Page Information
Your Librarian is Denise Gehring
This page is to help you in locating books and ebooks for the course Conceptual Foundations of Professional Nursing:
Description of the Course: This course focuses on the introductory concepts crucial to the socialization of second-career students to professional nursing. The history of nursing, the evolution of nursing in the U.S., the art and science of nursing, the legal and professional basis of nursing, the role of nursing in the health care delivery system, and current issues and trends in nursing education, practice, and research are emphasized.
- Recommended Databases in the Health SciencesThis includes a list of recommended databases in the different areas of health sciences as well as a video on how to locate these on the library website.
Introduction to the Library
Selecting a Topic & writing a Research Question Tutorial
Checkout these suggestions on selecting a topic and writing a research question:
Boolean Operators & Other Searching Techniques
How Boolean Operators Work
Placing the words “AND” and “OR” (also called Boolean operators) between your search concepts and synonyms can help you create a search statement that retrieves the most relevant sources.
As the diagrams illustrate, using the word “AND” reduces the number of results you get, by requiring that both terms appear in each result. Placing “OR” between search terms expands the number of results because it retrieves sources that use any of the words. Generally speaking, you should use “AND” between each of your concept terms, since you want to find books and articles that address all the aspects of your topic. You should use “OR” between synonyms, to make sure that you find closely related sources.
Searching Techniques
| Truncation | Phrase Searching | Wildcards | Nesting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Broaden your search to include variant word endings and spellings. Enter the root of the word then the truncation symbol, usually the asterisk *. | Use quotation marks " " around search words to search for a phrase - only use this around two or more words. Using the phrase search will help you narrow your results. | Substitute a symbol for just one character. The most commonly used wildcard symbol is a question mark ? | Use parentheses () to put search words into sets. Terms in the parentheses are processed first. Use nesting with AND, OR, & NOT. |
|
Examples: nurs* = nurse, nurses, nursing religio* = religion, religions, religious, religiosity |
Examples: "end of life" "spiritual care" |
Examples: wom?n = women, woman m?n = men, man |
Examples: (screening or detect*) and lupus (cancer* or neoplasm*) and "spiritual* care" |
More information on Effective Search Techniques can be found on this tutorial:
Required Materials Listed in the Syllabus
Fundamentals of Nursing by
Learn the concepts and skills you need to provide excellent nursing care! Fundamentals of Nursing, 10th Edition prepares you to succeed as a nurse by providing a solid foundation in critical thinking, clinical reasoning, nursing theory, evidence-based practice, and patient-centered care in all settings. With illustrated, step-by-step guidelines, this book makes it easy to learn important skills and procedures. Care plans are presented within a nursing process framework, and case studies show how to apply concepts to nursing practice. From an expert author team led by Patricia Potter and Anne Perry, this bestselling nursing textbook helps you develop the understanding and clinical reasoning you need to succeed in the classroom and in your career. Review questions in every chapter test your retention of key concepts, with answers and rationales in the book and on the Evolve companion website; at least four of these questions are alternate format. UNIQUE! Building Competency boxes summarize QSEN competencies, each with a clinical situation followed by several open-ended questions designed to help you understand and apply these core competencies. Delegation Considerations clarify which nursing tasks can and cannot be delegated. Evidence-Based Practice chapter shows how nursing research helps in determining best practices. UPDATED Evidence-Based Practice boxes in every chapter include a PICO question - the Problem, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome - and summarize a research study along with its application to nursing practice. Over 50 nursing skills include illustrated, step-by-step instructions in a two-column format - with rationales for each step. Unexpected Outcomes and Related Interventions for each skill alert you to possible complications and appropriate nursing actions. Over 30 procedural guidelines provide streamlined, step-by-step instructions for performing basic skills. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Models in each clinical chapter show how to apply the nursing process and critical thinking to make clinical decisions. 50 in-text case studies include clinical application questions and exercises, allowing you to practice using care plans and concept maps. UPDATED 1,100-question test bank includes multiple-choice and alternate item questions at all difficulty levels. Focus on safety and quality in the Patient Safety and Quality chapter shows how these concepts apply to nursing practice, and includes a skill on fall prevention in healthcare settings. Nursing Assessment Questions boxes help you learn to effectively phrase questions for patients. Cultural Aspects of Care boxes summarize cultural considerations and provide practical guidelines on meeting patients'' cultural needs and preferences. Patient Teaching boxes promote effective patient education by first identifying outcomes, then developing strategies on how to teach and evaluate compliance. Focus on Older Adult boxes highlight key aspects of nursing assessment and care of elderly adults. Planning sections help you plan and prioritize comprehensive patient care, with coverage of Goals and Outcomes, Setting Priorities, and Teamwork and Collaboration. Practical study tools on the Evolve companion website include video clips of nursing skills, skills checklists, a fluid & electrolytes tutorial, a concept map creator, printable key points, answers to the questions in the book, an audio glossary, and more. NEW content includes topics such as gun violence, patient safety, the opioid epidemic, and device addiction. NEW! Guidelines for the effective use of health screening cover physical and mental issues across all patient age groups from pediatric to geriatric. NEW! Reflective Learning helps you use clinical reasoning to think about your clinical and simulation experiences. NEW! Reflect Now boxes guide you through a thoughtful consideration of a recent clinical experience. NEW! Teach Back is incorporated into the Evaluation section in patient teaching boxes, reinforcing this vital communication technique. NEW! Over 100 new photos clarify procedures and familiarize you with the latest clinical equipment. NEW! Caring for Patients with Chronic Illness chapter helps you address the unique health care needs of patients who deal with chronic illness. NEW! Interprofessional collaboration and cooperation receive more emphasis. NEW objectives are clearly and precisely tied to content, making it easier to find relevant information.
