Page Information
Your Librarian is Denise Gehring
This page is to help you in locating materials for the course Professional Concepts in Nursing:
Description of the Course:
This course provides an introduction to the theories and concepts of professional nursing. The nursing process is presented and utilized as the basis for planning quality and safe patient care in various healthcare settings. Current issues and trends in nursing are discussed, the role of nursing in the health care delivery system, and concepts of evidence-based practice, informatics, group dynamics, conflict/management, and techniques to analyze and solve problems are examined.
- Recommended Databases in the Health SciencesThis includes a list of recommended databases in the different areas of health sciences as well as a video on how to locate these on the library website.
- APA ResourcesResources compiled for Health Science students.
Required Books from the Syllabus
Advancing Your Career: Concepts of Professional Nursing by
Advance your career to the next level of professional practice! Here are all the concepts and theories practicing RNs need to continue their education and reach the next level of professional practice. You'll find in-depth coverage of the critical components of professional nursing practice, including effective communication, professional ethics, leadership, group theory, teaching/learning, and multicultural issues. Explore the challenges and issues that are changing the field of nursing. Then, apply them to the situations you encounter in practice today . . . and to the challenges you'll encounter tomorrow. The Textbook of Choice For West Haven University's RN to BSN "We are pleased to select Dr. Kearny's Advancing Your Career: Concepts of Professional Nursing as the textbook for Transition to Professional Nursing, the foundational course in our RN to BSN completion program. The book is expertly written by professionals within the field of nursing who have an appreciation for the needs of returning RN students in a unique training environment. From time management to conflict resolution in a dynamic health care setting, this book covers it all. It is simply a panoply of the essential ingredients needed to cultivate the nursing leaders of tomorrow. In a word, it is excellent." --Dr. Charles M. Frye, President, West Haven University, Amazon Reviewer I love it. "The book is handy and very rich in education, research and evidenced-based nursing. I love it and will continue to use it even after the course in my nursing practice." --Dominique, Amazon Reviewer Updating your Career Path. "This book is a must for every person who wants to stay current and move ahead in the area of nursing. Looking for the current "buzz words"? They are here. Definitely worth your time and money. --Amazon Reviewer
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780803690141Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 PRINTISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I® Updates by
Get nursing care plans right! Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 12th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I© Updates helps you select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Revised and updated with 2021-2023 NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses, the book integrates NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to help you create unique, individualized care plans. Step-by-step instructions show how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. UNIQUE! Care plans are provided for NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses. Evidence-based interventions and rationales include recent or classic research and references supporting the use of each intervention. Examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes are presented in each care plan. 150 NCLEX® exam-style review questions are available on the Evolve website. Easy-to-follow Sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing diagnoses. Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. List of NANDA-I© Diagnoses on the inside front cover of the book provides quick reference to page numbers. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Appendixes provide valuable information in an easy-to-access location. NEW! Comprehensive, up-to-date information is included on the new 2021-2023 NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses. NEW! Updated NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales are provided for every care plan. NEW! Interventions reorganized by priority help you quickly identify the information you need. NEW! Section I: Gender identity discussion includes information about the caregiver's responsibility. NEW! Section II covers bullying, gender dysphoria, medical marijuana, military families/personnel, opioid use/abuse, service animals, technology addiction, and veterans. NEW! Concept map creator is added.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780323879880Publication Date: 2021-08-02
Spirituality in nursing : standing on holy ground by
Spirituality in Nursing: Standing on Holy Ground, Seventh Edition addresses the relationship between spirituality and nursing practice across a variety of settings related to caring for the ill and the infirm. The text covers the spiritual needs of special populations including children, families, and older adults, and takes on several significant issues in our society such as addiction, domestic terrorism, and the COVID-19 pandemic. The Seventh Edition examines both historical and contemporary issues pertaining to the spiritual needs and care of the sick. The text includes topical discussions of areas such as the nurse's role in spiritual care, the nurse-patient relationship, spiritual needs of special populations, and spiritual needs in areas such as mass casualty disasters and parish leadership. New content and references have been added to each chapter to reflect the most current ideas on spirituality in nursing.
Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781284225044Publication Date: 2021-02-23
Recommended Materials Listed in the Syllabus
Fischbach's a Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The perfect point-of-care guide for nurses and health professionals caring for patients undergoing diagnostic tests and procedures, Fischbach's A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests, 11th Edition, provides an essential foundation for safe, effective, informed nursing practice. This proven, comprehensive manual is organized the way a nurse thinks -- by specimen, function, and test type -- describing an extensive array of tests for diverse populations and delivering step-by-step guidance on correct procedures, tips for accurate interpretation, and expert information on patient preparation and aftercare. Extensively updated and easy to navigate, the 11th Edition clarifies the role today's healthcare providers play in quality care planning, individualized patient assessment, analysis of patient needs, interventions, patient education, patient follow-up, and outcome evaluation. This unique resource also alerts users to potential risks and complications, interfering factors, and more to ensure the most confident, competent application in clinical settings.
Call Number: Textbook Collection RC71.5 .F57 2022 PRINTISBN: 9781975173425Publication Date: 2021-10-16
American Nurses Association Code of Ethics
Current and previous editions of the code of Ethics can be found in the Library Catalog.
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by
"The American Nurses Association is proud to announce a completely updated Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (The Code). This book is the definitive framework for ethical analysis and decision-making for RNs across all practice levels, roles and settings. Revisions were made in response to the complexities of modern nursing, to simplify and more clearly articulate the content, to anticipate advances in health care, and to incorporate aids that would make it richer, more accessible, and easier to use. The Code is particularly useful to in today's health care environment because it reiterates the fundamental values and commitments of the nurse (Provisions 1-3), identifies the boundaries of duty and loyalty (Provisions 4-6), and describes the duties of the nurse that extend beyond individual patient encounters (Provisions 7-9)."
Call Number: RT85 .C63 2015 EBOOKISBN: 9781558105997Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by
"An essential resource for nursing classrooms, in-service training, workshops and conferences, self-study, and wherever nursing professionals use ANA's Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements in Their Daily Practice"
Call Number: RT85 .G85 2015 EBOOKISBN: 9781558106031Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Introduction to the Library
Selecting a Topic & writing a Research Question Tutorial
Checkout these suggestions on selecting a topic and writing a research question:
Boolean Operators & Other Searching Techniques
How Boolean Operators Work
Placing the words “AND” and “OR” (also called Boolean operators) between your search concepts and synonyms can help you create a search statement that retrieves the most relevant sources.
As the diagrams illustrate, using the word “AND” reduces the number of results you get, by requiring that both terms appear in each result. Placing “OR” between search terms expands the number of results because it retrieves sources that use any of the words. Generally speaking, you should use “AND” between each of your concept terms, since you want to find books and articles that address all the aspects of your topic. You should use “OR” between synonyms, to make sure that you find closely related sources.
Searching Techniques
| Truncation | Phrase Searching | Wildcards | Nesting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Broaden your search to include variant word endings and spellings. Enter the root of the word then the truncation symbol, usually the asterisk *. | Use quotation marks " " around search words to search for a phrase - only use this around two or more words. Using the phrase search will help you narrow your results. | Substitute a symbol for just one character. The most commonly used wildcard symbol is a question mark ? | Use parentheses () to put search words into sets. Terms in the parentheses are processed first. Use nesting with AND, OR, & NOT. |
|
Examples: nurs* = nurse, nurses, nursing religio* = religion, religions, religious, religiosity |
Examples: "end of life" "spiritual care" |
Examples: wom?n = women, woman m?n = men, man |
Examples: (screening or detect*) and lupus (cancer* or neoplasm*) and "spiritual* care" |
More information on Effective Search Techniques can be found on this tutorial: