Your Librarian is Denise Gehring
This page is to help you in locating materials for the course Research & Theory in Advanced Practice Nursing:
Description of the Course: This course prepares nurses to use theory and research evidence in advanced clinical practice. The relationship between theory and research is examined, exploring questions about the nature, construction, and use of each. Selected theoretical models and theories are explored, and students learn how ideas are developed and used in nursing practice and research. Students deepen their understanding of the research process by engaging in a systematic search, critique, and summary of research studies with direct application to nursing practice. Experience in statistical analysis of research data is included.
Getting Started
- Recommended Databases in the Health SciencesThis includes a list of recommended databases in the different areas of health sciences as well as a video on how to locate these on the library website.
- Searching For LiteratureThis takes you through the step by step process in doing a literature search, first from topic to search statement then using the library databases. This includes videos as well as the step by step process in writing with examples.
- Searching for Quantitative & Qualitative ArticlesIn Cinahl and Medline
- Theories, Theorists, & ModelsThis resource provides how to search for information on theories, theorists, & models in Nursing & Public Health.
- Removing DuplicatesI describe different ways in which to remove duplicate records from your search.
Required Materials Listed in the Syllabus
Nursing research : generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice by Call Number: RT81.5 .P64 2021 ebookISBN: 1975110641Publication Date: 2020-02-12
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 PRINTISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
- Purdue Owl APA 7th EditionThese OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
Recommended Materials Listed in the Syllabus
Theoretical Basis for Nursing by
Enhance clinical practice with a clear understanding of nursing theory. Access the essential information you need to understand and apply theory in practice, research, education, and administration/management. The most concise and contemporary nursing theory resource available, Theoretical Basis for Nursing , 5th Edition , clarifies the application of theory and helps you become a more confident, well-rounded nurse. This acclaimed text is extensively researched and easy to read, giving you an engaging, approachable guide to developing, analyzing, and evaluating theory in your nursing career. NEW Ethical Theories and Principles chapter familiarizes you with emerging trends in evidence-based, clinically ethical practice. NEW higher education boxes outline important connections with AACN's "Essentials of Master's Education" and "Essentials of Doctoral Education" to help you advance your nursing career prospects through additional education. Link to Practice boxes provide concrete examples of how theory guides nursing practice. Case Studies help you apply specific content to common scenarios encountered in everyday practice. Learning Activities test your understanding of key concepts. Chapter Summaries and Key Points recap important chapter content at a glance. Online Literature Assessment Activity and case studies challenge you to think critically about textbook content.
Call Number: RT84.5 .T36 2019 PRINTISBN: 9781496351203Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research by
This work provides a foundation in the statistics portion of nursing. Topics expanded in this edition include reliability analysis, path analysis, measurement error, missing data, and survival analysis.
Call Number: RT81.5 .M86 2012 PRINTISBN: 9781451115611Publication Date: 2012-01-30
Other Library Resources Related to this Course
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2022 PRINT (ebook available in older edition)ISBN: 9780323757027Publication Date: 2021-10-21
Theoretical Nursing by
Inspire your students to be theoretical thinkers, innovative advocates, and agents for change. Focused on cultivating the next generation of scholars, this highly respected classic demystifies theory, charts strategies to use in developing and advancing theory, and provides tools and best practices in evaluating progress in the discipline. Based on the feedback of nursing students, this edition was updated to be more accessible without losing the necessary rigor to foster critical thinking. Meleis provides a developmental and historical review of theoretical nursing and helps readers develop analytic skills and integrate knowledge into a coherent whole. By embarking on the journey of nursing theory, practicing nurses will find ways to improve everyday practice, as well as develop theories that capture their expertise. Highlights of the Sixth Edition Key Topics Paradigms that influenced nursing thought, such as feminism and post-colonialism Nursing Theories, including need , interaction , and outcome theories Social and health care transitions and their influence on advancing nursing knowledge The most updated global definitions of the discipline of nursing and the future of nursing Critical discussions on how different classifications of theories may lead to productive explorations and explanations of the process of clinical judgment and decision making Key Features New online journal articles and case studies give students an opportunity to apply theory to practice. Chapter-ending Reflective Questions expand students' understanding of theory and its impact on nursing today. Separate chapters covering Middle Range Theory and Situation-Specific Theory . This text is complemented by and frequently used with Peterson & Bredow's Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice . A new two-column design that enhances readability. Doody's Review Services gives this title a Weighted Numerical Score: 89 - 3 Stars! "This is the most exemplary nursing theory title available and it is particularly useful because it is a treasure trove of classic and emerging theorists and their work. The breadth, comprehensiveness, and historical grounding make this a must-have title that is a relevant reference for emerging nursing theorists and researchers, faculty, graduate students, and policy makers." - Doody's Review Service
Call Number: RT84.5 .M45 2018 PRINTISBN: 9780060000424Publication Date: 2017-01-13
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 4th Edition Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN and Ellen Fineout-Overholt, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes. NEW! Making Connections: An EBP Exemplar opens each unit, immersing you in an unfolding case study of EBP in real-life practice. NEW! Chapters reflect the most current implications of EBP on health policy and the context, content, and outcomes of implementing EBP competencies in clinical and academic settings. NEW! Learning objectives and EBP Terms to Learn at both the unit and chapter levels help you study efficiently and stay focused on essential concepts and vocabulary. Making EBP Real features continue to end each unit with real-world examples that demonstrate the principles of EBP applied. EBP Fast Facts reinforce key points at a glance. Clinical Scenarios clarify the EBP process and enhance your rapid appraisal capabilities.
