This page contains information on searching in the library databases as well as a it lists recommended databases on certain topics.
Recommended Databases to Begin Your Search
- CINAHL Plus with FullText & Medline with FullText This link opens in a new window
- Search in both Cinahl & Medline at the same time.
- Nursing Databases on Ebsco This link opens in a new window
- Search in Cinahl Plus with Fulltext, Medline with Fulltext, Alt Health Watch, and Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition at one time.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- Evidence-based clinical decision support resource that presents a comprehensive synthesis of evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. Please use the "OpenAthens" link within UpToDate to renew APU affiliation at least every 3 months. Link/merge to your existing personal UpToDate Username/Password account if you already have one.
- Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
- 3D resources that are the world's most medically accurate and detailed graphic renderings of human anatomy. The product is an interactive multimedia resource with 3D images, interactive models of human anatomy, videos, animations, clinical slides and much more. You have access to 3D Atlas of Human Anatomy, 3D Human Anatomy & Physiology, 3D Real-Time Anatomy and 3D Human Functional Anatomy.
- NOTE: faculty members can request login for faculty extras by emailing us.
- About
- Fitne Nursing Theorists This link opens in a new window
- Fitne Nursing Theorists is a series of videos about major female nursing theorists, their lives, and their work. Each video is between 25-45 minutes in length, and many contain interviews with the theorists themselves including 28 prominent education nurse theorists and 3 education nursing theories.
Discipline specific Database Lists
TIP: Begin your research with databases marked with 
Choosing the Right Database
Deciding on which database to use will depend on your topic; for instance, if you are focusing on a mental health issue, you may want to include APA PsycInfo or if you are focusing on education, you may want to include ERIC and Academic Search Premier. You can see a list of all the databases recommended on the A-Z database list. Check on the "recommended databases" to the left for some suggestions to get started. At a minimum, you should search in Cinahl and Medline.
Health Sciences Database Tutorials