Health Sciences Virtual Library: GNRS 707 Quantitative Nursing Research Design 1

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options

This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.  The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.

Whether used to help students learn how to perform research or how to critically appraise research reports for use in practice, this authoritative, approachable textbook shows how nursing research is applicable across today's changing healthcare field. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck detail the latest methodologic innovations that have arisen in nursing, medicine, and the social sciences in their signature user-friendly style, accompanied by the helpful learning features, pedagogy, and clean design that have made this book a classic.   The updated 11th Edition adds two new chapters designed to help students ensure the accuracy and effectiveness of research methods and the relevance and applicability of nursing inquiries. Extensively revised content throughout strengthens students' ability to locate and rank clinical evidence, verify the authoritativeness of systematic reviews, and distinguish interpretive approaches from aggregative approaches using meta-aggregation.  NEW! Quality Improvement and Improvement Science chapter provides methods and frameworks to help students develop and assess improvement projects. NEW! Applicability, Generalizability, and Relevance: Toward Practice-Based Evidence chapter details cutting-edge strategies to meet the growing need for patient-centered, practice-based evidence. UPDATED! Revised content throughout reflects the latest methodologic approaches to ranking evidence, verifying systematic reviews, using meta-aggregation, and more. Critical appraisal guidelines help students focus on specific aspects of a report for the most effective appraisal. Clear, user-friendly writing style introduces concepts logically and clarifies difficult ideas. Specific research tips translate abstract notions into practical strategies to help students confidently apply chapter lessons in real-life situations. Research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate critical thinking. A comprehensive index provides fast, efficient access to precise information. Tables, figures, and bulleted summaries reinforce essential chapter concepts at a glance.

Become a successful evidence-based practitioner How do you evaluate the evidence? Is the information accurate, relevant and meaningful for clinical decision making? Did the design fit the research questions and was the analysis and interpretation of data appropriate? Here are all the materials you need to take your first steps as evidence-based practitioners...how to use the design, data and analysis of research as the foundation for effective clinical decision making. You'll find support every step of the way as you progress from the foundations of clinical research and concepts of measurement through the processes of designing studies and analyzing data to writing their own research proposal. Five Stars. "Best book I have read explaining research. Not too complicated - but very thorough."--Amazon Reviewer Simply the best. "This is such a valuable resource. Bought it for the DPT program I am enrolled in. I will keep it as an excellent resource. So well written."--Amazon Reviewer ... this is a great book." It explains concepts so well! Our professor changed to this book the next year. All the OTs and PTs in my PhD program have bought this book. This is in my keep forever collection. Everyone in my department has the book and only loans it out with strict instructions for its return."--Kelly A., Amazon Reviewer

The Craft of Scientific Presentations, 2nd edition aims to strengthen you as a presenter of science and engineering. The book does so by identifying what makes excellent presenters such as Brian Cox, Jane Goodall, Richard Feynman, and Jill Bolte Taylor so strong. In addition, the book explains what causes so many scientific presentations to flounder. One of the most valuable contributions of this text is that it teaches the assertion-evidence approach to scientific presentations. Instead of building presentations, as most engineers and scientists do, on the weak foundation of topic phrases and bulleted lists, this assertion-evidence approach calls for building presentations on succinct message assertions supported by visual evidence. Unlike the commonly followed topic-subtopic approach that PowerPoint leads presenters to use, the assertion-evidence approach is solidly grounded in research. By showing the differences between strong and weak presentations, by identifying the errors that scientific presenters typically make, and by teaching a much more powerful approach for scientific presentations than what is commonly practiced, this book places you in a position to elevate your presentations to a high level. In essence, this book aims to have you not just succeed in your scientific presentations, but excel. About the Author Michael Alley has taught workshops on presentations to engineers and scientists on five continents, and has recently been invited to speak at the European Space Organization, Harvard Medical School, MIT, Sandia National Labs, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Simula Research Laboratory, and United Technologies. An Associate Professor of engineering communication at Pennsylvania State University, Alley is a leading researcher on the effectiveness of different designs for presentation slides.

Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy, Sixth Edition is the ultimate 'how to' guide for learning the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. This text is an outstanding resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice. The hallmark of this text is the inclusion of the Matrix Method developed by the author which outlines one of the many ways to approach a literature review. This method is a practical, easy-to-use structure and process for reviewing research literature, particularly in the health sciences and nursing. Updates on PRISMANew content on predatory publishing"How-to" format, step-by-step instructions and practical examplesTemplates and interactive web resourcesNavigate Companion Website, including learning objectives and additionalresources on the use of data visualization in health literature reviews

Previous editions of this book have helped well over 100,000 students and professionals write effective proposals for dissertations and grants. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, Locke/Spirduso/Silverman's Proposals That Work offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. In the fifth edition, the authors have included a discussion of the effects of new technologies and the Internet on the proposal process, with URLs listed where appropriate. In addition, there are new sections covering alternative forms of proposals and dissertations and the role of academic rigor in research. As always, the authors have included a number of specimen proposals, two that are completely new to this edition, to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. Clear, straightforward, and reader friendly, Proposals That Work is a must own for anyone considering writing a proposal for a thesis, a dissertation, or a grant.

Evaluating Research in Academic Journals is a guide for students who are learning how to evaluate reports of empirical research published in academic journals. It breaks down the process of evaluating a journal article into easy-to-understand steps, and emphasizes the practical aspects of evaluating research - not just how to apply a list of technical terms from textbooks. The book avoids oversimplification in the evaluation process by describing the nuances that may make an article publishable even when it has serious methodological flaws. Students learn when and why certain types of flaws may be tolerated, and why evaluation should not be performed mechanically. Each chapter is organized around evaluation questions. For each question, there is a concise explanation of how to apply it in the evaluation of research reports. Numerous examples from journals in the social and behavioral sciences illustrate the application of the evaluation questions, and demonstrate actual examples of strong and weak features of published reports. Common-sense models for evaluation combined with a lack of jargon make it possible for students to start evaluating research articles the first week of class. New to this edition New chapters on: evaluating mixed methods research evaluating systematic reviews and meta-analyses program evaluation research Updated chapters and appendices that provide more comprehensive information and recent examples Full new online resources: test bank questions and PowerPoint slides for instructors, and self-test chapter quizzes, further readings and additional journal examples for students.

Thoroughly updated, the third edition of The Research Methods Knowledge Base provides coverage of quantitative methods and enhanced coverage of qualitative methods. It can be used in a variety of disciplines and is ideal for an introductory comprehensive undergraduate or graduate level course. Through its conversational, informal style it makes material that is often challenging for students both accessible and understandable. The Research Methods Knowledge Base, 3e covers everything from the development of a research question to the writing of a final report, describing both practical and technical issues of sampling, measurement, design and analysis.

Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Second Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated second edition-which includes a new chapter on the various formate for manuscript dissertations-will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to Done. Book jacket.