Page Information
Your Librarian is Denise Gehring
This page is to help you in locating materials for the course Translation of Research Into Practice:
Description of the Course: The goal of this core course is to help prepare Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) nursing students to be nurse scholars and to identify strategies within a multidisciplinary model and in intraprofessional relationships that promote the ready translation of research into practice. This course exposes DNP students to evidence-based practice, quality improvement methodologies, concepts and theories, and deepens their knowledge regarding the phenomenon of interest. This prepares them for foundational competencies needed for evidence-based problem identification, PICOT writing, literature search, integrated literature review, evidence appraisal, and synthesis. There are iterative assignments to develop skill and the milestone assignment is a final integrated review and synthesis paper with in-depth knowledge of their phenomenon (vs. topic) of interest.
Translate This Page
Useful Resources
- Recommended Databases in the Health SciencesThis includes a list of recommended databases in the different areas of health sciences as well as a video on how to locate these on the library website.
- Removing DuplicatesI describe different ways in which to remove duplicate records from your search.
- Exporting Records from Ebsco & ProQuest DatabasesYou can export up to 20,000 records from each database.
START HERE
- Searching For LiteratureThis takes you through the step by step process in doing a literature search, first from topic to search statement then using the library databases. This includes videos as well as the step by step process in writing with examples.
PRISMA
Then Watch:
Using the CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings Feature in EBSCOhost
Required and Recommended Materials Listed in the Syllabus
Models and Frameworks for Implementing Evidence-Based Practice by
The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and mirrors the remit of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. Models and Frameworks for Implementing Evidence- Based Practice: Linking Evidence to Action looks at ways of implementing evidence gained through research and factors that influence successful implementation. It acknowledges the gap that exists between obtaining evidence and the practicalities of putting it into practice and provides direction to help to close this gap. This, the first book in the series, helps the reader to make decisions about the appropriateness of using various models and frameworks. A selection of models and frameworks are examined in detail including examples of their use in practice. The book concludes with an analysis and synthesis of the included models and frameworks. The models and frameworks that have been included are based on a number of criteria: that they are internationally recognised, have undergone widespread evaluation and testing, are transferable across different settings, and can be used by different disciplines. Models and frameworks include: Stetler Model Ottowa Model of Research Use IOWA model of evidence-based practice Advancing Research and Clinical Practice through Close Collaboration (ARCC) model Dobbins' dissemination and use of research evidence for policy and practice framework Joanna Briggs Institute model Knowledge to Action framework Promoting Action on Research Implementation in Health Services (PARIHS) Key Points: Includes an overview of implementation issues and the use of theory and frameworks in implementing evidence into practice Chapters are written by the developers of the model or framework Each chapter provides background on an implementation model or framework, suitable applications, underlying theory and examples of use Each chapter examines strengths and weaknesses of each model alongside barriers and facilitators for its implementation
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781405175944Publication Date: 2010-05-10
Nursing research : generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice by
Whether used to help students learn how to perform research or how to critically appraise research reports for use in practice, this authoritative, approachable textbook shows how nursing research is applicable across today's changing healthcare field. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck detail the latest methodologic innovations that have arisen in nursing, medicine, and the social sciences in their signature user-friendly style, accompanied by the helpful learning features, pedagogy, and clean design that have made this book a classic. The updated 11th Edition adds two new chapters designed to help students ensure the accuracy and effectiveness of research methods and the relevance and applicability of nursing inquiries. Extensively revised content throughout strengthens students' ability to locate and rank clinical evidence, verify the authoritativeness of systematic reviews, and distinguish interpretive approaches from aggregative approaches using meta-aggregation. NEW! Quality Improvement and Improvement Science chapter provides methods and frameworks to help students develop and assess improvement projects. NEW! Applicability, Generalizability, and Relevance: Toward Practice-Based Evidence chapter details cutting-edge strategies to meet the growing need for patient-centered, practice-based evidence. UPDATED! Revised content throughout reflects the latest methodologic approaches to ranking evidence, verifying systematic reviews, using meta-aggregation, and more. Critical appraisal guidelines help students focus on specific aspects of a report for the most effective appraisal. Clear, user-friendly writing style introduces concepts logically and clarifies difficult ideas. Specific research tips translate abstract notions into practical strategies to help students confidently apply chapter lessons in real-life situations. Research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate critical thinking. A comprehensive index provides fast, efficient access to precise information. Tables, figures, and bulleted summaries reinforce essential chapter concepts at a glance.
