scripture might be cited to support positional statements regarding these issues?
BOTH EBOOK AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK REQUIRES LOGIN
Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics by
This one-stop reference book on the vital relationship between Scripture and ethics offers needed orientation and perspective for students, pastors, and scholars. Written to respond to the movement among biblical scholars and ethicists to recover the Bible for moral formation, it is the best reference work available on the intersection of these two fields. The volume shows how Christian Scripture and Christian ethics are necessarily intertwined and offers up-to-date treatment of five hundred biblical, traditional, and contemporary topics, ranging from adultery, bioethics, and Colossians to vegetarianism, work, and Zephaniah. The stellar ecumenical list of contributors consists of more than two hundred leading scholars from the fields of biblical studies and ethics, including Darrell Bock, David Gushee, Amy Laura Hall, Daniel Harrington, Dennis Olson, Christine Pohl, Glen Stassen, and Max Stackhouse.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.E84 D53 2011ISBN: 9780801034060Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics (OEBE) explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through extensive analytical and constructive treatments of a wide range of topics by leading biblical scholars and ethicists. Combiningtraditional theoretical frameworks, such as comparative religion, with more recent approaches (postmodern, queer and gender theory, etc.), the OEBE provides a landmark reference overview of everything from ethics in books of the Bible to modern movements and hot-button issues, such as capitalpunishment, bioethics, and abortion.The two-volume Encyclopedia contains over 180 entries ranging in length from 1,000 to 7,000 words. With bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, each entry provides a thorough introduction to the topic that will be of use to scholars and students alike. Given its contemporaryresonance and detailed summary of current scholarship, the OEBE offers a comprehensive, interdisciplinary starting point for research.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.E84 O94 2014 (Vols. 1-2)ISBN: 9780199829910Publication Date: 2014-12-01
The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics (2nd ed.) by
Featuring updates, revisions, and new essays from various scholars within the Christian tradition, The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics, Second Edition reveals how Christian worship is the force that shapes the moral life of Christians. Features new essays on class, race, disability, gender, peace, and the virtues Includes a number of revised essays and a range of new authors The innovative and influential approach organizes ethical themes around the shape of Christian worship The original edition is the most successful to-date in the Companions to Religion series
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BJ1251 .B54 2004 (1st ed.)ISBN: 9781444331349Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies by
As the first major encyclopedia of its kind, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies (OEBGS) is the go-to source for scholars and students undertaking original research in the field. Extending the work of nineteenth and twentieth century feminist scholarship and more recentqueer studies, the Encyclopedia seeks to advance the scholarly conversation by systematically exploring the ways in which gender is constructed in the diverse texts, cultures, and readers that constitute "the world of the Bible." With contributions from leading scholars in gender and biblicalstudies as well as contemporary gender theorists, classicists, archaeologists, and ancient historians, this comprehensive reference work reflects the diverse and interdisciplinary nature of the field and traces both historical and modern conceptions of gender and sexuality in the Bible.The two-volume Encyclopedia contains more than 160 entries ranging in length from 1,000 to 10,000 words. Each entry includes bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, as well as a topical outline and index to aid in research. The OEBGS builds upon the pioneering work ofbiblically focused gender theorists to help guide and encourage further gendered discussions of the Bible.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS680.W7 O94 2014 (Vols. 1-2)ISBN: 9780199836994Publication Date: 2014-11-14
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BR95 .E8913 1999 v.1-v.5ISBN: 9780802824141Publication Date: 2000-11-01
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by
The New Dictionary of Biblical Theology will quickly establish itself as an essential building block of every library of basic biblical reference books. Building on its companion volumes, the New Bible Dictionary and New Bible Commentary, this work takes readers to a higher vantage point where they can view the thematic terrain of the Bible in its canonical wholeness. In addition, it fills the interpretive space between those volumes and the New Dictionary of Theology. At the heart of this work is an A-to-Z encyclopedia of over 200 key biblical-theological themes such as atonement, creation, eschatology, Israel, Jesus Christ, the kingdom of God, redemption, suffering, wisdom and worship. Students and communicators of the Bible will be well served by articles exploring the theology of each biblical book. And for those interested in the wider discipline of biblical theology, major articles explore foundational issues such as the history of biblical theology, the challenges raised against biblical theology, and the unity and diversity of Scripture. Over 120 contributors drawn from the front ranks of biblical scholarship in the English-speaking world make the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology a work of distinction and a benchmark of evangelical biblical theology at the turn of the twenty-first century. Bibliographies round out all articles, directing readers to research trails leading out of the Dictionary and into crucial studies on every subject. Cross-references throughout send readers through the varied maze of reading pathways, maximizing the usefulness of this volume. Comprehensive, authoritative and easily accessible, the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology is certain to establish itself as an essential resource for students of the Bible and theology.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .N437 2000ISBN: 9780830814381Publication Date: 2000-11-07