Call Number: RT41 .P844 2021ISBN: 9780323677721Publication Date: 2020-03-19
- ELNEC modules: ELNEC Academy’s WebsiteBoth ELNEC Undergraduate/New Graduate and ELNEC Graduate are interactive palliative care curricula, providing case studies, testimonials from renown palliative care nurses, and vignettes that showcase the importance of evidence-based practice. Each curricula is designed to meet the recommendations of the 2016 American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Palliative CARES (Competencies and Recommendations for Educating Undergraduate Nursing Students) and the 2019 Graduate CARES documents and will assist nursing students to successfully meet these competencies.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 PRINTISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Spirituality in nursing : standing on holy ground by
Spirituality in Nursing: Standing on Holy Ground, Seventh Edition addresses the relationship between spirituality and nursing practice across a variety of settings related to caring for the ill and the infirm. The text covers the spiritual needs of special populations including children, families, and older adults, and takes on several significant issues in our society such as addiction, domestic terrorism, and the COVID-19 pandemic. The Seventh Edition examines both historical and contemporary issues pertaining to the spiritual needs and care of the sick. The text includes topical discussions of areas such as the nurse's role in spiritual care, the nurse-patient relationship, spiritual needs of special populations, and spiritual needs in areas such as mass casualty disasters and parish leadership. New content and references have been added to each chapter to reflect the most current ideas on spirituality in nursing.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781284225044Publication Date: 2021-02-23
Other materials
What do I say? : talking with patients about spirituality by
Health care professionals, clergy, chaplains, social workers, and others who counsel people in medical crisis often find themselves faced with deeply painful questions: Why is this happening to me? Am I dying? Why should I live? I'm just a burden to others. Here is a workbook that suggests healing verbal responses to such expressions of spiritual pain. The author, an internationally recognized expert in spiritual caregiving, points out that wanting to help is one motivation for learning these skills, but there are also evidence-based reasons: helping patients express their innermost feelings promotes spiritual healing; spiritual health is related to physical and emotional health; spiritual coping helps patients accept and deal with their illness; and patients tend to want their health care professionals to know about their spirituality. Lessons, tips, and exercises teach how to listen effectively, with guidelines for detecting and understanding the spiritual needs embedded in patients' conversations. Suggestions are provided for verbal responses to patients who express spiritual distress, including tips for building rapport, using self-disclosure, and praying with patients. A FAQ section deals with frequently asked questions and miscellaneous information, such as: *What do I do when a patient talks on and on and I have to leave? *How do I answer a "why" question? *What do I say to a patient who believes a miracle will happen to cure them? *What if I'm not religious? How can I talk about it? By practicing and using these healing techniques, Taylor explains, healthcare professionals will be able to provide patients responses to their questions that allow them to become intellectually, emotionally, and physically aware of their spirituality so they can experience life more fully.
Call Number: R727.3 .T39 2007 EbookISBN: 9781599472591Publication Date: 2009-09-01
American Nurses Association Code of Ethics
Current and previous editions of the code of Ethics can be found in the Library Catalog.
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by
"The American Nurses Association is proud to announce a completely updated Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (The Code). This book is the definitive framework for ethical analysis and decision-making for RNs across all practice levels, roles and settings. Revisions were made in response to the complexities of modern nursing, to simplify and more clearly articulate the content, to anticipate advances in health care, and to incorporate aids that would make it richer, more accessible, and easier to use. The Code is particularly useful to in today's health care environment because it reiterates the fundamental values and commitments of the nurse (Provisions 1-3), identifies the boundaries of duty and loyalty (Provisions 4-6), and describes the duties of the nurse that extend beyond individual patient encounters (Provisions 7-9)."
Call Number: RT85 .C63 2015 EBOOKISBN: 9781558105997Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by
"An essential resource for nursing classrooms, in-service training, workshops and conferences, self-study, and wherever nursing professionals use ANA's Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements in Their Daily Practice"
Call Number: RT85 .G85 2015 EBOOKISBN: 9781558106031Publication Date: 2015-03-01