Call Number: RT81.5 .P64 2021 ebookISBN: 1975110641Publication Date: 2020-02-12
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care by
NAMED A DOODY'S CORE TITLE! Designed as both a text for the DNP curriculum and a practical resource for seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed book demonstrates the importance of using an interprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and healthcare practice in both clinical and nonclinical environments. This third edition reflects the continuing evolution of translation frameworks by expanding the Methods and Process for Translation section and providing updated exemplars illustrating actual translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the healthcare delivery system. It incorporates important new information about legal and ethical issues, the institutional review process for quality improvement and research, and teamwork and building teams for translation. In addition, an unfolding case study on translation is threaded throughout the text. Reorganized for greater ease of use, the third edition continues to deliver applicable theory and practical strategies to lead translation efforts and meet DNP core competency requirements. It features a variety of relevant change-management theories and presents strategies for improving healthcare outcomes and quality and safety. It also addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and describes the interprofessional collaboration imperative for our complex healthcare environment. Consistently woven throughout are themes of integration and application of knowledge into practice.NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Expands the Methods and Process for Translation sectionProvides updated exemplars illustrating translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the healthcare delivery systemOffers a new, more user-friendly formatIncludes an entire new section, Enablers of TranslationDelivers expanded information on legal and ethical issuesPresents new chapter, Ethical Responsibilities of Translation of Evidence and Evaluation of OutcomesWeaves an unfolding case study on translation throughout the textKEY FEATURES: Delivers applicable theories and strategies that meet DNP core requirementsPresents a variety of relevant change-management theoriesOffers strategies for improving outcomes and quality and safetyAddresses the use of evidence to improve nursing educationDiscusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makersSupplies extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources to enhance learningPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: COMING SOON!ISBN: 9780826147363Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy, Sixth Edition is the ultimate 'how to' guide for learning the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. This text is an outstanding resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice. The hallmark of this text is the inclusion of the Matrix Method developed by the author which outlines one of the many ways to approach a literature review. This method is a practical, easy-to-use structure and process for reviewing research literature, particularly in the health sciences and nursing. Updates on PRISMANew content on predatory publishing"How-to" format, step-by-step instructions and practical examplesTemplates and interactive web resourcesNavigate Companion Website, including learning objectives and additionalresources on the use of data visualization in health literature reviews
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781284211177Publication Date: 2020-12-23
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project, A Framework for Success, Third Edition guides students and faculty in the DNP project process. With a primary focus on delivering key information on planning, implementing, and evaluating a project, the text also emphasizes the impact that DNP-prepared nurses and well-developed DNP projects have in shaping the future of nursing. The Third Edition focuses on the evolution of the DNP degree by featuring AACN taskforce updates and reorganized content about the clinical scholar and practice scholarship. With chapters devoted to formulating a meaningful DNP project, from selecting appropriate project team members to the importance of communicating and disseminating the results of the project appropriately, it serves as a comprehensive guide for students and faculty alike.New to the Third Edition:* Updated historical perspectives* Overview of project variability* Coverage of project sustainability and measures of impact* New chapter on health policy, how policies impact practice, and how the DNP nursing role relates to advocacy* Navigate 2 Essentials Package features digital templates of the project tools
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781284156959Publication Date: 2019-03-11
DNP Capstone Projects by
This unique book not only explains the introduction of the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) role but also bridges the DNP essentials with the evidence-based practice framework. It includes wonderful examples of exciting scholarship, but also illustrates how the evidence is then translated into clinical practice...This is a wonderful resource for students completing a DNP degree. It is an excellent book for expanding the understanding of the capstone project and the importance of dissemination of nursing knowledge to improve patient care and outcomes. Weighted Numerical Score: 100 - 5 Stars Kathleen Woodruff Doody's Medical Reviews With a unique focus on exemplary, completed DNP capstone projects, this book delivers key information on designing, constructing, and completing a high quality capstone project. It demonstrates the impact that a well-conceived capstone project can have on facilitating change and addresses all program, administrative, policy, and clinical issues that DNP students may encounter during the capstone process. The book examines a variety of capstone projects from across the U.S.--quality improvement projects, strategic plans, advocacy, clinical case narratives, and other innovations--that demonstrate efficacy in clinical nursing practice outcomes and positive impact upon the health care environment. The book analyzes the components of these exemplary capstones to demonstrate how each has provided leadership for change in practice, promoted interdisciplinary collaboration, contributed to advocacy and policy change, and enhanced quality improvement in health care systems. Key Features: Focuses on a wide range of exemplary, completed DNP capstone projects Provides a roadmap for excellence in creating capstone projects Analyzes components of capstones that have effected positive change Includes strategies for implementing evidence-based practices for nurses and other health care providers Highlights DNP leadership and resulting positive changes in clinical practice