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy (3rd ed.) by
This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields. Key features of this third edition: * 500 new entries covering Eastern as well as Western philosophy, and covering individual countries such as China, France, Germany, Italy, and Spain * Increased coverage of such growing fields as ethics and philosophy of mind * More than 100 new intellectual portraits of leading contemporary thinkers * Wider coverage of Continental philosophy * Dozens of new technical concepts in cognitive science and other areas * Enhanced cross-referencing to add context and increase understanding * Expansions in both text and index to facilitate research and browsing
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor B41 .C35 1995 (1st ed.)ISBN: 9781139057509Publication Date: 2015-08-05
PRINT COPY ONLY
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion by
The Encyclopedia of Science and Religion addresses the interactions, contradictions and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The two-volume set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs. In addition, phenomena such as the Church of Scientology are also studied, along with more traditional issues, such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BL240.3 .E53 2003 (v.1-v.2)ISBN: 9780028657042Publication Date: 2003-04-11
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender by
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender presents an unrivalled overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. These topics are not merely contentious and pervasive: they have escalated in importance within theology. Theologians increasingly agree that even the verydoctrine of God cannot be contemplated without a prior grappling with each. Featuring 41 newly-commissioned essays, written by some of the foremost scholars in the discipline, this authoritative collection presents and develops the latest thinking in these areas.Divided into eight thematic sections, the Handbook explores: methodological approaches; contributions from neighbouring disciplines; sexuality and gender in the Bible, and in the Christian tradition; controversies within the churches, and within four of the non-Christian faiths; and key concepts andissues. The final, extended section considers theology in relation to married people and families; gay and lesbian people; bisexual people; intersex and transgender people; disabled people; and to friends. This volume is an essential reference for students and scholars, which will also stimulatefurther research.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BT708 .O94 2015ISBN: 9780199664153Publication Date: 2014-12-30
The Oxford Handbook of Public Health Ethics by
Natural disasters and cholera outbreaks. Ebola, SARS, and concerns over pandemic flu. HIV and AIDS. E. coli outbreaks from contaminated produce and fast foods. Threats of bioterrorism. Contamination of compounded drugs. Vaccination refusals and outbreaks of preventable diseases. These are justsome of the headlines from the last 30-plus years highlighting the essential roles and responsibilities of public health, all of which come with ethical issues and the responsibilities they create.Public health has achieved extraordinary successes. And yet these successes also bring with them ethical tension. Not all public health successes are equally distributed in the population; extraordinary health disparities between rich and poor still exist. The most successful public health programssometimes rely on policies that, while improving public health conditions, also limit individual rights. Public health practitioners and policymakers face these and other questions of ethics routinely in their work, and they must navigate their sometimes competing responsibilities to the health ofthe public with other important societal values such as privacy, autonomy, and prevailing cultural norms.This Oxford Handbook provides a sweeping and comprehensive review of the current state of public health ethics, addressing these and numerous other questions. Taking account of the wide range of topics under the umbrella of public health and the ethical issues raised by them, this volume isorganized into fifteen sections. It begins with two sections that discuss the conceptual foundations, ethical tensions, and ethical frameworks of and for public health and how public health does its work. The thirteen sections that follow examine the application of public health ethicsconsiderations and approaches across a broad range of public health topics. While chapters are organized into topical sections, each chapter is designed to serve as a standalone contribution. The book includes 73 chapters covering many topics from varying perspectives, a recognition of the diversityof the issues that define public health ethics in the U.S. and globally. This Handbook is an authoritative and indispensable guide to the state of public health ethics today.
Call Number: DARLING Textbook Collection, Rotunda RA427.25 .O94 2019ISBN: 9780190245191Publication Date: 2019-08-20
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS440 .N443 2006 (v.1-v.5)ISBN: 9780687054275Publication Date: 2006-12-01From the publisher: "In each definition, authors strive to incorporate as many biblical instances of the term as possible in the given amount of space, and to discuss the theological, social, or ecclesial implications of the topic" and providing "the social locations of gender, ethnicity, and race."
