Primary Source Texts Online or in Databases
Also see Find Internet Resources linked here from another guide for more information about other searchable online texts.
- CCELA free digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. The CCEL includes searchable online versions of the Ante-Nicene Fathers, the Nicene & Post-Nicene Fathers series as well as works by many others across church history, including Catherine of Siena, Martin Luther, John Wesley, Kierkegaard and more. Look in the Home/Church Fathers or Browse/Author sections to start looking for particular theologians. The editions are in the public domain. Past Masters should be consulted for any works duplicated there in newer editions, eg Augustine and others. The interface is a bit clumsy, it has ads, but it provides a lot of useful primary source texts.
- JSTOR-19th Century British Pamphlets CollectionHelpful for those studying British history. More than 25.000 documents highlighting social, political, and economic history.
These collections focus on the political and socio-economic issues that fueled the great parliamentary debates and controversies of the 19th century. More than 25,000 pamphlets with over 1 million pages from seven UK institutions provide a rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- Covers the entire ancient Greek and Latin literary heritage, including epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, as well as the ancient writers on medicine and mathematics. In the Loeb, it contains the full texts of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts and parallel English translations. The users can browse by author, language, period, form, genre, or subject.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new window
- Searchable full text collections of writings by major philosophers and theologians.
- Translated Texts for Historians E-Library This link opens in a new window
- A multi-volume digital library of translated historical sources and texts from late antiquity and the early medieval period, spanning 300-800 AD. These volumes include scholarly analysis from leading academics about the transformation of the classical world, the beginnings of Europe and of Islam, and the evolution of Byzantium.
Primary and/or Secondary Source Monographs
BOTH ONLINE AND PRINT COPIES AVAILABLE - REQUIRES LOGIN
A Documentary History of Religion in America by
Up-to-date one-volume edition of a standard text For decades students and scholars have turned to the two-volume Documentary History of Religion in America for access to the most significant primary sources relating to American religious history from the sixteenth century to the present. This fourth edition--published in a single volume for the first time--has been updated and condensed, allowing instructors to more easily cover the material in a single semester. With more than a hundred illustrations and a rich array of primary documents ranging from the letters and accounts of early colonists to tweets and transcripts from the 2016 presidential election, this volume remains an essential text for readers who want to encounter firsthand the astonishing scope of religious belief and practice in American history.
Call Number: Stamps Stacks BL2525 .D63 2018ISBN: 9780802873583Publication Date: 2018-07-01
ONLINE COPY ONLY - REQUIRES LOGIN
Martin Luther's Ninety-Five Theses by
By almost any reckoning, the Ninety-Five Theses ranks as the most important text of the Reformation, if not in substance at least in impact. As the anniversary of their posting on the church door in Wittenberg approaches, what better way to remember and recognize the occasion than to make this important text more easily understood by twenty-first-century readers? Timothy J. Wengert, one of the best-know interpreters of Luther and Lutheranism active today, sets his newly translated Ninety-Five Theses in its historical context with a detailed introduction and illuminating study notes. To help the reader understand the context and the import of the Ninety-Five Theses more deeply, Wengert provides two more related and essential documents: Luther's Letter to Archbishop Albrecht of Mainz (to which he appended a copy of the Theses) and Luther's 1518 Sermon on Indulgences and Grace (written to inform the German-speaking public of his view of indulgences). The book is simply constructed with introductions and notes for each of the writings, as well as a study guide with questions for individual or group reflection and conversation.
ISBN: 9781506401942Publication Date: 2015-12-01
On the Incarnation by
One of the most important works of Christian theology, the treatise "On the Incarnation" was written by the fourth century Egyptian religious leader St. Athanasius of Alexandria. An influential Christian theologian and church elder, St. Athanasius, also known as Athanasius the Great, Athanasius the Confessor, and Athanasius the Apostolic, was the twentieth bishop of Alexandria from 328 AD to 373 AD. St. Athanasius played an important role in the First Council of Nicaea in 325 AD where Roman Emperor Constantine the Great convened the council to address the question of whether Jesus of Nazareth was the son of God and distinct from his Father. "On the Incarnation" expands with clarity on the conclusion reached by the First Council of Nicaea, that God became man through His son, Jesus of Nazareth, and through Jesus, we too may become one with God. While brief, St. Athanasius explores in detail why God became flesh through Jesus and why this transformation was necessary to save the corrupted human soul and prepare it for a perfect and immortal union with God. This treatise, by one of the most important and influential teachers of Christian philosophy, is an essential read for all students of the Christian faith. This edition follows the translation of Archibald Robertson.
ISBN: 9781420959567Publication Date: 2018-10-06
