Resources
Recommended Databases
- APU Search Everything This link opens in a new window
- Search Everything in WorldCat Discovery an all-inclusive search solution that makes in-depth research easy.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- Contains a collection of more than 600 dictionaries and encyclopedias, along with thousands of topic pages, mind-maps, images, audio files and videos to help you start research projects.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- CQ Researcher is the choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Published online 44 times a year, CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties. Each CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist, professionally fact-checked, and footnoted to facilitate further research. A feature called Hot Topics provides shorter reports on 10 of the most popular subjects.
- CINAHL Plus With Full Text This link opens in a new window
- . Provides citations and some full text for 3024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Also contains searchable cited references for more than 1160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
- Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
- 3D resources that are the world's most medically accurate and detailed graphic renderings of human anatomy. The product is an interactive multimedia resource with 3D images, interactive models of human anatomy, videos, animations, clinical slides and much more. You have access to 3D Atlas of Human Anatomy, 3D Human Anatomy & Physiology, 3D Real-Time Anatomy and 3D Human Functional Anatomy.
- NOTE: faculty members can request login for faculty extras by emailing us.
- About
Scholarly Vs Popular Periodicals
Researching in the Sciences
Introduction to the Library
Selecting a Topic & writing a Research Question Tutorial
Checkout these suggestions on selecting a topic and writing a research question:
Boolean Operators & Other Searching Techniques
How Boolean Operators Work
Placing the words “AND” and “OR” (also called Boolean operators) between your search concepts and synonyms can help you create a search statement that retrieves the most relevant sources.
As the diagrams illustrate, using the word “AND” reduces the number of results you get, by requiring that both terms appear in each result. Placing “OR” between search terms expands the number of results because it retrieves sources that use any of the words. Generally speaking, you should use “AND” between each of your concept terms, since you want to find books and articles that address all the aspects of your topic. You should use “OR” between synonyms, to make sure that you find closely related sources.
Searching Techniques
| Truncation | Phrase Searching | Wildcards | Nesting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Broaden your search to include variant word endings and spellings. Enter the root of the word then the truncation symbol, usually the asterisk *. | Use quotation marks " " around search words to search for a phrase - only use this around two or more words. Using the phrase search will help you narrow your results. | Substitute a symbol for just one character. The most commonly used wildcard symbol is a question mark ? | Use parentheses () to put search words into sets. Terms in the parentheses are processed first. Use nesting with AND, OR, & NOT. |
|
Examples: nurs* = nurse, nurses, nursing religio* = religion, religions, religious, religiosity |
Examples: "end of life" "spiritual care" |
Examples: wom?n = women, woman m?n = men, man |
Examples: (screening or detect*) and lupus (cancer* or neoplasm*) and "spiritual* care" |
More information on Effective Search Techniques can be found on this tutorial:
Avoiding Plagiarism and Citing your Sources
What is plagiarism and how can you avoid doing it? Sometimes it is deliberate, but most of the time it is simply because you don't know when and how to cite a source. This short tutorial video defines plagiarism, in my own words and based on my own experience in information science, and outlines 5 easy steps for how to avoid it.
- Citation Generators and Management Tools
- Cómo citar fuentes en Turabian 9ª ed. y documentos de formato
- EndNote 20 Assisting You in Research
- How to Cite Resources in APA 7
- How to Cite Resources in APA 7- Adapted for Biblical Studies/Church History
- How to Cite Sources in MLA 9 and Format Papers
- How to Cite Sources in SBL and Format Papers
- How to Cite Sources in Turabian 9th ed. and Format Papers
- How To Export Records Into EndNote
- Identifying and Removing Duplicate Articles
- Managing Citations in Mendeley