Zondervan Dictionary of Bible Themes by
This instantly accessible and easy-to-use dictionary of Bible themes was complied by the outstanding editorial team of Martin Manser, Alister McGrath, J. I. Packer, and Donald Wiseman.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BS432 .Z66 1999ISBN: 0310206685Publication Date: 1999-11-01
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought by
Embracing the viewpoints of Catholic, Protestant, or Orthodox thinkers, of conservatives, liberals, radicals, and agnostics, Christianity today is anything but monolithic or univocal. In The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought, general editor Adrian Hastings has tried to capture a sense of the great diversity of opinion that swirls about under the heading of Christian thought. Indeed, the 260 contributors, who hail from twenty countries, represent as wide a range of perspectives as possible. Here is a comprehensive and authoritative (though not dogmatic) overview of the full spectrum of Christian thinking. Within its 600 alphabetically arranged entries, readers will find lengthy survey articles on the history of Christian thought, on national and regional traditions, and on various denominations, from Anglican to Unitarian. There is ample coverage of Eastern thought as well, examining the Christian tradition in China, Japan, India, and Africa. The contributors examine major theological topics such as resurrection, the Eucharist, and grace as well as controversial issues such as homosexuality and abortion. In addition, short entries illuminate symbols such as water and wine, and there are many profiles of leading theologians, of non-Christians who have deeply influenced Christian thinking, including Aristotle and Plato, and of literary figures such as Dante, Milton, and Tolstoy. Most articles end with a list of suggested readings and the book features a large number of cross-references. The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought is an indispensable guide to one of the central strands of Western culture. An essential volume for all Christians, it is a thoughtful gift for the holidays.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BR95 .O94 2000ISBN: 9780198600244Publication Date: 2000-12-21
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
The Routledge Companion to Christian Ethics by
The Routledge Companion to Christian Ethics brings together two different but related disciplines; the first is contemplative or theoretical, asking what are the beliefs or doctrines that characterize Christianity, whilst the second is practical, asking what are the ethical practices that attend its teachings. The movement between the theoretical and practical aspects is not, however, one way, as doctrine and life are mutually informing. In this comprehensive volume, leading scholars address key topics, problems and debates in this hotly debated topic within a truly global context. Comprising over 35 chapters by a team of international contributors, the handbook is divided into three parts based on the three persons of the Trinity: God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. Within these sections, cutting-edge issues are examined, including: God and genetics War, peace, and violence White supremacy Creation and sexuality Digital ethics Transgender studies Climate change Immigration and refugees Adopting a practical approach that must consider new concerns that have arisen with recent social, political, and cultural shifts, The Routledge Companion to Christian Ethics is essential reading for students and researchers in Christian ethics, religious ethics and Christianity studies. The handbook will also be very useful for those in related fields such as ethics and philosophy.
ISBN: 9781000785692Publication Date: 2023-01-01
T&T Clark Handbook of Christian Theology and the Modern Sciences by
This handbook surveys the many relationships between scientific studies of the world around us and Christian concepts of the Divine from the ancient Greeks to modern ecotheology. From Augustine to Hildegard of Bingen, Genesis to Frederick Douglass, and physics to sociology, this volume opens the intersections of Christian theology and science to new concepts, voices, and futures. The central goal of the handbook is to bring new perspectives to the foreground of Christian theological engagement with science, and to highlight the many engagements today that are not often identified as 'science-theology' discussions. The handbook thus includes several aspects not found in previous handbooks on the same topic: significant representation from the three major branches of Christianity--Orthodox, Roman Catholic, and Protestant; multiple essays on areas of modern science not traditionally part of the "theology and science" dialogue, such as discussions of race, medicine, and sociology; a collection of essays on historical theologians' approaches to nature and science. T&T Clark Handbook to Christian Theology and the Modern Sciences is divided into 3 sections: historical explorations, encompassing a eleven chapters from Aristotle to Frederick Douglass; Catholic, Protestant, and Orthodox surveys of theology-science scholarship in the 20th and 21st centuries; and ten explorations in Christian theology today, from Einsteinian physics to decolonial sociology. The 24 chapters than span the volume offer the reader, whether scholar, student, or layperson, an essential resource for any future conversations around science and Christian theology.
