Health Sciences Virtual Library: Drug Guides & Medication Information

From the most-trusted name in nursing comes the handbook designed to help you understand common drug families and interactions. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 14th Edition provides you with the latest information on more than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs, along with the latest FDA-approved medications. Side-effects are organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, informing you of what signs to watch for during assessments. In addition, drug monographs are arranged alphabetically, and each includes clear dosing, administration, and nursing process information so you are ready for clinicals. In fact, what sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, drug-specific nursing diagnoses, administration of IV drugs, and medication safety - helping you understand how families of drugs work together. More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Black Box Warnings alert you to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Additional online-only drug monographson the companion Evolve website provide information on even more medications. Safety Alert icon denotes the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Bold headings in coverage of IV drug administration highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Logical organization of side effects information shows you what signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, while the full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Cross-references indicate where drug information can be found in the appendixes. NEW! Appendix with new drugs for 2022. NEW! Updated Drug Categories that include the new 2022 drugs. NEW! The most up-to-date information on drug dosages, warnings, and patient information ensures you understand the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions.

#1 DRUG BOOK for Nursing Students! "This is the perfect drug book for nursing school! All the information on the meds is in-depth and all that you need to know."--Abby W. SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Seventeenth Edition delivers all the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. FREE DIGITAL ACCESS Redeem the access code to unlock your one-year, free subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to more than 1,700 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. Search the complete 5,000-drug database and appendices quickly and efficiently. Build your knowledge with extensively cross-referenced drugs. Keep up to date with FDA drug news. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE ... AT A GLANCE New! The AGS Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults #1 Drug Guide for patient safety Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Special considerations for patient populations. Geri heading identifies special concerns for older adults. OB and Lact headings highlight information for pregnant and breastfeeding patients. Pedi heading identifies concerns for children. Rep heading identifies considerations for patients of reproductive age. IV Administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content In-depth guidance for patient and family teaching FREE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at FADavis.com Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names help you pronounce important terms Two tutorials, each with a self-test Preventing Medication Errors Psychotropic Drugs Easy-to-Use Calculators Body mass index (BMI) Metric conversions IV drip rates Dosage/KG Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive Case Studies - brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of questions Audio podcasts delivering information on... Risk Evaluation Mitigation Systems (REMS) How to use Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses® Detecting and managing ADRs Evidence-based practice and Pharmacotherapeutics Pharmacogenomics Medication errors Special dosing considerations Educating patients about Safe Medication Use Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications ONLINE REVIEWS OF THE 16TH EDITION OF DAVIS'S DRUG GUIDE FOR NURSES Five Stars. "I LOVE that this includes nursing interventions, patient teaching and an online access code. Highly recommend."--E.G. Accurate and up to date. "Top notch for nursing students! Includes many things other drug guides l

The go-to guide for students and nurses alike to promote better patient care! Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2021 provides you with essential information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs. This handy, user-friendly guide features updated Black Box Alerts and comprehensive coverage of IV drug administration, side effects and adverse reactions, fixed combinations, and nursing considerations. It uniquely guides you through clinical priorities in the practice setting and is organized alphabetically by generic drug name for quick reference. New drug monographs cover 17 new FDA-approved drugs! Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Over 1,000 generic name drugs, encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs, are organized alphabetically with A-to-Z tabs for quick and easy access. Detailed information for each drug distinguishes side effects and adverse reactions to help you identify which are most likely to occur.  Highlighting of high-alert drugs helps promote safe administration of drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm; an appendix includes drug names that sound alike or look alike.  UNIQUE! Herbal information is included in the appendix and on the Evolve companion website, covering the interactions and effects of commonly encountered herbs. Classifications section features an overview of actions and uses for drug families. Top 100 Drugs list helps you easily identify the most frequently administered drugs. Nursing considerations are organized in a functional nursing process framework and include headings for baseline assessment, intervention/evaluation, and patient/family teaching. Information on lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations equips you with special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, hepatic, and immune- or renal-compromised patients. Extensive IV content features IV compatibilities/IV incompatibilities and breaks down key information with headings on reconstitution, rate of administration, and storage. Fixed combinations are included in dosages of each combined drug directly within the individual monographs, to help you understand different drug dose options for specific diseases. Cross-references to the 400 top U.S. brand-name drugs are located throughout the book for easy access. Customizable and printable monographs for 100 of the most commonly used drugs are located on Evolve, along with quarterly drug updates. Therapeutic and toxic blood level information promotes safe drug administration. Comprehensive IV Compatibility Chart foldout arms you with compatibility information for 65 intravenous drugs. List of newly approved drugs in the front of the book makes it easy to locate the latest drugs. Callouts in a sample drug monograph highlight key features to help you understand how to use the book more efficiently. NEW! Drug monographs for 17 new FDA-approved drugs equip you with the most current drug information. NEW! Updated monographs include new interactions, precautions, alerts, patient teaching instructions, and other need-to-know information to help prevent medication dispensing errors.