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780826130259Publication Date: 2014-09-01
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Essentials by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Essentials: A New Model for Advanced Practice Nursing, continues to be the only complete textbook for all eight American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Practice Nursing. With DNP programs now found in every state, climbing from 25 to over 300 in the past 13 years, having a textbook dedicated to the DNP Essentials is imperative as faculty and students will use it as a template for future and existing programs. The newly revised Fourth Edition features updates and revisions to all chapters and expands on information relating to the current and future changes in today's complex healthcare environment. The text features the addition of new DNP project resources, with supplemental case studies highlighting DNP projects and the impact of this work.Every print copy of the text will include Navigate 2 Premier Access. This Access includes interactive lectures, competency mapping for DNP Essentials, case studies, assessment quizzes, a syllabus, discussion questions, assignments, and PowerPoint presentations.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781284167078Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing by
A two-time AJN Book of the Year Award winner and a 2013 Doody Core Title! This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish. Additionally, the text covers software used in research queries and provides helpful strategies for effectively using the search function when seeking information. The Third Edition offers four new chapters with incisive recommendations for performing a CSR and addressing new ways CSR is being implemented in today's healthcare environment. It describes the latest methodological advances, including living systematic reviews and dominance scores for economic review. Two complete CSRs along with new and updated examples throughout the book further aid readers in their pursuit of excellence in scholarly work. New to the Third Edition: New Chapters: How to choose the right critical appraisal tool Writing the final report and disseminating the results of systematic reviews Disseminating results with how to write a policy brief and/or press release on CSR results Example of a meta-analysis using GRADE Offers increased focus on dissemination Includes new and updated examples reflecting latest trends in nursing scholarly work Key Features: Provides the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a CSR from start to finish Teaches readers how to conduct high-quality systematic reviews Instructs readers on pertinent resources and methods for optimal library-related systematic review research efforts Describes how to best search research databases to facilitate scholarly work Includes objectives, summary points, end-of-chapter exercises, discussion questions, suggested reading, and references to enhance understanding
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780826152251Publication Date: 2021-06-01
Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and DNP Projects by
Update includes content to help students complete the DNP Project! Now in its third edition, this bestselling text is a concise, step-by-step proposal writing guide that has helped thousands of students produce quality project proposals. For the first time, this new edition includes content to help students move beyond the proposal phase. Two new chapters will help students complete the DNP Project and create the final report. The third edition is extensively revised with new information about ongoing clinical scholarship opportunities and an Instructor's Manual full of suggestions to engage students and help them progress through this demanding process. This edition continues the "Advice from DNP Students segment," along with new tips for getting started, introductory objectives and final summary points in each chapter to help students hone their skills. New to the Third Edition: Delivers two completely new chapters on Finalizing Your Proposal and Project: Moving Your Project Proposal to Completed Project Moving your Project to Written Final Report Instructor's Manual that includes chapter objectives, overviews, questions and teaching tips to consider, and student activities, all designed to help the student progress. Key Features: Student checklists Examples of successful Quality Improvement projects Sample Proposal Abstracts Unique Project Triangle to provide structure to student work Interactive exercises to keep students engaged, including reflective questions, writing prompts, and self-assessments Sample "student problems and resolutions" boxes to help students deal effectively with roadblocks And much more!
Call Number: COMING SOON!ISBN: 9780826148940Publication Date: 2021-08-01
Becoming an Academic Writer by
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's Textbook Excellence Award With its friendly, step-by-step format, Becoming an Academic Writer helps writers improve their writing by engaging in deep and deliberate practice--a type of practice adopted by expert performers in areas such as sports or music. Featuring 50 exercises, this practical, self-paced guide is flexibly organized so readers can either work their way through all of the exercises in order or focus on the specific areas where they need additional practice building their skills. The Second Edition is enhanced by a new appendix on literature review, new feature boxes, and new chapter summaries.