ISBN: 9780567680426Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology by
Offers a comprehensive survey and interpretation of contemporary Christian political theology in a newly revised and expanded edition This book presents the latest thinking on the topic of contemporary Christian political theology, with original and constructive essays that represent a range of opinions on various topics. With contributions from expert scholars in the field, it reflects a broad range of methodologies, ecclesial traditions, and geographic and social locations, and provides a sense of the diversity of political theologies. It also addresses the primary resources of the Christian tradition, which theologians draw on when constructing political theologies, and surveys some of the most important figures and movements in political theology. This revised and expanded edition provides the most comprehensive and accessible introduction to this lively and growing area of Christian theology. Organized into five sections, Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology, Second Edition addresses the many changes that have occurred over the last 15 years within the field of political theology. It features new essays that address social developments and movements, such as Anglican Social Thought, John Milbank, Anabaptist Political Theologies, African Political Theologies, Postcolonialism, Political Economy, Technology and Virtuality, and Grass-roots Movements. The book also includes a new essay on the reception of Liberation Theology. Offers essays on topics such as the Trinity, atonement, and eschatology Features contributions from leading voices in the field of political theology Includes all-new entries covering fresh developments and movements like the urgency of climate change, virtuality and the digital age, the economic crisis of 2008, the discourse of religion and violence, and new modalities of war Addresses some important social movements from a theological point of view including postmodernism, grass-roots movements, and more Provides both Islamic and Jewish responses to political theology Written for academics and students of political theology, Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Theology, 2nd Edition is an enlightening read that offers a wide range of authoritative essays from some of the most notable scholars in the field.
ISBN: 9781119133735Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Book Searches to Get You Started
Having a hard time using the library catalog? These will take you into the library catalog right to a list of book resources. The below are a selection of subject headings relevant to senior seminar/capstone courses.
- Gender Dysphoria - Moral & Ethical Aspects Note: This is a search includes non-APU titles that can be requested.
- Gender Dysphoria - Religious Aspects Note: This is a search includes non-APU titles that can be requested.
- Gender Transition - Moral & Ethical Aspects Note: This is a search includes non-APU titles that can be requested.
- Gender Transition - Religious Aspects Note: This is a search includes non-APU titles that can be requested.
- Plant Genetic Engineering - Moral & Ethical Aspects (See also "Food Supply") Note: GMO's are often classified under the broader Genetic Engineering subject heading. This search is for that subject heading with the additional keywords for plant/agriculture etc.
- Plant Genetic Engineering - Religious Aspects (See also "Food Supply") Note: GMO's are often classified under the broader Genetic Engineering subject heading. This is a broader search for GMOs with the additional subject search of "Religious Aspects."
Official Denominational Positional Statements
Additional insight into doing the analysis and evaluation of cultural and public policy issues and the drawing of declarative conclusions from particular Christian worldviews can be learned by consulting official denominational positional statements. They are also useful resources of information for your research. These differ from doctrinal statements aka statements of faith, although they are informed by doctrine. (You can Google to find them.) Here's a sampling:
For example, this page presents several such statements published by the United Methodist Church, termed "Social Principles": Social Principles of the United Methodist Church and they have also published several pages of responses to Social Issues.
The page linked here has "Position Statements" by The Wesleyan Church.
The Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) agency Presbyterian Mission presents "What We Believe" on a list of "Specific Social Issues."
Bible Commentaries
To find a selection of recommended ebook and print commentaries, see the pages linked under Commentaries / Works on Books of the Bible under the Biblical Studies tab. You will need to identify passages from a particular book of the Bible that you want to learn more about before choosing a particular commentary.
Select Monographs
BOTH EBOOK or ONLINE (DATABASE) AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - EBOOK/ONLINE REQUIRES LOGIN
Moral Choices: An Introduction to Ethics by
Outlines the distinctive elements of Christian ethics while avoiding undue dogmatism. Introduces other ethical systems and their key historical proponents, including Plato, Aristotle, Augustine, Thomas Aquinas, and Immanuel Kant. Describes a seven-step procedure for tackling ethical dilemmas, then uses case studies to guide critical thinking on social issues including Abortion, Reproductive Technologies, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, Sexual Ethics, The Morality of War, Genetic Technologies and Human Cloning Ethics and Economics NEW: Creation Care, Animal Rights, Gun-Control, Race, Gender, and Diversity, Immigration, Refugees, and Border Control.
Call Number: Stamps Reference Floor BJ1012 .R32 2009 (3rd ed.)ISBN: 9780310536420Publication Date: eBook 2018-10-16 (4th ed.)
