Your Librarian is Denise Gehring
This page is to help you in locating materials for the course Research & Theory in Health Care:
Description of the Course: This course prepares the healthcare practitioner to apply theory and research evidence in healthcare environments. The relationship between theory and research is examined as students consider questions about the nature, construction, and use of each. Selected theories are explored, and students learn how ideas are developed and used in practice and research. Students also learn the fundamentals of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods research and deepen their understanding through systematic search, critique, and summary of research studies with application to health care. Students work in groups to develop a research plan addressing a healthcare-derived question. Experience in statistical analysis of research data is included.
Getting Started
- Recommended Databases in the Health SciencesThis includes a list of recommended databases in the different areas of health sciences as well as a video on how to locate these on the library website.
- Searching for Quantitative & Qualitative ArticlesIn Cinahl and Medline
- Theories, Theorists, & ModelsThis resource provides how to search for information on theories, theorists, & models in Nursing & Public Health.
- Removing DuplicatesI describe different ways in which to remove duplicate records from your search.
GSPH508C Library Training Recording & Notes
- Introduction to the Library, Searching for Literature Part 1 and Part 2Introduction to the library introduces you to the library resources and walks you through how to use them. Searching for Literature Part 1 prepares you to enter your topic into the databases by creating a search statement. Searching for Literature Part 2 shows you how to enter it into the databases and then goes over how to limit and narrow your results, find full text, remove duplicates, create folders, export results to Zotero or other reference software, and complete your PRISMA diagram.
- Literature Search ActivityComplete this activity as you watch the recording.
PRISMA
Then Watch:
Required and Recommended Materials Listed in the Syllabus
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 PRINTISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Research Design by Call Number: Hugh and Hazel Darling Library Textbook Collection, Rotunda H62 .C6963 2023H62 .C6963 2018ISBN: 9781071817940Publication Date: 2022-11-22
Other Library Resources Related to Research in Pubic Health
Cultivating compassion : how digital storytelling is transforming healthcare by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9783319641454Publication Date: 2018-03-13
Digital Storytelling in Health and Social Policy by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781317688235Publication Date: 2017-04-21
Essentials of Public Health Research Methods by Call Number: RA440.85 .C76 2021 EbookISBN: 9781284175462Publication Date: 2020-03-30
Introduction to Health Research Methods by Call Number: R852 .J33 2021ISBN: 9781284197563Publication Date: 2020-02-20
Public Health Research Methods for Partnerships and Practice by Call Number: RA440.85 .P83 2018 EbookISBN: 9781498785075Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Research Methods for Public Health by Call Number: RA440.85 .E95 2021 EbookISBN: 9780826182050Publication Date: 2020-10-28
Research Methods for Public Health by Call Number: RA425 .M33 2020ISBN: 9781526430014Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Using Interactive Digital Narrative in Science and Health Education by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781839097607Publication Date: 2021-05-24
Why Religion and Spirituality Matter for Public Health by Call Number: BL65.M4 W49 2018 EbookISBN: 9783319739663Publication Date: 2018-05-25
Handbook of Religion and Health by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780190088859Publication Date: 2023-11-28