Put the most trusted name in nursing in your hands. Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text and on the free app - including 20-30 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA. Plus, no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects of 50 common drug classes. This 33rd edition proves once again why Mosby's is the bestselling drug reference for nurses on the market! Coverage of more than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs provides information for almost every drug a student is likely to encounter in clinicals. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. IV drug administration coverage in bold highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Logical, alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendices. NEW! 20-30 added monographs provide up-to-date content on newly released, FDA-approved drugs and drug therapies. NEW! More than 20 new Evolve-only drug monographs added to the existing Evolve-only drug monographs. NEW! Numerous herbal drug monographs included on Evolve site.

The only pediatric prescribing guide organized by diagnosis for ease of use This prescribing guide, organized uniquely by diagnosis, facilitates speedy drug information retrieval for advanced health care providers in all settings involved in the primary care management of newborns through adolescents. Delivered in a concise, easy-to-read format, the guide encompasses pharmacotherapy regimens for more than 450 clinical diagnoses and includes cross-referenced generic and trade names for ease of use. Key clinical information, including lab values to monitor, patient education points, and safety information for parents and caregivers is highlighted throughout. This point-of-care dosing resource helps practitioners to quickly locate appropriate drug treatment choices, generic vs. brand names, dosing information, length of treatment, dose forms (liquid, capsule, scored pill), pregnancy category, pediatric dosing recommendations by age groups, precautions and contraindications, and special patient-specific considerations. The book also presents important reference information in convenient table format, featuring an appendix of 35 tables for quick access to key drug classifications, FDA pregnancy categories, Schedule of Controlled Substances, Childhood Immunization Schedules, measurement conversions, pediatric dosing by weight, and much more.Key Features: Facilitates speedy drug information retrieval for primary care providers in all settingsOrganizes over 450 diagnoses alphabetically and cross-references generic and trade drug namesDelineates pediatric dosages by age group and available dosage formsHighlights lab values to monitor, patient education points, and safety informationIncludes an appendix of 35 tables for quick access to drug classifications, FDA pregnancy categories, schedule of controlled substances, and much moreProvides generic/trade name indexIncludes a free e-book and quarterly electronic updates

Written especially for nurses caring for patients with cancer, the 2018 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook uniquely expresses drug therapy in terms of the nursing process: nursing diagnoses, etiologies of toxicities, and key points for nursing assessment, intervention, and evaluation. Updated annually, this essential reference provides valuable information on effective symptom management, patient education, and chemotherapy administration.Completely revised and updated, the 2018 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook includes separate chapters on molecular and immunologic/biologic targeted therapies. These chapters provide fundamental reviews to assist nurses in understanding the cellular communication pathways disrupted by cancer. It also offers simplified content, attention to understanding the immune checkpoint inhibitors, new information about immunotherapy, new drugs and their indications, and updated indications and side effects for recently FDA approved drugs.New drugs include: avelumab (Bavencio), brigatinib (Alunbrig), durvalumab (Imfinzi), enasidenib (Idhifa), metronidazole hydrochloride (Flagyl), midostaurin (Rydapt), neratinib (Nerlynx), niraparib (Zejula), olaratumab (Lartruvo), ribociclib (Kisqali), rituximab and hyaluronidase human injection (Rituxan Hycela injection), rucaparib (Rubraca), telotristat ethyl (Xermelo), and tisagenlecleucel (Kymriah).