Call Number: RT42 .E954 2019 PRINTISBN: 9781496384539Publication Date: 2018-11-24
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
Providing readers with an accessible, in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature, Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper is perfect for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows readers how to explain the need for and significance of research, as well as how to explain a study's findings. Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, the Fifth Edition features new research, examples, and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences, expanded coverage of qualitative research, updated and revised meta-analysis procedures, a brand new glossary of key terms, double the number of exercises, and additional examples of how to write reviews.
Call Number: Q180.55.M4 F56 2020 PRINTISBN: 9781544318479Publication Date: 2019-02-28
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by
"The Matrix Method is one of many ways to approach a literature review. It was created by Judith Garrard when she was preparing NIH grants and is intended to teach students how to read a paper, organize the review using the Matrix Method, analyze it, and create a narrative synthesis. This method is particularly useful in the health sciences. Review is usually the initial step for a proposal for independent scientific study, often a Master's project or doctoral dissertation, and traditionally done under the guidance of faculty or a mentor. Though Judy's background is not in nursing, the adoptions are primarily in graduate nursing programs. The text is not intended as a resource for developing academic writing skills. It provides a system for organizing and conducting a literature review and develops research literacy skills"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: R118.6 .G37 2022 ebookISBN: 9781284211184Publication Date: 2022
Nursing Theory: utilization & application by
With a consistent focus on application throughout, Nursing Theory covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. Nursing Theory provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N94 2013 ebookISBN: 9780323091893Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
With an exciting new look, math diagnostic tool, and a research roadmap to navigate projects, this new edition of Andy Field's award-winning text offers a unique combination of humor and step-by-step instruction to make learning statistics compelling and accessible to even the most anxious of students. The Fifth Edition takes students from initial theory to regression, factor analysis, and multilevel modeling, fully incorporating IBM SPSS Statistics© version 25 and fascinating examples throughout.
Call Number: HA32 .F54 2018 PRINTISBN: 9781526436566Publication Date: 2017-11-22
Research Design by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Call Number: H62 .C6963 2018 PRINTISBN: 9781506386706Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Knowledge Development in Nursing by
Apply the five patterns of knowing to improve nursing care! Knowledge Development in Nursing: Theory and Process, 11th Edition explores nursing theory and how it is related to nursing research and quality patient care. It examines the principles of knowledge development, using the patterns of knowing to help you develop sound clinical judgment. Each chapter begins with a Basics section, which is followed by a Now That You Know the Basics section providing a deeper understanding of knowledge patterns for more advanced learners. Written by nursing educators Peggy Chinn, Maeona Kramer, and Kathleen Sitzman, this edition reflects the latest thinking in nursing knowledge development and adds emphasis to real-world application. Discussion of the five Patterns of Knowing includes empiric, personal, aesthetic, ethical, and emancipatory knowledge, defining the different types of knowledge and how they relate to each other. Discussion of evidence-based practice provides examples of how the five patterns of knowing may be applied to nursing practice. Coverage of theory, theory development, and the relationship of theory to nursing research and practice helps you learn to apply theory to practice. Interpretive summaries highlight the interrelatedness of all patterns of knowing, making it easier to apply all dimensions of knowing to specific chapter content. Full-color diagram in the front of the book depicts how the patterns of knowing are related. Glossary defines the key terms and concepts of nursing theory. NEW! Updated content reflects recent trends in nursing knowledge development and integrates new information on social justice, the implications of challenges such as climate change, and global pandemics. NEW! Learning and Study Questions features - emphasizing the application of each chapter's content to nursing practice - are now at the end of each chapter. NEW! 2021 AACN Essentials for Nursing Education domains relevant to this text are addressed throughout this new edition. NEW! QR codes throughout the text direct you to an animation that explains the patterns of knowing and to resources on Nursology.net that further illustrate and explain the nursing theories in each chapter. NEW appendix at the end of the text includes additional learning activities.