Kingdom Ethics: Following Jesus in Contemporary Context (2nd ed.) by
"Kingdom Ethics is arguably the most significant and comprehensive Christian ethics textbook of our time." -- Michelle A. Clifton-Soderstrom, North Park Theological Seminary Christian churches across the spectrum, and Christian ethics as an academic discipline, are often guilty of evading what Jesus actually said about moral life, focusing instead on other biblical texts or traditions. This evasion of Jesus has seriously malformed Christian moral witness--which Jesus said is tested by whether we put his words "into practice." David Gushee and Glen Stassen's Kingdom Ethics is the leading Christian introductory ethics textbook for the twenty-first century. Solidly rooted in Scripture--and uniquely focusing on Jesus's teachings in the Sermon on the Mount--the book has offered students, pastors, and other readers a comprehensive and challenging framework for Christian ethical thought. Writing to recenter Christian ethics in Jesus Christ, Gushee and Stassen focus on the meaning of the Kingdom of God, perennial themes of moral authority and moral norms, and all the issues raised by the Sermon on the Mount--such as life and death, sexual and gender ethics, love and justice, truth telling, and politics. This second edition of Kingdom Ethics is substantially revised by Gushee and features enhanced and updated treatments of all major contemporary ethical issues--including updated data and examples, a more global perspective, gender-inclusive language, a clearer focus on methodology, discussion questions for every chapter, and a detailed new glossary. Kingdom Ethics is for readers anywhere wanting a robust, comprehensive understanding of Christian ethics founded on the concrete teachings of Jesus and will equip them for further exploration into the field.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BJ1251 .S8132 2016ISBN: 9780802874214Publication Date: 2016-06-29
The Cry of Tamar Violence against Women and the Church's Response, Second Edition by
In this comprehensive, practical, and gripping assessment of various forms of violence against women, Pamela Cooper-White challenges the Christian churches to examine their own responses to the cry of Tamar in our time. She describes specific forms of such violence and outlines appropriate pastoral responses. The second edition of this groundbreaking work is thoroughly updated and examines not only where the church has made progress since 1995 but also where women remain at unchanged or even greater risk of violence.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BT704 .C66 1995 (1st ed.)ISBN: 9781451424423Publication Date: 2012-09-01
PRINT COPY ONLY
Health-Care Ethics: A Comprehensive Christian Resource by
Founded on in-depth biblical studies and perceptive theological perspective, James Thobaben's book has given us a comprehensive treatment of the myriad ethical issues involved in health care. He addresses topics such asthe nature of evangelical faithunderstanding illnessfamily caringthe role of health-care providersinstitutional considerationsethical issues related to reproductiondeath and dyingThobaben guides us into the realm of ethical discernment and decision-making by grasping the interconnections between health care in its various dimensions with the whole of true Christian living. If you are a student or pastor, or serving in the health-care professions, this monumental resource is for you.
Call Number: Stamps Faith Integration R725.56 .T46 2009ISBN: 9780830826735Publication Date: 2009-09-15
A Science and Religion Primer by
Four substantive introductory essays set the book's background. The second, and primary, section of the book provides an A-Z listing of entries dealing with a variety of philosophical, historical, scientific, and theological concepts, individuals, or events related to the science and religion dialogue.
Call Number: Stamps Faith Integration/Stamps Stacks BL240.3 .S349 2009ISBN: 9780801031502Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Business Ethics in Biblical Perspective: A Comprehensive Introduction by
It is legal for CEOs to make 300 times the amount of the average worker. But is this fair and just?Is it ethical for a customer to purchase a digital camera for the sole purpose of using it on a ski trip and then return the item to the store afterwards?Should companies who purchase advertising space on websites that offer pirated videos for download be held accountable for breaking intellectual property laws?The world of business is fraught with ethical challenges. Some of these are relatively straightforward, but others are complicated and require careful reflection. While there are numerous theories to help people navigate these dilemmas, the goal of this book is to provide a comprehensive biblical perspective on contemporary issues in areas such as consumer behavior, management, accounting and marketing.In Business Ethics in Biblical Perspective, Michael E. Cafferky explores the biblical resources for moral guidance and ethical consideration. He identifies twelve key themes in the narrative of Scripture: cosmic conflict, creation, holiness, covenant relationships, shalom, sabbath, justice, righteousness, truth, wisdom, loving kindness and redemption. By looking at ethical approaches and issues through this multifaceted biblical perspective, Cafferky helps readers appreciate the complex nature of ethical decision making, particularly in the context of business and finance.Designed from the start with the classroom in mind, each chapter of Business Ethics in Biblical Perspective provides example scenarios, questions for intrapersonal and interpersonal ethical reflection, review questions, ethical vignettes for discussion and an exploration of the chapter material in light of the biblical themes.Additional IVP Instructor Resources are also available.
Call Number: Stamps Faith IntegrationISBN: 9780830824748Publication Date: 2015-08-19
Christianity and Human Rights: An Introduction by
Combining Jewish, Greek, and Roman teachings with the radical new teachings of Christ and St. Paul, Christianity helped to cultivate the cardinal ideas of dignity, equality, liberty and democracy that ground the modern human rights paradigm. Christianity also helped shape the law of public, private, penal, and procedural rights that anchor modern legal systems in the West and beyond. This collection of essays explores these Christian contributions to human rights through the perspectives of jurisprudence, theology, philosophy and history, and Christian contributions to the special rights claims of women, children, nature and the environment. The authors also address the church's own problems and failings with maintaining human rights ideals. With contributions from leading scholars, including a foreword by Archbishop Desmond Tutu, this book provides an authoritative treatment of how Christianity shaped human rights in the past, and how Christianity and human rights continue to challenge each other in modern times.
Call Number: Stamps Faith Integration BT738.15 .C47525 2010ISBN: 9780521194419Publication Date: 2010-12-23
EBOOK COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Moral Issues and Christian Responses by
Previously published by Cengage/Wadsworth, this popular anthology for the study of Christian ethics has been a mainstay of undergraduate courses for nearly thirty years. Shannon and Patricia Jung provide an introduction to contemporary moral issues from decidedly, yet diverse, Christian moral perspectives. The anthology intentionally seeks a range of voices to produce a kind of "point/counterpoint" discussion of the ethical issue. Among the classic issues considered are: sexuality and reproductive rights, prejudice, biomedical ethics, the environment, immigration, terrorism, war, and globalization. New issues include: development ethics, personal finance and consumerism, workplace ethics, health care, and citizenship.
ISBN: 9781451424430Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Biomedicine and Beatitude: An Introduction to Catholic Bioethics, Second Edition by
This timely and up to date new edition of Biomedicine and Beatitude features an entirely new chapter on the ethics of bodily modification. It is also updated throughout to reflect the pontificate of Pope Francis, recent concerns including ethical issues raised by the COVID-19 pandemic, and feedback from the many instructors who used the first edition in the classroom.
ISBN: 9780813233918Publication Date: 2021-06-25
Law and Theology: Classic Questions and Contemporary Perspectives by
Part I. Theology. Law and the Narrative of scripture -- Law and history -- A constructive theology of law after modernity -- part II. Praxis. Praxis of law in ordinary time -- The first big question : slavery and race -- The second and third big questions : abortion and LGBTQ rights -- Conclusion : law, fear, and eschatology.
Call Number: Stamps Faith Integration BR115.L28 O63 2019ISBN: 9781506434339Publication Date: 2019-11-05
Gender and Christian Ethics by
In this book, Adrian Thatcher offers fresh theological arguments for expanding our understanding of gender. He begins by describing the various meanings of gender and depicts the relations between women and men as a pervasive human and global problem. Thatcher then critiques naive and harmful theological accounts of sexuality and gender as binary opposites or mistaken identities. Demonstrating that the gendered theologies of Hans Urs von Balthasar and Karl Barth, as well as the Vatican's "war on gender" rest on questionable binary models, he replaces these models with a human continuum that allows for sexual difference without assuming "opposite sexes" and normative sexualities. Grounded in core Christian doctrines, this continuum enables a full theological affirmation of LGBTIQ people. Thatcher also addresses the excesses of the male/female binary in secular culture and outlines a hermeneutic that delivers justice and acceptance instead of sexism and discrimination.
ISBN: 9781108884204Publication Date: 2020-10-15
Databases/Journal Articles
If you are looking for journal articles related to your topic and how it intersects with theology and biblical studies, use the ATLA Religion database. This is the “go to” database for theology, religion, and biblical studies. If you aren’t sure where to begin, take a look at some of the sample subject headings listed on this page for searching books in the catalog and then search those as keywords in ATLA. For example, enter “genetic engineering” into the search box in ATLA, and take a look at the results to get you started.
For additional tips on searching ATLA, see: Search for Journal Articles in ATLA
For advanced searching tips, see: Advanced Searching in ATLA