Call Number: COMING SOON!ISBN: 9781483376257Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 PRINTISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The dynamic and competitive US healthcare environment requires healthcare professionals who are accountable to provide efficient and effective care. New evidence is continually surfacing in nursing and medical environments. Consumer pressure and increased patient expectations place an even greater emphasis on the need for healthcare professionals to deliver true evidence-based care in their daily practice. Johns Hopkins Nursing is steadfastly dedicated to making it easy for frontline nurses, health professionals, and students to use best evidence in their everyday practice. With each edition, we revise based on the honest, frank, and generous feedback we receive from frontline users of the Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model from across the globe. In this fourth edition, we are excited to be able to share these changes. The 2021 revised JHEBP Model underscores the need for organizations to cultivate both a spirit of inquiry and an environment of learning that encourages questioning and seeking best evidence and its implementation and adoption in practice. Although our model was developed, tested, and implemented by and for nurses, we have had numerous requests and feedback from other health professionals to use the Hopkins model. Thus, we introduce the fourth edition with a new title-Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals. This change reflects the growing evidence base of the importance for interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing complex care issues such as those often tackled by EBP teams. In this edition, our overarching aim is to provide practical and pragmatic explanations, approaches, and tools to guide and support teams engaging in EBP projects: We explicitly reflected the interprofessional nature of the EBP process and its use by all disciplines who serve, interact with, and care for those who seek services.We revised the flow of the book chapters across the sections to reflect the progression of steps in the EBP process.We included a new introduction for the evidence section that includes background on the use of evidence hierarchies, tips for differentiating research from quality improvement, and further explanation of the summary and synthesis steps in the evidence process.We made significant enhancements to the appendices by including flowcharts, decision supports, and greater specificity in the directions.We provided real-world examples for how to complete all tools using feedback from our global users as well as tried and tested helpful hints.We added a new chapter to expand and amplify strategies for dissemination that includes how to create a dissemination plan, audience-specific recommendations for internal and external dissemination venues, details of the pros and cons of different types of dissemination, guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication, and an overview of the journal review process.Chapter-specific enhancements: Chapter 3: Defines critical thinking and clinical reasoning and differentiates their use in the PET process.Chapter 4: Outlines stakeholder selection criteria and an algorithm to determine the need for an EBP project.Chapter 5: Includes new information on the literature screening process to navigate a large number of results Chapter 6: Provides useful clarifications of research approaches, designs, and methods with a focus on frontline staff as the target audienceChapter 8: Includes revised synthesis and translation steps; assesses risk prior to translation; prioritizes translation models accessible to frontline staff with a focus on the QI methodology and PDSA; and describes an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EPB project.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781948057875Publication Date: 2021-07-15
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
Providing readers with an accessible, in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature, Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper is perfect for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows readers how to explain the need for and significance of research, as well as how to explain a study's findings. Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, the Fifth Edition features new research, examples, and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences, expanded coverage of qualitative research, updated and revised meta-analysis procedures, a brand new glossary of key terms, double the number of exercises, and additional examples of how to write reviews.
Call Number: Print: Q180.55.M4 F56 2020 Hugh and Hazel Darling Library Textbook Collection, RotundaISBN: 9781544318479Publication Date: 2019-02-28
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 4th Edition Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN and Ellen Fineout-Overholt, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes. NEW! Making Connections: An EBP Exemplar opens each unit, immersing you in an unfolding case study of EBP in real-life practice. NEW! Chapters reflect the most current implications of EBP on health policy and the context, content, and outcomes of implementing EBP competencies in clinical and academic settings. NEW! Learning objectives and EBP Terms to Learn at both the unit and chapter levels help you study efficiently and stay focused on essential concepts and vocabulary. Making EBP Real features continue to end each unit with real-world examples that demonstrate the principles of EBP applied. EBP Fast Facts reinforce key points at a glance. Clinical Scenarios clarify the EBP process and enhance your rapid appraisal capabilities.
Call Number: RT42 .M44 2019 Hugh and Hazel Darling Library Stacks, RotundaISBN: 9781496384539Publication Date: 2018-11-24