Call Number: RT84.5 .C49 2022 PRINT (ebook available in older edition)ISBN: 9780323793001Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Understanding Nursing Research by
Edition after edition, Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice is known as one of the leading undergraduate nursing textbooks. The streamlined and enhanced 7th edition gives you unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research for evidence-based nursing practice. Known for its authoritative content, time-tested systematic approach, and unique research example format - the new edition includes an enhanced EBP focus, added mixed-methods and reduced outcomes research content, plus a spotlight on need-to-know information to meet your busy life. Clear, step-by-step organization introduces the research process and demonstrates how this systematic framework relates to EBP. Research examples provide practice in working with published studies, with many of the examples including Critical Appraisal and Implications for Practice sections. Critical Appraisal Guidelines boxes provide step-by-step guidance in appraising published research studies. Balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative research prepares you to approach research questions and clinical questions with an unbiased view of the researcher's methodology. Authoritative content is written by pioneers and practitioners of nursing research, who offer unique, first-hand insights into the field. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you develop skills in studying and appraising published research, so you are prepared for your role in working with research evidence. NEW! Enhanced evidence-based practice focus equips you to apply the latest research findings to clinical practice. NEW! Streamlined research examples serve as concise and clinically relevant exemplars of key contents. NEW! Mixed-methods content focuses on need-to-know material on mixed-methods research, which is growing significantly in popularity. NEW! Improved legibility, usability, visual appeal, and readability meets the needs of visual learners with easy-to-understand content.
Call Number: RT81.5 .G768 2019 PRINT (ebook available in older edition)ISBN: 9780323532051Publication Date: 2018-09-20
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
How do I start my literature review? What sources can I go to for information? How do I analyse the work of others? This clear, practical book guides readers undertaking their own literature review through the process, giving them the skills and knowledge they need for success. The chapters address: - Different types of literature reviews - Critically analysing material - Presenting the final piece of work - Best practice in referencing and plagiarism - Systematic approaches to literature reviews It will be an essential guide for all nursing and all allied healthcare students, as well as professionals working in practice.
Call Number: RT81.5 .C68 2017 PRINTISBN: 9781412962032Publication Date: 2017-02-23
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing: A Step- By-step Guide by
What is a systematic review? -- Asking an answerable and focused review question -- Creating the protocol for your systematic review -- Writing the background to your review -- Specifying your objectives and inclusion and exclusion criteria -- Conducting a comprehensive and systematic literature search -- Working with your primary papers: stage 1-selecting the studies to include in your systematic review -- Working with your primary papers: stage 2-appraising the methodological quality of your included research studies -- Working with your primary papers: stage 3-extracting the data from your included papers -- Synthesizing, summarizing and presenting your findings -- Writing up your discussion and completing your review -- Checking your systematic review is complete and some practical ways to share and disseminate your findings.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780335263813Publication Date: 2016
Resource Manual for Nursing Research by
The perfect complement to Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice, 11th Edition, this knowledge-building Resource Manual strengthens students' understanding of concepts from the textbook and enhances their ability to confidently appraise and critique research studies. With an emphasis on careful reading and critical appraisal of actual studies, systematic learning exercises reinforce the acquisition of basic research skills fundamental to designing and planning one's own study. The Resource Manual appendices cover a range of nursing research endeavors, including critical appraisals of two research reports, two grant applications, and thirteen full research reports encompassing qualitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods studies, an instrument development study, and an evidence-based practice project report. The Resource Manual is accompanied by the invaluable online Toolkit, a must-have, timesaving innovation for students and seasoned researchers. Refined and easily adaptable research tools, available as editable Word files, address a broad range of research situations and can be customized to meet your specific needs. Crossword Puzzles provide an entertaining and challenging review of key terms and concepts. Study Questions encourage critical thinking and reinforce the most relevant content from each textbook chapter. Application Exercises hone students' ability to read, comprehend and critique nursing studies most effectively. Full research reports in the robust appendices cover a wide range of endeavors. TheToolkit delivers fast online access to dozens of timesaving, adaptable resources that can be downloaded and customized to meet your specific needs.
Call Number: RT81.5 .P64 2021 PRINTISBN: 9781975112264Publication Date: 2020-02-12
GNRS508A Library Training Recording & Notes
- Introduction to the Library, Searching for Literature Part 1 and Part 2Introduction to the library introduces you to the library resources and walks you through how to use them. Searching for Literature Part 1 prepares you to enter your topic into the databases by creating a search statement. Searching for Literature Part 2 shows you how to enter it into the databases and then goes over how to limit and narrow your results, find full text, remove duplicates, create folders, export results to Zotero or other reference software, and complete your PRISMA diagram.
- Literature Search ActivityComplete this activity as you watch the recording.
PRISMA
Then Watch: