Health Sciences Virtual Library: GNRS 597 Comprehensive Examination Directed Study

This useful guide educates students in the preparation of literature reviews for term projects, theses, and dissertations. The authors provide numerous examples from published reviews that illustrate the guidelines discussed throughout the book. 　 New to the seventh edition: 　 Each chapter breaks down the larger holistic review of literature exercise into a series of smaller, manageable steps Practical instructions for navigating today's digital libraries Comprehensive discussions about digital tools, including bibliographic and plagiarism detection software Chapter activities that reflect the book's updated content New model literature reviews Online resources designed to help instructors plan and teach their courses (www.routledge.com/9780415315746).

Get the answers to all your common writing questions, no matter the course, as Writer's Reference gives you the tools you need to becoming a stronger writer.

Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Fourth Edition is an essential text for nursing students to build the skillsnecessary for translating research into evidence. The Fourth Edition focuses on the Nursing Practice Guidelines and emphasizes evidence-basedpractice in the profession of nursing. To reinforce these concepts the author cites a particular article that is appraised throughout theentire text.The Fourth Edition also focuses on the dissemination of information and research best practices as conferences and other such resources become more available to students and professionals.Key Features* Emphasis on Nursing Practice Guidelines* New evaluation tool for reviewing a research article* Extensive PICO questions throughout the text* Addition of the contemporary PECO question* Poster template added to the chapter on translation

Like its predecessor, the third edition of Academic Writing for Graduate Students explains understanding the intended audience, the purpose of the paper, and academic genres; includes the use of task-based methodology, analytic group discussion, and genre consciousness-raising; shows how to write summaries and critiques; features Language Focus sections that address linguistic elements as they affect the wider rhetorical objectives; and helps students position themselves as junior scholars in their academic communities. Among the many changes in the third edition: *newer, longer, and more authentic texts and examples *greater discipline variety in texts (added texts from hard sciences and engineering) *more in-depth treatment of research articles *greater emphasis on vocabulary issues *revised flow-of-ideas section *additional tasks that require students to do their own research *more corpus-informed content *binding that allows the book to lay flat when open. The Commentary (teacher's notes and key) (978-0-472-03506-9) has been revised expanded. 

Highly anticipated and fully updated Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Third Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear of confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: NEW Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines NEW Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) NEW Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used NEW Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article Write a letter to the editor or write a book review Work with and manage contributors when writing a book Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more Doody 5 Star Review "This book is easy to read and is useful for novice and experienced authors. It is an excellent resource and should be on the bookshelf of any nurse interested in publishing." -Michalene A King, PhD, RN, CNE(Robert Morris University) (c)Doody's Review Service(TM)

Crafting Scholarship helps readers improve their writing and publishing success in academia. Framed within the context of the editorial and peer review process, the book explores writing, editing, and reviewing in academic publishing. As such it provides unique coverage of how successful writers work, how they manage criticism, and more. Examples from successful scholars provide helpful tips in writing articles, grants, books, book chapters, and reviews. Each chapter features tools that facilitate learning including Best Practices and Writer's Resource boxes to help maximize success, discussion questions and case studies to stimulate critical thinking, and recommended readings to encourage self exploration. A Facebook page provides an opportunity for readers to post writing updates and for instructors to share materials. Highlights include: -Insights on working with journal boards, reviewers, and contributors drawn from the author's 30 years of experience in editing journal articles and writing books. -Describes writing quantitative and qualitative reports, theory and literature reviews, books and chapters, grants, and book reviews. -Identifies common problems academics face in writing and publishing along with practical solutions. -Explores best practices in writing peer reviews, responding to reviewers and editors, and how to calculate and interpret acceptance rates and impact factors. -Addresses how to write each section of a journal article and select keywords that facilitate digital search engines to help potential readers find an article. -Includes examples of published work and tips on writing research syntheses using meta-analytic techniques or narrative analyses. -Examines the practices of successful writers, the pros and cons of collaborations, what publishers look for, and managing criticism. -Reviews pertinent empirical literature on the core topics of writing, reviewing, and editing. Intended for graduate or advanced undergraduate courses in professional development, writing in an academic field, or research methods taught in psychology, education, human development and family studies, sociology, communication, and other social sciences, this practical guide also appeals to those interested in pursuing an academic career and new and seasoned researchers.

Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Second Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated second edition-which includes a new chapter on the various formate for manuscript dissertations-will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to Done. Book jacket.

Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options